About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

San Marcos Toyota

3.3

17 Lifetime Reviews

5101 I-35 South, San Marcos , Texas 78666 Directions
Sales: (512) 392-1999

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with ourCertified Dealership Program.

17 Reviews of San Marcos Toyota

Sort by Write a review
October 12, 2016

"Oil change"

- Violet Hernandez

OK got there about 1pm and they said it be an hr noticed about 6 cars in front of me 2 hrs go by and saw a truck in other lane go before mine asked how much longer the manager said the car in front needed a new battery so that was the only hold up I asked why they serviced the truck in other lane first and they need a better system the managers only reply is that he was the only one there and said yes they needed a better system and that was all.. I didn't get to get my oil change cause at 3 i needed to leave to get my daughter from school... Waist of time and they do need a better system they should work on cars according to arrival time not line up

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
???
Oct 15, 2016 -

Violet Hernandez responded

OK so didn't expect Chuck Jones to respond but yes he did and worked out my service got my car handled in good timing just hope they keep up the customer service

October 07, 2016

"Horrible place to work"

- TheWarrior

DO Not Work here! Worst pay plan in my 25 year history of Automobile sales. My pre interview I was given a pay % that were not true. I was then instructed to take a urinalysis and upon completion I was then given the company packet with pay plan. The first used vehicle I sold, I was given an amount my commission would be, because I did an excellent job of selling the company value. I was later told that there was a repair order done a month prior that hadn't been posted yet, so then I received $100 mini. I sold 4 vehicles my first four days there 5 in 10 days. One had been on the lot 149 days and I had a flat tire on my way to work so Wham $50.00 mini. Oh did I mention the people that bought the first vehicle from me got bumped in finance because another customer who had been there an hour shorter was financing the vehicle and mine was a cash customer. While I was there, a younger salesmen was told that he can only be paid a certain amount because they payed him hourly and he hadn't clocked in. He stated nobody showed him how to clock in. This happened to myself and another senior salesman, who was short on his ridiculous pay. The hours are long and arduous, yet you still don't get paid the correct amount, because they conspired to not tell new people how to clock in It is almost criminal. I had to quit because I'm diabetic and I was driving 90 - 100 minutes a day each way, by the end of the day, I'd be suffering from dehydration and it caused kidney issues. I stayed longer because the sales manager Kyle and my manager Bill Brown kept saying things will get better. I do feel that their hands are tied when it comes to treatment of employees. The used car managers are new and often put far less than fair market value in vehicles because they're afraid of making a mistake causing customers to flee and go to other places. As far as the service department, they have rude service writers and 1 real good older guy and a young guy that do their best to maintain customer satisfaction. The final straw was yesterday when I went to pick up my final check as they said "your final check is here" I drove 105 miles only to find out my final check was not there it would not be ready until the 10th. I was not aware that every single deal advertise on the internet would be $100 and no bonuses are paid on used cars. During a meeting it was mentioned no salesman and qualified for a bonus in 4 months. San Marcos customers, if it appears your salesman may be a little short with you, it is not their fault, nor is it the fault of the sales manager or employees, it is just the culture of that dealership itself. You can change managers all you want. You can put false reviews on the internet but you never change the culture of the place and that sucks for the people of San Marcos and its surrounding areas. They also failed to meet the minimum federal guidelines with regards to handicap parking in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Thomas
August 31, 2016

"Great service representative"

- Priusowner

Pat Frye went above and beyond when my Prius battery failed. This man cares about his customers and doing the best for them. I was traveling and he helped me get back on the road. My dealership at home Fred Haas would not help over the phone. You represent Toyota in a stellar manner. Thank you Pat.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pat Frye
July 02, 2016

"New Vehicle Purchase"

- satisfied4599

I had a very positive experience with San Marcos Toyota in buying a new 2016 Rav4. Karlton Kopecky, my sales person, was very helpful. I made several internet requests to Toyota dealers in major Texas city metro areas for their best prices on similar Rav4s. These dealers did provide this information to me either by email messages or telephone calls. Karlton gave me a initial quote that I thought was still above what I wanted to spend. On his own initiative, Karlton sent me an follow-up email message which brought the Rav4 down to what I wanted to pay. Before making the purchase, I (1) had my financing pre-arranged with a credit union; (2) found an extended warranty from another company other than Toyota to cover the vehicle for several years; (3) did not have a trade-in; (4) told Karlton that I was not going to pay for some add-on items by the dealership that were listed below the MSRP sticker that some dealers were providing at no cost, and (4) a definite drive out price before I even went to the dealership. Something that it also very important to me is the fact that San Marcos Toyota is an A+ Accredited Business with the Central Texas Better Business Bureau (BBB). I made an appointment with Karlton as to when I would come to the dealership to purchase the vehicle. With all of these pre-arrangements, the entire experience went well for me. The atmosphere at the dealership was very calm and relaxed for me. Because of these factors, I will definitely consider San Marcos Toyota as my first choice when I buy a new Toyota for my child in the next few years.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Karlton Kopecky
June 02, 2016

"Non-professional sales representative"

- ngocle293

I have bought my Corolla LE on Apr 30, and I am NOT happy with the purchase at all.They sold me the car overprice. First of all, we are new customer with Toyota, I have never had a Toyota before at all. When we came to see the sale who we talked to via the phone, he was busy so they put us to another guy, who totally DO NOT knew anything about what he was selling.We got on the car, and didn't know it was a Corolla L, no key less entry.We found out about this after spent 25 mins test drive and of course I didn't want to buy that. We decided to get the Corolla LE, and I kept asking them if they could low the price for me, they said NO.Ending up paying 19,000. I went home, looked at the website again and found out we were qualified for College Grad rebate, which could reduce us 750.I called the sale guy and asked, he said they would have given us that offer IF we had told them when we were there, and it was our fault. Well, I feel like their sales man just want to hook the customers like a fish, and I was a dummy.I have learnt my lesson, and hope if you want to do business with them please spend time to research and read their reviews.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alex
October 19, 2015

"lied to to sell a vehicle- wont stand behind written promise"

- Tony G

Vehicle was delivered in very filthy condition, and in need of major repair after being promised it was perfect and did not need anything after going through service. The vehicle has multiple bearings out in the transfer case and makes a very loud noise at all speeds. I was guaranteed in writing that the Jeep needed nothing, had that not been said, I would not have followed through with the purchase. I called and spoke with Ernesto who is a sales manager at the dealership, the day the Jeep arrived and the noise was noticed. Ernesto said he understood my dissatisfaction and would help figure out a solution. He did not call back, so today 10/19/2015 1 week later, I followed up and he said they will do nothing to stand behind their written guarantees. I asked for the general sales manager to call me back. 10 minutes later a different sales manager called me named Mike and Mike said the general sales manager didn't want to deal with the problem so he asked him to handle it. I explained it all again to Mike and Mike stated they will do nothing to assist with the problems I'm experienced and that I should have known better when purchasing a used vehicle. To me, that says that they don't care, wont stand behind written guarantees and are in the business to steal from people and lie. To top all of this off, the vehicle was delivered in disgusting condition and they also won't stand behind that. They laughed at me when I was pleading for help.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chandler, Mike, Ernesto
September 09, 2015

"Extremely pleasant purchase experience!!!"

- dowdydl

Cody McCormick was my sales rep and he was truly outstanding. He listened to all of my concerns and made this purchase one of the best ever. Mike Cartner was the sales manager and he put the finishing touches on and made this deal possible. I truly would like to thank Cody and Mike for making this a very pleasant experience. I look forward to purchasing from San Marcos Toyota in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cody McCormick and Mike Cartner
August 08, 2015

"Customer Service needs help"

- Robert Robles

I went into the dealership to look at some new cars. I was approached by the sale person, Manny, which seemed to be bothered that he had to get out onto the lot. I told him that I was looking at the 2015 Corollas so he took me to look at them and then took me for a test drive. During the test drive, he was very quiet and not telling me anything about the car. I had to ask him questions for him to say anything. When I did ask him questions, he seem a little lost so I let it pass. I completed the test drive and started talking numbers. I told him that when I had went to another dealership, that they told me that they would give me a certain amount for my car and he stated that I should had got it in writing with a rude tone. I told him that that is what I wanted and he told me that he did not know if that would be possible. He went on and asked me what it would take to get me into the car and I told him the right numbers before we can talk about buying the car. He told me that he was talking numbers so I told to go and see what is the best they could give me for my car. He came back with a low ball number and I told him the amount I wanted and nothing less. He went back and got what I wanted so he went and told the finance person to start the paperwork. When he came back, he stated that I should come back tomorrow and get my things out of the old car. He stated that because they were about to close. When he went to check with the finance person, I told another salesperson to tell Manny that the deal was off. So, I decided to give the dealership a second chance. I went in for an oil change and started looking at cars again. This time Sam came to help me. Sam was professional and very knowledgeable. Everything he told me, he made it happen. We went on a test drive and he was telling me about different features. He got me a good trade in amount and he made sure I was happy. He stayed after hours to take care of the deal. When I was waiting for the finance person, Sam was going over the warranty info when the finance person came in and told Sam that he better hurry up and get me to sign before I walk out on him again. I was real close to walking out again because of this moron statement but I stuck it out. I will probably never again buy from this dealership because of their lack of professionalism. Whenever I decide to buy another car, I hope to get Sam again but with some other dealership. I really hope this never happen to anyone else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam and Manny
March 17, 2015

"New car buying experience"

- Dolores

Today was my 3rd time to buy a new Camry from San Marcos Toyota. I give them 5 stars again. My salesman was Chandler Grant and he was very fair and explained the whole process for me and I drove away a very happy new car owner! Dolores

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chandler Grant
August 04, 2014

"Robbed awake"

- Bing1972

I got ripped off big time. Took my car for routine oil change. Advisor said that our brakes needs replacement. So agree for safety reason. My car doesn't have any issues at all. When I picked up my car after they replace the brakes it's not running right. We took it back the same day but no one can explain or available to check what's the problem. We're advised to come back the following business day. That's so inconvenient. The thing that upset me really bad when we took the car again and we're being told that our front shocks need to be replaced. And it's more than $700. We don't have any issues until they touched my car. They are extortionist...not going back to this dealership again and I was supposed to get another Toyota for my son..but not anymore. Toyota cars are good but the people that you're dealing with can't be trusted...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Paron Smith
1
1 - 10 of 17 results