About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Barry's Auto Group

4.0

113 Lifetime Reviews

166 Connell Highway, Newport, Rhode Island 02840 Directions
Sales: (401) 847-5600

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with ourCertified Dealership Program.

113 Reviews of Barry's Auto Group

Sort by Write a review
October 11, 2016

"Don't buy from these crooks"

- Tom D.

Bought a truck from there, had it for a week when the engine started to smoke, brought it back then to tell me the truck needs a engine. I only have a 30 days warranty because I couldn't afford the extented warranty. Took them 6 weeks to get to get my truck done with a "new" (meaning junk yard) engine. Meanwhile when I was checking status, they were to busy cooking food on the grill to answer customers phone calls. Finally had the truck for 3 weeks then noticed antifreeze spots on my driveway and check engine light was on again. Brought it back, now my engine and parts was warranty for 1 year. They wanted to charge me $250 to replace a water pump they told me it was no good. I said "are you kidding me"? I thought it was warranted, they said no. So I refused to their service and took my truck back. Now I have to bring it to my trust worthy mechanic to have it fixed for a lot less but not only that making payments on a truck I have to fix, if that was the case I should of kept my old one. I don't recommend anyone to this dealership, they are crooks and they do shady business. I will NEVER GO THERE AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND ANYONE TO GO THERE. Beware of this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Demelo
October 05, 2016

"Purchased 06 f150 from Barrys and traded in my 04 ,DISASTER!"

- Gbarbo08

I purchased and 06 f150 crew cab from Barry's, traded in my 04 f150 supercab what a mistake i did. I traded in a 220k truck that ran better than my newer one. 1st Week of purchase, check engine light truck sent to ford for ecu reprogramming and trans issue. Second week i get my truck back then it started to sound like a diesel. Just stay away from these crooks. I have a video of my issues for proof if anyone ever wants to review what they neglected to fix, then counter review that they have tried to resolve the problem , which is false and untruthful. Gary B

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jose
July 31, 2016

"Dishonest!! Ruined credit! "

- Switz

Went to Barry's looking for a truck and stumbled upon a f150. We decided to weigh our options first and I returned 2 days later to purchase the truck. I spoke with the same sales person that day who told me to come on down. I took the hour drive to Newport and wanted to test drive the truck one last time. In middle of the test drive the sales person tells me the truck is actually in the process of being bought by another customer but we could start paperwork in case he doesn't buy. Disappointed he didn't tell me this before I made the hour drive but decided to continue. He asked to run my credit just to see where my credit is at and reassured me he wasn't going to send out any information to the banks. He comes back and tells me sorry the customer purchased the truck. Pretty disappointed with the whole situation I left without purchasing a vehicle. A couple days later I went to another dealership to purchase a truck and through the process the dealership informed me that my credit had been ran through several different banks which made my credit go down from all the hard inquiries. This also made it hard because the new dealership had to call all the banks to find out the status of approvals. All in all, not only did Barry's auto group screw me over by making me waste time and gas for nothing, he also lied and screwed with my credit. I wouldn't trust them at all. Couple trucks were in such bad condition they blew black smoke as soon as you turned on the vehicle and they were still selling them. Don't waste your time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Demelo
July 19, 2016

"Honest Straightforward Purchase"

- T. Laughlin

I am a former car dealer. And I have to say that my experience with Barry's was more than I expected. I had the opportunity to work with Lou Campos. He, and Lucas Barry as well both spoke with me on the telephone, listened to what I wanted, my situation and what I was hoping to accomplish. They didn't bait me with promises they couldn't keep, they were honest and forthcoming and did not diasmiss what I wanted. I got the car I wanted, at the budget I can afford and the vehicle is EXACTLY what I wanted along with a two year bumper to bumper. They "made it happen". I was a financially challenged customer. I am quite impressed. Go to Barry's.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lou Campos, Lucas Barry
June 11, 2016

"Dishonest."

- aj555

This dealership is dishonest. We were interested in buying a used car and were also looking for a sale/trade-in of our car. After specifically stating they would cut a check for my wife's vehicle we came back a few weeks later under clear conditions that we were interested in, at the least, selling her car and hopefully using it as a trade-in. When she didn't like the car we had been looking at and still wanted to sell them her car they refused, claiming that they couldn't because of having just purchased 20 cars. Meanwhile, they were going to just sell hers wholesale, so having another car around adds next to no cost - just profit. I can't possibly believe that their balance sheet hinges on a $2500 purchase. No. They just weren't honest about the actual purchase and were just using that as a ploy to get us to buy one of their vehicles. The second issue we had with them was their advertised prices online do not reflect what they'll ask for in the dealership. When I called them out on this their specific quote was "yeah, we do that to get people in - everyone else does it." Unbelievable. Go. Somewhere. Else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris
May 01, 2016

"Chris Lavigne is the best car salesman ever!!!"

- Tt

Recently purchased a Volkswagen Jetta from Barry's. Everyone was very friendly and professional. Chris is extremely accommodating and worked hard to get me the car I wanted. Would highly recommend this dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Lavigne
April 02, 2016

"terrible customer service"

- hcollier

My husband and I have been searching for a car for a few months and found one at Barry's that we wanted to look at we went in and filled out paperwork they said they needed to check our credit score before theyd even let us test drive it. We got back from the test drive and we're ready to buy it and we're talking about the price and the salesperson, Richard, we were dealing with got extremely rude and spoke to us like we were stupid and was rasining his voice and was getting extremely frustrated. He is definitely not the type of Person to be doing this type of job and dealing with people .Definitely one of the worst retailer experiences I've ever had and we ended up getting up and walking out after he started to get extremely crappy and short tempered with us. Do not recommended this dealership to anyone wanting a pleasant experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard
January 08, 2016

"Overall pleased with Barry's Auto Group."

- ChevColorado05

I recently purchased a used truck from Barry's. I'm happy with the truck, price and the overall experience of purchasing a truck from Barry's. My salesman Chris answered all of my questions and was clear and upfront throughout the whole purchasing process. The finance guy Steve got me approved with my not so good credit and for a very fair interest rate. They handled all my dmv issues which is a plus in purchasing a used vehicle. I would 100% recommend Barry's Auto Group.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris , Steve
January 04, 2016

"Good experience "

- JB

The salesman Chris was very helpful. He got me into.a used car at a reasonable price and was able to get me top-dollar for my trade-in.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Lavigne
December 06, 2015

"Easy Experience"

- Truckin'

I was online looking for a small truck. Found a Toyota Tacoma and chatted online on the website. Had my questions answered and came in that night for test drive with Bruce. Next day I picked up the truck and was on my way. Bruce made everything easy. So far so good.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bruce as well as the sales manager and the online salesperson.
1
...
1 - 10 of 113 results