About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Gengras Chevrolet

585 Connecticut Boulevard, East Hartford, Connecticut 06108
Sales: (888) 348-8545

Makes: Chevrolet | Service Center
Good
65% Recommend
3.6

156 Lifetime Reviews

Gengras Chevrolet
585 Connecticut Boulevard,
East Hartford, Connecticut 06108
Gengras Chevrolet Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Carter Chevrolet

544 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Terryville Chevrolet

116 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
156 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Duke
6/30/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Be careful before leaving a deposit"

I left a deposit for a vehicle after being told 'Yeah, it is fully refundable." There was no paperwork or description of the legal ramifications of leaving a deposit. I proceeded to inform the other dealership that Gengras had a better deal. The other dealership then proceeded to make an offer substantially better than Gengras'. I informed Gengras that I would like my deposit back. The salesman, Devon Reid, suggested that the deposit would only be refunded if his manager approved -- and then only after 1 week. For the second day, the General Manager has refused to get on the phone. I still have yet to receive the refund and am looking for options with the Office of the State Attorney General. I would expect such actions and attitudes from a fly-by-night operation, but not Gengras.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Devon Reid

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
cpostemski
2/06/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent service"

Eric Schmidt found the exact truck my husband wanted very quickly. Truck at dealership in about 2 days. Set up appointment to complete paperwork and pick truck up. Paperwork completed and on our way home in under a hour.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Jerry Seabaugh, Matt Brierton, Eric Schmidt

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

February 16, 2016

Thank you so much for this great review! We pride ourselves in our speed and efficiency and appreciate your time! Thanks again, and we hope you are loving your new truck!

gcbfire
2/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Pleasant"

Helpful, patient, courteous and understanding! Great atmosphere and no pressure....Would definitely recommend to friends. They have been very accommodating of all questions and needs.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

David S., Eric Schmidt

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

February 16, 2016

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We appreciate your positive words and acknowledgement as to our comfortable car shopping experience. We pride ourselves in fostering a no pressure atmosphere, where customers (like you!) can openly ask questions and feel at ease. Thanks again and we hope you are enjoying your new car!

Kate
2/01/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Easy breezy"

The folks at Gengras have always been professional and courteous. Every question I have always gets answered, and they are upfront and honest. I'm on car number two and see more in our future!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Devin Reid

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
I'm more than a Sale
10/09/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I'm just a number"

I returned to Gengras Chevy, where I originally bought my Suburban, with a letter personally sent to me looking to buy back the truck. Although the trade in value was fair, everything else in the letter was a ploy to get me there (0% interest was for a Camaro only yet letter was for Suburban owners). They also had no Suburban LT model for me to sit in and experience because "an employee has it" and no offer to have it back the next day or two. After over two hours of talking with Frank Lentini, I walked with nothing- not even a sense that they wanted a sale. A few days later, Frank sends me an email addressed to my WIFE, who was never there, giving me the sense that it was just a sale and no real interest in the person! I am sad to say that I went elsewhere and bought a Suburban in no time,

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Frank Lentini

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

October 13, 2015

Our expectation is that every customer that walks through our door has a friendly, informative, and efficient sales and service experience. I apologize that we fell short on this during your recent visit. During the month of September, Chevrolet offered 0% finance on most models and 2.9% on other models. Our mailers are sent out to notify our customers of current offers and may not be specific to the current model you are driving. Frank should have offered to have the vehicle brought to you for a demo once it returned and at the very least found out when it would be back to show. As far as your wife receiving the email, he may have put it under an old file of yours and I apologize for that. Again, I apologize that we could not help you with a purchase, but appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me at 860-727-6503 or eschmidt@gengras.com. Eris Schmidt General Manager

DLOgan
10/03/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Awesome experience with entire process of buying a vehicle"

We went to Gengras Chevrolet on Saturday 9-29-15 and began the process of applying for a car loan. We met with Eric Schmidt who was what every manager should be, friendly and positive. Devin Reid made sure that everything went smooth and answered all of our questions. We picked up our brand new Chevy Equinox on Thursday. The sales staff, Management, and finance staff were extremely professional and down to earth. They went above and beyond to make our experience a positive one and I would highly recommend this dealership to anyone.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Eric Schmidt, Devin Reid

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

October 06, 2015

Thank you taking the time to post a review and your positive feedback. We appreciate your business. I hope you are enjoying your new Equinox and please contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future. Eric Schmidt General Manager

KamCoin90
7/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"False Advertisement "

These guys are unorganized. The first day I visited the dealership, the salesman took 1 hour trying to find a car that was not in the lot. He promised me if that car is available it would be for the final price of $62,110. I agreed to the amount only when I get to see the vehicle. He wrote down the cost and gave me a copy. The next day I went in and test drove the car. I liked it and agreed to buy. He returns to the desk with a price of 67,000. They claim what they wrote down was for another vehicle. Wasted 2 hours from my lunch break. The Manager Eric Schmidt was being a typical wise xxx not taking responsibility for his employees mistake and claim it as if I made a mistake. There are other Chevy dealers around the area that are much better at their job than these guys. Don't be afraid to take a look or head out to Mass.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Eric Schmidt

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

July 23, 2015

Mr. Coin, Due to our large selection of vehicles, we have two parking lots to hold our inventory. I understand that your time is valuable and apologize that we took an hour trying to locate the vehicle. Many of our customers choose to make appointments to ensure that the vehicle is parked in front waiting for them. Please accept my apology for the miscommunication on price. We stand behind our decision to honor the True Car pricing. If you would like to discuss this, please contact me directly at 860-727-6503 or eschmidt@gengras.com. Eric Schmidt General Manager

Todd_H
3/16/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Happy with a new Volt"

The people at Gengras are always friendly, helpful, and thorough. If anything is not 100% correct, the people at Gengras go out of their way to make it right as soon as it is pointed out to them. For example, I just leased a new Volt and when I got home I discovered that the charging cable was not in the trunk. I called first thing in the morning and within two hours my salesman, Luke Stefanski, had driven to my workplace to hand deliver the missing cable. Outstanding.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ruben Chaudhry, Luke Stefanski

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
northboundlane
2/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Lost me in the system"

Slightly mixed review here. Michelle was helpful over the phone and in setting up my test-drive appointment. Travis was knowledgable during my test drive of the Sonic and Cruze and didn’t pressure me much because it was clear I wasn’t even close to being ready to purchase. I appreciated that. But a few days after my test drive, I was asked to make up the appointment I’d missed. I’m not sure how I got lost in the shuffle. Travis also was polite when I emailed him informing him that I bought a car elsewhere, unlike certain other dealers that sent me passive-aggressive replies. I recommend Gengras, but I think they might be a bit disorganized and worry that if I had bought a car from them, they might’ve lost my paperwork.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Gengras Chevrolet responded to this review

February 10, 2015

Amy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Michele and Travis. I apologize that we did not update our system accordingly, and you received an unnecessary call asking to reschedule your appointment. Congratulations on your new vehicle. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future at 860-727-6500 or eschmidt@gengras.com. Eric Schmidt General Manager

Cmusinski
1/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Thankful"

So thankful for the amount of time and work put in to find me a replacement car! Can't thank them enough! Highly recommend gengras!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Eric Schmidt

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
...
1 - 10 of 156 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.