About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Universal Toyota

12102 I-35 North, San Antonio, Texas 78233
Sales: (210) 654-1515

Makes: Toyota | Scion | Service Center
Average
47% Recommend
3.2

33 Lifetime Reviews

Universal Toyota
12102 I-35 North,
San Antonio, Texas 78233
Universal Toyota Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

33 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Wild Wild West
7/24/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"It was Excellent, Outstanding and Exceptional Service "

Thank you! You won't believe what a blessing it was to receive the phone call from Paul Garcia on Friday morning. We had made a deal with another dealership. After driving in from Midland TX, we find out they didn't disclose information until we were in Austin to pick up the truck and the deal fell through. Though we were skeptical to drive another hour and half to Universal Toyota, Paul certainly made it worth our while. Paul's partner Gregg Joseph took us for a test drive and explained the features of the Toyota truck while Paul had our trade in appraised. We loved Mark Hanna the finance guy too. He was funny and engaging while he explained the financing and optional services. Thank you for taking care of us and giving us the best buying experience in 30 years! We love our new Toyota Tundra.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Paul Garcia, Gregg Joseph, Mark Hanna

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Kate Gonzalez
7/13/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My experience with Universal Toyota"

I never thought I would say, "I adore my car salesman", but there I go. I am 72 years old, my 2002 Toyota Camry was totaled in the April '16 hair storm, and the thought of having to buy a new car was stressful. Early one Friday morning my daughter and I went to Universal Toyota to look at a car my daughter thought was a good deal. We were both disappointed and ready to leave, but Gabriel Aguilar was determined to help me find a car. He was very polite and helpful; not at all aggressive and in my face. Spent around five hours showing us different vehicles; asking questions of me to determine exactly what I wanted. I found the car I wanted at a good price. Kate

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Gabriel Aguilar, Isaac Bolch

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Maria Lanford
7/12/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Awesome experience!"

We just bought a Toyota Tundra 2016 this June. Aaron was our sales person. Aaron Perches is really knowledgeable and funny. He was excellent in handling our purchase. He was able to find the perfect vehicle to suit both our needs and wants. He worked extremely hard to exceed our requests when negotiating our asked price with both, the financial department and manager. We had an excellent experience due to his ability to honor all our requests. We would definitely recommend Aaron as your sales person.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Aaron Perches

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
MSimms
5/29/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Very bad experience "

I went to the dealership to buy a Camry. I was told Camrys were not made in crushed blue. The next day I literally found out the salesman lied. Contacted management I was told, basically out of luck. But all things are at their discretion. If they wanted to help me they could have. They owned by Red McCombs they don't offer an HEB discount. Not a happy customer. Never again! Disgruntled customer.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ajvega@redmac.net

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Kathleen Arambul
5/28/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Terrible buying experience "

Worst experience ever....I have been buying cars for over 25 years and have never had this bad of an experience...we bought a used vehicle from them and they never called our bank to get a payoff on our trade in and so several weeks later our bank calls and and notifies us payoff is short over 350.00 and that Universal Toyota said we would have to pay it..that's crazy!!! They should have done there job and called our bank and got a 20 day payoff instead of just basically guessing what it was...because of their inadequacies we had to pay the shortage and also had to make a payment on our new vehicle. We address management on numerous occasions by phone and email and no one would contact us back. We also never received a second key to the vehicle ...they always make promises until you buy then afterwards you can never get a hold of anyone. This dealership is so unprofessional...I will never buy or recommend them to anyone!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Mario Rendon and Trevor in finance.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
plumberboy2
4/06/2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Trusting your service Department"

Do not trust Service Department. Went in for my 20,000 mile oil change and was told everything was good to go. Then on my 30,000 Mile oil change I went over to San Marcos Toyota and they told me they could not get my oil plug off. I told them that I got it serviced at Universal Toyota, so they suggested I go back and have it serviced by them and then to have it rechecked by San Marcos Toyota. So, I did just that. Went to the service department and told them about the over tightened oil plug and they assured me that they would get to the bottom of the problem. They came back saying that all was well and there was no problems the plug. So, I went back to San Marcos to have them look it back over at the work that Universal Toyota had done and found out that they totally cross threaded the plug and that they had to take it completely out with a wrench, it completely ruined the oil pan. Metal shavings were found in the oil and on the plug. I called Universal Toyota up and they told me to drive it back so they could fix the problem even though they created the problem. I don't want to make it more worse that it already is. Who knows it the metal shavings caused any problems when I drove it over to San Marcos Toyota or even if there was metal shavings in the oil before this oil change. I will never step foot back into Universal Toyota again. I don't want to keep going back to have a $25,000 investment for reliable transportation ruined by service people who don't care in the first place to do the job correctly.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Rick

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

plumberboy2 responded to this review

April 07, 2016

Got a phone call from the service director at universal toyota today. They informed me that in order for the oil pan to be replaced by San Marcos Toyota, I would have to take down all the bad comments I made against Universal Toyota. Since I am unable to take this review down. I would like to instead write that "Please make sure you check the work of Universal Toyota before you drive it home." Not all service technicians are alike. I may have gotten a rotten one. But in my defense, I do not like to be taken advantage of. Thus this review. Take it for what it is worth. Universal Toyota has stated that they would replace the oil pan at the San Marcos dealer since it was their mistake at the job that was competed. Lets see if they will follow thru with their word. Will keep everyone updated. Kind regards. Plumberboy2

Diana7777
1/12/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"A great experience"

I took my car to get the oil changed and had the good fortune of driving off with a 2015 Toyota Prius. My Salesman was Hector Roman under the auspices of Adam Soto. Universal Toyota has Great people working in a family atmosphere. I was so excited about my experience that the following day my son bought a 2016 Toyota as well...his salesman was Issac Galvan. So if your shopping around in need of a vehicle...don't waste your time...go see the people at Universal Toyota....If you want the best..you need to deal with the best! Diana M Gonzales

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Hector Roman, Adam Soto

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Spencer655
12/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Brand new 2016 scion, nothing but problems since."

The sales experience was great, the service department however has been absolutely terrible. I bought a 2016 scion iA. Couple weeks of driving it i kept hearing this scrapping noise come from the left side of the car. I take it back to universl toyota services to get it fixed and they say oh it just needs a tire rotation. I said okay then and they did it. I pick it up the next day and what do yu know, the noise is still happening! So when I called to let them know, i got the run around from several people transferring me all over the place. So I decided to bring it to a different toyota dealership and right away the services department here told me whoever said it needs a tire rotation was wrong! The rims the dealership originally put on my brand new car and sold it to me, are too big and now im most likely going to have to remove the rims which is one of the main reasons the car caught my eye! I do not want this car anymore if I cant have it the way I originally purchased it! Turns out the rims and tires are too tall and too wide so they said im going to have to put stock rims on it! What I want is for them to make this right. I would give this car back to them and retart the buying process, xxxx I'll even buy from the same dealership! Great sales, terrible services!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Hector

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Virginia64
10/21/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"will cheat you"

Watch the paper work close.l was ask to sign a new contract with blank dates,lots of lies and they will tell you that you bought the car and a week later raise the interest rate, l had good credit 745 but finance manager said CU wouldnt would not do it for. 1.59% but would do 2.10.Bad deal

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

the salesman was ok

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
AFChaps
8/25/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Do not trust Universal Toyota"

We received a letter in the mail promising $XX,XXX for our used Altima. We went to trade it in on a Rav4 and took the letter with us. Their first appraisal was just over half what they had promised in the letter. We showed them the letter, they took it back to the appraisal guy, and we never saw that letter again. They tried to explain that promised amount was for an Altima that was fully loaded and in near perfect condition ... or the MOST they would ever give anyone for an Altima. What liars! We had a FAR better buying experience at the Gunn dealerships ... although Gunn doesn't have a Toyota dealership, so we bought a Chevy. Go to Gunn!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Don't remember

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
1
...
1 - 10 of 33 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.