About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Don Jacobs Honda

3.9

130 Lifetime Reviews

2699 Regency Road, Lexington, Kentucky 40503 Directions
Sales: (859) 276-5555

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

130 Reviews of Don Jacobs Honda

Sort by Write a review
August 08, 2017

"Treated like idiots wasting their time."

- melliott44

Took my Honda Civic in to get an oil change and transmission flush. Had just had a $2300 paint repair done at the collision shop. I asked my service agent Kenny to look into why the lights on my rev indicator weren't working and to give me a quote for getting it fixed. Kenny told me that Honda Civic Si's do not have such a feature. He even said he asked his supervisor and he agreed. He was unwilling to look into it any further and kept giving me answers such as "I'm not sure. I don't know." He expressed zero willingness to help and to actually bring business to the service center. I asked to be transffered to someone else and he refused and told me that "they would just tell me the same thing." He spoke to me like I was stupid and wasting his time. Very frustrating to take my Honda to the only Honda dealer in town and actually get treated like an idiot, especially after bringing them my business. I suppose I will have to take my Hondas over to Quantrell or Paul Miller from now on. Edit: 08-08-17 The Service Director has responded and offered to work towards a resolution.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kenny
April 03, 2017

"airbag replaced "

- Horae123

Just had my airbag replaced and the techs left debris on the floor. I wish they had vacuumed - the only reason I go to this dealership is for recall purposes.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
I don't know
January 20, 2017

"Not organized, service was "pass the buck mentality". "

- Kynew04

Scheduled appointment to have truck worked on and made THEM AWARE that my truck would be dropped off via tow truck. I called later after appointment time and they hadn't even started on my truck. They said they wondered whose truck that was dropped off in the parking lot. I said I had an appointment and why wouldn't you call to verify? I guess we could start doing that was their response. I was quoted initially $800 for an alternator repair. They came back with $910 nothing extra just a more expensive quote. When I asked about the difference they said diagnostics. I said that was free! Beside I told you it was an alternator that was bad. Don't give me a different price over a quote if nothing changed. We are looking to trade this vehicle in soon. We will be driving 2.5 hours away to Gary force Honda in Bowling green Ky. They treat us like Gold! Ps had Car towed to Midas and was charged $600.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service desk and a manager
December 31, 2016

"No Regard for Safety"

- Disappointed

I contacted the dealer to find out about a sound my car was making (there was a service bulletin out on it). They gave me the usual 'we will have to keep it and run diagnostics' for way too much money. They then informed me of ONE recall and said I could bring it in whenever I could make an appointment. I contacted Honda regarding the initial concern and was informed of TWO MORE recalls that were more serious that then one Don Jacobs had mentioned. Honda asked me if DJ had let me know that absolutely no one should be riding in the passenger seats of my cars due to the recalled parts leading to fatalities. DJ not only didn't tell me about those two recalls, but they did not seem to have any concern for my family's wellbeing. When I called back to inquire about this, they said they were not allowed to "scare you like Honda can." This seemed very odd to me. They also kept saying that it was on me because I should have scheduled the recalls to be fixed when I got the letters in the mail...which magically came in the mail AFTER I contacted DJ and Honda. I was less than impressed with management's response to my situation and extremely disappointed in the service department's utter lack of concern for my family's lives. I will not be returning there for service or sales.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cant Recall
December 06, 2016

"I got what I wanted!"

- fuentes

I have bought several vehicles. And by far this has been my best experience yet. It was quick and the deal I wanted. I was extremely pleased and I am hard to deal with. I knew what I wanted and have been researching it for awhile. So I knew what a fair price was and I feel like they done that.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jo, Chris
October 27, 2016

"Best car buying experience EVER!!!"

- Ando

I needed some help getting out of my upside down pickup. I called Mike, with their Honda department, and asked for assistance. Not only did he get the majority of the sale done over the phone, he was polite, professional, and (most importantly) he was HONEST! When I got to the dealership he helped me work a deal that was not only fair for me, but I left feeling great and in LOVE with my new Accord. I would highly recommend Mike! I also want to give a shoutout to Tyler in the financial department. He kept up the professionalism and honesty. Not only did he get my rate lower than I ever expected, their was ZERO stress or pressure.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike and Tyler.
September 26, 2016

"The absolute worst car buying experience"

- Nobes123

The absolute worst car buying experience. After going to them originally for a used Honda CR-V, the sales man made me comfortable with the idea of leasing. I had not yet consulted my insurance company regarding quotes, also we couldn't reach an agreement on a monthly payment. I thanked them for their time and they told me they would be in touch. After several phone calls over the course of a week advising me they had received some "new incentives" and getting me to my price point was 100% achievable, I rescheduled an appointment. Now, this being my second time here and having already discussed my price point and being told it was "100% achievable" I expected this to be an in and out situation. Boy was I wrong. They haggled with me about the monthly payment for over an hour. First tried to finesse me into a Accord- when that is something we never discussed- FINALLY we agreed on the monthly payment, shook hands on the deal, I picked out my car, AND ONLY THEN did they check my credit and say that I would have to have a co-signer. When I told them that wasn't an option they said there was nothing they could do. They tried to guilt my papaw, who was with me, into co-signing. It was just an all around deplorable experience. I am unbelievably disappointed in my experience with Don Jacobs. I believe what they saw was a young girl who was obviously excited about a new car and thought that her papaw would do whatever he could to ensure she got what she wanted. I understand that my credit was non-existent, due to me being young and just simple having not credit history. I would not feel this way had they been upfront and honest with be about the process and had not tried and back me into a corner thinking I was going to fold.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
September 23, 2016

"Repeat customer."

- Janet's CRV

Positive experience with Brent Tackett in sales. Brent was pleasant and product knowledgable, thanks for your help! Finance agent Mr. Lloyd was through and made the process a easy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brent Tackett, Mr. Lloyd
September 19, 2016

"Bought my 1st Honda Accord Sport from Don Jacobs"

- Kelli

The thought of buying a new car is always stressful. Thankfully when I arrived at Don Jacobs and met with Allison most of the stress went away. She made the whole process easy from answering the multiple questions I had to even getting numbers for two different cars. She, along with two of her co-workers, were there after closing to help ensure I got what I wanted at a price I could afford. She even helped me transfer stuff from the car I traded in to the car I had just purchased. This was the first time I have purchased a car from a dealership and have to admit I am thankful I chose Don Jacobs Honda to help with finding the car I was looking for. They were very friendly and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a new car who wants a stress free experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Allison Thurman
August 14, 2016

"BAIT, SWITCH, LIE - A Triple Threat Dealer"

- Keith

My wife's 2006 Honda Odyssey developed an AC problem. We had researched the problem and found two common causes that are easily fixed but require potentially costly parts. Thinking that we could wasting money if those weren't the cause we started looking for a service center when we got a coupon for a $79.95 AC inspection from Don Jacobs. Seemed like a good price to confirm our suspicions. She scheduled the appointment and upon dropping off the van with Josh was told that the coupon was for a "visual inspection" only and wouldn't cover our situation. Really !?!?! $80 to literally LOOK at a compressor, some belts and switches without even breaking out tools. I smell BS. We were told that it would be up to $180 to diagnose the problem. It was already there so we told them to proceed. A couple hours later we get a call telling us that one of the parts we originally suspected was indeed bad and would need to be replaced before they could continue the inspection. I had previously priced the OEM part at $150 through various Honda parts outlets. The replacement of this part requires pulling a panel that requires no tools, removing two easily accessible phillips head screws, unhooking a wire harness plug then doing all that again in reverse. It is a less than 10 minute job. Their quote was $253 for the part and $100 for labor. When I expressed surprise and told him what I had found elsewhere he told me that I was welcome to do it myself if I thought I could. Honda sets their prices and they aren't allowed to charge less. I knew Josh was lying. Just to verify I called Gates Honda in Richmond and was told that LIST PRICE on that part is $213. Many parts counters discount from list. These ripoffs are charging list PLUS 20%. At that point I asked how much we owed and was told $60 so far. They couldn't have had more than a few minutes of time in the car but I knew this wasn't going to get better. Remember they had to replace this part to even see what else they could find. Considering this was the only problem they "found" I suspect all they did was verify our description of the problem and picked one of the two common causes we had already told them about. Bottom line - I picked up the van, paid the $60 and purchased an OEM equivalent part at O'Reillys for $75. Once home I had my wife time me on the repair.... I took 6 minutes using only a small phillips head screw driver. AC now works beautifully! If I had paid their quote that would be equivalent to a $1000/hour rate not even including the parts overcharge. I can't imagine how many less informed customers have fallen for their routine. The service center parking lot was full. Do yourself a favor and stay FAR AWAY from Don Jacobs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Josh
1
...
1 - 10 of 130 results