About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Bob Baker Subaru

4.4

164 Lifetime Reviews

5500 Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad, California 92008 Directions
Sales: (760) 804-5018

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

164 Reviews of Bob Baker Subaru

Sort by Write a review
January 15, 2019

"One of the finest dealership experiences I’ve had"

- BillCarr

For years I’ve had my Crosstrek serviced st Bob Baker - and I’ve never once been left wanting for anything. No matter who I interacted with, they made me feel like I was the most important customer they could have. So, it wasn’t a difficult decision when it came time to trade-in my Crosstrek and I bought an Outback I went back and I really had an above board experience!! I came in with excellent pre-approval financing - and they beat it!!! I got every single option I wanted and a sales/finance team that left truly no stone unturned in making sure I was happy with my purchase I really cannot stress enough, after owning 3 Subaru’s from 3 different dealerships - I’ve NEVER been as happy, satisfied, and felt more appreciated than they did me. If you are in the market for a Subaru and you go to Bob Baker, when all is said and done, I’m sure you’ll feel the same way I do

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Elliot
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 22, 2018

"Don’t judge a book by its cover "

- Sclola

All interested buyers should be treated equally. My sons age and appearance should not have determined his ability to purchase the vehicle of his choice. His father and I are willing and able to help him and will but not at a dealership that treated him as if him purchasing the vehicle of his choice was not a possibility. Not offering to run his credit or take a test drive were only a couple negatives the salesman made. We will take our business out of our local community to help our son feel he’s worthy enough to make a purchase of the vehicle of his choice. Just as a suggestion Mr, Heitger the next time a younger buyer walks on to your lot you might take him a bit more seriously and treat him as though he’s worth your time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Terry Heitger
November 28, 2018

"Best car buying experience"

- Chris1515

When we showed up we were met by Jason who was very friendly. We test drove almost every model on the lot and even through it all Jason was very patient and helpful . It was the most fun buying a car my fiancee and I have ever had.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason Field
October 24, 2018

"Outstanding customer service from everyone at Bob Baker Suba"

- MichaelXYZ

I’ve bought lots of cars over the years and rarely do I find a dealership with a knowledgeable sales staff The buying experience was stress free. I highly recommend this dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Elliot
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Jim Mirreghabie, Joshua Perry ant the Internet team
September 03, 2018

"Wanted rear-end damage repair, ended up with non radio/nav"

- Cant Believe it Guy

After getting rear-ended, we went to Bob Baker Subaru to get our 2018 Subaru Outback collision damage repaired, the experience left us frustrated and not wanting to ever have to deal with Bob Baker again. The Pros: The customer service people were friendly. The Cons: Will say anything to get your business. Misrepresented the amount of time they needed to affect the repairs. Being told it would take about a week to complete the repairs but taking over 3 weeks. The primary issue was getting the car into the paint shop. Quality of the paint on the bumper skin where they had to tape was poor and left small run marks under the tape. The paint had about half dozen "bumps" where large particulates landed in the paint. We don't know how, but they broke the stereo/navigation system. When we picked up the car, they said they could not look at it, but my wife had to bring the car back at a later time. When the car was returned for the nav repair, they said the entire unit had to be replaced. It took a week and a half to get the replacement parts and then told us they could not attempt the repair for another 2 weeks. We still do not have a fully functional car

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don Elliot
Sep 12, 2018 -

Bob Baker Subaru responded

We are sorry that you had a negative experience here at Bob Baker. We strive to ensure all of our customers are satisfied. Please allow me the opportunity to look into this and see what can be done. My direct line is (760 ) 804-5038. Thank you. Don Elliott, Customer Service Manager

August 25, 2018

"Great deal, great people, and great customer experience!"

- Just my opinion - from Palm Springs

Negotiated the deal with their Internet specialist, Jill Richardson who gave me a great deal on my 3.6 Outback Limited. I came in the next day because while we live near Palm Springs, the local dealer seems to know they have a captured customer base and sell for extreme profit. Jill was terrific and after a short conversation, she sent me an email with a firm offer which I accepted on the spot. It was much less than I had planned to pay (and much less than what I offered the Palm Springs dealer - who turned me down flat). We drove up to Carlsbad the next day and consummated the deal with the very active support of Bob Matson, who became our Bob Baker representative who stayed with us through delivery of the car, and the person who follows up with me regularly regarding our experience with the car, and if we have any questions or issues. Bob is another terrific Bob Baker customer representative who not only knows the cars inside and out, but also understands how the dealership business operates and he led us through that process professionally and competently. I recommend Bob to anyone who wants to purchase a car from Bob Baker VW & Subaru - Carlsbad as I do Jill Richardson, if you intend to pursue your purchase using the Internet, or if you are using a 'buying service' such as the one offered by CostCo. In summary, while Bob Baker is clearly a volume dealer, meaning they sell a lot of cars and price them right, versus a dealer that only sells a few and prices them accordingly (with a lot of profit built into the price), Baker also is laser focused on Customer Service. Everyone I worked with at Bob Baker were professional, competent, friendly and always concerned about how I felt and how we were doing as we completed the purchase process. So, go no further than Bob Baker Subaru of Carlsbad, and ask for Bob Matson or Jill Richardson.to get the best deal on a new or used Subaru!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jill Richardson, Bob Matson
August 21, 2018

"Untrustworthy financial interaction"

- BCB

My initial impression of my experience with Bob Baker Subaru was quite positive. It wasn’t until nine days after the completion of my purchase that I received a phone call stating that I needed to pay $2K as the down payment per the contract. There was no down payment on the offer sheet I had signed. When I met with the Financial Manager Scott Eisold, he stated he was not aware of such a document even though the salesman “Uncle Jim” stated to me in a phone call immediately after my meeting with Scott that the signed document was delivered to finance. This is the crux of the issue, an offer sheet was signed and is not being honored (according to Scott, it doesn’t exist, my wife was present when I signed the offer sheet and will attest to that). Scott discounted the down payment mistake as “possibly a data entry error by the sales manager”. Unfortunately, this wasn’t the only mistake during the transaction, there were four other mistakes made by Bob Baker Subaru. I acknowledge my mistake in not double checking the financial representative’s (Luis) work on the contract even though I did correct Luis’s term of “down payment” to “trade in” to which he replied “correct”. If attention to detail is important to you, then my recommendation would be not to use Bob Baker Subaru. If you decide to forego my advice, take a calculator to “do the math yourself” as Scott said I should have done and get your own copies of the offer sheets.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
“Uncle Jim” sales rep, Luis (finance rep), Scott Eisold
Sep 12, 2018 -

Bob Baker Subaru responded

Yes there was a clerical error which was not caught by either the dealership representative or the customer. It came to light when we reached out to the customer to collect a $2,000 down payment which he claimed he did not owe, but was on his sales contract which he signed. The Finance Director researched the deal and discussed it with the customer. In the end, the customer was provided a re-contracted deal with out the $2,000 down payment.

Sep 12, 2018 -

BCB responded

I, the customer acknowledged signing a contract with a down payment stated, as with my initial comment, during the review of the contract with Luis, I corrected his use of the term “Down payment” to “trade in” to which Luis replied “correct”. At that point my perception is that there is NO down payment. The clerical error only came to light due to my vigorous rebuttal of me providing a $2K payment via the phone. The dealership’s reply does not address the other issues, namely the gone missing signed offer sheet. Given the options of providing $2K for the down payment, recontracting without the down payment or going to court I choose to re contract. I seriously considered the court option, yet since my best piece of evidence, the signed offer sheet mysteriously vanished, I felt my chances were slim.

March 18, 2018

"Our experience at Bob Baker Subaru"

- V

Our experience buying our Subaru Forester was hassle free and not stressful at all. Our salesman Sid was extremely helpful as well as Rich the finance guy. If you are looking to buy a Subaru I highly recommend going to Bob Baker Subaru you won’t be sorry you did.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sid
February 16, 2018

"Great! I'm so happy I went to Bob Baker!"

- Sharon B.

Jason Fields was my sales person and he was very professional, patient and informative. Jason and Bob Baker Subaru came highly recommended by a friend and that made a big impact on me. I was super pleased with the entire experience. I felt confident I was receiving the best price when I purchased my new Subaru CrossTrek. I'll be taken care of at Bob Baker Subaru and am referring friends to Jason Fields.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason Fields
October 08, 2017

"Not very friendly or accommodating "

- Jerry

I own a 2916 Crosstrek and love it. I’ve done a lot or upgrades and modifications to it and have been responsible for quite a few others purchasing Subaru’s. I called this dealer and spoke to a salesman about test driving a 2018 Crosstrek. He said sure and to ask for him when I got there. When I arrived I asked for him and when he approached me he asked what my intensions were TODAY, to buy or just to test drive. I told him I wanted to test drive I didn’t plan on purchasing this same day. So, he pawed me off to another guy who want all too friendly. I got to drive the car but in truth if I were to purchase the 2018 (which I might) it will not be from this dealer. How customers are treated is an indication of the management from the top down. I’d have to say the management at Bob Baker is pretty much lacking in customer etiquette. Go somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Batista
1
...
1 - 10 of 164 results