About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Universal Toyota

12102 I-35 North, San Antonio, Texas 78233
Sales: (210) 654-1515

Makes: Scion|Toyota|Service Center
 
Average
40% Recommend

Overall Rating 2.9

23 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Universal Toyota
23 Lifetime Reviews
Universal Toyota Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

23 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Paladin
11/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Worst Car Buying experience ever!"

Worst car buying experience I ever had. First, no one approaches you when you walk in the door, you have to find someone to help you. Once you find someone and inquire about a car they have to call someone and make you wait for that person. I personally waited on several occasions for over 30 minutes just to talk to someone about purchasing a car. Once you find someone to actually help you they treat you like an idiot and lie through their teeth. For example, online they advertised a used 2014 Yarius "automatic" for 12,995. When I get there they inform me that it was mistake on the advertisement and that the car is actually manual. I then inquired about the 2015 Toyota Corolla L for 15,995 and David Roberts (salesman) informed me that it was only for one car they had in stock and they already sold it. I informed him that the advertisement states for all new 2015 Corolla L in stock, I even pulled up the webpage and showed him. I understand trying to make a profit but it doesn't help to lie to your customer. It was clearly a violation Texas Deceptive Trade Practice Law by advertising a product and then lying to the customer to avoid selling it to them at that price. Once I finally got them to agree to sale it at that price I get into the finance room. Its no better there either, when you politely decline their extended warranty they get very aggressive and outright rude if you continue to decline, a female who claims to be the financial sales manager stated that every person that touches your car is a master mechanic and they pay them over 196 an hour just to work on your car and by not having the coverage I can expect to be charged that much per hour just in labor. I then asked "you have master mechanics changing oil too? And she said yes. So I stated "you have no apprentice or journeyman mechanics" and she responded "no, all mechanics are certified Toyota Master Mechanics". I can't believe how they insult their customers intellegence. I would never pay a labor rate of nearly 200 an hour for routine maintenance. She then moved on to finance and stated that they only way I can get the car for that price is if I buy the extended warranty and tire plan, I said "no" and she then said that she can offer me the car for the already agreed to price if I finance at 7.0%, I then stated that I have already been pre-approved by my bank at 1.95% since I had over 750 credit score and good income. She then stated that she can match that but I would have to buy the extended warranty. I was just shocked by what she was saying, at this point it was well passed midnight and stated that I will finish up the paper work tomorrow because I had to be at work in four hours and needed some sleep. They were very upset with that and stated the car might be gone by tomorrow, I said "well lucky for me you have over 10 in stock". The next day I come by to finish up paper work after work the person doing the finance portion of the car paperwork already went home for the day even though I called ahead and letting them know I would be by. They said only the person that originally started the paper work can finish it and my paper work was behind a locked door. The salesman stated "I thought you wouldn't be back", I said "I called ahead why wouldn't I be back?". So I had to come in the next day, she wasn't there again even though I confirmed by appointment that morning that I will be by after work to finish paper work, so I insisted that someone else do the finance paperwork. The salesman stated that since we are starting the paperwork over they will need to run my credit again even though they just ran it two days prior. I stated the one you have is still good and you don't need to ding my credit by pulling it again. He said that the manager insisted I have it run again, and I stated get it from my other paperwork and he stated the door is locked and they don't have access. I then stated that I will be leaving and the salesman stated "oh wait we have a copy with the other sales manager let me get it". I should of just left then and there because this was getting beyond unprofessional.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

David Roberts

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
cindy.hatch.7
11/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great customer service - Universal Toyota Pre-Owned"

I would recommend Universal Toyota to anyone looking for a pre-owned car. The customer service was great! Patrick McNeil helped me find the right car for the right price, and walked me through the whole process. His customer service exceeded my expectations.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Patrick McNeil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
keith.byers.90
10/23/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Multi car purchaser treated like dirt"

Bought 3 vehicles from them since August of 2012. Received a mailer offering a trade in value on my vehicle just to be lied to and in the end because people didn't do their job properly the whole process ended up being a waste of time anyways. Dealership used to be much better than this. Good going guys! This would have been vehicle #4 but you just lost a good customer.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Robert Duncan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
imerikson
10/16/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Love the outstanding service to purchase a car"

Antonio Pacifico has made our car shopping pain free. We walked in and the deal they gave us for our car was surprising and acceptable. Everyone we dealt with from Management to Financing was so helpful. We purchased a highlander and I am so in love with it. Antonio is also a mechanic and a good one at that. He is very funny, and so awesome. His knowledge as a mechanic sealed the deal for us. We called him on several occasions, and he is always happy to talk to us. He went above and beyond our expectations. I would never purchase another vehicle because of our experience. We are sold on Toyota, Thank you so much Antonio!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Antonio Pacifico

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
teach82
8/06/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Fantastic Experience"

I have been a customer of Universal Toyota for around 16 years. I have found myself needing to trade my present car and buy a used car that provided me with small payments. Patrick McNeil listened to my story and really did everything in his power to provide me with what I needed. He went above and beyond to help me. I really do appreciate all that he did for me. He helped me when I really needed some help. I love my new, used, car! Thanks, Cindy Henkel

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Patrick McNeil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
HYBARRA87
5/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Horrible....."

Horrible, just received word from corporate that Christine, the used "pre owned" salesperson, never turned in our paperwork. She was very rude, kept playing the bait and switch game. Even had to roll her eyes. WTH? I would never go back never again. hope she gets fired along with the used sales manager, horrible experience. Never again... Ended up walking away after they hit the credit report more than three times. Deal never completed, never would tell us the exact whole dollar amount, come on......now! BTW: STAY AWAY FROM NOE HERRERA IN NEW, he just gives you the run around as well!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

three, christine noe herrera, and gm of used sales.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Jc0027
5/12/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Horrible waste of time scamming dealership "

My husband and I put a down payment down for a 2008 mercedes c300. We sat at the dealership for hours while they did their "work". Once we were approved, we signed all the paper work and took the car home believing everything was taken car of and the car was ours. Literally 3 weeks later the finance manager calls my husband asking him about something on his pay stub. My husband and I are confused bc we were under the impression all that had been submitted to the bank therefore we were approved and it was taken care. (Considering we signed stuff from the lender capital one with our payment due date etc.) Following Saturday the "sales manager" calls with a horrible attitude insisting we bring the car back and saying he can have the car taken from us. My husband said "no my wife is at work with the car and we will be there Monday to discuss whatever your problem is." We go there Monday and want nothing to do with this place because overall I felt like they were scamming us I've never in my life had a dealership sign paperwork with their customer, accept the down payment have them drive off and almost another later harass them. We gave them back the car and got our down payment back but now in the mail I'm continually receiving letters from all these different banks saying I'm approved but it's expired. Makes zero sense. I just want to make everyone aware of their shady business they run. Do not waste your time with unprofessional, jerks.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ben, Jason

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
hateuniversaltoyota
4/25/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Bait and Switch"

Was lied to about cars had. Drove over almost an hour and told was sold. Offered a car twice the price instead. Waste of time and will never use them. Horrible to do to a family with 3 small children

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Don't remeber

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
HillCountryPerson
3/02/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"My wife has been trying to find a new 2014 Toyota 4Runner..."

My wife has been trying to find a new 2014 Toyota 4Runner in the San Antonio Tx. area for some time now. Her experience at Universal Toyota pretty much mirrors what she ran into at Toyota of Boerne. She tried North Park Toyota and couldn't get a realistic price. Red McCombs ended up wasting her time - another story I'll post at that sites rating area. She has yet to go to Alamo Toyota or Cavender Toyota, but I suspect she'll run into the same thing there. Universal had 3 4Runners online that were listed as being "In Stock". That means they have the vehicle. When she got there all 3 were "not available" at Universal Toyota? She was told they could get what she wanted, but the 4Runner was at another dealership. Turns out it was at McCombs which by the way owns Universal Toyota. Universal told her it would take a day or so to get it. A day later Universal told her she needed to come in and pay a $500 deposit in order for Universal to acquire the vehicle from McCombs. She did that just before closing one evening, driving all the way from Boerne. The salesman said it would be on the lot early afternoon the next day. The following day she received no communication. She was to go to Universal Toyota at 5pm and close the deal. She had not heard from them all day, so she thought it best to call before driving out there. Lo an behold, the 4Runner Universal was supposed to have was not to be seen. Their new story was they could not get it. She then had to stop pay the $500 deposit which wasn't a big issue as she works for the bank it was drawn on, but time out of her life nonetheless. Beware people. If a dealer in San Antonio Tx or nearby tells you that they are going to have to obtain the car from another dealer, get up and leave. The term for this is "dealer trade". It's not going to happen. The dealer holding the car knows someone wants it and isn't going to give it up, If what you want is not on the lot, you are not going to get it from that dealership. Get up and walk away and keep looking until you find a dealership that actually has the car on their lot.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Sylvester

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
TundraLover10
2/13/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Dan really cares about his customers. You get a real vibe..."

Dan really cares about his customers. You get a real vibe from him that he is there to help you and inform you of your options and not make it feel like he's trying to make money off of you or that your just a customer, he makes you feel like family. Dan also is very knowledgable and doesn't promise anything that he can't uphold. If he says something is going to happen it happens. He also was very good on follow up calls to ensure everything was good. He doesn't call to beg for referals like most, he calls to ensure that I am satisfied and if there is anything he can help my with on my purchase. He is a great guy, he served our country and is very interested in your needs instead of his own or what his bosses say to do. I highly recommend speaking with him if you are in the market for a vehicle. Weather it may be a new Toyota or a preowned vehicle. He treats you right, with honesty and the way you would treat your own family. With all of that the only problems I had was with the finance guy named Matt. If it wasn't for the amazing experience and relationship I established with Dan, I might have gone elsewhere. But Dan appologized for the expierence I had in financing and made up for it.. If you have the same issue in finance he truly will above what he needs to, to correct the problem and make you feel good about your purchase.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Dan Lathers

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
1
1 - 10 of 23 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory