About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Prestman Auto

2.5

38 Lifetime Reviews

2865 South State Street, Salt Lake City, Utah 84115 Directions
Sales: (801) 467-6606

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

38 Reviews of Prestman Auto

Sort by Write a review
April 18, 2017

"Prestman Auto doesn't honor "quality first" claim"

- Disappointed

We purchased a 2015 Lexus RX 450 H from Prestman Auto. At first we were very happy with the car, but after 1500 miles the battery failed. AAA inspected and termed the battery inferior (" auction battery"). We replaced it with a Lexus genuine battery. Lexus puts their brand on batteries in new cars. We purchased this Lexus with only 3900 miles on it. The battery was not a genuine Lexus part. Dub, our salesman, said that all Prestman "branded" vehicles will have genuine "factory parts." Dub told us that Travis, his manager, would call us to take care of the battery. Travis never called even though I called several times over several weeks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dub and Travis
April 05, 2017

"Worst customer service ever!"

- robinheisch

Bought this car thru the Internet from NM. WORST customer service ever after being a slam dunk sold sale. They do not honor their word after the sale either. I drove 9.5 hrs and the car wasn't ready, financing not ready. They knew exactly when we'd be arriving. Maurissa practically ignored us I kept having to ask her to get this going. It's was like a race. I will never refer anyone to this dealership. Even the management will not email or return your calls. Once the sale is complete if you don't live in the state and are unable to return to the dealership forget it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Maurissa, Devin and Tracy
March 09, 2017

"WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!"

- T Leishman

Please do not waste your time with this dealership. I have never delt with such dishonest people in my life. I will NEVER purchase from them again. Dealing with the manager Travis was a complete waste of my time. However Bob in the service department was better to deal with than the rest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Travis Cheesman
January 27, 2017

"Awesome "

- Jeremy Moss

Just awesome great knowledge and they have great respect for their customers. Quick delivery with the loan process. Gave options to test drive to see what we are comfortable with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris
December 29, 2016

"Two cars, but not by choice."

- BWin

I purchased a Forester with 8000 miles on it from Tracy at prestman. Got through the paper work and got pressured into a warranty for a grand total of $3500 (including inflated charges). Left disappointed because I may as well have purchased a clean title car from a Subaru dealer for another $1000. Put about 350 miles on the car only to find a enormous oil spill in my driveway. Filled with oil and limped it back to prestman and they claimed it was just the freeze plug and off I went. Next day same problem, but now the engine has a major tick in the motor with a knocking you can hear a block away. Took it back explaining that the engine is shot, but relieved I purchased the warranty. They said it would take 60-90 days to replace the motor and they located one that will work. The engine ended up being 4 years old with 80,000 miles on it sitting out in a salvage yard. xxx?! . That's more miles than the car I just parted with. I explained the timeline and the suitable replacement wasn't going to work for me. I wanted to trade it in for a car that was not such a piece and was willing to double my price range. Tracy came back from talking with a manager and they concluded they would take it back less the registration fees and a restocking fee. This move cost me $7000 because the other car was worthless and they knew it. Ended up driving off the lot with a $27000 Tacoma that would have cost me $20000. At this point I could have purchased a new Tacoma. This car is far from perfect. Repaired dents have failed after one winter. Bondo is cracked and falling off fender, rust showing on front end panels,looks like someone sprayed silver spray paint to touch up fenders, lenses take on water, car pulls to the right while driving, and the best is windshield wiper fluid hose was not connected so it sprays down the firewall into your shoes. Nice 200 point inspection (sarcasm).These cars shouldn't be back on the road. I would never put a family member into one of their cars. If you enjoy arguing and problems, go for it. They pride themselves on no dickering until it comes to them having to spend their time and money. Spend the extra 5-10% and get a safe car that has some resale value.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tracy
August 29, 2016

"You won't be able to sell you car"

- Rand Looper

Prestman Auto pressures customers into leaving good reviews BEFORE they even drive off the lot with freebies and car washes, so these reviews aren't very legit. What they don't tell you, is that you end up paying the same amount for a clean title car, because they pressure you into getting an extended warranty that's only good for engine and transmission issues, not the other million things that go wrong with your car first. THE WORST PART is that you'll have a VERY hard time selling your car yourself. The rest of the world does not want a salvage title. All of Prestman Auto's cars have been TOTALED. That is why they push "branded title" cars, because it sounds nicer than salvage title or a totaled car. Also, not all insurance companies cover salvage titles, and they charge more. I didn't know all of this previously, so I feel like everyone should know what they're getting in to. I will end up losing way more money after I finally sell the car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Travis
February 08, 2016

"Transparency Issues: Please Read and Understand!"

- AmmonCunningham

I'll break this review into 2 sections: Overview: Overall a great buying experience, but there are issues on being completely transparent which is a major issue for me. I still got a great vehicle, I know they will service it well, and it was below the cost of other dealerships around. Read below to understand where Prestman isn't being completely transparent about their sales process. Dub (Sales Rep) 5/5 Dub was our sales rep. He was incredible, communicated well, and worked to get us a great deal on our vehicle. He was knowledgeable, and truly wanted us to do what was best for our family. Marshall (Manager) 2/5 Marshall was nice enough and personable. The issue I had though was when it came to signing final paperwork and getting the final pricing. It was clear that the prices for the Title, Registration, and Plate Transfer were inflated based on what the state is actually charging. Tthey also charge a 'dealer documentation fee' which is not legally required to be charged (but not illegal either), I believe it was around $249. It's ultimately a way to skim an extra few hundred dollars (around $400 in our case) in revenue onto the price of their vehicles. What I like about Prestman is they are professional and upfront about everything....except when it comes to these inflated fees. When I questioned Marshall on this, he was very unprofessional, and stated he didn't know if these fees were inflated, and didn't want to know...because then if he did know they were inflated he'd have to tell a customer that he knew they were. In this day and age transparency is important. Information is power, and needs to be used properly. Witholding information breeds distrust. They need to communicate that they are inflating these fees. It doesn't bother me at all that I was apparently the first one to question them on this, in fact I hope others will also question them on this. I would've been much more ok with it if they told me up front that that is what they were doing vs. me having to uncover it for myself. A few hundred dollars really isn't a big deal, but it is when it is being hidden from you. Please be transparent in all your dealings, don't silo yourself and be transparent in part of the process but not the entire process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dub, Marshall
February 03, 2016

"Definition of used car salesmen "

- Harley5656

if you are thinking of purchasing a car here carefully reconsider!! Do not purchase the extended warranty they offer you because when you try to use it the mechanic is backed up 2 months. Service as simple as oil changes is 2 months out. Note that these oil changes are an incentive they bribe you with after you purchase to get you to write them a good review. TOTAL SCAM. I did not write a review after purchasing because I did not have anything nice to say about my sales rep, Travis, so I didn't say anything at all. Now I feel it's important to share my experience with others to keep them from the same frustrating mistakes I was fooled into.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Travis
October 17, 2015

"#1 in Salt Lake for Customer Satisfaction!"

- Byron1234

Prestman Auto is the most committed business to customer satisfaction in the auto business that I have seen in my 20 years of buying cars! My sales agent was Trevor Durfey. Ask for the out-the-door price, and he'll hook you up with a no-hassle offer. We were able to take a test drive, go home, and think about the car experience we had. The next day, when Trevor followed up, he offered us an opportunity to execute the purchase electronically by signing a 13-page document online. It took only 15 minutes to do. The next day, our car was fully detailed, licensed, registered, and ready to roll! We saved an estimated 19.8% at Prestman Auto compared to their competitors. We were guaranteed to walk away satisfied, and they were serious.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Trevor Durfey
September 06, 2015

"Best Car Buying Experience!!"

- DDiamond

I have purchased several vehicles from various dealerships all over the country in my day and Prestman Auto was by far the fastest and best service I've received. Debbie, Marshal and Tracy jumped through hoops to get me what I wanted and I was in and out in not time with a great car and even greater loan deal. I appreciate that their cars are all a no haggle price. You know what the price is up front. I did my research on vehicles beforehand and their prices were unbeatable. You can drive a nicer car for a lot better price than anywhere else. I was initially worried about the branded title, but they were able to tell me what the back story was for every car I was interested in. I initially figured, that I was saving almost $10,000 on the car I bought so if I had to put a little into I was still in a good situation. However, I have had my car for a while now and it runs beautifully. It also qualified for a 3 year bumper to bumper warranty. Thanks to Debbie and Marshal for a beautiful car and even better service!! We will be back!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Debbie, Marshal, Tracy
1
...
1 - 10 of 38 results