About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Berlin City Honda of Portland

4.9

832 Lifetime Reviews

255 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, Maine 04106 Directions
Sales: (207) 518-7291

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

832 Reviews of Berlin City Honda of Portland

Sort by Write a review
February 26, 2012

"The BEST car buying experience I have ever had!!!! ..."

- mspeodunlap

The BEST car buying experience I have ever had!!!! After test driving the vehicle at a local Honda dealer (5 minutes from out home) my wife and I knew exactly the car we wanted (2012 CR-V) right down to the color. After searching multiple dealer inventories online we came across the vehicle at Berlin City, the only dealer to have the vehicle in the trim level and color combination we wanted. Our local dealer couldn't come close to the price we wanted to pay for the vehicle, you know since it's brand new this year it's a very "hot" vehicle right now (and they didn't even have one in stock). Yeah right. The typical lines I have come to expect from a car dealer. Berlin City includes a "Make an Offer" button in the inventory search and after a great deal of research on our part my wife and Iwere ready to make what we felt was a fair offer to purchase the vehicle, by the way we fully expected to be contacted and asked to come into the dealership and speak with sales after making the offer. Well, the phone rang about 5 minutes after submitting the offer and a very friendly Jesse Mulherin wanted to confirm that the vehicle we made the offer on was indeed the vehicle we wanted, verifying equipment and color combinations. After a few minutes of verification Jesse simply told us that the offer we made was reasonable and accepted. Wait, what?? Don't I need to spend hours going back and forth between sales and management, don't you need to lure me into the dealership with false expectations, don't I have to plan on spending the next week completely frustrated with the entire car buying process???? The answer to all those questions is apparently not, by the way at this point I am still not convinced this is going to be this easy. OK, a few more questions from Jesse now, do I have a trade (I didn't), when would I like to come and pick up the vehicle? Now, here's the problem and most likely the deal breaker, Berlin City is not close to me (115 miles away, yes that's 115 over 2.5 hours of drive time) and we have two very young children, me getting to the dealership would be problematic at best. I told Jesse this and he asked if we would like the vehicle to be delivered, well sure I would but how much is that going to cost me?? Jesse's response, it's complimentary, are you kidding me, after the offer I made and very little money left in the car for the dealer you are going to deliver it to my home free of charge? The answer is Yes!!! By the way, it is about 5 PM on a Thursday night right now....Next step, financing the vehicle. I can get a rate of 1.9% through my credit union but for ease let's see if the dealer can at least match the rate since I would have to spend time at my bank closing the loan. That's where Gail from finance comes in. I spoke with Gail, who was exceptionally friendly and organized, the following morning regarding the finance of the vehicle and she informed me that she was able to secure me a better rate than I anticipated, 1.75%. I do a lot of research when it's time to make a purchase this large and I can't find a rate that low anywhere. This is so easy it's weird now. We finalized the information with Gail on the phone and negotiated what I feel was a very fair price on an extended bumper to bumper warranty (out to 120,000 miles). Since the price of the vehicle was so reasonable I didn't see a reason not to add it. Gail went out of her way to make this a painless process. Time spent, about 15 minutes!! Oh yeah, as we were finishing the phone call Gail informed me that she just handed the paperwork to Gordon, the delivery driver, who was there waiting and he was on his way out the door before we hung the phone up and that they should be arriving at my home at 4:30P. Since it's a rainy / snowy Friday afternoon I don't expect Gordon is going to make it in the allotted time, but honestly I'm at home and I have time to wait so no big deal. Well, 4:30PM on the dot there is a new Honda CR-V making the corner to my house and pulling in my driveway followed by another car from the dealer. Gordon introduces himself, a very nice guy, exceptionally personable and professional. He gives me plenty of time to look around the car to make sure I am happy with the condition and we pull it into the garage. Gordon has all of the paperwork with him that needs to be signed and we spend about 20 minutes going through everything. He is able to answer all of my questions and it is really evident he knows what he is doing and is as much a part of this entire process as everyone I have dealt with previously. Paperwork complete and Gordon is on his way back to the dealership with the second driver who followed him down. Now I'm in the garage at about 7:30P checking out the new vehicle and my cell phone rings, it's Jesse from the dealership calling to make sure I was happy with the vehicle that was delivered and to make sure I didn't have any questions. Jesse said he would follow up with me in a couple of days once I had an opportunity to spend some time with the car and make sure there were no additional issues or questions that come up, I have no doubt this will happen. From start to finish all of the folks at Berlin City worked very hard to make this a very painless experience and went out of their way to ensure that all of my expectations were exceeded. I would highly recommend this dealer to anyone looking for a new vehicle, I certainly will be buying all of my future vehicles from Berlin City as they set the standard for which all car dealers should strive for.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jesse Mulherin (Sales), Gail (Finance), Gordon (Delivery)
February 15, 2012

"Ed Hanson, our salesman was great in every way. We..."

- maineak99

Ed Hanson, our salesman was great in every way. We explained to him him what we wanted in a vehicle and he did not try to steer us into more expensive vehicles or attempt to add costly services. Berlin City appears to be a good dealership an they are rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ted Hanson
January 29, 2012

"We are very impressed with the treatment that we received..."

- Mike Arel

We are very impressed with the treatment that we received at Berlin City Honda. We were looking for a vehicle with four wheel/ all wheel drive to use for utility situations. We needed something that was in good shape and economical. Ted Hanson was our contact in sales and called when he felt that there was something that matched our needs and fit into our budget. A month or so passed between when he had our information and we heard from him. He never forgot us, but waited until he felt that our trip wouldn't be wasted... no sales pressure or weekly calls. We were impressed with the 2004 CRV after a test drive and asked for Berlin City's best price. After talking with the sales manager, Ron McIntyre, Ted gave us the good news that Berlin was able to lower their asking price enough to make the sale work for us. We were very greatful! We were also pleased with how smoothly our financing was handled. TraciAnn made things very easy and comfortable for us. We look forward to dealing with Berlin City again............ Mike & Donna Arel

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Edward Hanson, TraciAnn Keim.Ron McIntyre
January 02, 2012

"I found the car I wanted on line and then spoke with..."

- lv2cook

I found the car I wanted on line and then spoke with Rafael by phone. He was so nice by phone and helpful but not pushy. I knew just by speaking with him that I wanted to do business with him. I set up an appointment to meet with Rafael to try out the car. Rafael had personally gone over the car to make sure it was clean and ready to show us before we got there. He took the time to acquaint himself with the features of the Ford Freestyle so he could answer any questions we had. My husband was impressed with the car and with Rafael's work ethic. Randy, my husband, decided I should get the car, not just based on the car but because of how professional Rafael was. Then my Mom meet Rafael...she fell in love with him. She made up her mind that when she and Dad buy their next car she will go to Berlin City to buy. Mom said that she spoke with a few different people at the dealership and they were all very nice and friendly, a very good sign she thought of the overall management of the company.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rafael Mendoza
December 28, 2011

"I was in a tight situation as I needed a new (to me) car..."

- dcribby

I was in a tight situation as I needed a new (to me) car desperately, but my wife and I have had a rough year and our credit was horrible. I visited multiple dealerships and even one of the "special credit" places that specialize in working with people in my situation. I was worried about working with any dealership for I thought in my situation it would be easy for someone to take advantage of the fact that I had few options. At no time during my experience at Berlin City did I get that feeling. Brian and Cliff worked hard to make me feel like a valued customer and did all they could to get me into a great vehicle. When we found the vehicle that really fit my needs, they were very accommodating in allowing me to test the vehicle so that my wife could also take a good look at it. After all was said and done, they were able to get me into a much nicer vehicle at a much lower cost than the "special credit" dealer I had visited. they really made the whole process quite painless and fun. Would definitely recommend them to anyone I know if they are looking for a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Sturgis, Cliff Rocque
December 24, 2011

"I walked into Berlin City Auto after my previous car had..."

- sarahtison

I walked into Berlin City Auto after my previous car had broken down and was no longer worth keeping. Brian was the first person to greet me, and is very honest and trustworthy. He helped with all of my questions and was able to get me into a car that fit within my budget and needs. Although the process was a bit lengthy, it was definitely worth it. Cliff and Gayle were incredibly helpful and kind as well, going above and beyond my expectations in my time of need. I put off getting a new car for too long, mostly because I was dreading the process. But everyone here made the process as smooth as possible without being pushy or intimidating at all. I can't recommend them enough!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Sturgis, Cliff, Gayle
December 24, 2011

"I had been toying with the idea of trading in my 2003..."

- crobinson1981

I had been toying with the idea of trading in my 2003 Jeep for a newer more reliable vehicle but I was still on the fence. On a whim I decided to take a ride down to Berlin City yesterday and check out a 2007 Nissan Xterra that I had seen online. I didn't leave the house with the express intention to leave Berlin City with a new vehicle...I just wanted to look and keep my options open. Approx 5-6 hours later I drove off the lot with my new (to me!) Nissan Xterra and completely in love with it!! I have Chris and the rest of the team to thank for the huge smile on my face still this morning! The entire experience was amazing and so easy from start to finish. Chris was very knowledgeable about the vehicle and the financing process and really helped me feel confident about my purchase and comfortable. He really helped me get a great rate and understood the importance to keep me within my preferred monthly payment range! I never once felt like a number or felt pressured to make a decision. After the test drive and a short talk with Chris I didn't feel obligated at all to give him my business....I WANTED to give him my business!! This was by far the best car buying experience I have had to date. I will definitely recommend Berlin City to my friends and family and I can definitely see myself buying my next car from them too! Thank you for such and easy and wonderful car buying experience :)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Cole
December 19, 2011

"The service was fast and rewarding. The price for the car..."

- rosoucy

The service was fast and rewarding. The price for the car was very affordable. The deal was made over the phone and everything was ready to go by the time I traveled 2 1/2 hours the next day. Any issues with the car were rectified there or at another dealership close to home. No problem. Worth the trip.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cliff Rocque, Chris Cole, TraciAnn Keim
December 06, 2011

"Berlin City South Portland, Maine literally "went to..."

- downslo

Berlin City South Portland, Maine literally "went to bat"; Derek and Tracey delingently made every effort assisting me with my 2006 Chrysler Pacific AWD Touring purchase. They, by far, are the best customer service reps when it comes to the auto sales world--I can go on-and-on. I strongly recommend Berlin City, Derek and Tracey; thank you again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Derek Ross and Tracey Keim
December 01, 2011

"Chris was very patient with me as I did not know what..."

- mmsdg

Chris was very patient with me as I did not know what kind of vehicle I wanted. I spent 7 hrs at Berlin City Auto from test driving thru financing. The process was very smooth and easy. Cliff really worked with me to get to a price we were both in agreement on. Overall my experience was great and I would recommend Berlin City to my family and friends. I would definately recommend Chris, he was well informed on the vehicles I test drove. He offered me sound advice regarding the specific things I was looking for in a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Christopher Cole and Cliff Roque
701 - 710 of 832 results