About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Sunset Honda

4.8

41 Lifetime Reviews

12250 Los Osos Valley Rd, San Luis Obispo, California 93405 Directions
Sales: (805) 544-9500

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

41 Reviews of Sunset Honda

Sort by Write a review
January 31, 2017

"Ken Janes at Sunset Honda"

- New Hatchback owner

I bought my new Honda Civic Hatchback from Ken Janes at Sunset Honda and recommend him highly. He is very knowledgeable and yet low-key. I felt no pressure to 'make the deal'. Besides, he's a really nice guy!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ken and Chris
August 06, 2016

"Simply the best!"

- pilotbear

As usual, these guys just exceed my expectations. After a pretty horrific experience trying to negotiate on a 2016 Accord Touring with a dealership in Southern California, Chris and George came to our rescue. (Note: I NEVER wanted to buy or lease a car from anyone other than Sunset, but the deal we found down south was too good to be true...as it always is...so we had to see if we could make it work. Needless to say, we were jacked around and lied to by the other dealership and were fortunately able to cancel the deal.) My husband told Chris and George everything we went through, and within 24 hours, Chris was able to dealer trade for a beautiful 2016 Accord Touring in White Orchid Pearl. Bob, Jeff and Hanc took great care of us with all of the paperwork. We were in and out of the dealership in under 2 hours with an incredible deal and the exact car we wanted. If you want a truly amazing car-buying (or leasing) experience, go to Sunset Honda. No lies, no gimmicks...just honest people who care about their customers and the service they provide. We love you guys!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bob, Hanc, Jeff, Chris, George
April 15, 2016

"AMAZING"

- koffiman

I went on Sunset Honda web site looking for a certain used car , alas i found just what I was looking for a Nissan 350Z, price was right, all seemed to line up. I filled out the credit app. got pre approved , set an appointment with Mercedes , needed to change my appointment to an earlier time, not a problem. I was in and out of the entire deal and driving off in my new car in less than 2 hours. Amazing !!! Mercedes was a dream to work with . I highly recommend this dealership to anyone in the market for a new or used vehicle! Thank You Mercedes, Mark & Art

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mercedes
April 15, 2016

"Stress free and great customer service!! "

- Heather hazelton

SUNSET HONDA deserves such a great rating due to there great customer service and stress-free car buying experience it was so easy they gave me exactly what I was looking for, I couldn't be happier!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
BOB NASTE and John Harris
April 10, 2016

"Professional and easy to work with."

- Paso Stan

Our salesman, Gil Stiles, and all of the other employees with whom we interacted were very professional and made the entire process a pleasant one. They did not have the exact model/color I wanted in stock, but quickly sourced one at another dealership. The business manager was very clear and efficient in presenting the lease documents. I have purchased numerous vehicles over the past 40 years, including 3 Hondas, and overall I would rate this as my easiest/best car buying experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gil Stiles
March 30, 2016

"Customer Service at it's finest "

- Tklappa

Was completely satisfied with my experience. Went in expecting the worst but hoping for the best. There was absolutely no sale pressure. Was completely at ease the entire process. Long story short we left with a new car. Paperwork was done in a orderly fashion. Mercedes was a complete sweetheart and to her I am extremely greatful. I absolutely love love love my new car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mercedes Ramirez
March 27, 2016

"Financed our lease vehicle"

- evington7

We got an email from Sunset Honda that there were low interest loan options available. We were leasing a 2014 CRV from Honda. Our plan was to purchase it as soon as possible. Well we made an appointment with Mercedes Ramirez at Sunset Honda. After filling out some initial paper work, she totally went to bat for us in a nano second. Within an hour she had us ok'd with a refinance loan with local Federal Credit union Sesloc. Great low interest rate. Now instead of renting we are purchasing. Mercedes was totally incredible. This was by far so easy of an experience. Totally excited. Large amount of thanks going to the incredible Mercedes!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mercedes Ramirez
February 28, 2016

"Beware of the Sunset's Dark Side"

- Consum.R

Sunset is sometimes defined as the daily disappearance of the sun below the horizon. I now define it as the sudden and unexpected disappearance of $7526.44 from my wallet. I bought a 2013 CRV from Sunset Honda in San Luis Obispo on 12/18/15 for $19,788.00. It had 28,378 miles on it. I soon realized I did not feel safe in it because of its large pillars and blindspots. I did research on-line and found that the CRV's blindspots have been an issue for others. One reviewer discussed the pointy D pillars which significantly reduce rear visibility. Another wrote that visibility may not be good for some people because of the panel between the side and back windows. Another said the CRV has limited visibility due to the rear window design. Yet another compared the CRV to the RAV 4 and concluded the CRV's rearward visibility is compromised by its narrow rear window. On 12/31/15, thirteen days after I bought the used CRV, I called Chris Baughman, Sunset Honda owner. He told me there was nothing he could do about my concern about the safety issues of the CRV. I drove the car for an additional 4 days and on 1/4/16 I e-mailed Mr. Baughman and the two salesman who sold me the car. I again expressed my concern about safety. None of them responded. I continued to drive the car only when absolutely necessary. I called the salesman and he suggested I come in to look at other cars. I made an appointment and I looked at other Hondas while Robert Naste, Pre-Owned Vehicle Manager, looked my CRV over. A few days later one of the salesmen let me know that Mr. Nasty would do one of the following: (1) Let me return the used car I had owned for twenty-five days and they would give me $14,000 for the car I just paid $19,788 for. This did not include $1789.44 for sales tax, fees, etc. (2) I could buy a new Civic and pay $10,000 in addition to the $21,577.44 I paid for the used CRV I just bought. I remain shocked that Sunset Honda would pay me less than I paid for the used car twenty-five days before. I would have expected something like that had the CRV been new. I felt that paying over $30,000 for a new Civic was also absurd. I made the tough decision to go to another auto dealer and trade in the CRV and buy a new car with an excellent safety record, as well as excellent visability. This meant losing $7526.44. And to make my Sunset Honda experience even more repulsive, I had to go in and sign a refund request at the dealership on January 14, 2016 for a refund of $1784.00 I paid for an extended warranty. Hanc Meas, Finance Manager, promised I would have my refund within 30 days. When I called on 2/22/16 and the Sunset employee I spoke to found the check request, she said no check had been written because the request was marked hold. While it is obvious Sunset Honda will continue to do anything to keep sales and profits up, if my review helps even one consumer avoid going through what I went through at Sunset Honda, I am glad I took the time to write about my experience. God Bless America and our freedom of speech.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Baughman
February 10, 2016

"Happy Honda Purchase"

- Amoresmia

Low pressure sales, it's different than having someone all over you. Helpful and ended up suggesting a lease option which seems like a good choice for us. Happy with our purchase and would go back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sarena
January 22, 2016

"Friendly, fast, and fair service"

- NewHondaCivicTouring2016

From the moment we arrived, Steve treated us people rather than a profit for himself, we never felt pressured. He was there to guide our decisions based on our requirements, but did not rush us through anything. He was extremely knowledgeable in the models we were interested in, and really helped us understand the differences and what might be the best choice for us. We did not buy on the first visit and upon leaving, the "typical" salesman never came out, they were just happy to have provided us with everything that we needed. We came back the next day and purchased our new Civic. Overall it was a great buying experience, and would definitely recommend anybody considering buy a new or used car to stop by Sunset Honda.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steven Moore
1
...
1 - 10 of 41 results