About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Blue Knob Auto

2860 Route 764, Duncansville, Pennsylvania 16635
Sales: (814) 695-0969

Makes: Used Car Dealer
Good
67% Recommend
3.8

31 Lifetime Reviews

Blue Knob Auto
2860 Route 764,
Duncansville, Pennsylvania 16635
Blue Knob Auto Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Brookside Motors Inc

380 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Bud's Auto Sales

120 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
31 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
granny.files
4/07/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Helpful work of salesperson overshadowed by lengthy,..."

Helpful work of salesperson overshadowed by lengthy, intimidating, behind closed door pressure to buy car care insurance instead of just getting to document signing. Manipulative!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Teresa Benson and Cory (documents and car care insurance)

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
12
13thetigger13
11/09/2011
Reason For Visit
Service

"I purchased a Saturn Aura in mid September. The vehicle..."

I purchased a Saturn Aura in mid September. The vehicle is loaded and the price was spectacular! There was no nonsense with the purchase or price and it was the shortest time I've ever spent buying a car. Since the purchase, the service department has gone entirely out of their way to fix the random problems I've had with the vehicle that nobody could have known until the vehicle was driven some distance. They even went as far as to put me in a rental car for almost a week at no cost to me and then also ordered me 4 brand new after market rims of my choice to replace one bent factory rim that could not be ordered due to its limited availability. I will never buy a car anywhere else and Blue Knob Service has earned my business for inspections and repairs from here on out. Top notch employees round out the circle in my experience. Thanks Blue Knob!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Greg Fornwalt, Steve in service

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
10
cw8307
10/27/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My family has been buying from Blue Knob auto for years...."

My family has been buying from Blue Knob auto for years. I bought 4 vehicles from them in the past 5 years. If you are looking for someone to hold your hand and sweet talk you this isn't their business. If you don't buy the car someone else will so you have to think of that when you arrive on their parking lot. They don't have to sell the car because it will sell. If you want it you better get there before its gone and have your finances in check to get the vehicle. They aren't always the "nicest" but watch them run in circles selling multiple vehicles. You would be a little stressed. Last time I was there (last month) Greg was working two cubicles at once. Was it right?? I'd say no but he had to do what he had to do given the amount of customers present. I think I would do the same. He called me by my name and treated me with respect whether I was buying or not. You can't ask for anything else. I say let me drive X, Y & Z and he says here are the keys. It's a good atmosphere. No one tells u where to drive, offers to come along, or talks you out of a test drive. You come back, hand them the plate and keys and they say "how did it ride". There is no pressure at all. I currently drive a 09 F-150 I bought from Blue Knob and I have had no issues. I never had issues with any other vehicle I bought there either. As far as trade in they offered me $2,900.00 more than any dealership I went to recently when I wanted to trade in my truck. In the past they gave me $1,000 more on my Dodge Ram then anyone else would. If you have a Ford Focus and they have 20 Focus's on the lot you might not get a good trade in. Why would they give you what they sell them for or more than what they can get them for? If you go to Blue Knob without being in the whole on the vehicle you are trading you should always come out ahead if you buy a vehicle where the asking price is significantly less than the book value.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Greg

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
LMC
10/19/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"We went to Blue Knob Auto determined to buy something..."

We went to Blue Knob Auto determined to buy something after the recommendations of coworkers. The whole buying experience was good there, except for the slight smell in the car we bought. That night the smell lingered on our clothes to the point we had to get two ozone treatments at a dealership, which solved that problem. However, the check engine light has come on twice in the month that we've owned it. The car has been in the shop or scheduled for the shop nearly the whole time we owned it, which has been one month. I really hesitate going there again. It was our first used car experience, and not a good one.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mike

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
Password88
9/08/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"After three trips of over an hour one way to the dealer..."

After three trips of over an hour one way to the dealer to find the vehicle was already sold, We did what the Salesman asked and called ahead and asked to "hold" the two cars I wanted to see. We received a call as we were leaving(the fourth trip) that the two we were coming to see were sold. I guess he saved us two hours of driving. So apparently "HOLDING" a car does not mean the same to Blue Knob as it does to the Customer.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Steve

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
9
ckeiner
8/30/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Poor Ralph. I read the reviews after the fact and I am..."

Poor Ralph. I read the reviews after the fact and I am glad I did not meet Ralph that day. I purchased a vehicle from Blue Knob on 08/26/2011. Several friends, coworkers, and even my local mechanic recommended them over the years, but I keep an open mind and buy when the price is right. I spent the better part of two weeks researching and pricing used vehicles. I had determined I was looking for a 2005 or newer ford escape, had my options in mind, and set out for the hunt. When Thursday night came, I did a final search and found a 2006 Escape listed for $12k with 54k miles and the options I wanted. On Friday, I called the dealership and spoke with Kevin. He was kind and answered my questions promptly. When I said I was interesting in looking at the vehicle and that I was about 90 minutes from the dealership, he offered to hold the vehicle for me. I was skeptical, but took the chance and drove up. Sure enough, when I arrived, Kevin had the keys waiting for me. To my surprise, there was another offer on the vehicle when I arrived (I actually ran into the person in the lobby), but he held the vehicle until I made a decision. There was even a note in the vehicle that said "Sale Pending". Good start. After I test drove the vehicle and it met my needs. I was equally impressed that I was not pressured into buying the vehicle. He did not focus on the monthly payment like so many other places and I was asked what financing I was comfortable with - i.e. 3, 4, or 5 years, which banks I wanted to deal with etc. etc. While working on some paperwork, I mentioned that the AC did not seem very cold after the test drive, but I could recharge it at home. To my surprise, they pulled the car in and recharged it before I left - and it was noticeable. My whole experience was GREAT. Considering I was open-minded, and would have shopped at other dealerships, I am glad I chose to go to Blue Knob first. They do deal with high volume and their inventory goes quickly. My suggestions for dealing with them is to search / monitor their inventory online before you go. Have an idea of what you want, and how much you can afford. They love it when you are well informed. Also, if you live more that 15 minutes away from their lot - CALL FIRST. They are very accommodating - and if you have a vehicle in mind, they will hold it for you if it's not already sold. As far as quality - make sure you know what to look for. Push all the buttons, check the car over, and then over again. But this is the same advice for any dealership. Good luck and happy car hunting!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kevin

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
john conner
8/12/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"this was the second vehichle purchased from blue knob..."

this was the second vehichle purchased from blue knob auto. the first was a 2005 dakota pick up with low milage and the truck is still owned and opperated by us, that is the reason we went back to this dealer. Contray to other review we were offered a car fax on the cars we were looking at and it did help in the decission making prosses.chuck was kind , curtious and knowledgable. we were treated with respcect and like we were buying a vehicle from a friend. we did buy a 2010 nissan almost 2 weeks ago and so far we are pleased with this vehicle as well. all in all we were pleased with the whole buying experience and would highly recommend chuck and this dealer to anyone looking for a used vehicle . john conner

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

chuck salyards

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
Qu3st
6/27/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"First off let me say they have some of the best prices..."

First off let me say they have some of the best prices around. They do so because they deal in volume. They are a great place to buy a car if you don't like the haggling that goes on at every other dealer. That being said do your homework! They do basically nothing but wash the cars up and maybe do an inspection. Make sure you take someone with you to fully inspect the car you are looking at. Some of these cars are priced so low because of a reason. And from what I have read Blue Knob service after the sale is minimal to none. Many of the cars are from rental fleets, ever rent a car? did you treat it like your own? lol, be careful of what you buy. The sales people know little about the cars and getting a vehicle history report is like pulling teeth. They must not get paid on commission because SOME of them are real pricks. I dealt with RALPH JONES JR. 814-317-4025. If they give you this salesman, immediately ask for someone, anyone else. He is such a douche bag. All he wants to do is talk about how badly the dealer treats him and his camouflage hat. I kinda felt bad for him because he sounded so pathetic. Ralph if you read this why don't you do something else with your life? The bottom line is that they do have some good prices but you really need to be careful of what you buy. And the absolute truth is that other dealers will give you the same prices that blue knob does and you might just get someone nice to deal with for service after the sale. Remember if the price sounds too good to be true it probably is. I ended up dealing with another sales person, Steve Kotecki, he is a really nice young guy who was very respectable an attentive to my requests. 814-317-4054

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ralph Jones Jr. AKA - Douche bag

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
12
matters not
5/10/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"hey you can't please evryone. I often hear people..."

hey you can't please evryone. I often hear people complain about Blue Knob. WHY? I don't know for sure. But I have bought 4 cars there and have no regrets. If you can find a nicer car for a few thousand dollars under the average market prices, I suggest you post that car dealer here as I want to know about it. I am getting my fifth car from Blue Knob this month. because I cannot find a nicer car for the money. And once I had a sales person who was a little lax in getting to me. So, I asked for another sales person and reveived one. Common sense .

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

the cute sales woman. And the guy with the Bible on his desk.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
9
curvefan685
3/30/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I was referred to Blue Knob Auto by several of my friends..."

I was referred to Blue Knob Auto by several of my friends and co-workers when mentioned purchasing a used car. Already knowing how busy this dealership was I came prepared to purchase and hopefully leave the same day. When I arrived I was given to a used car salesperson named Ralph. He sent me on a test drive on the car I was interested in. The test drive was fine and other than an odor inside the car which was explained to me as something to do with cleaning it I had nothing to complain about. When we sat down to discuss the purchase it was obvious that there was other issues here. Instead of processing the purchase and talking about the car Ralph decided I wanted to hear about his problems. I was then told about how the dealership does nothing for him and how he has to purchase his own uniform shirts and license plates out of pocket. I was there to purchase a car and that’s about it. I found this to be extremely unprofessional. He must have sensed my displeasure and became short with me and acted like me being there was an inconvenience. I did not and will not be retuning to Blue Knob to purchase a car. The prices are excellent and the cars seem to be in nice condition however the lack of customer service and unprofessionalism based on this one and only visit is more than enough for me to stay away. Previous and future customers beware, if you are looking for any help from “management” of this dealership don’t count on it. My calls to the manager “Jim” were never returned. I ended up finding another car not far from there and didn’t have any complaining to go with my purchase.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ralph Jones

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
15
11 - 20 of 31 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory