About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Gengras Chevrolet

585 Connecticut Boulevard, East Hartford, Connecticut 06108
Sales: (888) 348-8545
Service: (888) 359-5783
Parts: (888) 306-4719

Makes: Chevrolet | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM Closed

Good
85% Recommend
4.3

155 Lifetime Reviews

Gengras Chevrolet

Hours: Closed

585 Connecticut Boulevard,
East Hartford, Connecticut 06108
Gengras Chevrolet Info
Hours
Amenities
About Gengras Chevrolet

It all started in the 1930s when Clayton Gengras opened his first Ford dealership on Raymond Road in West Hartford. Clayt went on to become one of the Northeast's most successful Ford dealers. Seventy years later, Gengras Motor Cars is still a family-owned and operated business.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Gengras Chevrolet

It all started in the 1930s when Clayton Gengras opened his first Ford dealership on Raymond Road in West Hartford. Clayt went on to become one of the Northeast's most successful Ford dealers. Seventy years later, Gengras Motor Cars is still a family-owned and operated business.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Service

Monday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Cable TV
  • Children's Play Room
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free WiFi
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Shuttle Service
  • Television
  • Valet Parking
  • Vending Machines
  • Automated Car Wash
  • Free Loaner Cars
  • Instant Financing
155 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
cpostemski
2/06/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent service"

Eric Schmidt found the exact truck my husband wanted very quickly. Truck at dealership in about 2 days. Set up appointment to complete paperwork and pick truck up. Paperwork completed and on our way home in under a hour.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
gcbfire
2/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Pleasant"

Helpful, patient, courteous and understanding! Great atmosphere and no pressure....Would definitely recommend to friends. They have been very accommodating of all questions and needs.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

David S.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Kate
2/01/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Easy breezy"

The folks at Gengras have always been professional and courteous. Every question I have always gets answered, and they are upfront and honest. I'm on car number two and see more in our future!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
I'm more than a Sale
10/09/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I'm just a number"

I returned to Gengras Chevy, where I originally bought my Suburban, with a letter personally sent to me looking to buy back the truck. Although the trade in value was fair, everything else in the letter was a ploy to get me there (0% interest was for a Camaro only yet letter was for Suburban owners). They also had no Suburban LT model for me to sit in and experience because "an employee has it" and no offer to have it back the next day or two. After over two hours of talking with Frank Lentini, I walked with nothing- not even a sense that they wanted a sale. A few days later, Frank sends me an email addressed to my WIFE, who was never there, giving me the sense that it was just a sale and no real interest in the person! I am sad to say that I went elsewhere and bought a Suburban in no time,

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

October 13, 2015

Our expectation is that every customer that walks through our door has a friendly, informative, and efficient sales and service experience. I apologize that we fell short on this during your recent visit. During the month of September, Chevrolet offered 0% finance on most models and 2.9% on other models. Our mailers are sent out to notify our customers of current offers and may not be specific to the current model you are driving. Frank should have offered to have the vehicle brought to you for a demo once it returned and at the very least found out when it would be back to show. As far as your wife receiving the email, he may have put it under an old file of yours and I apologize for that. Again, I apologize that we could not help you with a purchase, but appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me at 860-727-6503 or eschmidt@gengras.com. Eris Schmidt General Manager

DLOgan
10/03/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Awesome experience with entire process of buying a vehicle"

We went to Gengras Chevrolet on Saturday 9-29-15 and began the process of applying for a car loan. We met with Eric Schmidt who was what every manager should be, friendly and positive. Devin Reid made sure that everything went smooth and answered all of our questions. We picked up our brand new Chevy Equinox on Thursday. The sales staff, Management, and finance staff were extremely professional and down to earth. They went above and beyond to make our experience a positive one and I would highly recommend this dealership to anyone.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

October 06, 2015

Thank you taking the time to post a review and your positive feedback. We appreciate your business. I hope you are enjoying your new Equinox and please contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future. Eric Schmidt General Manager

KamCoin90
7/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"False Advertisement "

These guys are unorganized. The first day I visited the dealership, the salesman took 1 hour trying to find a car that was not in the lot. He promised me if that car is available it would be for the final price of $62,110. I agreed to the amount only when I get to see the vehicle. He wrote down the cost and gave me a copy. The next day I went in and test drove the car. I liked it and agreed to buy. He returns to the desk with a price of 67,000. They claim what they wrote down was for another vehicle. Wasted 2 hours from my lunch break. The Manager Eric Schmidt was being a typical wise xxx not taking responsibility for his employees mistake and claim it as if I made a mistake. There are other Chevy dealers around the area that are much better at their job than these guys. Don't be afraid to take a look or head out to Mass.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

July 23, 2015

Mr. Coin, Due to our large selection of vehicles, we have two parking lots to hold our inventory. I understand that your time is valuable and apologize that we took an hour trying to locate the vehicle. Many of our customers choose to make appointments to ensure that the vehicle is parked in front waiting for them. Please accept my apology for the miscommunication on price. We stand behind our decision to honor the True Car pricing. If you would like to discuss this, please contact me directly at 860-727-6503 or eschmidt@gengras.com. Eric Schmidt General Manager

Todd_H
3/16/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Happy with a new Volt"

The people at Gengras are always friendly, helpful, and thorough. If anything is not 100% correct, the people at Gengras go out of their way to make it right as soon as it is pointed out to them. For example, I just leased a new Volt and when I got home I discovered that the charging cable was not in the trunk. I called first thing in the morning and within two hours my salesman, Luke Stefanski, had driven to my workplace to hand deliver the missing cable. Outstanding.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
northboundlane
2/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Lost me in the system"

Slightly mixed review here. Michelle was helpful over the phone and in setting up my test-drive appointment. Travis was knowledgable during my test drive of the Sonic and Cruze and didn’t pressure me much because it was clear I wasn’t even close to being ready to purchase. I appreciated that. But a few days after my test drive, I was asked to make up the appointment I’d missed. I’m not sure how I got lost in the shuffle. Travis also was polite when I emailed him informing him that I bought a car elsewhere, unlike certain other dealers that sent me passive-aggressive replies. I recommend Gengras, but I think they might be a bit disorganized and worry that if I had bought a car from them, they might’ve lost my paperwork.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

February 10, 2015

Amy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Michele and Travis. I apologize that we did not update our system accordingly, and you received an unnecessary call asking to reschedule your appointment. Congratulations on your new vehicle. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future at 860-727-6500 or eschmidt@gengras.com. Eric Schmidt General Manager

Cmusinski
1/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Thankful"

So thankful for the amount of time and work put in to find me a replacement car! Can't thank them enough! Highly recommend gengras!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
bobsemple
11/20/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Not what I expect from a modern dealership."

I guess I'm a bit old school, but the fact that they don't let you do independent inspections on used vehicles they sell off of their lot is a big minus in my book. I'd really love to take them on their word, but I have been around long enough to know that this isn't how the world works. The positive is they let me know of this up front, so I didn't have to waste my time driving there to look at a car, that's why 2 stars instead of 1.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Secretary and Sales

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
1
...
1 - 10 of 155 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Eric Schmidt
Eric Schmidt

General Manager

28 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Devin Reid
Devin Reid

Sales Executive

20 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jerry Seabaugh
Jerry Seabaugh

Sales Executive

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Matt Brierton
Matt Brierton

Business Manager

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Lee Page
Lee Page

Service Manager

10 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Frank Lentini
Frank Lentini

Sales Executive

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Ruben Chaudhry
Ruben Chaudhry

Certified GM Service Advisor

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Dino Scata
Dino Scata

Certified GM Service Advisor

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Peter Ring
Peter Ring

Sales Executive

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Lynn Preissner
Lynn Preissner

GM Certified Parts Associate

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory