About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Rivertown Subaru

1661 Whittlesey Road, Columbus, Georgia 31904
Sales: (706) 322-9927

Makes: Subaru|Service Center
 
Good
71% Recommend

Overall Rating 4.0

7 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Rivertown Subaru
7 Lifetime Reviews
Rivertown Subaru Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

7 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
heather.bellburchett
10/04/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great salesman. "

We went to several dealerships in the area and were treated like terribly. John Saul at Subaru was excellent with both my spouse and I. Highly recommend this dealership to others.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

John Saul

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
SRBSSUV
9/19/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Buy a new Subaru"

The Salesman was very informative and very easy to talk to. He explained many of the features of the Forester and told me to call anytime for more info. The paper work went very well. Overall the buying of the Forester was easy and I am very happy with the vehicle.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Eric Johnson

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
srausher
7/23/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Best price in the Southeast -And I called every dealer in it"

The price was literally unbeatable. They were great to negotiate with online. The costumer service was fantastic and they included free delivery of the car to my home. Other then a minor paperwork mixup, everything went as smooth as possible. The 2015 Subaru Forester we bought is now 3 months old and it has been fantastic! No issues whatsoever.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

John Saul

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
Joe De Young
7/03/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Incompetent Dealership"

Working with this dealership was a nightmare from start to finish. My husband and I had researched vehicles extensively and decided on the Subaru Outback. Instead of driving to Atlanta, we decided to take a chance on this local dealership...big mistake. We asked to purchase 3.6 Limited edition for the V-6 engine. Rivertown didn't have any in stock but assured us they could make a dealer trade. They located the exact car we requested at two different dealerships and advised they'd make a deal and have the car driven to town in the next few days. What followed was THREE WEEKS of promising vehicles and never delivering. Normally I'd have walked away from the dealership at this point but my husband received military orders for us to move North in the next 6 weeks. With this new time crunch we reluctantly continued to work with this dealership. Eventually we agreed to a vehicle with a lot more bells and whistles, i.e. more expensive, than we requested. They agreed to sell us the car with the extras for an additional $300-$500 with the manager's approval. Two days later, before confirming the dealer trade, we were informed the car would instead cost an additional $1150. Furious and frustrated we agreed to the deal so we could get our car and run. Instead, the deal fell through and they contracted for yet another car. This one was brought to the dealership but was missing some of the "extras" previously agreed to. Unfortunately, the missing extras were items we had originally requested (like splash guards) instead of inconsequential things we didn't want (like the moon roof and navigation). We refused to pay additional money and demanded they install these items on the car. Finally the day came to sign the paperwork. We walked into the dealership at 2 pm with a cashier's check for a down payment and a loan from our bank for the remainder. It took FIVE HOURS for Rivertown to process the paperwork. By 7 pm, we quickly signed the paperwork and escaped with our new car. But this wasn't the end. The next day we reviewed the paperwork and discovered Rivertown listed the wrong bank as the lien holder. I drove to the dealership where I was assured they'd "fix" the problem. That afternoon I received 3 alerts from Life Lock. They ran my credit 3 TIMES while attempting to "fix" the problem. We bought the car with a loan from our bank, not the dealership, yet all 3 credit alerts were from banks we don't do business with, including the bank they incorrectly listed as the lien holder on our paperwork. This dealership has proven incompetent in every aspect. I highly recommend you avoid the RIVERTOWN Subaru Auto Mall when purchasing a vehicle. You're bound to be disastrously disappointed. LESSON LEARNED-Drive 2 hours to Atlanta to avoid incompetence....

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Sales Manager, Admin Department

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
scyfoxx
7/03/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Excellent service, price and overall effort!"

We were not sure what to expect at Rivertown Subaru after reading one positive and one negative review posted here at dealerrater.com. I am happy to say that we were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful experience we had at this dealership. Our salesman, Charles Fields, was friendly and helpful, answering all of our questions and trying to find the exact vehicle for our needs. A special thanks goes out to Van Wilson, the business manager, who went out of his way to get us the best price and interest rate for our new car. When we had trouble getting approved, he spent considerable time and effort to find financing for us. The next day, he came back with an even better interest rate that saved us even more money. In the past, I have typically left car dealerships feeling that we had been taken advantage of in one fashion or another. Not so with Rivertown Subaru! We got a better price on our new vehicle and more for our trade-in than I would've thought possible. It was also nice to not have to spend endless hours haggling over monthly payments and trade-in values like we had to do at another dealership, whose name I will not mention. We also got an excellent deal on an extended warranty. Overall, they were an excellent place to do business with, and I recommend them highly!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Charles Fields, Van Wilson

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
robin444
6/03/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Rivertown Subaru: Committed to Being Truly Outstanding"

“Committed to being truly outstanding” is printed at the top of the business card of Troy Graham, general manager of Rivertown Subaru Auto Mall, Whittlesey Road, Columbus, Georgia, the location of my first Subaru purchase in May 2014. Troy Graham and all of the employees at the Rivertown Subaru dealership have been outstanding so much so that my purchase experience has exceeded my expectations and to a degree that has compelled me to write my first online review. Troy Graham, the general manager; Mr. John Saul, my sales consultant; and Mr. Van Wilson, the business manager, have most definitely lived up to Subaru’s commitment to provide the highest standards of product quality and to adhere to the highest standards of ethics and integrity. Prior to arriving at the Subaru dealership I test drove cars at other dealerships in town, all of which left me skeptical about purchasing a new car. In particular the sales consultant at the Kia dealership was totally uninformed about the first car that I test drove. I intended to drive a second car; however, the Kia sales consultant took a cigarette break, so I left. In stark contrast to this experience was my next stop, the Rivertown Subaru dealership in Columbus, Georgia, which was the most positive purchase experience that I have encountered in my lifetime. Specifically, here are only a few of the many examples of the outstanding service that I received at Rivertown Subaru: Mr. John Saul met me within seconds in the parking lot and discussed with me the value of owning a Subaru. Specifically, he informed me about the Subaru XV Crosstrek which immediately caught my attention. Mr. John Saul’s knowledge of Subaru cars was impressive and in complete contrast to the sales consultant that I had encountered minutes earlier at Kia, who seemed to know very little about cars and even less about the value of first impressions. After the test drive and my discussions with Mr. Saul about the Crosstrek, I was totally convinced that the Crosstrek was the car for me. The high gas mileage, the overall look and feel and smooth drive of the Crosstrek, and Mr. Saul’s knowledge of Subaru and their standards and philosophy were what sold me on this car. Furthermore, I had no intention of trading my existing sports car; however, I changed my mind when the general manager gave me the exact dollar amount that I originally paid for the car that I owned for over three years. Moreover, Mr. Wilson and Mr. Saul were very well-organized and informative during the purchase transaction. The employees left me with the message that Subaru’s service to their customers does not end with a sales contract. In the days that followed, Mr. Saul called twice to make sure that all was well with my new Crosstrek. I drove the car for nine days, each day my satisfaction with the car increasing, before I was involved in an accident. At this most stressful time, I was more than one hundred percent satisfied with Mr. Troy Graham’s generous solutions during the car repair process and am most grateful for all that he did to help me so much so that I consider it a blessing. It was during this difficult time that it was most evident that Mr. Troy Graham stands behind the words on his business card: “Committed to being truly outstanding.” I most definitely trust and appreciate the employees of the Rivertown Subaru dealership in Columbus, Georgia. I feel very comfortable recommending the Rivertown Subaru dealership to my family, friends, and the general public. Currently, I am back in my Subaru Crosstrek and loving it. A 100% completely satisfied Rivertown Subaru customer, Robin

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Troy Graham, General Manager; John Saul, Sales Consultant; Van Wilson, Business Manager

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
jporter723
2/28/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My wife and I were in the market for a pre-owned Ford..."

My wife and I were in the market for a pre-owned Ford Expedition with 3 row seating. We used USAA's car buying service (TruCar) to help educate ourselves and to assist us with the selection process. The theory with a car buying service is everyone wins; the customer gets a very aggressive price lower that advertised on a vehicle and the dealer sells a unit quickly and doesn't invest a lot of time and effort. We entered our search criteria and Rivertown Subaru of Columbus, GA was listed as having a car that matched our search and they're a USAA trusted dealer. I called the dealership to verify that the car was still available, asked a few questions about it's options and condition and to discuss pricing. It took us two days to make a decision, so we scheduled an appointment to drive down to see it and potentially purchase the car. We live 40 miles north of Atlanta and Columbus is 180 miles away. We packed up our 22 month old and our 8 week old and set off for the 2 1/2 hour trip. Upon our arrival, our salesperson introduced himself and showed us the SUV. The exterior was in great condition, but the interior had not been detailed and was very dirty. So much so, my wife was disappointed and not interested purchasing the SUV. Before we left, our salesperson offered to show us 5 other Expeditions he had on the lot; 2 of which were certified pre-owned. We looked at all 5 and quickly narrowed it down to a 2013 CPO Ford Expedition Limited with 18k miles. In addition to the window sticker, there was a CPO sticker that gave everyone the full details of the extended warranty. It was a few thousand dollars more than we had intended to spend, but thought it was our best option; especially as a CPO with the extended warranty. Everyone agreed on a sales price and we signed the initial agreement to purchase. Rivertown needed an hour or so to generate the finance package and prep the car for delivery, so we went to lunch. After lunch, our 8 week old and I were going to work thru the financing details while my wife drove home to Atlanta with our 22 month old to get our third child off the bus. I've signed a number of documents when we finally get to the warranty details. He has the car listed as having only the remaining factory warranty and I'm under the impression it's certified. We took a look at the CPO sticker in the window on the vehicle and he explained that the car was a recent dealer trade and they unfortunately haven't removed the 'old' stickers yet. He also said Volvo can't sell a Ford CPO vehicle. However, he could sell me an extended warranty which would cost an additional $2,000! Well, that's a deal breaker. I told him we weren't interested in moving forward with the purchase and called my wife, who was now in Peachtree City 100+ miles away and asked her to turn around and come and pick us up! I asked to speak with the sales manager and explained our situation. The best he could offer was to dealer trade it back to Ford across the street (same family owned both dealerships) and have them sell it as a CPO vehicle, but that was going to cost me an additional $500! We went back and forth; I wasn't going to pay more than what we had already agreed and signed to pay and they refused to absorb the additional cost. I asked to speak with the general manager, but he was out of town. So, we left without buying a car, but not before I told the sales manager that we would use tools like Dealer Rater, Google + and other social media outlets to tell folks about our 13 hour, 600 mile experience with Rivertown Subaru. There's no reason to do business with people that don't respect you or your time.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

3

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
1
1 - 7 of 7 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory