About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Tonkin Gresham Honda

24999 Southeast Stark Street, Troutdale, Oregon 97060
Sales: (503) 667-7077
Service: (503) 676-7070

Makes: Honda | Service Center

Showroom Hours: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

36% Recommend
2.4

66 Lifetime Reviews

Tonkin Gresham Honda

Hours: Open Now

24999 Southeast Stark Street,
Troutdale, Oregon 97060
Tonkin Gresham Honda Info
Hours
Amenities
About Tonkin Gresham Honda

Tonkin Gresham Honda is Oregon & SW Washington's only back to back Honda President's Award Recipient for customer satisfaction, 2 Consecutive Years in a row! Get your next Honda in Gresham. Serving Portland Honda shopers.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Tonkin Gresham Honda

Tonkin Gresham Honda is Oregon & SW Washington's only back to back Honda President's Award Recipient for customer satisfaction, 2 Consecutive Years in a row! Get your next Honda in Gresham. Serving Portland Honda shopers.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

Sunday 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Service

Monday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Sunday Closed

66 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
GreshamHondaXxxxxxMeOver
3/05/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"They used me"

This dealership lied to me. They told me I was approved for a trail blazer then I was called and told the bank didn't want me in the trailblazer because of high miles on the SUV. I was told they had two cars I could choose from. I test drove both they both made noises. I almost walked away. I should have. They told me they would fix the noise. Then they put in writing they would fix it. The car is a 2000 Subaru impreza. I was told on the test drive it was 5000 which is above its worth but I accepted that fact being that I was at a dealership. They sped through the paperwork flipping papers and having me sign without giving me time to read anything. I should have stopped them and taken more time. Then once I review the paperwork in my new unwanted car instead of the nice larger newer SUV. I found out that the price of the Subaru was raised to 8777.00. I went back and asked to have them Explain why the price was changed without telling me. He said because I had in house loan there were fees and charges that raise the worth of the car to them. So they have to sell it at a high rate. Problem here is that no one told me that. It took my rereading the paperwork 7 times to understand that I was over charged and I didn't realize how much I was over charged until this morning. This all starter with the trailblazer on Monday. No one returned any calls while I had the SUV until they called to tell me I needed to bring it back yesterday. I felt used. I felt like I needed to bring a lawyer with me to buy a car. They knew this was my first time buying. They know I don't make enough to really be doing this. I'm a young mother and they took advantage of me. For that they are wrong. I would never recommend this company.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

All three in finance. Selly mark another finance person and jeff.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Christensen222
2/03/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Disappointing and will never go back!"

We are absolutely disappointed in the service we received from Tonkin Gresham Honda when my husband and I bought our 2012 Chevrolet Traverse from them in December of 2015. We met with Ben who was our salesmen, he was very nice and worked hard to help us get into this vehicle that suited our needs. Here is where everything took a turn and everyone dropped the ball... My husband and I were trading in a vehicle, we stressed to Ben that it was very important we make sure that the existing loan is paid off before the 17th which happened to be the following week, otherwise we would not be buying the vehicle. We asked if we could get this in writing, he explained that they could not do that however stressed that they do not want to keep our trade in and will want to sell it as soon as possible and in order for them to put it on the market the existing loan would have to be paid off. Well...we get a call from the bank a few weeks later stating that we are late on our payment and now have a late payment on our record. I was absolutely furious! I called Eddie who is in the finance department of Tonkin Gresham Honda and helped us sign all of the paperwork. I explained what happened and that we needed this to be fixed immediately. Eddie said that Ben never told him about it and that he would speak with him first thing when he got in the next day and would call the bank to speak with them on our behalf and then call us to follow up. Eddie never called me, never called the bank and never spoke to Ben. I had to call him to find out what the update was, he said that he was trying to get a hold of the bank that our new loan was through to see when they would be sending the check and that he hadn't spoke with Ben yet (even though he was going to speak to him first thing when he got in that day and was supposed to speak with our bank to try and get the late payment on our record fixed. "Banks are good about talking to us, they understand these situations" Eddie's words to me!). This story went on for a few days, we had to call Eddie most of the time to get an update and still nobody told us anything until we received a letter from our past loan stating that it had been fully paid off. Now jump ahead a couple of months 2/2/16 I receive a letter in the mail from Gresham Honda stating that the remaining balance on our previous loan hadn't been paid for yet and that it would be going into collections if it wasn't paid by the 8th and also that we should have received a first letter stating the owing balance...Are you kidding me!!!!! Guess what, no we did not! We never received any letter from anyone stating we still owed any balance otherwise we would have paid that balance. So first they screw us by putting a late payment on our record causing our credit scores to get hit, but then they send us a letter threatening to take us to collections. We are disgusted with this dealership and the people we have had to deal with. Interesting fact, Tonkin Gresham Honda decided to put our previous vehicle on the market when the loan on it hadn't been paid off yet. By law a dealership is NOT allowed to do this as they did NOT even have the title to the car yet. We looked up the laws on it and sure enough they could have gotten into a lot of trouble for that. We are not the kind of people to want to get nasty, we just wanted what was promised to us. We were given false promises and were taken care of very poorly. I feel that it would be only fair for Tonkin Gresham Honda to do something to make piece with us as THEIR customer to make us a happy customer, considering all of the screw ups they have caused. Such a disappointment...

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ben and Eddie

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Orawan
12/28/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Team of sale and service"

Our family had purchased 3 new vehicles from this dealer this year alone. The negotiation process was fun each time since we are the hard bargainer group in any major purchase. They maintain their enthusiasm even we negotiate such a ridiculous stuff (for fun). We are knowledgeable and educated bunch in our product before we spend our hard earn money. They mad a fan out of us. Our sale staffs, Tanya, Mike, Andrew,and Craig were people that we came across in purchasing process. The one whom earn the most respect and admiration is Craig M in financial division. Mike made impression for this dealer ethical. If you want to buy your new vehicle with your hard earned money, I would highly recommend "Tanya, Mike Schultz, and Craig M team". My enlisted brother in a buying team whom knows the ins and outs of how dealership operated gave a thump up for them. Hope this will help for anyone whom plan to make a purchase with your hard earned money.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Tanya Wagner, Mike Schultz, Andrew, and Craig M

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
WM
12/27/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"SOme things don't change with the dealership"

Having walked out of a Tonkin dealership years ago I was reluctant to go back. However, the Salesman was great and I though maybe these guys have changed. But then comes finance and the closer and nothing has changed at the Tonkin Group. To get the price down to my target range they switch cars and out comes a 2015 demonstrator with 5,000 miles and 2 prices, "one today" and one for tomorrow. Sadly the "today" price was higher than the price of a new model on the lot - these guys think all customers are stupid and if they flash enough numbers in front of them and run to the back office enough times they will accept anything. And if you are looking for the Costco pricing don't think you will get any better treatment from these folks Advice - don't go to Tonkin!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

John

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Pamjay
11/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Ben went way out of his way"

Ben drove all the way to upstate Washington to get my ex to sign off on the title of the car I needed for a down payment on my new car. I can't say enough kind things about the service I received. Ron Tonkin is GREAT.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ben

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Luis Medina
10/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Amazing sales rep! "

I've had a horrible experience with this dealer! But while looking for a new vehicle a came across one they had that I liked. Was hesitant at first! Luckily I Got John Wheeler and he was a great guy! Did everything he could to help me get in a vehicle. Don't see myself buying from anyone else! Not pushy there when ever you need him! Anyone wanting to buy I recommend John! Even came on his day off to make sure I was taken care of!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

John Wheeler

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Grace Watkins
10/09/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Amazing John Wheeler"

My first experience with Tonkin was terrible but then we met John and he was amazing! I have been having troubles getting my old car traded in and John was amazing! Very helpful and very nice! He did not stop working on getting me into a car. My fiancé and I both got a car from him. He is not pushy but very informative and knowledgeable! We will follow him where ever he goes!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

John wheeler

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Grace Watkins responded to this review

October 09, 2015

John was a five star all around guy!!!!!

working joe car buyer
8/24/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"very pushy sales and finance people"

I accomplice a female friend of mine to look at a used car. After looking at several and test driving one car, she agreed to find out what her car was worth in a trade in and what her payments would be. The sales man presented her with the price and what her trade in would be. After she let him know that she would have to do more research on it, the sales man left and came back with some different figures. After telling him that she was still going to think about it, the sales man left and came back with the finance manager. At that point the finance manager was pressuring her to buy the car using. After telling him no, she wanted to think about it, he left, supposedly to get her keys to her car. We both went outside and the sales man and finance manager come out and tried again to talk her into buying the car she test drove. At that point I had to step in and tell him that was enough and she wanted her car keys (which they did not give her up to that time). They both went in and the sales man came back out with the key. I have seen this sales pressure all my life. And just because she was a young woman, they felt that they could push her into buying a car. If you go in there, either be pre-paired to buy a car or you had better have someone there with you to get you out of there.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

travis

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
lenin
8/10/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Imcomplete work, misleading promises"

Hi, I Bought Honda CRV from them, once sale deed is done they change their colors, my Car was supposed to come with All weather door mats and cargo tray which they say is out of stock and can get them after 2 days, when i asked to if they can take from the existing stock and replace it once the spare store opens, they denied and were very rude in replying the same(especially the sales manager). And the odometer ran 255 miles already where as the DMV and other Documents they quoted it ran only 11 miles , when asked its about they say its a mistake and they cannot do anything about it. Only good thing we found was Jared and Branden Rhodes, the sales team they were very friendly and patient till the whole deal is done.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Sales manager (don't remember the name)

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Assnoway
12/10/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Scammed, lied to, confused on purpose."

This dealership lacks real customer service. From day one all they wanted was to sell. I now have a car I don't like because Gresham Honda forced me into something after a previous deal didn't work. Instead of helping my fiancé and me , they made us buy a car we didn't want. They pinned us to a deal or they would force a previously bad deal thro if we didn't agree, no matter what! I have audio of this. I will fully disclose who not to deal with at Greasham Honda, they are: Ben, Eddie, Jim. More if needed. Furthermore, I will NEVER recommend your dealership for the rest of my life!!!!! I will always tell my experience with all people, I work with lots of influential people in entertainment. So, hope yall are happy about the very bad, and true, public review. Happy holidays, xxxxxxxx!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ben ???, Eddie, Jim, Scott.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
1
...
1 - 10 of 66 results
Recently Reviewed Employees

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory