About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Ray Laethem Buick GMC

17677 Mack Avenue, Grosse Pointe-Detroit, Michigan 48224
Sales: (313) 886-1700

Makes: Buick | GMC | Service Center
Good
67% Recommend
3.7

20 Lifetime Reviews

Ray Laethem Buick GMC
17677 Mack Avenue,
Grosse Pointe-Detroit, Michigan 48224
Ray Laethem Buick GMC Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

McDonald GMC Cadillac

639 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Randy Wise Buick GMC

435 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
20 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Mr. T
7/07/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Don't Do It!"

I have a big SUV and a Lifetime warranty. Many Problems with service. I get a free loaner with my Warranty. Their rental lady tries to put a disabled American Veteran into a "SUBCompact". I asked the serviceman to tell her a big SUV before I even went to her. She then immediately turns into a B-----, well let's just say a disgruntled employee who has no idea of what customer service means. I get a mini-SUV. The serviceman says don't worry about the gas because it was not full. I bring it back 3 notches lower than it was. The owner calls up and says he can't make me happy. Hello, no kidding! And says he is dumping me as a customer. Hey Mr. Laetham, that's what caused Lochmor Jeep to have their dealership pulled. I want to know how many of Lochmor's ex-employees you hired because I swear they all waited and or worked on my vehicle. I'll be going to another dealer who is farther away but always fixes my car the first time. You actually are saving me time and mileage. 3 or more trips to you compared to one trip at the other dealer. By the way, everytime I was at your dealership (and it was plenty of times) some other customer was always complaining to me. You should fix that, remember it will take you more than one time! More than two times my car has more wrong with it after it leaves Ray Laethem then when I bring it in. Once I spent over a $100 on a leaking tire and they still cold not fix it, I fixed it myself. They have an employee who will steal your parking spot that you are waiting for by turning left in front of you. They have another employee who will tell you to drive into the garage, then another employee who will tell you, you can't do that once you are in. Parts are not put on the car properly, their response is "hemmmm"! Get a wheel rotation and loose your wheel lock, twice that happen. I had a $20 license plate frame and then I notice it was gone and "Ray Laetham Frame was in it's place, my frame no where to be found. I had a $100 cleanable oil filter and that disappeared with an oil change there. I put $120 of E3 spark plugs in my car. The car did not like them, they changed them out and kept the brand new E3's even after I asked for them back. The vehicle problems were fixed as of this date but I might as well have been on their payroll for as much as I was down there.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mr. Laetham

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Diana2763
5/07/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Best car purchase ever! "

I had been looking to purchase a new vehicle for a while. Out of the blue received a GMC notice on my Facebook page. Contacted Betsy at Ray Laethem on the internet. She walked me through the steps, I completed an application and less than five days (due to my work schedule) I was driving off the lot in my new 2015 Terrain! Tony with whom I met in the dealership to sign my paperwork was VERY helpful with all of my many questions and made me feel as though we had known each other for years! I have heard the nightmare stories of going into a dealership and spending your whole day to get the deal completed, not at Ray Laethem! I would refer them to anyone! Nicest sales group ever!! Loving my new Terrain!! ??????

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Betsy Crane and Tony Abdullah

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Rayz911
4/07/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Terrible Service"

I recently dropped my 2013 dodge charger off at Ray Laethem last Monday March 31, 2014. I was having issues with the vehicle and they were the closest dealership and they had great reputation so I figured i would take it there. Well I am having a horrible experience with them. Since last Monday March 31, 2014 the vehicle has not been looked at and today is April 7th, 2014. Last week they told me twice I had a car ahead of me and I am the next one to be looked at. April 1st they started telling me that and then on Friday April 4th. Well today I had to call and find out what is going on and the car is still sitting outside waiting for it to be looked it and the same answer there still is one more car ahead of me to be looked at and then my car with finally be looked at. I thought from all great reviews from people that this was a respectable dealership well sorry folks I have been getting the same answer for a week. Sorry next I get a dodge it will not be from this dealership and I will certainly not take it to Ray Laethem for service.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Brian Crawford

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
tasparling
11/25/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Everyone at the dealership was kind and courteous. I felt..."

Everyone at the dealership was kind and courteous. I felt like I could trust a car dealer, imagine that! God bless Ray Laethem Motor Village!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Jeff Laethem, John Strehler

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
664grandpa
11/08/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"E.J.Borden was exceptional to work with. He will do..."

E.J.Borden was exceptional to work with. He will do almost anything to help you get exactly what you want. We will certainly deal with Ray Laethem again.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

E.J.Borden

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
terry olson
11/04/2013
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Without a doubt the best experience. In and out in 30..."

Without a doubt the best experience. In and out in 30 minutes. These guys are the best. I own several brands of vehicles and this dealership and GMC have a customer for life!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Larry Conely
11/30/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"When purchasing a 2011 GMC Canyon, I got confirmations..."

When purchasing a 2011 GMC Canyon, I got confirmations from three different people that they could/would install an ipod hookup in my vehicle. None of the three delivered and I took the truck elsewhere to be installed. Soon after purchase, I was rear-ended. I had the truck taken to the Laethem body shop. Despite assurances of a quick response, phone calls were almost never returned. After delivery, I got tired of returning the truck to the body shop for mistakes, so I finished the repairs myself. A dealer installed GMC tonneau cover separates from the truck, actually completely coming off once. It has been back to the dealer eight or ten times, I have lost count. One of the technicians finally hacked it to repair it. A disarming audible and tactile clunk is present in the steering at slow speeds. The most recent response from Laethem is that the GM engineers have said it cannot be fixed. They advise to simply lower the adjustable steering wheel one notch to fix it. This is not true, it is still present. Laethem professes to be concerned about customer service, yet does nothing. They are always courteous and friendly, but this is not a substitute for competence. I will make sure nobody I know will ever buy a vehicle from Ray Laethem.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

many Laethem employees

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
dtfentin
8/20/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I was interested in finding a good, dependable used car..."

I was interested in finding a good, dependable used car for my daughter. I thought I found that in a 2001 Mercury Sable with 47,000 miles for $6995.00. I asked if I could take the car to be checked out by an independent mechanic. No problem. What I found was a series of repairs that if they were not done could have endangered the driver. The repairs would cost a minimum of $1800. I believe that this used car dealership should be more forthright in informing a potential customer of major repairs that will be required. Of course, I understand the term "buyer beware." However, a respectable dealership would not in good conscience allow someone to drive away knowing that there might be some danger to the driver. They were willing to lower the price $1000.00 but I declined since the original price was already way higher than the Blue Book value of an identical car in "excellent" condition (which this car was not). I would be cautious in buying a used car from the Ray Laetham used car lot.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Randy Reed

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
Enclave2011
1/11/2012
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"We found this dealership while doing online research for..."

We found this dealership while doing online research for a new vehicle. The internet salesperson was very friendly and up front about the pricing - all incentives and discounts were given up front without having to "catch" the dealer holding available incentives back. (as other dealers did) Matt Frame assisted us with the test drive and eventual purchase of the vehicle. Matt was exceptional in helping us complete the paper work and get familiar with our new vehicle. The dealership was closing when we picked up the vehicle however Matt took the time to go over all the fearures of the vehicle with us. He helped us connect our phones to the blue tooth, program our seating, and showed us all the things we needed to know to drive off the lot comfortably. He was very patient and did not rush through things so he could leave. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a new car to contact Matt -he is by far the best person I have dealt with when buying a new car.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Matt Frame

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ncarbary
9/28/2011
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I purchased a used Mountaineer at a good price and was..."

I purchased a used Mountaineer at a good price and was assured by the salesman that the car was inspected and was in great condition. Not one week later major problems were discovered including a huge fire hazard. They were fully aware that young children would be in the car. I was passed over to the used car manager, Joe, who I found to be rude, arrogant and not willing to help except for a 20% discount off repairs and a free loaner. However, once I spoke directly to the owner, Mr. Jeff Laetham, I was treated with respect. He seemed genuinely concerned about the situation and was willing to help. I was informed that the vehicle was previously inspected at their Richmond dealership, but that he would like to have it reinspected at the Detroit one. He arranged to have the vehicle picked up from my house and for a loaner to be dropped off free of charge. Later that day the repair technician called and explained what was wrong with the car and that they would be repairing it free of charge. Mr. Laethem, his repair technican and the service manager were all very polite and respectful.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

used car salesman calvin,the manager joe, owner jeff laethem

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
1
1 - 10 of 20 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory