About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Berlin City Toyota of Portland

4.9

1,079 Lifetime Reviews

191 Riverside Street, Portland, Maine 04103 Directions
Sales: (207) 618-6473

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

1,079 Reviews of Berlin City Toyota of Portland

Sort by Write a review
March 17, 2009

"When I was looking for a car I knew exactly what I..."

- DebLothrop

When I was looking for a car I knew exactly what I wanted. I went on to BerlinMotorGroup.com and found three vehicles I thought I might like. Tom emailed me right away, then asked if he could call. He called, we set up a time that was goood for ME and when we got there he talked to ME and not at me. His customer service skills far outsurpase any car dealer personnell I have ever dealth with. He listened to what I wanted, he listened to what my husband wanted me to have (bigger of course) and he ultimately came up with my perfect 2005 Jeep Liberty. I have never been so happy with a car in my life.(and that's a long life). I always wanted a Jeep, and Tom knew that. Here's the best part............... As I was signing the paperwork, check in hand, my trade in blew it's radiator.......right there and then. Did they back off on the trade in?? NOT FOR A MINUTE!!!! They even came under the price I could afford. Tom - Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Hayes, Tom Hayes
February 19, 2009

"When my check engine light went on in my 2000 Rav4 I..."

- catheriin

When my check engine light went on in my 2000 Rav4 I decided to bring it to Berlin city to get it checked out. I left it there overnight with no appointment. In the morning I called and the service team there was already ready to work on it that day. Later Chris called me and told me what was wrong and exactly what it would cost to get it fixed etc. I had told him I was thinking about trading it in so would he also have someone give it a look over to see if there was anything else wrong. This was done free of charge and all the other work was explained to me in detail. Later when I came back to pay I never once felt taken advantage of. (Even though it was very obvious I was not sure at all what I was dealing with) Everyone in the service Dept was extreamly friendly. Also a dealer Jared Grant had already taken a look at my car to asses how much it was worth and had given me a call before I came to pick up my car from the service Dept to see what I was thinking of maybe trading my car in for, and how what my price range was. When I came back Jared already had cars ready for me that were in my price range. When I told him I was also looking for a new Yaris, the dealership also just happened to have just about every model and color already in stock brand new right off the truck so I got to actully see and drive what I was really thinking of buying. (Big Plus!) The next day I came back after much thinking and planning. Jared and Matt were extreamly friendly and patient with me througout the entire process they both gave my boyfriend and I space to discuss each offer no matter how long we took and how many times we did this. I never felt pushed or taken advantage of. In the end we settled on a price that I felt very comfortable with and they also gave me a wonderful price for my trade in. I have already recommended Berlin City to members of my family and plan on recommending it to anyone else I know that is looking at cars. Even my boyfriend who has a subaru and loves it is ready to look at Toyota's now all based on our experience at Berlin City.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jared Grant
Matt Almy
Other Employees : Matt Almy, Jared Grant
February 19, 2009

"A rating of 5 for friendliness isn't high enough. I..."

- Don and Renee Muise

A rating of 5 for friendliness isn't high enough. I would give them at least a 10 or more (and that IS on a scale of 1 to 5). They made us feel like we weren't just customers - but family and friends. Buying a car has never been this comfortable before! I would strongly recommend this dealership to everyone. (And we love the new truck)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ramzi Karam & Jamie, Ramzi Karam
February 14, 2009

"It was that time again...we needed a new car. I would..."

- Gregory1962

It was that time again...we needed a new car. I would rather have a "sharp stick in the eye" than deal with salesmen of any kind. I have my Toyota 4-Runner serviced at Berlin City and the service is always excellent. This is why I started my search here. I was introduced to Ed Giroux and he immediately sensed my dislike of salesmen. I am a no nonsense type of person and I knew what I wanted for a car and what I wanted to pay. I do not like to haggle back and forth, just give me your bottom line and please, do not call me a million times to see if I have made my decision. Ed kept his patience with my raw attitude, gave me the bottom line right away, only to confirm with his manager, Matt Almy, no back and forth. I waited a week to think on it. When I was ready to buy, I did call a Toyota dealer in Saco, they would beat Ed's price by $100 (although not in writing), but after many back & forths and they kept calling me after the bottom line. Ed never called me, he did email me once to let me know Toyota was adding another $200 to the already $1300 rebate. OK, now it is time to decide, Ed or the $100 less dealership. My mind was made up, Ed was getting the sale. For someone to put up with me, contact me only to lower my bottom line, no phone calls at home and great service, that was worth $100 and more. I went to pick up my new Toyota Corolla and was out of the dealership in 1 hr. Ed Giroux, you have changed my mind about car salesmen, well, at least the ones at Berlin City. You sensed what I wanted and how I wanted to deal with a sale. Quick and no nonsense, my way! Thank you Ed for the very pleasant experience, I will be back for my next Toyota and of course, to service both vehicles. I would highly recommend Ed at Berlin City, bring any attitude and you will get what you need and deserve! TA & GA

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ed Giroux
February 13, 2009

"I went to Berlin City in Portland with the intention of..."

- jaime2683

I went to Berlin City in Portland with the intention of buying or leasing a new Camry. Fortunately, I met Tom Hayes at the door. After introducing himself, he asked me a few questions about my needs and then took me out for a test drive in a brand new Camry. I found Tom to be friendly, intelligent, direct and above all, honest. He was not overly aggressive. Even when I thought I might not be able to buy the car I wanted, he kept telling me that I had to do what was comfortable or right for me, that I needed to feel good about whatever decision I made. I felt like I had made a friend. I also had meetings and conversations with Ed, Matt and Jamie. They were great!! Ed showed me around the dealership so I would know where to go when/if I needed service. All of them made me feel at home and part of the Toyota family. Their customer service is excellent. It's only been one day since I came home with my 2009 Toyota Corolla but I have already recommended Berlin City/Scion to at least five people, one of them was my car insurance agent!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Almy
Other Employees : Tom Hayes, Ed Giroux, Matt Almy, Jamie Hoglund, Tom Hayes
February 04, 2009

"I have purchased 3 new Toyotas from Berlin City in..."

- Riggs

I have purchased 3 new Toyotas from Berlin City in Portland since 2001 and referred numerous friends and family to them. My first truck was a 2001 Ivan Stewart Packaged SR5, TRD Off Road, Toyota Tundra, which totaled out at $45,000.00 after all the custom parts were installed. It was a 4-6 month long research and build project that resulted in an extremely customized truck. The sales team worked with me to iron out the details and what resulted was a beautiful one of a kind truck. No other dealer in Maine could touch Berlin's price, knew what I was talking about, or was willing to spend the time working out the details. Since then I have purchased a 2006 Toyota Matrix XRS and most recently a 2008 Toyota Tundra Limited Crew-Max. Now that I am going on working with Berlin city for over 8 years there is one quote that stands out in my mind from the first day I met them. The salesman told me that the service department, "Just can't help, but do the right thing." I have not only found that to be true in regards to the service department after the sale, but also to include the parts department, and the sales team as well. I WILL NEVER purchase a new or used vehicle from any other dealership. All my friends and family that have done business with Berlin City because of my referral wouldn't buy from any other dealer ever again. Like I said to sum it up in one phrase, "They Just Can't Help But Do The Right Thing!"

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harold Blaney, Mark Alexsen, Mike Bodman, Fred Marsters, Mike Bergeron, Mark Axelsen, Harold Blaney
February 01, 2009

"From start to finish, my car purchase experience at..."

- jarris

From start to finish, my car purchase experience at Berlin City Auto Group was by far the best of the many purchases that I have made over my lifetime at many different dealerships. Ed and Mark listened to what I was looking for and patiently provided many different options to accomplish my goals. Ed was extremely knowledgeable about the Toyota product line and explained every feature of the vehicles that I tested. There was no pressure to purchase at any time. Before I left, my daughter-in-law and I had each purchased new Corollas, and a few days later my son purchased a pickup truck. I highly recommend Ed and Mark and Berlin City Auto Group to anyone planning a vehicle purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ed Giroux and Mark Axelson , Mark Axelsen
January 30, 2009

"Great News!!! Tom Hayes is back with Toyota! I've dealt..."

- jwpjeni

Great News!!! Tom Hayes is back with Toyota! I've dealt with Tom in the past and just want to say thay he is great to work with if your searching for a new or used vehicle... Tom is honest and friendly. A true pleasure to do biz with and I would recommend him to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
tom hayes, Tom Hayes
January 26, 2009

"My experience at Berlin City was fantastic and the credit..."

- ToyotaFan1

My experience at Berlin City was fantastic and the credit is due to Harold Blaney. My husband and I were searching for new vehicles- we were kind of all over the place in terms of what we were looking for. Our first initial contact with Harold was proffesional and most importantly- he was not pushy. We returned to the dealership many times to check out vehicles and Harold assisted us each and every time. Harold knows his product, has great customer service skills, communicates effectively, and at no time did I feel as though I was getting the run around. I did not make the purchase of my vehicle easy that is for sure. In the matter of 6 months I changed my mind in regards to the color, the package, accessories...the list goes on. Never did Harold lose interest in helping me find the right vehicle for me. I think that is the best part- Harold sincerely wanted me to be 100% satisfied with the vehicle I purchased. When my FJ did arrive, Harold took the time to go over all the features and answered my questions. He even programmed my radio stations by getting my settings from my trade in. Everything was as he promised. Harold also took me into the service department and introduced me to the team for future appointments. I can not say enough good things about Harold.....he made purchasing a vehicle stress free and for me that was a high priority.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Harold Blaney II, Harold Blaney
January 26, 2009

"I HAVE BOUGHT A LOT OF CARS OVER THE YEARS,BUT THIS IS..."

- NORN-LINDA

I HAVE BOUGHT A LOT OF CARS OVER THE YEARS,BUT THIS IS THE BEST DEALER I HAVE EVER FELT WAS CAREING AND WELCOMEING AND FRIENDLY. BEN DID A GREAT JOB ON EXPLAINING THE THE WORKINGS OF THE CAR AND MADE US FEEL WELCOMED. THANK YOU SO MUCH .WILL BE BACK FOR SERVICE. NORM+LINDA

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
ben roberts
1,051 - 1,060 of 1,079 results