About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Berlin City Honda of Portland

4.8

715 Lifetime Reviews

255 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, Maine 04106 Directions
Sales: (207) 518-7291

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

715 Reviews of Berlin City Honda of Portland

Sort by Write a review
June 24, 2009

"Dave Belliveau was a great help in our search for our new..."

- dmagras

Dave Belliveau was a great help in our search for our new used car. He was responsive, but not aggressively so, the moment we emailed Berlin City about the car we were interested in, and he made it easy to visit that day. He was reasonable in discussing the offer we made and took our suggested price seriously. We've commented several times to each other afterward that he didn't seem like a car salesman: he was open, interested most in helping us find the right car, and did not pressure us to make any decision. It was a pleasure to work with an attentive, smart, respectful person with a low-key approach; that counts for a lot. Good for Berlin City for hiring him. Dave's genial approach was in stark contrast to that of Jason Gannon, the finance manager we dealt with. When we got to Jason's office, we discovered that he had confused our paperwork with that of another customer; he had us in the database as having purchased a different, and much more expensive, car. He rushed to reprint our documents, but the dealer certificate we ended up with still had the wrong price (he told us that it didn't matter). His approach overall was much more aggressive and typical of what one would expect to encounter in a car dealership. We know that part of a finance manager's job is to try to sell additional packages and warranties (none of which we bought), but when a customer refuses these straight off, a finance manager might want to try a respectful rather than confrontational approach. When we rejected his offer of extended coverage, he said, "What do you think is going to happen to the cost of labor five years from now? Is it going to go up or down?" That's simply an insulting question. Our experience in his office caused us to leave the dealership with a bad taste in our mouths--which was too bad, as the rest of our experience was so positive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David Belliveau, Jason Gannon
Jun 25, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Dear dmagras, I would like to say thank you for allowing us to earn your business. I am glad that we could reach an agreement. David Belliveau is a great team member. We are so fortunate to have him here at Berlin City. I will tell David of your kind comments. I feel badly that you had the incident you did with the finance department. It’s unfortunate you had this kind of experience. Please accept my apology as this type of service is not the way we would like our customer to remember us by. We are not perfect but sure do attempt to provide the best possible place to discuss the purchase of a car. Please know I would like the opportunity to meet you during your next service appointment. I will speak to Mr. Gannon concerning your time here with us. If I can be of help in the future don’t hesitate to phone me. Michael McPherson – Director of Customer Satisfaction

June 22, 2009

"Steve Gendron is the absolute best. He listens to the..."

- mmichaud

Steve Gendron is the absolute best. He listens to the customer and works to find a vehicle to fit a budget or need. This is the 3rd vehicle we have purchased from Berlin City Honda and Steve, we think that speak volumes about him. I was concerned that when we went to financing we were offered and extended warrantee and refused to purchase it. When Damien said he was sorry we waited so long and we were return customers and he would give us the lower end warrantee. But, thinking about what he said at a later time, he said he moved our term from 66 months (of which we agreed to purchase the car) to 72 months keeping our payment the same. Folks, that was not a deal since it was just tacked on to the load and extended the term. I feel not matter what, the agreement with the sale team should carry to the finance person unless it is made crystal clear what the changes would be.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve Gendron
Other Employees : Steven Gendron
Jun 23, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Dear mmichaud, Yes, Steve is the best. His customers all have the same respect for his ability to work with them during the car buying process. He has worked at Berlin City a very long time and it shows. I am disappointed with your time in our finance department. I will speak to Steven and the finance person you worked with to get a clearer picture on what occurred. Please know what you experienced is not the norm and I will look into the question you raise. Congratulations and thank you!! Michael McPherson – Director of Customer Relations

June 22, 2009

"I have nothing but good things about to say about my..."

- familyof6

I have nothing but good things about to say about my recent 2010 Honda Pilot purchase from Berlin City in Portland, ME. My search for a dealer began online and I was given a fair price right from the start (I continued to shop around to compare) I live in southern Maine, equidistant from about 5 different Honda Dealerships. They gave me a fair price on my trade and tried very hard to earn my business by also making it a pleasant experience and with constant yet "non pushy" follow up. I should also mention that I did the deal while my husband was away on business and was always taken seriously and treated respectfully by the sales team. I can not say the same of other dealerships that I spoke to during my initial search. I even had one tell me they couldnt give me a quote on a car that wasn't even out yet...but I should come in to the dealership anyways. When it came time for the signing of papers we brought our four children and they were also made to feel at home, treated kindly and with respect. Each and every one of the people that we came in contact with was considerate of our time, friendly and listened to what we were trying to accomplish, and by meeting those needs, earned our business. It is such a pleasure to deal with a company that knows how to treat its customers and potential customers. A simple concept that I am constantly amazed seems to be lacking in many companies now a days. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone looking for a car. Thanks again to Keri Lavoie and Michael Brown.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kerri Lavoie, Michael Brown
Jun 23, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Dear Familyof6, First let me say we really appreciate the opportunity to earn and work with you on the purchase of the 2010 Pilot. Thank you for the feedback. It’s great that you took the time to write. We are so fortunate to have Keri and Michael on our team. Each of them are so committed to providing the information and service necessary to make you feel comfortable with your decision to do business with Berlin City Honda. Please know if you have questions about the operation of the Pilot, Michael or Keri would welcome your call. Congratulations!! Michael McPherson – Director of Customer Relations

June 21, 2009

"Gary was the 1st salesman we met when arriving at the..."

- reckliss

Gary was the 1st salesman we met when arriving at the lot. He was very easygoing and knowledgeable. He had only been selling Honda's at this location for a couple of weeks, and so was being overseen by Joe. They were both very helpful at describing the features of our car. They would get an A+ in my book. The reason for the "Good" ratings above were that it took us about 3 hrs. to get through the paperwork baloney to complete the purchase--we weren't even trying to haggle on price. It seems the purchase work could go a lot smoother if we could deal with a single person instead of all the runaround going back and forth between our salesman and 2!! managers, plus the finance guy. I could see it if we were trying to get a better price, but they just wear you out. It was helpful that the "extra" people were friendly and knowledgeable as well, but the process itself would be rated "Bad" or "OK". Not sure how it it w/ other dealers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joe Thibodeau
Other Employees : Joe Thibodeau, Gary York
Jun 23, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Dear reckliss, First I would like you to know how much we are honored that you selected Berlin City Honda as your dealer of chose. I do feel badly that you experienced an extended shopping visit with us. Your comments are very valuable. The feedback assists us in understanding how we can be more customer friendly. I don’t know the specifics surrounding your visit but I will speak to Joe and Gary to hear their thoughts. Congratulations and thank you!! Michael McPherson – Director of Customer Relations

June 17, 2009

"It was a pleasure working with Scott Walker. His manner..."

- John Walton

It was a pleasure working with Scott Walker. His manner was always professional, friendly, honest and knowledgeable. We appreciated the time he took to explain the contract, the car and the various services. He IS the reason we bought the Honda CRV.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Walker
Jun 18, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Mr. Walton, Thank you for choosing Berlin City. It is our pleasure to serve you. I want to assure you that we will always do everything possible to maintain the confidence you have placed in us. The dealership is very fortunate to have people like Scott. He’s a tremendous asset. I will forward your kind comments to Scott. Again thank you for the opportunity to earn your business. Michael McPherson- Director of Customer Service

June 15, 2009

"My husband and I wanted to replace our old Honda Accord,..."

- HappyCustomers

My husband and I wanted to replace our old Honda Accord, and went into Berlin City Honda in South Portland, ME on a lark, while in the state on business. We were so impressed and pleased to run into Mel Hatch -- an honest, funny, and well-informed salesperson -- that we decided to purchase our car in Maine, not New York State, where we live. If you need to buy a car, and drive Hondas, Mel Hatch is an exceptionally good salesperson. So too are some of her colleagues, particularly Scott Walker and Damien Sieg. These folks made our new-car-buying experience a real pleasure. We highly recommend them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Melissa Hatch, Scott Walker, Damien Sieg
Jun 15, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Dear HappyCustomers, Your experience must have been really over the top to purchase here in Maine and not in New York. Thank you for the great feedback. Hearing from our customer’s is a learning experience that we don’t shy away from. It makes us better at providing awesome customer service. I will pass along your fine compliment to Scott and Damien. Mel Hatch is a very special person who really is there for the customer. Thank you and enjoy your new Honda. Michael McPherson – Director Customer Relations

June 05, 2009

"Friendly, courteous, and accomodating.....they pay..."

- pipingpaddler

Friendly, courteous, and accomodating.....they pay attention to what you say. Labor cost is an issue in these hard economic times. Maine, in general, does not pay well (lower standard of living) so it becomes increasing harder to work with (go to) a "certified" dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Wolstenhulme
Other Employees : don't know names
Jun 05, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

pipingpaddler, I truly appreciate your chose of visiting our service department. I hear what you're saying concerning the tough times we're all having at this time. I'll share with the service department your comments. Thank you for your continued business. Michael McPherson, Director Customer Relations

June 04, 2009

"Once again, Keith was great. We have purchased two cars..."

- randallwadethomas

Once again, Keith was great. We have purchased two cars from him in the past two weeks. We will recommend Keith and Berlin City. Thanks again. yours trly, Randall and Jay Thomas xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keith Schram
Other Employees : Keith Schram
Jun 05, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Wow, Ms. Thomas. Please know how much we appreciate the opportunity to earn your family’s business once again. We are so fortunate to have dedicated and passionate people working with us like Keith. I will let him know how satisfied you are. All the best. Michael McPherson, Director Customer Service

May 29, 2009

"It was a pleasure to work with your company and Mr...."

- sfreeman196

It was a pleasure to work with your company and Mr. Hastey in particular. He was incredibly responsive and very professional. He listened to our needs and desired and delivered an exceptional product. By going the extra step to have the car delivered, he sealed the deal where other dealerships had failed us.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adam Hastey
May 29, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Dear sfreeman196, Congratulations on your new Honda Fit! I'm glad to hear that Adam Hastey treated you well and that you enjoyed the buying experience. Purchasing a new vehicle, especially through our internet department, should be a positive, stress free practice and leaves you with a satisfied feeling. I'm excited that our team pulled it together for you. Thank you for the opportunity to earn your business. Enjoy the many miles in the Fit. Michael McPherson-Director Customer Relations

May 25, 2009

"Keith was great. His demeanor and personality was a good..."

- randallwadethomas

Keith was great. His demeanor and personality was a good match for my husband and I. We felt that our questions were answered, and we were not hurried or pressured to hurry or make a decision. We definitely would return when we are ready for another car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keith Schram
Other Employees : Keith Schram
May 25, 2009 -

Berlin City Honda of Portland responded

Mr Thomas, Thank's for the great review. We strive for a world class experience when shopping at Berlin City, it seems we delivered. Keith Schram, much like our entire staff, takes the necessary steps to assist customers in finding the perfect vehicle to meet their wants and needs. We know buying a new vehicle is a fun and exciting experience and it seems that’s exactly what happened! I'll pass along your kind words to the entire staff. Michael McPherson, Director Customer Relations

701 - 710 of 715 results