Read Reviews Barry's Auto Group

Barry's Auto Group

Barry's Auto Group

166 Connell Highway
Newport, Rhode Island 02840


Sales: (401) 847-5600
Service: (401) 847-5600
Parts: (401) 847-5600

Barry's Auto Group
Manufacturer: Used Car Dealer

  • Customer Service:

    2.7
  • Quality of Work:

    2.9
  • Friendliness:

    3.0
  • Overall Experience:

    2.7
  • Pricing:

    3.9

based on 7 reviews

Overall
3.0

3.0 out of 5

39 lifetime reviews

Barry's Auto Group

Cars For Sale by this Dealer

Need a New Car?

Barry's Auto Group

This dealership is not an active DealerRater® Certified Dealer.

Find a Certified Dealer near me

Write a review of Barry's Auto Group





Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Our Location

Posting hours of operation is available exclusively to our Certified Dealer members.

Listing amenities is available exclusively to our Certified Dealer members.


"Excellent Experience"

328guy
6/25/2014 12:38:47 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Lucas Barry
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

I visited Barry Auto Group at the suggestion of my brother in law who purchased a Volvo XC60 from them last year. I was greeted immediately by the General Manager Lucas Barry who was a really nice guy and didn't come off as a "car guy" at all. We talked about the Patriots draft and he mentioned that he's a 2x defending champion in his fantasy league which was impressive to me, a big fantasy football guy. After about 10 minutes of shooting the breeze, we talked about what I was looking for and he showed me 4 different options; all BMWs in really nice condition. After going on 2 test drives I decided that the 328xi was the right car. The nicest part of the whole experience was the financing discussion. I told him exactly what I wanted to pay and within 10 minutes he had me approved and we were signing the paperwork. I've never been to a dealership where the paperwork got started with such ease. I was in and out with a new BMW 328xi in under an hour. I would definitely suggest going to Barry Auto Group and I will do so whenever anyone asks me where I got my sleek new ride!

Was this review helpful to you?   

Twitter
"Barry's best place to buy a car"

mlst452
6/17/2014 6:22:09 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Jim
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

I recently visited Barry's in desperate need for a car. I had been everywhere around but I was told everywhere that I didn't qualify for a car. I went to Barry's they were awesome to work with, they got me financed on a 2009 Nissan Altima and the process was super quick and easy. I would recommend that everyone goes to Barry's!! Thanks guys!!

Was this review helpful to you?    1

Twitter
"Wolve's in Sheep's Clothing"

riker1alpha
4/30/2014 8:14:27 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: No
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Lou
Finance Manager
Lucas Barry
  • Customer Service:

    1
  • Quality of Work:

    1
  • Friendliness:

    1
  • Overall Experience:

    1
  • Pricing:

    4
  • Overall Score:

    1.6

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

I don't know where everyone's excitement is coming from. The only real positives were Lou and the Finance Manager. They really rev'ed me up. I bought a 2012 Chevy Malibu. Very nice car. However, the passenger side headlight leaked badly. They tried to fix it to no avail. Still leaked. At that point, my wife went into a snow bank and required repair. It was then we found out that the vehicle had been in a front end accident up in New Hampshire. Carfax showed no issues. The splash guard under the front end compressor had been put in place with zip ties. And there was damage to the compressor which affects the air conditioning. We get a quote for the repair from Barry's and another body shop. Barry's quote included the repair of the headlight and a replacement of the compressor. The other body shop stated the same. Before we could have the repairs done, our insurance guy needed to take a look. He said that the compressor was damaged, but by a PREVIOUS accident. Barry's (Lucas) stated that they were not going to cover a new compressor as it is not in our warranty. He also stated that as far as the headlight, which they tried to repair, and was also damaged in the accident, was not covered in their warranty. I was treated like crap. Now we have to pay for the car, buy a new compressor and headlight to boot. Over $500.00. Lucas does not care about how he treated us. He said to me that profit margins are not what they used to be! So I got a damaged car with the dealership, who states they are "the Dealership of the people." Not caring that I got a damaged car, Lucas had the nerve to throw in my face that my credit was not perfect! What is the point of that except spite. They have a sign out front stating that everyone is guaranteed. Is that how you treat a customer? Lucas kept saying: "It is not in the warranty. You signed the warranty, don't you remember you signed the warranty." I said I signed a lot of papers that day. I also find it interesting that I did not receive a copy of the signed warranty with my other papers when I left.

Yes, Barry's got what they wanted, a car that was sold. It did not matter what the costs. " The Dealership of the People" sleeps well. I could not treat an enemy like that. We are done with Barry's, no more. Barry's has a referral program to bring others in. The opposite works just as well. Where ever I can warn and tell my story, I will. The sad part of this is, I don't want to be that guy. But, I am done bending over.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Twitter
"Lou provided the best sales experience I have ever had..."

arnold0107
3/22/2014 3:43:02 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
lou campos
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

Lou provided the best sales experience I have ever had when looking for a car. He was professional and got the job done quickly, even with my bad credit. Would highly recommend barrys and Lou to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Twitter
"purchased a 1968 olds 442 from the dealer. the..."

Sferrari
1/10/2014 11:37:25 AM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: No
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Kate - actually did her part very well
  • Customer Service:

    1
  • Quality of Work:

    1
  • Friendliness:

    1
  • Overall Experience:

    1
  • Pricing:

    4
  • Overall Score:

    1.6

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

purchased a 1968 olds 442 from the dealer. the salesperson took a deposit from my amex and told me to mail a cashiers check for the balance. I did just that. in the meantime, the dealer was actively marketing the car on ebay and to other customers (essentially a dutch auction on a sold car). The dealer finds a buyer willing to pay more. The dealer then proceeds to call and ask me to pay a higher price or lose the deal. lost the deal even though we had a deal and I held up to my end of the bargain.

Was this review helpful to you?    1

Twitter
"Worst car dealership I've ever been to. They sold us..."

Krystalmarshall13
1/9/2014 7:09:28 AM

Reason For Visit: Service
I Recommend This Service Center: No
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Sales manager?
  • Customer Service:

    1
  • Quality of Work:

    1
  • Friendliness:

    1
  • Overall Experience:

    1
  • Pricing:

    1
  • Overall Score:

    1.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

Worst car dealership I've ever been to. They sold us a xxxx car that has a 2 yr extended warranty, it started having problems so they ran a diagnostic and said nothing is wrong when CLEARLY there is. Then CHARGED us for it! Either fix it or take your piece of xxxx back!

Was this review helpful to you?    1

Twitter
"We saw a car we liked on their lot and stopped in. It was..."

mtoll123
4/24/2013 5:11:17 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: No
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Lucas Barry
Jose Tavares
  • Customer Service:

    1
  • Quality of Work:

    2
  • Friendliness:

    3
  • Overall Experience:

    1
  • Pricing:

    3
  • Overall Score:

    2.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

We saw a car we liked on their lot and stopped in. It was high pressure and we had a specific payment that we could afford. There wer some small cosmetic things we noticed on the car, a 2008 Nissan Maxima. We took it for a test drive (the sales person Jose was very nice and accommodating and I do not believe our experience was his fault). The test drive was done in a large parking lot and we were not able to take it on the highway. We returned and decided we like the vehicle and were definitely pressured to sign something that night. We haggled on payment and terms. We asked for specific term limit and payment and if they couldn't do it we would leave. They came back with the payment we wanted so we were thrilled; this is about 3 hours after we got there. What they did not tell us was that to get to our payment they added another year to the loan terms. We found that out when we came to pick up the vehicle and sign the paperwork.

After much deliberation we decided to purchase the vehicle at the payment and terms. Throughout the process we felt it was very difficult to get a straight answer on the price we were actually paying for the car, rather than the payment terms. We took the vehicle off the lot and got on a brand new stretch of highway on Rt 24. It had just been repaved and was the smoothest road I have ever been on in RI. We hit 60 and the car started shaking, a lot. The dealership had closed so we decided to wait until the next day to bring it back. We got there the next day and they kept telling us nothing was wrong. They had originally told us that they had 4 brand new tires on the vehicle. After looking closer they had not put 4 new tires on the car.

We assumed the shaking must be due to bad tires. After a ridiculous amount of time and stress they replaced two tires, but not the rims. The car still shook and we were basically told that they would no longer be doing any work on the vehicle and that we had no more rights to have them fix the car anymore than they already had. We ended up having to pay for another auto shop to work on this vehicle right after buying it...

We finally brought it to a friend of ours who is a mechanic and he noticed that it needed new rotors and brakes he also noticed that there was a problem with the transmission. We brought it to a Nissan dealership in East Providence and they agreed the transmission was bad Thank God the transmission was still under warranty. The East Providence Nissan dealership replaced the transmission at no cost to us. They now have a customer for life. If Barry's had really cared about their customers and knew what they were doing they would have looked at the transmission, the East Providence dealership told us that this year and particular transmission have had known problems and that Nissan's warranty covered it.

I would not recommend this dealership, they are shady and not upfront. Jose, our sales guy was very nice and was very distraught to see his customers so upset but could not do anything about it.

We personally worked with Lucas Barry and he was extremely condescending and made us feel like we were crazy... that there was no way the car they just sold us could have any issues...

It was a constant back and forth, nothing upfront and we felt swindled after dealing with Barry's. We also needed to purchase a second car recently and dealt with a Volkswagen Dealership in East Providence. The experience was night and day, they were caring, respectful and upfront, they have customers for life...

Was this review helpful to you?    2

Twitter
"Great service. Sales very helpful and friendly. Have been..."

gottaplaygamz
8/4/2012 3:06:01 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (New)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Eric Botelho
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

Great service. Sales very helpful and friendly. Have been a Barry's customer for over ten years. I have purchased several vehicles from then. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful to you?   

Twitter
"I spent a lot of time looking on the internet for the..."

ChanceORiley27
5/31/2012 10:09:29 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:
Kyle Reynolds
  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    5
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    5
  • Overall Score:

    5.0

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

I spent a lot of time looking on the internet for the perfect car at the perfect price. When I found the car I wanted, it was in RI, much farther from my own home in IN. It was very important to me that the dealership maintain close contact with me via phone so that everything would be in order when I arrived at the dealership. I'm pleased to say that Kyle, aka Don Flack :-), was incredibly friendly and helpful! He tried very hard to make the sale go as smooth as possible. It was easy to contact him, and he returned my phone calls very promptly. I would buy from this dealership again - which is saying a lot since it's about 500 miles from my home!

Was this review helpful to you?   

Twitter
"I bought a Nissan Versa from Charlie a few weeks ago and..."

mgempp
5/17/2012 7:34:43 PM

Reason For Visit: Sales (Used)
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes
Employee(s) Dealt With:

  • Customer Service:

    5
  • Quality of Work:

    N/A
  • Friendliness:

    5
  • Overall Experience:

    5
  • Pricing:

    4
  • Overall Score:

    4.8

My Review Of Barry's Auto Group:

I bought a Nissan Versa from Charlie a few weeks ago and am so happy with my purchase! Charlie worked so hard to find the right car me and at a great price. He was so friendly and intelligent and was so quick with the math I swear theres a calculator in his head! I will be recommending Charlie to everyone I know looking for a car at a great price!! Thanks Charlie See you when I'm ready for my next ride!!! BTW GIVE THAT MAN A RAISE!!!!

Michelle Gempp

Was this review helpful to you?   

Twitter

Reviews 11-20 >>