About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

McGrath Nissan

945 E. Chicago St, Elgin, Illinois 60120
Sales: (847) 695-6700
Service: (855) 315-4192

Makes: Nissan | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM Open Now

Good
58% Recommend
3.5

93 Lifetime Reviews

McGrath Nissan

Hours: Open Now

945 E. Chicago St,
Elgin, Illinois 60120
McGrath Nissan Info
Hours
Amenities
About McGrath Nissan

McGrath Nissan is located in Elgin and has been serving the Chicago area with all of its automotive needs. We are committed to making your vehicle purchase a no hassle experience that saves you money. Make it McGrath Nissan, make it today!

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About McGrath Nissan

McGrath Nissan is located in Elgin and has been serving the Chicago area with all of its automotive needs. We are committed to making your vehicle purchase a no hassle experience that saves you money. Make it McGrath Nissan, make it today!

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Cable TV
  • Children's Play Room
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free WiFi
  • Instant Financing
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Rental Car Service Onsite
  • Television
  • Vending Machines
93 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
rdpg78
5/06/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Thanks, McGrath!"

Just wanted to commend the folks at McGrath Nissan for making my car purchase simple and easy! I will recommend friends and family for sure!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Everyone

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
JulietL
5/04/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"McGrath Nissan in Elgin, IL. Highly recommended!"

McGrath Nissan! Professional & knowledgeable staff! Lindsey called about the inventory! Great Chevy Suburban purchased from Sales Consultant Neil. Sales Managers Jeff & Manny great financing & rate!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Neil Sales Cosultant, Lindsey Internet Consultant

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ansr771
5/01/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Disgusting Experience ever in entire car buying experience"

Manny Crisostomo is the rudest person I ever dealt with. I am an existing customer of McGrath Acura so decided to go over to Elgin McGrath Nissan to check out Nissan rouge with my brother. When we walked in, there were few sales associated walking around and nobody bothered to even greet us or ask what we were looking for. Finally when I approached a guy who was standing by the desk and working on the computer and he happened to be the sales manager Manny Crisostomo. I have been to several dealerships in my 6 new car buying experience and I must say I never experienced such an unfriendly person. He asked us what we are looking for, when we started telling him what we are looking for he was least bothered in what we were saying and continued working on his computer. And the worst part was when we told him about an ad from another dealership which listed an aggressive sale price for the Car, His response was Sickening he was like Just go buy it from there and started making jokes about it with his colleagues around him. He even called out at another manager who was sitting across from him and said, Look these guys are getting such and such car for this price and they all started cracking up as if they wanted to make us feel embarrassed.. This is the lowest level of customer service one can get ... I am so disappointed, I am going to talk about this experience to as many people as possible and write about this experience in every review site possible to make sure that any future customers thinking of going to Nissan Elgin should rethink their decision because of such low standard of customer support and hospitality....

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
FrankJovine
5/01/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"McGrath Nissan in Elgin Fail"

My wife had an accident January 28, 2014 and the insurer of the other car unfortunately has a second rate insurance company called Safeway. Her insurer provided us with their garage list of auto body shops which we researched and found that all the body shops in our area had poor reviews from other customers. We decided to take our 2013 Nissan Rogue to McGrath Nissan in Elgin, IL. You may not know this, but you have the right by law to take your vehicle to any body shop. We selected McGrath Nissan of Elgin because of the work they did from a previous accident and we were very satisfied, unfortunately this time it turned out to be the worst experience I have ever dealt with in my life. I hope this article will inform other potential customers to stay far away from this dealer on all fronts – Sales, Repairs and especially the body shop. We called McGrath Nissan in Elgin and spoke to Charles the manager of the body shop. Charles informed us that they were extremely backed up due to the winter we had and wouldn’t be able to start the body repairs until February 24th. That’s almost 4 weeks from the date of the accident. The time finally arrived and we received no call from Charles at McGrath Nissan in Elgin. We called Charles and he just gave us the run around for more than a week. Finally we escalated this to upper management and spoke to Keith and then Michael. We were informed that Charles was fired because of work that was left untouched such as estimates not completed, work assigned never started, etc. Michael said he would take care of us but we would have to wait until April 10th. We were just beside ourselves that we had to wait another 3 weeks to get our 2013 Nissan Rogue repaired. The accident occurred on January 28th and it just doesn’t get better. I called the body shop the first week of April to see how they were progressing and Michael at McGrath Nissan in Elgin informed me that they would be ready to take the car on April 7th. We dropped the car off with the check we received from Safeway Auto Insurance. Here’s where McGrath fails miserably. We were told that the repair would take up to 6 days if the original estimate was correct. Unfortunately the duration was much longer because Safeway under estimated the cost of repairs. Michael informed us he would handle everything with Safeway Auto Insurance on getting additional money to correct the body work needed for our 2013 Nissan Rogue. On Tuesday, April 22nd almost 2 weeks later I called Michael for an update and he said he is trying to get everything completed by Thursday, but it could take until Friday, April 25th. I called Friday and Michael informed me that the car was all painted and they only needed to buff it and detail the entire car as promised, but it would not be ready until Monday, April 28th. I called Monday and left two messages with no call back until 1:20 PM which was more than 2 hours later. I finally had enough and drove down to McGrath Nissan in Elgin to check things out for myself. I arrived at McGrath Nissan in Elgin at 1:45 PM CDT and ask to see my car and Michael informed me that customers are not allowed in the body shop. I was persistent and he finally walked me to where my car was parked. The body shop was an absolute mess and it looked like something from the TV show Sanford & Sons Garage. Our 2013 Nissan Rogue was not ready for buff and a full detail, in fact the bumper was still off the car, there was a new scratch in the left rear quarter panel and the car was outside and had bird droppings on it. I was just at a loss for words and couldn’t believe that Michael was dishonest after all we went through with Charles. If Nissan Corporation doesn’t react and do something to correct this business, it would be very shocking from one of the best automobile manufacturers we know today. McGrath Nissan in Elgin failed on all points and as a longtime customer at McGrath Honda I couldn’t believe that this brand had an ugly side. I called Keith the manager and or GM at McGrath Nissan in Elgin. I left a message Monday late afternoon and he did call me on Tuesday at 9:20 AM. I told Keith in detail everything I stated in this article and how disappointed I was for being misled about the status of the car from Michael the manager of the body shop. Keith said he would talk to Michael to get his side of the story and then call me back. Keith called and explained much of the delay was the negotiation with Safeway Auto Insurance which I already knew but that doesn’t explain why Michael over promised and under delivered. I am sure this is not McGrath’s first rodeo with second rate insurance companies. Keith advised that our 2013 Nissan Rogue would be completed today (Tuesday) at 3:00 PM which includes fully assembled rear bumper, buff, scratch removed form left quarter panel and fully detailed. I advised Keith not to rush and that we would pick the car up on Wednesday. The wife and I arrived at 3:20 PM CDT. No Michael, No Keith. I wasn’t surprised by their absence; it’s an admission of guilt. The lady who was there to fill in had no clue. I noticed the buffed out scratch on the left quarter panel was visible. After all we went thought you would think they would have made sure this minor issue was fixed. I gave them an extra day to do the job right! McGrath Nissan of Elgin is NOT A BODY SHOP! They put parts together and that’s pretty much it. Any top notch body shop wouldn’t blink an eye at a minor imperfection. The lady at McGrath Nissan of Elgin (and I promise to get her name) told us that Michael was at a funeral. Sorry for your loss but where I come from a funeral is the final day of rest so what does that have to do with why we waited over 2 months to get our vehicle in YOUR SHOP and waited over 3 weeks for a rear bumper repair? Keith you called me and said that you do not blame Michael for what happened, of course not, why would you? The customer should wait 2 months and wait another 3 weeks because that’s what you think is good customer service. We also had to pay over $570 for car rental though we will get most of that back, but not all of it. You are killing the McGrath Brand.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Michael Bock

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3

McGrath Nissan responded to this review

May 06, 2014

Let me start by saying it was a very tough winter and yes in fact all Chicago land body shops where overwhelmed. The car was dropped off on Monday April 7th, we began working on the vehicle on Wednesday, April 9th. As with most automobile repairs additional work was required upon disassembling the damaged area. We contacted the clients insurance company and requested a supplemental claim. They approved that approximately 8 days later. The car was to be done on Monday, it was completed on Tuesday and the customer chose to pick it up on Wednesday. When he came in on Monday, Mr. Jovine walked right up to the scratch and announced that we had done that. Because it was not near the damage area we have no way of saying we didn't as we did not take pictures of that area. We buffed out the affected area. As to Mr. Jovine's allegations that we did not contact him, his voice mail is not set up on his phone and we were unable to leave a message (I tried it today 5/6/14 and it is still not set up). Mr. Jovine was also originally told that he would be responsible for the difference in labor rate between what we charge $48 per hour and Safeway's rate of $30 per hour, which would have amounted to approximately $1200. Michael convinced Safeway to pay our rate which left Mr. Jovine with no additional out of pocket expense. As to the "Sandford and Son" comment. Body shops visuals can be an eye opening experience for someone who has never seen one before, no offense taken. In closing I am sorry that Mr. Jovine was put out. I own McGrath Nissan and only McGrath Nissan. If you feel that we have not done our job well blame only Scott McGrath and McGrath Nissan. All other McGrath dealerships are independently owned. The day you came to pick up your car Michael was at a funeral and Keith was here. If you would like to sit down and discuss any of this or contact me directly, please give me a call. I would look forward to it. Scott McGrath, President McGrath Nissan.

LynnAnn69
4/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Very rude and mean"

Horrible experience. They lie and do not believe a word they say. They made my daughter's car buying experience a nightmare come true. Do not think they will keep their word. When they know it is wrong you will not get an apology, no they scurry away and leave you standing in the show room hoping you will just go away.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

McGrath Nissan responded to this review

May 14, 2014

Although I am understand your frustration that the vehicle was not here when you came back in with your daughter, please understand I make it very clear to my managers that if a vehicle reaches a certain time in inventory that it must be sent to the auction for immediate sale. I understand that my manager, Jeff, made that clear before you left the first time and without a deposit he could not stop the car from leaving for the auction. As to my staff "scurrying" away, they are also instructed not to engage a hostile client. So if they encounter someone that is raising their voice and using foul language on the showroom floor, they are instructed to defuse the situation by not getting involved and letting that individual leave. I am sorry that your daughter didn't get the Honda, if she still needs assistance we will be more than happy to assist. Scott McGrath, McGrath Nissan

DaniiGinnane
4/02/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Where to start....Since purchasing my brand new 2013..."

Where to start....Since purchasing my brand new 2013 Nissan Juke in August of 2013 ive become a pretty framiliar face at this dealership. I had a good amount of issues when I first had purchased he car which got taken care of. But when you purchase a new vehicle from this dealership they give you coupons for the service dept. Woo! I decided I would use one of the combo oil change coupons. While getting my oil change done I also had them take a look at my windshield fluid sprayers because they werent working correctly. They needed to order parts to fix it. Fine, its under warranty so im glad it happened now vs when the warranty was up. Keep in mind I have the same tech work on my car there because he is a close family friend, and possibly the only one that gives customers respect and treats my car as if it was his. So 10 stars to Clay!!! He is the best employee in this whole establishment. But regarding the parts that came in, I wanted clay to install them but he was not working the weekend I was able to come in and get my car fixed. So I brought it in an let some other tech work on it. I had to fight and argue with the service writer to get an appointment on a Saturday because that is the only day I am available. Strike 1. You shouldnt be giving your customers a hard time when theyre trying to make an appointment. Saterday comes along and I bring my car into the service area. No one did a walk around my car, just drove it in the shop and told me wait. 2, almost 3 hours later they let me know my car is done. I walk outside to my car to find 4 big stratches on the front drivers side of the car. I immediately marched back in there and asked why they neglected to tell me they scratched my car??? All I got was a run around of reasons of why it wasnt them who scratched it...."we talked to all of our employees that were working on your car and all of them said they didnt scratch it." Likely story. I would have known if those scratches were from me, but they were. And of course the ONE time I dont have my usual tech working on my car, this xxxx happens. So after giving me every excuse in the book of why it wasnt their fault, I asked to see a manager or owner. They told me the manager was out and so was the owner....without even checking first. Strike 2! Dont blatently lie to your customers. I went and walked around the dealership, and long behold, found the owner sitting in his office. The employees did a 'great' job of doing 'everything they could' to help. I explained to the owner the situation with my car and how service was refusing to fix the damage THEY had done. The owner personally looked at the scratches on my car and agreed they were done by the dealship when the car was in the car wash. He gave them direct orders to do whatever it took to fix my car, free of charge. 10 stars to Scott McGrath for being an awesome owner!!! A day had passed and I called in to make the appointment to get my car fixed....again! I had spoken with Kane. WORST MANAGER I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH IN MY LIFE, EXTREMELY RUDE!!! He told me it would take over a month to get me in for an appointment, kept cutting me off on the phone when I would ask questions, made it seem like it was huge inconvience for them. I could keep going on about how HORRIBLE Kanes service was. Long story short, this is the second time ive had to get the paint fixed on my new car of less than a year because of this dealership screwing up!! Along with countless rude employees ive had to deal with to get this issue resolved. Once I get my car fixed, I will NEVER be returning here unless it is a warranty issue. Get some respectful employees who know what theyre doing and know how to treat customers right!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
CJVee
3/06/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My husband and I test drove two vehicles (Rogue and..."

My husband and I test drove two vehicles (Rogue and Murano) earlier in the week (Tuesday?). Rony Durate is the sales associate who helped us. We are looking for a used car. We are unsure of what kind of car yet, but we want a Nissan. We came into the dealership today (Thursday) to try an Altima. We asked for Rony because he helped us earlier in the week. Immediately Rony was unfriendly and seemed irritated. We asked to drive a used Altima and we were refused because we would not fill out a credit report. From what I gathered, I believe Rony thought that he was wasting his time because we were probably not going to purchase the car today. Rony had a scowl on his face the entire time and was rude, disrespectful, and smug. I will never recommend anyone to visit any McGrath dealers, especially the McGrath Nissan in Elgin. We are going to purchase a Nissan. Now, it will be from another dealer. Joe and Cary Vodraska

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Rony Durate

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
reebits75
2/19/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I just purchased a 2014 Rogue and I could not be more..."

I just purchased a 2014 Rogue and I could not be more happy with my experience here at McGrath Nissan. Fair trade-in value, extremely great deal on new vehicle purchase price. They know how to treat their customers from start to finish. I have purchased 6 new vehicles thus far in my life, and this was by far the smoothest, most pleasant experience. I would HIGHLY recommend McGrath Nissan to anyone. Thank you again to all the staff for your assistance and for making the great deal happen. Rebecca S. and family

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Rony Durate

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
romeo2013
11/21/2013
Reason For Visit
Service

"My experince at this nissan dealer was bad I bought a..."

My experince at this nissan dealer was bad I bought a 2010 Nissan maxima months later not even a year my front bumper paint starter cracking I called the dealer talked too Kathy comer explained her my situation she said take it in for pictures see what we can do took it in she took pictures and said will call you or come next week I did go. got out of work early too go to the Nissan dealer when I got there she told me Kane meland was in a meeting that he couldn't help me so she said come back next week so I lost 2 hours of work too go to this dealer and I went the following week she gave me the run around for 3 weeks almost till fourth week I could talk too Kane he said he couldn't do nothing for me I'ma end up paying 26 thousand for a maxima that has a bumper messed up cracked paint I was really disappointed too sell cars yea there right there but too get service very bad. I don't recommend NOBODY to car shop in here would never buy a car here ever again

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

McGrath Nissan responded to this review

January 15, 2014

I am sorry that our client experienced this problem after more than a year of ownership with his used 2010 Maxima. We did look at the history of the vehicle and neither the vehicle history report, nor our records show any kind of bumper repair with the previous customer. We did offer to remove the bumper from the car, re-prime and re-paint the surface, and re-install it at our cost of $200.00. We would also provide the customer with the use of a rental car at no charge while we completed the repair. The client decided not to accept the offer. We are sorry for the inconvenience

DaniiGinnane
8/28/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"I recently purchased a brand new 2013 Nissan Juke from..."

I recently purchased a brand new 2013 Nissan Juke from this dealership. My salesman was super nice and not pushy like most, which i really appreciated since it was my first time purchasing a brand new car. He answered all my questions and let us test drive and check out whatever car I wanted. After finally finding the color and options I wanted, we found a match and started the paperwork. I got a pretty good deal and am happy with my new car. On the negative side, the car had two very decent scratches on and it was brand new, so now I have to make an appointment and give back my car to the dealership so they can fix it, (free of charge) but still very inconvenient since I had literally just purchased the car and wont even have it a week before I have to bring it back for service on the body. The porters did a very bad job at cleaning up the car for me, there was still dust and finger marks and smudges all over the car. And the fuse to activate all my electric features was never pulled to activate it, so it was confusing at first when i could unlock or lock my car with the remote, etc. So we had to go back and ask them to do that as well because they forgot to. So overall my salesman experience was great and friendly, but the overall service for my car when it was presented to me after purchasing it was horrible. I will be contacting the dealership, upon going in to service the body work for the scratches. Hopefully for all my inconveniences they can extend my xm radio for a year or something, cause this wasn't how I wanted my first car buying experience to go.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Eddie Ortiz

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

McGrath Nissan responded to this review

August 28, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about your salesperson. Whether it's your first time buying a car or more, it's no excuse allowing the car to leave this dealership less than you expected. I look forward to you returning, putting you in a loaner car, repairing the paint surface and detail the vehicle to your complete satisfaction. I am very sorry for the inconvenience and I can assure you it will be handled in a timely and professional manner. Scott McGrath, McGrath Nissan

11 - 20 of 93 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Mollie  McGrath
Mollie McGrath

Rental Car Manager

7 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Keith Kowalcyzk
Keith Kowalcyzk

General Manager

13 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Scott McGrath
Scott McGrath

President

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Manny Crisostomo
Manny Crisostomo

Sales Manager

17 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Marco Lopez
Marco Lopez

Sales Consultant

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Ryan Petrulakis
Ryan Petrulakis

Sales Consultant

8 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Matt Velez
Matt Velez

Sales Consultant

7 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jeff  Marcus
Jeff Marcus

Special Finance Manager

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Robert  Franco
Robert Franco

Finance Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Maria Meilahn
Maria Meilahn

Sales Consultant

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory