About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Don Jacobs Honda

2699 Regency Road, Lexington, Kentucky 40503
Sales: (888) 522-3822

Makes: Honda | Service Center
Good
76% Recommend
4.0

124 Lifetime Reviews

Don Jacobs Honda
2699 Regency Road,
Lexington, Kentucky 40503
Don Jacobs Honda Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Honda World

966 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Glockner Honda Toyota

620 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
124 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Nobes123
9/26/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"The absolute worst car buying experience"

The absolute worst car buying experience. After going to them originally for a used Honda CR-V, the sales man made me comfortable with the idea of leasing. I had not yet consulted my insurance company regarding quotes, also we couldn't reach an agreement on a monthly payment. I thanked them for their time and they told me they would be in touch. After several phone calls over the course of a week advising me they had received some "new incentives" and getting me to my price point was 100% achievable, I rescheduled an appointment. Now, this being my second time here and having already discussed my price point and being told it was "100% achievable" I expected this to be an in and out situation. Boy was I wrong. They haggled with me about the monthly payment for over an hour. First tried to finesse me into a Accord- when that is something we never discussed- FINALLY we agreed on the monthly payment, shook hands on the deal, I picked out my car, AND ONLY THEN did they check my credit and say that I would have to have a co-signer. When I told them that wasn't an option they said there was nothing they could do. They tried to guilt my papaw, who was with me, into co-signing. It was just an all around deplorable experience. I am unbelievably disappointed in my experience with Don Jacobs. I believe what they saw was a young girl who was obviously excited about a new car and thought that her papaw would do whatever he could to ensure she got what she wanted. I understand that my credit was non-existent, due to me being young and just simple having not credit history. I would not feel this way had they been upfront and honest with be about the process and had not tried and back me into a corner thinking I was going to fold.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Janet's CRV
9/23/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Repeat customer."

Positive experience with Brent Tackett in sales. Brent was pleasant and product knowledgable, thanks for your help! Finance agent Mr. Lloyd was through and made the process a easy.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Brent Tackett, Mr. Lloyd

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Kelli
9/19/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bought my 1st Honda Accord Sport from Don Jacobs"

The thought of buying a new car is always stressful. Thankfully when I arrived at Don Jacobs and met with Allison most of the stress went away. She made the whole process easy from answering the multiple questions I had to even getting numbers for two different cars. She, along with two of her co-workers, were there after closing to help ensure I got what I wanted at a price I could afford. She even helped me transfer stuff from the car I traded in to the car I had just purchased. This was the first time I have purchased a car from a dealership and have to admit I am thankful I chose Don Jacobs Honda to help with finding the car I was looking for. They were very friendly and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a new car who wants a stress free experience.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Allison Thurman

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Keith
8/14/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"BAIT, SWITCH, LIE - A Triple Threat Dealer"

My wife's 2006 Honda Odyssey developed an AC problem. We had researched the problem and found two common causes that are easily fixed but require potentially costly parts. Thinking that we could wasting money if those weren't the cause we started looking for a service center when we got a coupon for a $79.95 AC inspection from Don Jacobs. Seemed like a good price to confirm our suspicions. She scheduled the appointment and upon dropping off the van with Josh was told that the coupon was for a "visual inspection" only and wouldn't cover our situation. Really !?!?! $80 to literally LOOK at a compressor, some belts and switches without even breaking out tools. I smell BS. We were told that it would be up to $180 to diagnose the problem. It was already there so we told them to proceed. A couple hours later we get a call telling us that one of the parts we originally suspected was indeed bad and would need to be replaced before they could continue the inspection. I had previously priced the OEM part at $150 through various Honda parts outlets. The replacement of this part requires pulling a panel that requires no tools, removing two easily accessible phillips head screws, unhooking a wire harness plug then doing all that again in reverse. It is a less than 10 minute job. Their quote was $253 for the part and $100 for labor. When I expressed surprise and told him what I had found elsewhere he told me that I was welcome to do it myself if I thought I could. Honda sets their prices and they aren't allowed to charge less. I knew Josh was lying. Just to verify I called Gates Honda in Richmond and was told that LIST PRICE on that part is $213. Many parts counters discount from list. These ripoffs are charging list PLUS 20%. At that point I asked how much we owed and was told $60 so far. They couldn't have had more than a few minutes of time in the car but I knew this wasn't going to get better. Remember they had to replace this part to even see what else they could find. Considering this was the only problem they "found" I suspect all they did was verify our description of the problem and picked one of the two common causes we had already told them about. Bottom line - I picked up the van, paid the $60 and purchased an OEM equivalent part at O'Reillys for $75. Once home I had my wife time me on the repair.... I took 6 minutes using only a small phillips head screw driver. AC now works beautifully! If I had paid their quote that would be equivalent to a $1000/hour rate not even including the parts overcharge. I can't imagine how many less informed customers have fallen for their routine. The service center parking lot was full. Do yourself a favor and stay FAR AWAY from Don Jacobs.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Josh

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ManhattanLatin
8/12/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"why is 0 stars not an option? Go somewhere else "

I purchased a used car from old Don and got an absolute lemon. The sales person let on that the car was strong and no issues existed. Congratulations for passing on a vehicle to the consumer that had blown head gasket, busted power steering system. My mechanic found proof the vehicle was sealed to hide these issues. Never buy from old Don. This was my sons first vehicle so this really hurts. I've spent over $5K on repairs.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Emmy Logan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Disappointed Honda Buyer
8/02/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Sold a defective car"

We have owned a Honda Accord in the past for about 13 years and still own Honda Civic for past 15 years. Both these cars have sunroof/moonroof and we have never faced an issue with these cars. Due to this past good experience with Honda, when it was time to buy a new car to replace Honda Civic, we decided to buy the Honda CRV Touring 2016 model over Acura RDX (We also own a 2009 Acura MDX and love it!). We found a good deal at Don Jacobs for the Honda CRV Touring model and were happy to own it until we found out the defect. About a little over 1 month in to buying the car we noticed water stains on the roof of the car from inside. They were all over the roof - in the front, over the back passenger seats. We called Don Jacob and they asked us to bring it in so they could determine what the issue was. They found that there was a defective part in the drainage system that drains the water from the sunroof. They changed the sunroof, sunshades, headliner, sliding frame as Honda has bumper to bumper car warranty for 3 years/36,000 miles. This is frustrating to see that you have a brand new car which is defective and already parts of it have been altered. We took the car from service and inspected carefully from inside to ensure that it is stain free. We drove back home in about 20-30 minutes of heavy rain and next day what should we see! A stain on the sunroof again! So we called the service department and they asked us to bring the car in. I took the car and what they did was clean the stain from inside. They told me that American Honda has asked them to clean the stain and then monitor if this happens again, AT THE COST OF THE CUSTOMER! No tests were done to find out what was wrong or if there is any issue with the new parts installed or with the design of those parts! I was told by the Service person Jeff to come back or call them back if I saw the stain again. THIS IS A LAME SERVICE! We take time off to ensure that our new car has no issue and all that they have to offer is lame service! One thing I know for sure that I am not going back to Don Jacob for service or buy another Honda in the future!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Jeff Smith

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
never again
6/28/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Go somewhere else!"

I have only owned a Honda and have loved each of them. I have never bought a new car so this was new and exciting for me. I researched to find the car I wanted. After looking through what was available and what features were on the different models, I finally found the perfect car. It is a car that is not common so to find the color I wanted, I searched the surrounding dealer. At last I found the car of my dreams. It had everything I wanted. The only problem was that it was 200 miles from my home. I called up the sales rep I had spoken to when I started this process. We agreed on a price and they would have this car delivered. I came in and signed the paperwork with a hefty down payment. I was told the delivery time should be one week two at the most. Five days later I texted to get the VIN number so I could get insurance on my car. I was told it was to soon to know that. One week later I texted again and was told this time it would be another two weeks. So the beginning of the third week, I texted again asking for an ETA and the VIN number. This time I was told sometime between Wednesday and Saturday of that week. I text back asking why it is taking so long and express my frustration. Remember all I wanted was a car sitting in a dealers lot. He responded that THEY decided to purchase me a brand new car from the factory and as soon as he knew it was in I would know. If I had known they were custom making it, I would have added on some extras but I was not informed of this decision until it was to late. Five days later I finally get a text and a phone call saying my car is in. This is a full month after I "purchased" my car. My dad and I go that day to pick it up. Again I sign paper after paper. Once all that is done, I've signed for and agree to take this car, the sales guy tells me I cannot take the car home. It did not get inspected after coming off the truck so I cannot take possession. But hey it was good I at least got to sit in my car. That makes it ok right? I have signed every paper by this point and own a car I cannot drive so I went home which by the way is 45 miles from the dealership. I come back into town the next day. They wanted to make sure they could help me set up the car with my specifications. I show up and they hand me the keys and that's it. No set up, no showing of the electronics. So that is my buying experience. How can this get worse you ask? Don't worry it does. A week before my temporary tag expires, I text my sales agent to find out what the hold up is. He says he doesn't know but he will find out. I wait and hear nothing. I text again later in the week and all I get is crickets. My temporary tag expires on a Sunday and I am stuck not being able to drive my brand new car. Finally on Tuesday I am headed in to this town for another reason so I call three times. Finally on the third call I get someone who will give me answers. She says THEY HAVE MY TAG, but a battery test is not entered. I tell her am in town and I will be there in a few minutes to get my tag. I get there and the sales associate asks me if I have seen a small piece of paper with some numbers on it, because this test should have been done before the car was taken off the lot. He thought my car would be in the parking lot and they could do the test right there. My tag was expired remember? I cannot drive it. He said he needed to go figure out what to do. Before he disappeared, I took my tag from him. As he was gone I was looking at the certificate of registration and noticed my car has been registered for five weeks. So I finally have my car and my tag, but they expect me to find time to bring my car to them so they can do this battery check they should have done the day I couldn't take it home. The car buying experience has been tarnished for me. They never called me first to explain any of theses delays. Nor have they ever offered to try and make my experience better by offering any perks. Take my advice - GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Prefer not to state

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
GF
4/11/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Just purchased my 2nd Accord from Don Jacobs Honda"

Working with Greg Hines has been a fantastic experience. I just purchased my second vehicle from Don Jacobs Honda. We always make the drive from Cincinnati. It is efficient, fair, and makes buying a car as smooth as possible. I'll continue to drive south to get my cars from Greg at Don Jacobs Honda! Thanks again!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Greg Hines

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Heidz1234
4/04/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Horrible experience. - will never go back"

This is my third Honda but my first new car. The experience was horrible. First off, to constantly hear that I got a deal and they were losing money was very irritating. Secondly, I left the dealer on Friday because they wouldn't give me more for my trade in, on Saturday the sales guy called and when I spoke with the sales associate he stated if he gave me more money for my trade in would I come in and purchase the car I said yes. When I showed up to the dealership I started signing the papers. I asked the finance guy if the mats came with the car (I was told the night Before they would, they were part of the protection/appearance package) he said he would ask the sales guy. He came back and said they didn't. I asked to see the sales guy. He came in and told me they didn't. I asked to see the documents that show what is included in the car. He came back the papers stated the mats. I asked him again, he said the manager said I don't get that plan(which included the mats) because they were giving me more for my trade in. He lied to me. why didn't he tell me over the phone or at least when I asked him. Was it necessary for me to make him show me the papers...no it was not, . I decided to continue purchasing the car. When I left, it was close to closing time the sales manager was pacing outside didn't say hi, didn't say bye and didn't congratulate me, the sales guy didn't say much either. No picture, no congrats nothing. He told me he didn't have time to show me the features of the car because it was it was time to close. I had planned to come in the following week to get the extra 800 accessories(I spent extra yet they were concerned about a mat). I showed up at the dealership the following Saturday to get stuff done to the car, I saw my sales guy and I asked him if he could show me. He stated he only had ten minutes to show me, mind you there was barely anyone in the dealership. I asked him how long it takes he said 45 min. I said can someone else help me. He said I will help you, he helped me for ten minutes and told me to watch my dvd and read the manual. I am not sure when spending 32,000 on a car is no big deal; but it was to me. I will never go back to Don Jacobs. The sales guy lied and on top that didn't have the time to even show me the features. For 32,000 can't he take the full 45 mins to show me.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Would rather not say

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Pinkpoodle
12/31/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Excellent service."

I contacted Kenny Adams regarding an on going problem I was experiencing with my 2008 Honda Accord. Although, the matter was not showing on my dash, I had taken a picture to help with diagnosis. The matter was urgent because I was traveling out of state to attend a funeral and needed my car checked for safety. Kenny was able to use the information to diagnose the problem which I learned was related to a recall. I am grateful to Kenny Adams for his professionalism and his immediate attention to my vehicle, due to my emergency out of town travel. I highly recommend Kennny Adams and Don Jacobs service department. Alice Davis Lexington

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kenny Adams

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 124 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.