About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Kia of South Austin

2.9

109 Lifetime Reviews

5306 S Interstate 35 Frontage Rd, Austin, Texas 78745 Directions
Sales: (512) 444-6635

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

109 Reviews of Kia of South Austin

Sort by Write a review
August 15, 2016

"Fast, Friendly, Helpful, and Informative"

- ebaileysterling

Such a great experience. I drove to Kia of South Austin to look at some upgrade vans for my large family - they had ample stock and were in an area teeming with dealerships. We arrived just after the dealership opened on Saturday morning. Esteban Alanis greeted us outside very warmly - literally. The heat was BLISTERING that day, but Esteban never showed that it affected him. He waited patiently for us outside while to transferred three car seats for a test drive (before we signed the paperwork) and while we transferred our belongings to our new vehicle from the old one (after we signed the lease). Esteban took the time to go over all of the amazing features in my new vehicle; he listened intently and was responsive to our questions. While we sat in his office, he was pleasant and always kept us updated on where we were in the car-leasing process (which was completely new to us). Another salesperson brought balloons to our young children while we waited - THANK YOU to whoever that was! You are a life saver. There is obviously a family-friendly culture being developed here. We settled on leasing a brand new Sedona - something I was certain I'd never be able to afford - after talking to Director James, who is upbeat, relatable, and obviously knowledgeable. The staff really came together and worked some amazing deals for us; we are under our previous car payment and have a MUCH nicer van than before. Make-ready on my new vehicle was perfect. Tara in finance did a great job explaining the paperwork. I went into her office first while my husband stayed in the waiting area with our children, and then I waited while he signed the lease. Tara had no problem explaining the terms twice and was very accommodating and friendly. She thoroughly explained the details of our warranties and dent/ding/interior repair "insurance". This is an excellent investment, especially for those planning to lease. I was very impressed with my experience at Kia of South Austin, and will definitely be back when it's time to trade in another vehicle. Thank you Esteban, James, and Tara!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Esteban, James, Tara
December 15, 2015

"Deceptive "

- justaguy

I am foreigner person, so i did not know how 'scamy' process of buying car could be in US. So this dealership take advantage of it completely. In details 1) When you speak with sales person/sales manager they discussed with you one terms/payments. When you come to sign papers its completely different terms, with different financing, with additional options. In my case what i end up paying was 30% more per month than what we discuss with sales person (1900$ package, with market value around 700$ as previous reviewer say it's only one trick, they have more of that) 2) They give me terrible price on trade in, saying that they give me a discount on new car, which turned out to be not discount, but lowering warranty terms. 3) They give me trade in paper to sign, before i see real terms on new car. So when i realize how bad deal is, i basically out of options (they already own my old car, so only option was go home on my legs) 4)They are not interested in giving your optimal financing terms, because of affiliation with banks. When i start to be angry, finance guy spend like 2 min with bank representative in online chat and lower my interest a bit. I bet he can do even more, but dealership seems to have some sort of commission, so they are interested in give you high possible interest rate you will agreed on. Why 2 star's? Because staff is generally friendly and positive. Answer your questions e.t.c. So if you plan to go here, it will be positive experience if you do your home work 1)You should know fair price of vehicle you want to buy 2)You should know fair price of traded in vehicle (your old car) 3)You should know fair financing terms applicable to you(better to look like as cash buyer) 4)You should know fair pricing of different car options (car maintenance over year e.t.c) 5)Dont ever sign anything before you got full package of documents and you see all terms clearly (it happens in place they called 'finance', where person hand you over loan terms on bank paper) 6)Always be ready to just stand up and leave if you dont like something If you will follow this rules you will have good experience with them, otherwise you will end up paying extra on every step of the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jacob
June 24, 2015

"Poor service"

- iris

Air conditioning went out. Took in for repair and was told a small part needed to be replaced. Ordered and when went to replace we were contacted that all the wires were corroded and it would be 4500.00 to fix. I refused stating that how can wires corrode like that. Shrug of the shoulders "It happens. I requested further review from KIA and was told "sorry we can't help you".

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Thomas
August 11, 2014

"AVOID at ALL Costs!!"

- ex

I have been looking to purchase a used van for a few weeks and have done a lot of research. I used the USAA Car Buying service to find my next ride.... this place was listed, and after several back and forth emails and being told by JD to come in and let's make a deal, I drove the 2 hours to see what we could do.... What a MISTAKE!! When I arrived, JD was (conveniently) making a delivery, so after waiting about 10 minutes, Anthony came to help. He informed me that he would "Take good care of me" and that he was their "Top Salesman" (he did have several plaques on the wall in his cubicle to back that claim.) We went for a test drive -- No problem. It wasn't until we returned that the REAL problems began.... I'd asked about seeing another vehicle -- we never got to that, because things got ugly quick! After my vehicle was appraised with an extremely low offer, I presented Anthony with my documentation showing it's book value. He then brought that upstairs to their (OPEN) area where I guess employees do their "negotiations" for potential customers.... that's when it ALL fell apart! I kept hearing things like "She xxxxxx" this and "xxxxxx" that. I even heard a female employee, unrelated to my transaction, who was clearly wearing shoes not appropriate for her line of work, say loudly, "I xxxxxx hate these stairs!" as she stumbled down them. I told Anthony that we were finished and that I'd like my keys back. He went back upstairs for MORE cursing, ( "She just wants her xxxxxx keys back" and "She xxxxxx" this.) Next thing I know, a guy who claims to be the manager, (I didn't catch his name because at this point, I didn't care,) comes downstairs asking how he can help. I told him that was the most unprofessional dealership I'd ever been to and that I'd like my keys back. He didn't want to hand them over , and instead wanted to have a conversation, but I was FINISHED, so I grabbed my keys and began walking out. When I told him I could hear their conversations upstairs along with all of the cursing, he claimed that he wasn't a part of it and didn't know anything... even though he'd just walked downstairs! Regardless, as the "Manager" he's responsible for the behavior and conduct of his employees, and I doubt very seriously that he's "unaware" of their behavior and use of profanity. I drove 2 hours (ONE WAY!) because they had a vehicle I was interested in and I was assured that I'd be taken care of.... NOT the case!! Those people are representing a large car maker who has a good reputation. I expected MUCH better. I will NEVER set foot there again, and I will be SURE to let USAA know how a business they are referring their customers to treats people. *** The ONLY reason they got 1 star is because I HAD to check at least 1 to proceed! (they certainly do NOT deserve it!)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JD, and "Anthony" (I think that was his name.)
August 06, 2014

"rude!!!!!"

- lynnsoucy

The salesman was rude and pushy. I accidentally left my drivers license, emailed JD to drop it in the mail. He emailed me and said it wasn't his fault that I left it there. I had to drive 45 minutes each way to pick it up.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JD Juarez
June 30, 2014

"Finance Department"

- parhampa

After emailing, calling for over 3 weeks the Kia South Point finance department still has not processed my application to purchase one of their cars. I finally gave up and went to Round Rock Kia. The finance person at Round Rock was very helpful and has gone out of his way to assist me in my purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeremy Robson
May 10, 2014

"Buyer beware! Safety issue."

- vincentf

We have bought 4 Kia's from this dealership. Shawn Hamze was always fantastic. However, in purchasing my 2014 Optima, Shawn wasn't available so BEN BOYLE closed the deal. My hobby has always been working on my own cars and today I wanted to change my own oil. Imagine my surprise when I went to change my oil today and there is not only NO jack included with the car but also NO SPARE TIRE???? This model comes with a "repair kit" with instructions that, if you get a flat tire, use the repair kit. If that doesn't work, call the Kia dealership and they will send someone out! What if I am in the middle of the desert or in the Idaho mountains? I would be waiting for hours! This is a safety issue that any buyer can't put a spare tire on and continue on their way. Other objections are that of course Ben Boyle didn't tell me there isn't a spare tire - leaving me totally vulnerable. And, I can only buy a spare tire and jack for $250!!!! Ben didn't care. Both said this is now a "trend" with automobile sales to save money and for weight of the veheicle. Something as important as a spare tire and jack? We are phoning other dealerships. So far, Nissan and Mazda both provide spare tires in ALL of their cars. Because they didn't notify us when we purchased the car (which is called honesty and safety) and because we have to spend another $250 for something that should have been included and as much as we like Shawn Hamze, we will not buy a vehicle at Southpoint Kia again. And we will stop recommending them to other people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ben Boyle
March 03, 2014

"Worked with them to get my daughter into a new car. First..."

- donnameche54

Worked with them to get my daughter into a new car. First they tried to sell it to her for $3000 over the fair market value. I had to get on the phone to negotiate it down to where it should be. Both the sales rep, Chuy, and the Financial Department were very deceitful in their dealings with us. I was to co-sign for my daughter on this car. Although they never told us this, they knew my daughter's credit was not as good as mine, so they put me as as primary applicant instead of co-applicant to get the loan. Even though I questioned how the paperwork seemed to have me as primary, they assured me it was just an oversight when their girl typed it up for them and that it would be fine to sign as is. So I did. Turns out - it was NOT an oversight - it was their deceitful bait & switch tactics to get the car sold. We didn't find out until the loan payments came in. I just talked to the bank and they did indeed pull a fast one. I suggest that no one EVER deal with this Kia dealership. Kia won't do anything about it because they claim their dealerships are independently owned. Horrible customer service on the part of Kia as a whole. STAY AWAY FROM SOUTH POINT KIA IN SAN MARCOS

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chuy
December 21, 2013

"Today was my third Saturday in a row being at the service..."

- prettyflamingo

Today was my third Saturday in a row being at the service department trying to resolve one issue. My first visit, I waited for 90 minutes just to find out 'oh, we forgot about your car'. When I finally got the diagnosis, I didn't have time to fix the issue and said I would come back the following Saturday. It then took an additional 30 minutes to get paperwork ready for me to pay the $50 diagnostic fee. Second visit, I dropped the car off for the repairs and a few hours later got a call that I could come get my car. When I picked up my car, the tire pressure light was on and my Blu tooth was not working. They put some air in my tires and the receptionist fixed my Blu tooth (I thought it was odd that the receptionist did this and not a technician, but it got fixed). When I got home, I looked under the hood to check the repairs and surprisingly found I had just wasted another Saturday and money on electrical tape. They tried to cover up the wires I needed fixed with electrical tape (which has now melted and made a mess because it was not even clipped back into place) Third Saturday, I go in to complain and was told they repaired the wires correctly but should not have put tape over it. So, I waited another two hours for them to put conduit over these wires and put it back into place. When I questioned the manager regarding the customer service I received I was told 'Ya, I know. It sucks' 'Sorry you had to come back' Really? That's the best you can say/do for me? For me, to exemplify great customer service, like they say they do, he could have offered something simple like a free oil change or car wash (at the very least) for my trouble. I shouldn't have to check the repair work I'm paying you to do. This makes me wonder, what other things they have they half fixed and gotten away with? I dread the next time I have to take my car here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim Raney
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
October 12, 2013

"This is our third Kia we have purchased from South Point..."

- eduardoemena

This is our third Kia we have purchased from South Point Kia. The three times I have always done my research and look for the best deals possible. The three times I have ended buying from South Point Kia and always from Shawn. Technology helps in the research and it has become easy to find great deals when purchasing a car in the recent years. I believe it has become more important now for dealerships to provide not only good deals but also a personal touch that will bring buyers to their place. The three times I have visited and purchased from South Pointy Kia I have felt comfortable and relaxed which has helped me during my decision. Shawn is very genuine and a humble man who reminds us of another family man who is honestly trying to do his best. It is a pleasure ding business with Shawn.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Shawn Hamze
not yet
rated
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.

To ensure accuracy, a minimum of 5 consumer ratings are required to calculate an average score.
1
...
1 - 10 of 109 results