About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Barry's Auto Group

3.2

121 Lifetime Reviews

166 Connell Highway, Newport, Rhode Island 02840 Directions
Sales: (401) 847-5600

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

121 Reviews of Barry's Auto Group

Sort by Write a review
July 29, 2017

"BEST - DEALER - EVER - Loved car and every minute with them!"

- Dr Xtoph

I was very, very happy with my purchase at Barry. The first time I called it was obvious I was working with caring professionals who knew their business. Scotty was very receptive to my coming on a Friday night at 5:30 pm, which I did. I left with the car I wanted, at the price I wanted and could afford, with the downpayment and monthly payment I wanted!! They made me an amazing deal which included a bumper-to-bumper unlimited mile 4-yr warranty, which was worth its weight in gold. And I know it! I got a 2008 BMW 1 Series 135i. It had new rotors, brakes, tires, and had been serviced to the tune of $750 in replacements of worn items they found when they bought it. The car was clean, beautiful, and a pleasure to drive - just the combination of pep and fuel economy I wanted (31.7 mpg over my first 1 hr drive, and 0-60 in under 5 seconds). Just in case, I bought the gap insurance for the deal (I had brought negative equity from a lease early turn-in) for just over their cost. The owner was very transparent. Scotty, my sales person, was very kind. I really wasn't feeling well and he was very sympathetic to how it took more time than it should have. I had to call Progressive and hadn't realized that after our recent move to Miami, we hadn't gotten our insurance changed - that meant 45 minutes on the phone, AFTER making the deal. Scotty and the finance manager, Arthur, treated me so well. I knew they had things waiting for them at home, but until everything was complete at 10:30 pm (they close at 6!) they were patient, willing to help a guy in a tough spot. I would buy (if I had to replace my little new Bimmer) from Barry Automotive again, even if it meant driving home a new car (new to me) to Miami again. The drive was absolutely wonderful with the quality of car they gave me. I recommend this dealership as highly as I could recommend. No gimmicks, no snuck in costs, no impatience, no pushing. They are flexible, friendly, service-minded, and salt-of-the-earth type of people. It's no wonder the owner (grandson of the founder who started it in 1950) is so well-regarded. They even offer guaranteed financing! Please consider them for your next car - I couldn't have had a better experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scotty, Arthur, and owner Mr. Barry
July 29, 2017

"Pending upon resolution"

- Cgolds

Pending on how they handle my current situation with them. I hope it turns out the best. Will update this further after the whole process has been figured out further.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lucas, campos
July 04, 2017

"TOUGH SITUATION"

- kevin 306

BEST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD WITH A DEALER.I CAME TO BARRYS WITH A TOUGH SITUATION THE STAFF AT BARRYS LISTEN TO WHAT I HAD TO SAY.THEN THEY SHOWED ME A VEHICLE THAT WOULD WORK FOR ME. THER WAS NO PRESURE RICHARD TOOK THE TIME TO EXPLAIN EVRYTHING TO ME AND HOW IT WOULD WORK.ARTHUR WORKED OUT A GREAT DEAL FOR ME THAT WOULD WORK FOR ME. BEING A VET ON SSDI IS NOT EASY. BARRYS STAFF WAS WILLING TO WORK WITH THAT AND THEY MADE IT HAPPEN .GREAT JOP GUYS. THREE WEEKS LATER ENGINE LITE CAME ON AND RAN ROUGH KEPT STALLING OUT CALLED RICHARD HE SAID NO PORBLEM HAD TOW TRUCK COME FOR NISSAN AND GAVE ME A LOANER FOR THE WEEKEND SERVICE MANGER CALLED AND EXPLAINED WHAT WENT WRONG THEY REPAIRED VEHICLE . AND IT RUNS GREAT. THANKS AGAIN GUYS. KEVIN M.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
LACUS BARRY/RICHARD/ARTHUR
June 28, 2017

"Nice and awsome at first, after could careless"

- Fishguy1985

stay away from Barrys of Newport!!! we should have known from the start, my wife and I with our children went to look at a car we saw the online price was nice. we liked the car asked about the price they said that's our online price to get you here ! well congrates it worked. then we were pressured onto buying at that moment because another couple wanted to look at it so they ran numbers we agreed on a price that was much higher then the online price aswell higher then clean retail but our credit isn't the greatest soo we went along with it. we got the cars warranty never can be to carful lucky we did because we would have been screwed royally!!!! so less then two weeks the car goes in the shop, cant get my car out of first gear .. bring it in they give use a rental no charge thank god .days later while driving the loaner we have the check engine light go on ? a cylinder dropped, so we went back to new port gave use another loaner which was also junk. we finally get our car back like two weeks later .a week later same issue with the car we bought ,and now its past lemon law date and we haven't even driven the car for a month . give us another rental, another junk car off the lot, as days go by barrys says we need a computer and some transmission work are u kidding me we haven't even owned this car for 2 months and only driven the thing for like two weeks ...went through another loaner car total of five while they were working on our car ...they fix it again after having it for three weeks , we drive it for another two weeks starter goes its in the shop again and now they are giving my wife attitude and saying no rental its a courtesy , u have to wait with you two children for hours and or just come back another day. there attitudes are like they don't really care anymore! im glad now that we are completely scewed with this car now u don't want to care! I just wanted a safe reliable car for my family, barry said he would do this he has failed in doing so ..... you sold us a lemon and if I didn't buy the warranty my family would be screwed right now ! don't buy a car here they, sell auctions cars and put very little to next to nothing into it to sell!! buyers beware please . I will be calling channel ten and the BBB!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
The owner, sales, parts
June 01, 2017

"Great service! In and out!"

- Kathy

Was there at 10am to look at a specific car. Made the deal and was driving it home at 12:30pm! Best and fastest service ever! We will be back!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lou Campos, Lucas Barry
May 09, 2017

"Waste of Time"

- Starbuck$18

The new finance manager is an absolute pig! Incredibly unprofessional and such a waste of time. If you don't have perfect credit, do not go here no matter what they tell you. They just make false promises!! The finance manager Arthur uses profanity and talks about how much porn he watches!! Extremely unprofessional atmosphere and very uncomfortable! If you do have perfect credit, go somewhere else because Barry's wastes your time! Lucas walked right by me and didn't even have the respect to greet his customers!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lucas Barry, Sean ODonnell, Arthur
May 04, 2017

"First Time Buyer"

- Highlander05

Everyone at the dealership was very friendly, helpful, & professional. My first day in everyone came up, introduced themselves and made sure I was being taken care of. Joe was the salesman that worked with me, I was really happy with the non-agressive approach when it came to me choosing a vehicle. He also did a good job of directing me to the type of vehicle i wanted. After 2 nights of the guys staying late to help me, I left with my vehicle. I'd recommend going to them. They worked with my budget and lack of a spotless credit report. So thank you joe for patiently staying late and helping me find the vehicle. Thank you Arthur for also staying late and working with me on a budget I could work with and all the paperwork & explaining my options. Thank you Jose for following up with my inquiry online. & thank you to the owner for checking in on me throughout the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe, Arthur, Jose
December 08, 2016

"Best car buying experience I've ever had. Felt like family!"

- Kristine Desouto

Best car buying experience I've ever had. I felt like family. Cost of vehicle was excellent with no need to haggle. I would highly recommend this dealership to everyone!! Very relaxed and knowledgeable staff. I took my time and never felt pressured. So happy and satisfied!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Lucas and Eric
October 11, 2016

"Don't buy from these crooks"

- Tom D.

Bought a truck from there, had it for a week when the engine started to smoke, brought it back then to tell me the truck needs a engine. I only have a 30 days warranty because I couldn't afford the extented warranty. Took them 6 weeks to get to get my truck done with a "new" (meaning junk yard) engine. Meanwhile when I was checking status, they were to busy cooking food on the grill to answer customers phone calls. Finally had the truck for 3 weeks then noticed antifreeze spots on my driveway and check engine light was on again. Brought it back, now my engine and parts was warranty for 1 year. They wanted to charge me $250 to replace a water pump they told me it was no good. I said "are you kidding me"? I thought it was warranted, they said no. So I refused to their service and took my truck back. Now I have to bring it to my trust worthy mechanic to have it fixed for a lot less but not only that making payments on a truck I have to fix, if that was the case I should of kept my old one. I don't recommend anyone to this dealership, they are crooks and they do shady business. I will NEVER GO THERE AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND ANYONE TO GO THERE. Beware of this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Demelo
October 05, 2016

"Purchased 06 f150 from Barrys and traded in my 04 ,DISASTER!"

- Gbarbo08

I purchased and 06 f150 crew cab from Barry's, traded in my 04 f150 supercab what a mistake i did. I traded in a 220k truck that ran better than my newer one. 1st Week of purchase, check engine light truck sent to ford for ecu reprogramming and trans issue. Second week i get my truck back then it started to sound like a diesel. Just stay away from these crooks. I have a video of my issues for proof if anyone ever wants to review what they neglected to fix, then counter review that they have tried to resolve the problem , which is false and untruthful. Gary B

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jose
1
...
1 - 10 of 121 results