About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Baker Motor Company of Charleston, Inc.

1.4

9 Lifetime Reviews

1511 Savannah Hwy., Charleston, South Carolina 29407 Directions
Sales: (843) 628-0202

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

9 Reviews of Baker Motor Company of Charleston, Inc.

Sort by Write a review
May 13, 2018

"Horrible experience with service"

- NChasguy

When having my S550 serviced at Baker Mercedes, I was advised that the car had numerous problems that needed repaired to the sum of over $3,500. I could not believe this and refused the service. I took my car to another dealer for a second opinion only to discover that everything Baker had stated my car needed was incorrect. The car had no such problems and did not require the service Baker stated. I traded the vehicle and the dealer advised me that they did not have to put any funds in the car as it was in perfect condition. I will never take another vehicle to Baker nor purchase one from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Williams
January 19, 2018

"Car Deal went South"

- FW

Good morning, First I would like to say my Sales Rep was Christi M. She was very knowledgeable and went out of her way to help. We had agreed upon a price with the Finance Manager and the next day I came in to sign off on the paperwork and work out a time for my co-signer to come in as well and sign his portion of the paperwork. Leave and then I get a call saying that thing have changed and he now needs to be first on the application and I would be the co-signer, or my car note would be an extra $300. Well this was not what we discussed early and now things have changed. Needless to say I wanted a clearer explanation of the situation. I was under the impression that we shook and made the agreement and I also sign the paperwork agreeing to the price. I am upset and very sad about how things ended up. I will not only leave a review here but I will take this further to Mercedes-Benz USA headquarters. I no longer want to do business at Baker Mercedes ever again. This has been the worse experience I have ever had with a car dealer and the finance team. Had better service and dealing with the staff in 2012 when I purchased my first Mercedes-Benz. After this encounter I won't be back. Sad & Frustrated Customer

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Christi McInvale, Sonya Morales & Randy Albright
June 21, 2017

"Should Have Read the Fine Print "

- Kelly

Bought out a lease and purchased another car from this dealership (4th car purchased). Asked repeatedly in front of witnesses if the buy out of the lease they quoted me included ALL costs associated with the buyout and was assured it was. They even called Mercedes to get the figures. Of course I later learn they didn't include everything. When I called them they quickly rattled off all the costs they had left out and told me I was now accountable for them. When I asked why they hadn't been truthful up front, they told me I should have read the fine print of my original lease. In two other previous leases, I purchased the service package only to later learn that it only covered two years of a three year lease. On those occasions as well I was told I should have read the fine print and not relied on what the salesperson told me. I really like the Mercedes and Land Rover products. It's a shame I don't feel like I can make future purchases in my home town.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
TN
November 18, 2016

"They Have Enough Business"

- Carp

I wanted to buy. Sprinter Van. I was told to call Carl the person that specializes in this type of vehicle. Carl was out of the office at 11:00 on a Monday so I left him a voice mail. Four days later I still did not get a call back. I leave at noon today to buy a van from a dealer in Columbia SC. Too bad I can't buy a vehicle in my home town.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
None
September 16, 2015

"If you own a Benz, this is the place to go for great service"

- Brave 61

I have owned Mercedes cars for about 30 years and can tell you that the team in place headed by Pierre Renault with Anthony Mount as his second is truly the best. These guys have the experience and know how with both Pierre and Anthony at the dealership for at least 15 years each. First, Becky is sure to take care of me in terms of a loaner car -- she was so concerned when downtown Charleston flooded that on her own initiative she arranged for me to switch cars to one that had a higher draft. Becky is truly a gem and anyone can tell that she really cares. To say that Anthony Mount is very knowledgeable about Mercedes issues only scratches the surface. It is not unusual for Anthony to first see if he can diagnose and perhaps fix a problem before taking it into the shop. Service Manager Pierre Renault tends to always ask how things are going and has a genuine interest in helping. I have found Pierre to be more than helpful when Anthony is not in (Anthony took the day off Saturday when I drove in to ask a question and Pierre was extremely helpful -- he installed a turn signal lens that had just come in; he also replaced a fuse that corroded -- what a guy!). Lastly, I want to congratulate Baker for keeping and motivating these already talented folks. Love these guys! PS I was surprised to see a customer act rude toward Pierre for no apparent reason this past Saturday. True to form, Pierre took all the guff, was respectful and focused his efforts on solving the problem. Bravo, Pierre!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Pierre Renault, Anthony Mount, Becky Lussiter
September 03, 2015

"Great Transaction"

- konkapot

I've been to Baker several times over the years for service; this was my first trip to make a purchase. Sales staff, specifically Jay Rose, were outstanding. Reasonable, direct, forthright. No double talk, no foolishness, all business. Got to meet management staff during my purchase, which was nice. F+I manager was great as well. Great experience, and I will be back again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jay Rose, Pierre Renault.
August 05, 2015

"Great sales rep to deal with "

- johndavid

I purchased a used Toyota FJ Cruiser from Baker Motor Company. My sales rep was Sean Dyer. He met me at the dealership when I stopped by to browse and asked me if he could help me to please call him. Sean was professional and not a pushy salesman. I decided to go back the next day to the dealership and calle Sean he made an appointment time to meet with me that was convenient for me. Sean was helpful in making the purchase very easy and simple. I would recommend him as well as Baker Motor Company when making a vehicle purchase. Great folks to deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean Dyer and John in finance
July 11, 2015

"Excellent "

- darnrll695

Tell them what you want and they will find it for you! No hassle! Every single person there was helpful, caring, and personable! Great inventory!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
AJ, Mark
June 19, 2015

"Service Scam"

- RBF

My car was at Baker's Collision Center for 30 days and when they called me to say my car was ready, I went to pick up my car only to find my battery was completely dead. They jumped the battery to get the car started but I couldn't drive away because there were several electrical features that were not functioning properly or working at all. Mainly, my stereo and Blue Tooth system which was totally inoperable. All of my electronics were working perfectly before I brought my car to them for bodywork. There were other non electrical things not fixed properly like a door handle not opening the door. Baker tried to tell me there wasn't anything they did to cause these electrical problems and I was looking at a $2,700 repair bill if I wanted my stereo system fixed. They lowered that to $900 for the labor fee only but I don't feel I should have to pay them one penny more after giving them almost $8,000 for bodywork repairs.. Again, all my electronics were working perfectly before I took my car to Baker. I also posted this complaint on their Facebook page but they took it down which in my opinion, misleads people into thinking Baler only gets positive comments from customers and they don't want to bother with customers who had negative experienced with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Todd Burton and David Vowels
1
1 - 9 of 9 results