About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC

32 New York 304, Nanuet, New York 10954
Sales: (845) 623-6060
Service: (845) 507-1686
Parts: (845) 507-1687

Makes: Chevrolet | Buick | GMC | Cadillac | Service Center
Average
39% Recommend
2.6

39 Lifetime Reviews

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC
32 New York 304,
Nanuet, New York 10954
Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Pepe Cadillac

353 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Paramus Chevrolet

254 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
39 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
RF
7/19/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Job Grand Prize"

Grand Prize gave me the best deal offered by any area Cadillac dealer and I traveled from Connecticut to New York to make my purchase.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Linda

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

July 20, 2016

Congratulations on your new vehicle and thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us!  We work hard to make sure our guests have a remarkable experience.  We will share your comments with our team and we look forward to seeing you at our dealership in the future. Best regards, Rick Waldron - 845.597.1711

Redmo
7/14/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Another Great Experience with Grand Prize Auto."

Thank you, another great experience for me and my family with Rob Lysiak our Sales Consultant. He is the best, also gave us all the time we needed to learn about our new Buick. Thanks Again

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Rob Lysiak

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

July 20, 2016

Congratulations on your new vehicle. Thank you for writing such a great review about your experience at our dealership!  We appreciate the feedback and are pleased that your experience with Rob was so positive. We do our best to make sure all of our customers leave with the right vehicle and we're glad that you're enjoying yours. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Rick Waldron - 845.597.1711

esu1hammer
2/01/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent experience "

I recently purchased a 2015 Chevy Colorado Z82 Edition as a gift for my son at Grand Prize of Nanuet. My sales consultant was Mr. Rob Sommers who was a true professional to deal with. After negotiating a fair price, Rob continued to make sure we were satisfied with our buying experience weeks after the purchase. Thats old fashion customer care. My wife has her 2011 Buick Enclave serviced at Grand Prize and we have always found them to be courteous and professional as well. I highly recommend Grand Prize for service and new or used vehicle purchases.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Rob Sommers Sales Consultant

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

February 09, 2016

We are truly grateful for this awesome review! We are thrilled that Rob was able to take care of you. He is a great asset to our team and we appreciate him providing you with the customer service that you deserve. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity to assist you in the future. Like us on Facebook for service specials! Regards, George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager - 845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

ron2018
1/15/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Worst Salesman games I can remember having to play. "

Went in to the dealer knowing EXACTY what I wanted. The model, the options, ...everything. It was the 1st and last thing I said to the salesman, and multiple times during our conversations I repeated my needs. Typical salesman trying to talk me into something else a few times. I simply wanted a price. I knew what price I needed and I told him. I asked him to give me his BEST price and that I was not interested in any negotiations. I am well versed in purchasing vehicles and I don't play the typical games or engage in lengthy negotiations. Was not simple to get a price out of him. After wasting about a half hour there he finally gave me one, and it was pretty good. I confirmed before I left that the price was for what I was asking for and I repeated what that was, and he confirmed the price was for the exact car and options I was looking for. The next day I was going to buy the car. Called before ahead and everything started to change. All the sudden he tells me the price was for the bottom of the line base vehicle. It turned into an argument. I asked how he could possibly misunderstand anything I told him as I repeated myself many times. It turned into, "oh I thought this, I thought that, I though this would be better for your needs, maybe I misunderstood it takes time for the salesman and the customer to understand each others needs"....a whole line of BS. He loved to play around with words. If he could not understand my needs after I spelled them out for him multiple times, he was either really stupid, or a stereotypical salesman playing games. I think he was both. Then get this, he goes let me see if I can find the car you are looking for at the price I gave you....maybe the dumbest thing he has said. He called me back and said he searched a 300 mile radius and could not locate one. I said you can locate the car just not at the price. He said that is correct. I said of course not, what are you even trying to locate? You know what you can sell a car for by talking to your manager, what were you expecting to find? The dealer sets the price. It does not even make sense. It is all so ridiculous. This is my experience in a small nutshell we went back and forth for a while. His name was David Tonking. I've dealt with a lot of really horrible salesman over the years, he gets in the top percentile easily. A couple days later I got the typical follow up call from the receptionist. When I told her I was going elsewhere she mentioned this salesman was not there anymore. No idea if he was fired or quit. The salesman that took over was OK, but the price he gave me was HORRIBLE. I have recently bought Jeeps and Nissans and I average 5-6K under the sticker. Rebates vary from month to month, but dealers have money to play with if they want to sell a car , like holdbacks, other rebates..etc. This price I was given was about 1500 under the sticker which was pretty much just the rebate, certainly not competitive. When I mentioned I got a price elsewhere that was 4K under the sticker he quickly brought his price a little lower, then saying maybe he can do even better if he had some time. He also asked where, which was irrelevant. Then he wanted me to come back in and go over things.....more typical salesman tactics. They always try to get you in and take control, try to pressure, get a deposit, test drive the car....standard stuff really....but not necessary as what I needed was straight forward. At the end of the day, and I gave the dealer the opportunity before, they don't seem to really want to sell cars...not aggressively anyway. They must have plenty of people coming in and happy to pay top dollar. The prices are never competitive. I was at 3 other Chevy dealers , and have bought once since. This dealers price was the highest.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

David Tonking

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

January 19, 2016

Ron, I apologize for your experience at Grand Prize. Sometimes an automobile transaction is very complex and there is miscommunication and sometimes we are the care of that. We will take your note here as a learning experience and make the necessary adjustments and training available to our staff. We wish you luck with your new vehicle and the next time you are in the market we would hope you would come back to Grand Prize and ask for me personally so I can oversee the entire transaction to both or satisfaction. Michael Haemmerle Dealer Principal

goldfarm
12/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Worst customer experience "

Was lied to by sales manager. Left 3 messages to owner. No call back. They have a we don't give a you know what attitude

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Sales Manager

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

December 16, 2015

Mr. Cohen, I am very sorry and surprised to hear that you are unhappy with the ride of your new Buick Enclave; after all you did road test the Enclave with your salesperson prior to delivery. Unfortuanetly, once the contract and NYDMV paperwork is signed and submitted to the lessor and motor vehicle office we are unable to retract the contract. As a side note Mr. Cohen, the contract and all of the paperwork is in your wife's name, not yours. And for the record, I never spoke with you in regard to your complaint and I take exception to your comments. Respectfully, Ed Abbruzzese General Manager

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

December 16, 2015

We are sorry to hear about the experience that you had at our dealership. We assure you that 100% customer satisfaction is our utmost priority and would like the chance to further understand what happened. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can resolve your concerns. Sincerely, George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager - 845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

harrimanhiker
12/06/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Soft recommendation but with proactive, educated reservation"

A dealership has many relatively autonomous “silos”: service, sales, parts, body shop, finance, and management – all of which may differ significantly on important parameters. If there are pronounced differences, it becomes impossible to rate the whole dealership This review is stimulated primarily by the Grand Prize Finance/Administrative silo. My experience with this silo really clouds my perception of the whole place. To be fair, I must state in advance that I have had un-ambivalently wonderful experiences with two other Grand Prize silos: 1. Service, where Jim Kobernick has been my regular consultant. Jim, along with Joe a technician, helped keep my 2001 Suburban running up to 185,000 miles. Jim was always very accessible and straight-forward but non-pressuring; what he would recommend proved on checking elsewhere to be absolutely and proactively needed. The quality of required and elective work was always first-class and sometimes heroic, as when Joe repaired a complicated wire bundle chewed up by mice. Service could not have been better. 2. Sales, where I was fortunate to meet Rich Santana when finally needing a replacement Suburban. Rich was great – with the same non-pressuring candidness and personableness I had found in Jim. Rich was also attentive. When I took delivery, Rich had preset several SiriusXM stations for our favorite kinds of music, information we had shared in conversations months earlier. That is both kindness and great customer relations, all the more because it was sincere and unstaged. The 45-minute delivery-finale with Finance/Administration was the antithesis. My Suburban was manufactured later than predicted, so I happened to arrive at Grand Prize right after returning from two weeks in Europe – brain-fogged, jet-lagged, and extremely fatigued. I carried two bank checks totaling the contractual amount: one from savings, the other from an auto loan. The Finance Office literally freaked out – verbally, expressively, and bodily -- at finding out that I was not financing through the dealership. This Officer got on the computer and phone, searching for dealership-connected financing, eventually getting a loan one point lower than my own bank loan. That whole process seemed endless, but how could one argue with a point difference? By that time I was just so worn out - like, just give my keys and let me drive home for a nap. Within the last five minutes, however, came the Extended Warranty pitch for this vehicle with lots of computer-ware on it. I had never researched this topic but assumed a Jim and Rich level of integrity from the Finance person. $2,950 for Major Guard up to 84,000 miles? OK – just give me my keys! Reviewing that warranty a couple days later, I had some questions. I left FOUR discrete and distinct messages on this Finance Officer’s voicemail and NEVER RECEIVED A CALL BACK! After a $60K purchase, that is simply UNCONSCIONABLE! A vice-president with whom I spoke also never returned a call as promised. I sensed “Gotcha!” as the implicit response. For the benefit of future customers, here is what I then proceeded to find out from my own research: 1. Other GM dealerships offer Major Guard online at competitive prices. Once you cancel a Major Guard policy for a vehicle, you cannot buy another one elsewhere. Yeah! – “Gotcha!” 2. Several other companies offer Extended Warranties at competitive prices, some for more mileage than the GM maximum of 84K. Actually, some of these would have suited my needs better as I keep vehicles for a decade plus. My needs were not given time to be delineated. 3. GM Major Guard does not have to be purchased immediately at delivery. This timing option was not presented. Yeah – “Gotcha!” 4. On researching this Finance Officer’s self-presentation on a common website for business people and professionals, it was astounding to see this Officer’s public braggadocio about how much money this Officer pulled in for car dealerships with special emphasis on pre- and post-sale add-ons. Ah, the picture was getting even clearer. 5. For this “Special” (whatever that means) Finance Director, Grand Prize was the fifth auto dealership worked for in eight years. Hence, there was minimal awareness of building customer loyalty, as this Officer did not know prolonged loyalty to a single business. What matters in a delivery/closing was clearly a personal batting average with no sense that this was a prime occasion for building customer loyalty. 6. It is disconcerting that management does not vet such online self-promotions by its “Special” Finance Director, as this Officer’s statement screams: “Beware”. 7. I feel that my vulnerability near the end of the Closing Ceremony was read in street-smart fashion by someone skilled in doing so along with a well-rehearsed set of advertising slogans -- resembling the Paris pickpockets I had managed to avoid. I have now owned four long-lasting Suburbans. With every successive one, I found that the previous dealership(s) had gone out of business: all three from a combination of greed, myopia, or just plain stupidity. You see, it takes no talent, really, to kill a business.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Unnamed "Special" Finance Director; Jim Kobernick (Service), Rich Santana (Sales)

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

December 07, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Our customers are our top priority and it’s disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We would appreciate the opportunity to hear more about this issue and work together to made amends. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager - 845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

BMW18
10/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Horrible Experience....Run don't walk to another dealership"

The dealership is quite unprofessional and couldn't diagnose a flat tire if it hit them in the face! After getting GM involved and returning on numerous occasions to fix the issue with my Cruze ( they were unable to hear the noise half the time.) they were unable and become hostile about the whole situation. I spoke to GM and went to Paramus Chevrolet, the tech there (there for over 20 years), before we even went on the test drive, I described the issue and he knew the issue and said to me, unfortunately, it's the struts that are in this car. Went on the test drive and before I even had to point out the noise, the tech said, that noise, I said yes. Even though I am not happy that this is the way the car is designed, it was great to finally find a qualified mechanic unlike the personnel at UNGrand Prize! Don't waste your time at this dealership. Also, I know someone that worked there and they treated their employees even worse. Bad news!! Too bad Jim Smith Chevrolet weren't still around, I I could give this dealership 0 stars, I would.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service Mgr - Al short and old, about 65.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

November 09, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We appreciate hearing from our customers because it allows us to constantly improve ourselves and the service we offer. We are sorry for the impression you received with our service department. I would appreciate the opportunity to turn this experience around. If you would like to discuss this situation further or if you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us directly. George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager - 845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

Brain2015
10/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"excellent service"

I have purchased two Chevrolet Cruze LTZ autos at Grand Prize in the past few years and have had nothing but complete satisfaction with their sales and service departments. Their service and sales reps have always been polite and knowledgeable about any service situations. These cars are my second experience with domestic cars, the first experience was Saturn that was serviced by Grand Prize, and I can truthfully say that their services are much better than my experiences with some very upscale cars I have owned in the past.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

All

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

November 09, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I am very pleased to hear our consistent professionalism and great customer service has earned your repeat business. I hope you are continuing to enjoy your purchase from Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC. We can’t wait to see you for your next servicing appointment. George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager -845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

mrfriess
10/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Pleasantly Surprised!!"

Everybody I came in contact with, and especially Ray, my service adviser went the extra mile to attend to our needs. My wife and I have been entirely impressed with the professionalism of the organization and we have no hesitation in recommending the dealership to our friends.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ray, service desk

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

November 09, 2015

At Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, our number one goal is customer satisfaction. We train our staff to go the extra mile and give the customer a positive experience. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope you will continue to use our dealership for your parts and service needs. Thank you for your great review! George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager - 845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

boatcapt14
8/23/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Totally incompetent "

My 1997 Chevrolet K1500 Z71 was towed to Grand Prize Chevrolet by a local repair shop Mogers, on Route 9W in Nyack because they could not diagnose a poor running condition. It was determined, by Grand Prize that I had installed the wrong distributor I purchased from Auto Zone. I authorized the service department to replace the distributor, and after a week of waiting for the repair to be completed, I called the service department to inquire about the status of the repair. After speaking to two service advisors, who had no idea the truck was even there for repair, the distributor was replaced,and it was delivered back to the local shop that could not complete the repair initially. The truck ran, but the engine had a frequent and significant stumble and did not idle properly. there was also intake ductwork hardware missing, and it was held down by zip ties I had on the floor inside the truck. At the end of my rope with all this nonsense, I had a small highly regarded local shop, Pasquales, in Valley Cottage look at the truck. It was determined that the cam sensor connector was not plugged into the distributor. Really? Factory trained service techs? Really? This seemed like a back door repair deal between the shop in Nyack and Grand prize. Cost me $1400.00. Highly unprofessional.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

top secret

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grand Prize Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC responded to this review

August 24, 2015

It’s unfortunate to hear about the dissatisfaction you experienced with our service department. We strive to provide our guests with excellent customer service and we regret you did not experience that standard of service. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you directly in order to address your concerns and move our dealership in a more positive direction. Please contact me directly with the information provided below. Regards, George Teasdale - Customer Care Manager - 845-507-1753 or Gteasdale@grandprizauto.net

1
...
1 - 10 of 39 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.