About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Stevenson Honda

821 S College Rd, Wilmington, North Carolina 28403
Sales: (910) 395-1116

Makes: Honda | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Excellent
90% Recommend
4.5

83 Lifetime Reviews

Stevenson Honda

Hours: Closed

821 S College Rd,
Wilmington, North Carolina 28403
Stevenson Honda Info
Hours
Amenities
About Stevenson Honda

- Founded in 1952 by the Stevenson Family, we have grown to be ranked in Automotive News Top 125 Largest dealer groups in America! - We’re Locally Owned! Your money stays right here in the community! - State Of The Art Facilities built by local contractors! - We support many local civic, church and school organizations! - A+ Better Business Bureau rating!

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Stevenson Honda

- Founded in 1952 by the Stevenson Family, we have grown to be ranked in Automotive News Top 125 Largest dealer groups in America! - We’re Locally Owned! Your money stays right here in the community! - State Of The Art Facilities built by local contractors! - We support many local civic, church and school organizations! - A+ Better Business Bureau rating!

Sales/Showroom

Monday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Tuesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Thursday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

83 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
HappyGal
8/10/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Great Service"

I had my regular service done today. The intake person was friendly and helpful. Everything about the service was the BEST. Also the car looked great as it was washed. Mercedes Yepko

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Chadwick Browm

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
FitGal2016
7/28/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"AMAZING SERVICE HONDA FAMILY"

The Sales and Finance teams at Stevenson Honda have been truly amazing helping my family buy 7 Hondas I've the years! They helped me to get the best package and the right financing for my needs. The unlimited lifetime powertrain warranty was enough to bring me back from Florida to purchase from them after my car was totaled. Mark, Matt, and Christian are now considered part of my family!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Mark, Matt, Christian

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

July 29, 2016

We appreciate you for letting others know about your experience at Stevenson Honda Wilmington. If you have any automotive needs in the future, please let us know. Take care. Kind regards, Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

Zaih090
7/26/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"I had a very good experience with Stevenson Honda Pre-Owned."

This dealership has many good qualities. Samantha Pridgen is by far the most amazing dealer I got to work with. She was not pushy at all, she was very helpful, and she genuinely cared about my wellbeing and getting a car that I loved. She was also funny and just had an amazing attitude throughout the whole deal. My car I had before I bought my Toyota Prius was quite dangerous, and She even called while I was out of town to make sure I got there safely. It was very apparent she cared not only about her job but her customers as well. The other employees I dealt with were not as good, unfortunately. Samantha had to leave at one point one day and Uber came to help me. He, as well as the other employees that helped were extremely pushy. They made me quite uncomfortable and would not let me leave the store. When I walked away that day they were even mad that I wanted a night to think about the purchase before going through. They made me feel like I was not important and that they just wanted money out of me, which caused me to almost not purchase a car at all. Honestly, Samantha is the saving grace of this dealership. If it wasn't for her I would not be driving the best car I have ever seen. I would recommend anyone to her, but not the other dealers I had to speak with. If you go here, ask for Sam! She's great and she will make sure to get you what you need! I cannot say the same for the other employees.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Samantha Pridgen, Uber

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

July 29, 2016

Thank you so much for your kind and honest review of Stevenson Honda Wilmington. We always appreciate any feedback. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly. Sincerely, Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

Ralphhb2
7/01/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Easy going no pressure"

No pressure, no annoying follow-up calls after initial visit, knowledgeable salesperson. No hype of pressure to purchase extra packages but explained in an easy to understand manner.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Justin Smith

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

July 11, 2016

We appreciate you for letting others know about your experience at Stevenson Honda Wilmington. If you ever need anything in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know. Take care! Best, Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

Carol
6/25/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Working With Temoney at Stevenson Honda!"

I was set on leasing a Buick Regal, as that was the last car we leased, but it was totaled by a drunk driver. We had heard wonderful things about the Honda Accord so we decided to check it out. We leased a Honda! The young man, Herbert Temoney, was very knowledgeable of the car, and had an infectious personality. Everyone we had the privilege of speaking with was courteous and mild mannered. The young man that handles the financial paperwork was patient in explaining the things we didn't quite understand. When we got home my husband noticed a small scratch right under the bumper. He called Mr. Temoney and without hesitation the service department is going to take care of it. I appreciated the fact that we were not pressured. Pressure from salesmen causes me to press on the exit door and leave! Thanks for making our Honda experience a great one!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Paul, Travis

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

June 27, 2016

Carol, Thank you for taking the time to submit this awesome feedback. Hearing that you received "excellent service" from our staff is always encouraging and reassures us of our commitment to our customers. We hope that you enjoy the new Honda Accord and we look forward to hopefully doing business with you again in the future. Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

Travis V.
6/18/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Misleading Sales Negotiation"

I recently visited Stevenson Honda in Wilmington and purchased a 2016 Honda Civic. I first met with salesperson Frank Chappell around 10am on 5/27. We test drove the 2016 Honda Civic. When we got back from the test drive he asked me how we should proceed from there. I said that I would need to negotiate the price, and I noted several times, that I wanted to deal in terms of the out-the-door, total cost, tax, tag, title, fees etc. price. When I told Mr. Chappell I wanted to negotiate the price he called over Mr. Brendan Doyle. At this point it was getting close to 11:30am. I had mentioned earlier that I had to leave at 11:30am to go to lunch and that I would come back afterwards. Mr. Doyle asked me what my no "bs" offer was that I would be willing to pay for the vehicle. After some deliberation I told him the price I could do was $19,000. He said that that was low but he would talk to his higher up and see what he could do. He came back a little after 11:30am and said that his higher up approved of my $19,000 offer. Mr. Doyle then requested that I sign a paper that he handwrote in pen to signify that I would purchase the vehicle for $19,000 upon my return from lunch. This seemed strange to me, but I agreed to sign pending my approval of a loan rate. He wrote these terms on the paper and drew a line for me to sign. I signed the document per his request. I then went to lunch, excited that I was going to get what I thought was a great deal. When I returned from lunch I spent the next several hours with Mr. Kenneth Walker in finance. He told me that there was no more negotiating the price of the vehicle and that we would just be discussing the down payment, loan rates, and WRAP (lifetime bumper to bumper warranty package). We negotiated the price of the WRAP and I agreed to a $10,000 down payment and loan rate. I agreed to pay $10,000 up front, and finance the rest through SunTrust. The total cost I thought I would be paying was $21,546.60 (including the WRAP, taxes, fees, title, etc., not including the down payment), per the negotiation I had with Mr. Doyle earlier, not a $30,000+ figure. I signed the paperwork and left. I had to bring my vehicle back the following week for several reasons: there were scratches under the front bumper, a pen mark on the inside of the driver's door, and the trunk mat they provided the evening of the sale had a substantial cut in it. I received a compact loaner vehicle for a day while they painted over the bumper scratches, removed the pen mark, and ordered a new trunk mat. I went to the SunTrust yesterday to pay off part of my SunTrust loan which I believed would be in the $11,000 range since I thought I had already paid $10,000 up front on $21,546.60 per the negotiation with Mr. Doyle. However, SunTrust said I had a loan taken for the $21,546.60. I was very confused to say the least. I then called the Stevenson Honda dealership and was transferred to finance, only to be met with an answering machine not once, but twice. I called again and the receptionist said she would get a finance individual to contact me when they were available. I waited over 45 minutes with no call back from the dealership, so I drove to Stevenson Honda. I spoke with Frank Chappell about this confusion and he said that Mr. Doyle no longer worked there anymore and that there would probably be no way to locate the paperwork that Mr. Doyle drew up that I signed, agreeing on the $19,000 price for the vehicle. He did remember that Mr. Doyle drew up the aforementioned agreement document for me to sign. He said he didn't think there was anything we could do about this and got the floor manager to talk to me. By the end of my discussion with the floor manager, he said he would read through my paperwork again but seemed hesitant to address the negotiation document that I signed with Mr. Doyle. He said he didn't have the ability to look in the files at that time and stated that I should have known $19,000 for the vehicle was not realistic. Several times during our conversation he smiled and chuckled to himself as if my concerns were unfounded. He then said he would call me tomorrow morning (6/18) after reading my paperwork and talking to his boss. Overall he seemed opposed to investigating this issue beyond the minimum effort, and noted that his job, while involving customer service, also revolves around the bottom-line. Additionally, he noted that he didn't have to help me and that he was just looking into this as a courtesy. After this, he said that this was the end of our conversation and that he had other things to take care of. I was under the impression, per negotiation with Mr. Doyle, that the $19,000 was the total out the door price for the vehicle (including tax, tag, title, fees, not including WRAP). Instead, I was charged an additional ~$21,000 loan from Suntrust on top of my $10,000 down payment. I sent an email to the GM (Patrick Koballa) this morning reflecting my concerns. I then received a call from the floor manager saying that he saw the email I sent to the GM, and that he was done dealing with this issue. I also emailed the owner this morning and have not received a response from her either. This has been a very discouraging $10,000 discrepancy that Stevenson Honda appears to want to ignore, and not investigate my concerns any further. My concerns remain unresolved at this time.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Frank Chappell, Brendan Doyle

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Travis V. responded to this review

July 10, 2016

UPDATE 7/2/16 As of today, 7/10/16 this issue remains unresolved. I received an email from Ms. Roberts on 6/20/16 with the paperwork that I signed at the dealership and the handwritten letter that I previously mentioned. After another email to Ms. Roberts, and her response, she continues to assert that there is a difference between the “out the door price” for the vehicle and a down payment. After doing some research online, I found no definition of “out the door price” that disassociates the down payment from the “out the door price”. Simply, the down payment goes towards the out the door price of the vehicle. She is asserting, as all the other Stevenson Honda correspondents have, that I offered $29,000 for a vehicle with an MSRP in the $27,xxx range (not including the WRAP bumper to bumper lifetime warranty). I explained these concerns to Ms. Roberts in an email I sent to her on 6/23/16. In the 6/23 email I also mentioned that I hoped we could come to some sort of compromise for this situation. As of 7/2/16, I had not received a response from her to this email. So, I sent her a follow up email on 7/2/16. In this 7/2 email to Ms. Roberts, I attached two (2) screenshots of a text conversation that I had with my mother while in the process of purchasing this vehicle on 5/27/16. In the text conversation I say to my mother: “$21,550 including lifetime bumper to bumper warranty”; “I’m buying it”. These two texts I sent to my mother at 8:20PM and 8:23PM respectively on 5/27/16. This proves that I was under the impression, based on the negotiation that I had with Mr. Frank Chappell and Mr. Brendan Doyle, that I was purchasing the vehicle for $21,550, not $31,550. Even after providing these texts, and again requesting that I hope we can come to some kind of middle ground to resolve this situation, I have not received a reply from Ms. Roberts as of today, 7/10/16. It is very troubling to see that, even after providing these details to Ms. Roberts and Stevenson Honda, that no one is willing to even discuss a compromise to resolve this situation, let alone respond to my 6/23 and 7/2 emails. As of today, I am still awaiting responses from Ms. Roberts. Again, this issue is not yet resolved and I hope that Stevenson Honda will be willing to work with me to come to a compromise for this unfortunate situation.

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

June 27, 2016

We sincerely appreciate your comments! Per your request after my call; we e-mailed you additional information to clear up any additional confusion that may exist. Attached were scanned signed documents validating the figures you mentioned and requested during the sale. We look forward to seeing you in our service department. Please reach out to my direct line with any additional concerns. Have a fantastic summer! All the best, Peggy Roberts Stevenson Automotive Wilmington, NC Direct: 910-798-4670

snfarrow
6/07/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Love our new Honda Crosstour"

My husband came in Stevenson Honda on the evening of Memorial Day. We were kind of in a pinch to find a car as our previous Honda Accord was hit and totaled. My husband immediately found the Crosstour and sent me pictures to make sure I liked it. Paul Eggert was knowledgable and wonderful to work with and spent time with my husband going over the different vehicles until my husband decided 100% on the CrossTour. Austin Murray got us financed and my husband called and told me to drive down from Raleigh so I could pick up our new car and return our rental car. Paul and Austin were there and did everything to get us going even though the business technically should have closed. They even offered to return our rental for us. They were the definition of going above and beyond! We were very happy with the service we received and will definitely send our friends to Stevenson Honda!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Paul Egger, Austin Murray

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

June 08, 2016

Snfarrow, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are dedicated to our customers and it important we do everything in our power to ensure they drive away happy customers! It does not surprise us that Paul and Austin went above and beyond for you; it is just an example of why they’re such a great assets to our team. We will make sure they hear your kind words. Happy driving! Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

haleyn
6/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"dj & gq were a pleasure to work with. the whole staff is A+"

This was one of the easiest dealerships I have ever worked with. We already had a make and model on mind and dj made buying easy with being honest and straight to the point as well as gq made things simple with paperwork. We will definitelyy be back.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

dj, gq

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

June 07, 2016

Haleyn, Thank you and congratulations on your purchase! We are so very pleased that we could make your visit easy and hassle free, and we believe that's how every car buying experience should be. We would love to work with you again. Take care! Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

Wise Old Armenian Man
4/29/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bravo to Mr. Austin Murray"

I bought a 2008 Pontiac Solstice GXP Turbo Convertible, a make and model hard to find in good condition from any dealer, from Stevenson Honda in Wilmington. I saw it on the internet and made the 100 plus mile trip to check it out and bought it on the spot. It looked and drove like it just came from the factory so I didn't mind the higher price tag as I was buying this car for life. After a short time, however, I found many things weren't right so I contacted the dealership only to get a cold response. The salesman was in limbo and the manager had one foot out the door. After I complained to the "top levels" of management the new general manager, Austin Murray, got right on it and made everything right to MY satisfaction. He even hung in there to get me a new owners manual which the car lacked and without it is near impossible to maintain this car. I would suggest highly that anyone who is looking to buy a new or used car go directly to Austin Murray as he is a man of his word....something very rare in business these days.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Mr. Austin Murray, General Manager

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

May 03, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review and for traveling to Stevenson Honda Wilmington from quite a distance to do your business. We strive to provide excellent customer service, and we're glad that this was the case for you! Please let us know if there's anything else we can do for you. Pat Koballa – GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

madcustomer
4/08/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"the service department representatives are rude!"

They are not good in handling customers' problem. Different staff tell different things and when confronted Stevenson staff lies. The staff on services hang up phone customers. They basically let us drive a recall car that is very dangerous because they said "there's nothing we can do." I definitely have a problem with this car dealership even from the very beginning. They didn't call us about the car tag when the salesman said he will call. The honda fit car I bought from them, one of the tire kept deflating. I brought it to them to have it fixed but they said they couldn't find the problem. So now I pay $1 almost every month to inflate it. I regret buying honda especially from Stevenson's Wilmington. Their services are poor. Their staff are liars.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Angela, Sheena, salesman

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Stevenson Honda responded to this review

May 10, 2016

Madcustomer, thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We value hearing from our customers, and I apologize for the inconvenience that occurred in our service department. If you have any questions or would care to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at your earliest convenience. Pat Koballa GM, pkoballa@stevensonhonda.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 83 results
Recently Reviewed Employees

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
View All Inventory
New 2016 Honda Accord, $29565
2016 Honda Accord

Price$29,565

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorN/A

Interior ColorN/A

New 2016 Acura MDX, $53410
2016 Acura MDX

Price$53,410

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorWhite Diamond Pearl

Interior ColorEucalyptus

New 2016 Acura ILX, $28820
2016 Acura ILX

Price$28,820

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorGraphite Luster Metallic

Interior ColorGraystone

New 2016 Honda CR-V, $25775
2016 Honda CR-V

Price$25,775

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorWhite Diamond Pearl

Interior ColorBeige

New 2016 Honda CR-V, $24495
2016 Honda CR-V

Price$24,495

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorCrystal Black Pearl

Interior ColorBlack

New 2016 Honda CR-V, $32845
2016 Honda CR-V

Price$32,845

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorModern Steel Metallic

Interior ColorGray

New 2016 Honda Accord, $27115
2016 Honda Accord

Price$27,115

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorWhite Orchid Pearl

Interior ColorIvory

2016 Honda CR-V

Price$26,595

Mileage 0

Exterior ColorWhite Diamond Pearl

Interior ColorBeige

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.