About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Universal Toyota

12102 I-35 North, San Antonio, Texas 78233
Sales: (210) 654-1515

Makes: Toyota | Scion | Service Center
Average
33% Recommend
2.7

27 Lifetime Reviews

Universal Toyota
12102 I-35 North,
San Antonio, Texas 78233
Universal Toyota Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

27 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Diana7777
1/12/2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"A great experience"

I took my car to get the oil changed and had the good fortune of driving off with a 2015 Toyota Prius. My Salesman was Hector Roman under the auspices of Adam Soto. Universal Toyota has Great people working in a family atmosphere. I was so excited about my experience that the following day my son bought a 2016 Toyota as well...his salesman was Issac Galvan. So if your shopping around in need of a vehicle...don't waste your time...go see the people at Universal Toyota....If you want the best..you need to deal with the best! Diana M Gonzales

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Hector Roman, Adam Soto

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Spencer655
12/22/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Brand new 2016 scion, nothing but problems since."

The sales experience was great, the service department however has been absolutely terrible. I bought a 2016 scion iA. Couple weeks of driving it i kept hearing this scrapping noise come from the left side of the car. I take it back to universl toyota services to get it fixed and they say oh it just needs a tire rotation. I said okay then and they did it. I pick it up the next day and what do yu know, the noise is still happening! So when I called to let them know, i got the run around from several people transferring me all over the place. So I decided to bring it to a different toyota dealership and right away the services department here told me whoever said it needs a tire rotation was wrong! The rims the dealership originally put on my brand new car and sold it to me, are too big and now im most likely going to have to remove the rims which is one of the main reasons the car caught my eye! I do not want this car anymore if I cant have it the way I originally purchased it! Turns out the rims and tires are too tall and too wide so they said im going to have to put stock rims on it! What I want is for them to make this right. I would give this car back to them and retart the buying process, xxxx I'll even buy from the same dealership! Great sales, terrible services!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Hector

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Virginia64
10/21/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"will cheat you"

Watch the paper work close.l was ask to sign a new contract with blank dates,lots of lies and they will tell you that you bought the car and a week later raise the interest rate, l had good credit 745 but finance manager said CU wouldnt would not do it for. 1.59% but would do 2.10.Bad deal

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

the salesman was ok

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
AFChaps
8/25/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Do not trust Universal Toyota"

We received a letter in the mail promising $XX,XXX for our used Altima. We went to trade it in on a Rav4 and took the letter with us. Their first appraisal was just over half what they had promised in the letter. We showed them the letter, they took it back to the appraisal guy, and we never saw that letter again. They tried to explain that promised amount was for an Altima that was fully loaded and in near perfect condition ... or the MOST they would ever give anyone for an Altima. What liars! We had a FAR better buying experience at the Gunn dealerships ... although Gunn doesn't have a Toyota dealership, so we bought a Chevy. Go to Gunn!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Don't remember

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Paladin
11/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Worst Car Buying experience ever!"

Worst car buying experience I ever had. First, no one approaches you when you walk in the door, you have to find someone to help you. Once you find someone and inquire about a car they have to call someone and make you wait for that person. I personally waited on several occasions for over 30 minutes just to talk to someone about purchasing a car. Once you find someone to actually help you they treat you like an idiot and lie through their teeth. For example, online they advertised a used 2014 Yarius "automatic" for 12,995. When I get there they inform me that it was mistake on the advertisement and that the car is actually manual. I then inquired about the 2015 Toyota Corolla L for 15,995 and David Roberts (salesman) informed me that it was only for one car they had in stock and they already sold it. I informed him that the advertisement states for all new 2015 Corolla L in stock, I even pulled up the webpage and showed him. I understand trying to make a profit but it doesn't help to lie to your customer. It was clearly a violation Texas Deceptive Trade Practice Law by advertising a product and then lying to the customer to avoid selling it to them at that price. Once I finally got them to agree to sale it at that price I get into the finance room. Its no better there either, when you politely decline their extended warranty they get very aggressive and outright rude if you continue to decline, a female who claims to be the financial sales manager stated that every person that touches your car is a master mechanic and they pay them over 196 an hour just to work on your car and by not having the coverage I can expect to be charged that much per hour just in labor. I then asked "you have master mechanics changing oil too? And she said yes. So I stated "you have no apprentice or journeyman mechanics" and she responded "no, all mechanics are certified Toyota Master Mechanics". I can't believe how they insult their customers intellegence. I would never pay a labor rate of nearly 200 an hour for routine maintenance. She then moved on to finance and stated that they only way I can get the car for that price is if I buy the extended warranty and tire plan, I said "no" and she then said that she can offer me the car for the already agreed to price if I finance at 7.0%, I then stated that I have already been pre-approved by my bank at 1.95% since I had over 750 credit score and good income. She then stated that she can match that but I would have to buy the extended warranty. I was just shocked by what she was saying, at this point it was well passed midnight and stated that I will finish up the paper work tomorrow because I had to be at work in four hours and needed some sleep. They were very upset with that and stated the car might be gone by tomorrow, I said "well lucky for me you have over 10 in stock". The next day I come by to finish up paper work after work the person doing the finance portion of the car paperwork already went home for the day even though I called ahead and letting them know I would be by. They said only the person that originally started the paper work can finish it and my paper work was behind a locked door. The salesman stated "I thought you wouldn't be back", I said "I called ahead why wouldn't I be back?". So I had to come in the next day, she wasn't there again even though I confirmed by appointment that morning that I will be by after work to finish paper work, so I insisted that someone else do the finance paperwork. The salesman stated that since we are starting the paperwork over they will need to run my credit again even though they just ran it two days prior. I stated the one you have is still good and you don't need to ding my credit by pulling it again. He said that the manager insisted I have it run again, and I stated get it from my other paperwork and he stated the door is locked and they don't have access. I then stated that I will be leaving and the salesman stated "oh wait we have a copy with the other sales manager let me get it". I should of just left then and there because this was getting beyond unprofessional.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

David Roberts

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
cindy.hatch.7
11/14/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Great customer service - Universal Toyota Pre-Owned"

I would recommend Universal Toyota to anyone looking for a pre-owned car. The customer service was great! Patrick McNeil helped me find the right car for the right price, and walked me through the whole process. His customer service exceeded my expectations.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Patrick McNeil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
keith.byers.90
10/23/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Multi car purchaser treated like dirt"

Bought 3 vehicles from them since August of 2012. Received a mailer offering a trade in value on my vehicle just to be lied to and in the end because people didn't do their job properly the whole process ended up being a waste of time anyways. Dealership used to be much better than this. Good going guys! This would have been vehicle #4 but you just lost a good customer.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Robert Duncan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
imerikson
10/16/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Love the outstanding service to purchase a car"

Antonio Pacifico has made our car shopping pain free. We walked in and the deal they gave us for our car was surprising and acceptable. Everyone we dealt with from Management to Financing was so helpful. We purchased a highlander and I am so in love with it. Antonio is also a mechanic and a good one at that. He is very funny, and so awesome. His knowledge as a mechanic sealed the deal for us. We called him on several occasions, and he is always happy to talk to us. He went above and beyond our expectations. I would never purchase another vehicle because of our experience. We are sold on Toyota, Thank you so much Antonio!!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Antonio Pacifico

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
teach82
8/06/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Fantastic Experience"

I have been a customer of Universal Toyota for around 16 years. I have found myself needing to trade my present car and buy a used car that provided me with small payments. Patrick McNeil listened to my story and really did everything in his power to provide me with what I needed. He went above and beyond to help me. I really do appreciate all that he did for me. He helped me when I really needed some help. I love my new, used, car! Thanks, Cindy Henkel

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Patrick McNeil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
HYBARRA87
5/29/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Horrible....."

Horrible, just received word from corporate that Christine, the used "pre owned" salesperson, never turned in our paperwork. She was very rude, kept playing the bait and switch game. Even had to roll her eyes. WTH? I would never go back never again. hope she gets fired along with the used sales manager, horrible experience. Never again... Ended up walking away after they hit the credit report more than three times. Deal never completed, never would tell us the exact whole dollar amount, come on......now! BTW: STAY AWAY FROM NOE HERRERA IN NEW, he just gives you the run around as well!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

three, christine noe herrera, and gm of used sales.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
1
1 - 10 of 27 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory