About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Bob Johnson Chevrolet

N/A

8 Lifetime Reviews

2780 Lakeville Road, Avon, New York 14414 Directions
Sales: (585) 991-6605

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

8 Reviews of Bob Johnson Chevrolet

Sort by Write a review
June 21, 2016

"Worst truck buying experience!!"

- James Woodruff

Drove truck off lot. They never did a truck alignment. Now I am out 2 new tires and an alignment. The store manager is rude,and would not cover costs. When I asked sales man that sold me truck hr said his hands were tied. Funny..his hands weren't tied before I paid him. CROOKS!!!! This was a $27,000 dollar truck... 2013 Chevy Silverado.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bryan
September 16, 2013

"I wish I could select a negative number because the..."

- frustrated2

I wish I could select a negative number because the number I would be selecting would me a negative 10. I have never dealt with a salesmanager who is rude, sarcastic and as demeaning to his customers as Mike. My daughter bought a car from them and received assistance with the down payment. He was rude to that person when all she did was ask who to make the check out to. That should have been a red flag. He sold her a lemon and has been giving her a hard time about fixing their problem. They stated they refused to speak with her because she was upset to the fact she has a new baby that was in the back seat of this car when the car hesitated for several minutes in the middle of a 4 lane road as she was trying to enter. They claimed it was a stuck throttle. The next week it was completely broke down along side the road. They said the main transmission like broke. She had this car a total of 3 weeks. She said this car is going to be nothing but trouble, please take it back or allow me to take it to another mechanic to have fixed over and they fix it before she takes it. They stated they will fix the transmission but they are not going to fix anything else. They talked her into buying an extra insurance to cover it when it breaks down, she has to pay for the first $100. Now they are saying that all that is for is motor and transmission that is not due to normal wear and tear. The transmission line is normal wear and tear they claim. My daughter paid over $2000 for this extra insurance. So when my daughter got upset, they said they will not talk to her anymore, I have to be the one to talk with them. Mike then had the nerve to call my daughter to ask when she was picking up her car and began making rude comments to her abut not being able to take care of her own affairs, she has to send Mommy to do it for her. HE told me the day we left the care to be repaired the only reason why my daughter does not want her car back is because she doesn ot want to have to pay for it. He stated that the reason why she is in their bad credit program is because she never wants to pay for anything she purchases. One thing that he does not know, my daughter does not have credit because she has always paid cash. She thought she would go with them to try to build up her credit. When ever my daughter tried to call them, they hung up the phone on her. What business does this when she only said Hello. This has been such a bad experience exprience, I don't recommend anyone to buy from them. They tell you one thing and do something different, they don't stand ehiind the used cars they sell, and the used cars are over 100,00 miles. Every new/used car dealers I have worked with in the past refuses to sell anything that is that high in miles because they are too unpredictable as far was what may or may not need to be done. They don't want to have a bad name. They claim that they knew the person who traded in this car and knew its service history. They claim that the transmission and motor has always had regular maintaintance. When the transmission went on hthis car, I checked the fluid. The fluid had a burned smell to it and black came off the dipstick. There was fresh fluid on the dipstick because my daughter was told by the to keep adding fluid to get it to her place. We are talking of every 1/2 miles, stopping to add a quart of transmission fluid with a baby in the back seat. She had to drive 10 miles to get home. We are talking about 20 quarts of transmission fluid they expected for her to add. They are CRAZY!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike (Sales Manager) and I can't remember if the salesmans name was Chris or Dave.
September 16, 2013

"I went to this dealership to purchased a used car...."

- danoo65

I went to this dealership to purchased a used car. Shortly after I purchased it My car hesitated while I was driving. I called them furious. I said some things I shouldn't have as I was mad. But they used the fact that I swore at them as an excuse to treat me with nothing but disrespect. They lied about taking the car back and reversing the loan. They lied about the problem being fixed since the day after they fixed it I needed to call tow truck. They threatened to call my girlfriend so they could start drama between the two of us. I have never had such a negative experience with any business and would not recommend them to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave Sproul, Mike, Steve, Al
September 11, 2013

"We went to Ideal to look at new Tahoe's on a Sunday..."

- RSPanella

We went to Ideal to look at new Tahoe's on a Sunday afternoon, it was the fourth dealership we had been to in the last couple of weeks. There is something to be said for this "country" dealership, only 20 minutes from Rochester & located right off 390. Our initial contact was with the manager Al, after talking to him for two minutes my husband looked at me & said "We are buying a car here" Al, was very welcoming & genuine and he immediately got us on the right track. Our salesman, Dave Sproull was very knowledgeable & didn't give us that uneasy feeling we had gotten from other salesman in the previous weeks. They had a great selection of Tahoe's & we were driving one & talking numbers pretty quickly. Dave was very thorough in discussing our options & the full disclosure was very appreciated. We made our deal ( better price & more $ for our trade-in, right off the bat!) & decided to finance through the dealership as well. The interest rate Ideal found us was better than my own credit union of 25 years offered me! When I went back to get our new Tahoe Monday night they had everything ready to go exactly as agreed. Again Al, Dave & Mike greeted me & John (the finance guy) had all of the paperwork organized & ready to go, it was quick & painless! My truck was spotless, with a full tank of gas & Dave even synced my Iphone to my Bluetooth before I left. From what I understand Ideal is recently under this new management team & it is definitely working for them. I left the dealership feeling that we had gotten exactly what we came in for & the best deal out there, I can't recommend Ideal enough!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave Sproull, Al Antinarellai,Mike, John
June 23, 2013

"Good day to you all and a GREAT day for us. We have..."

- calvinsharon86

Good day to you all and a GREAT day for us. We have recently purchased a new Chevy Cruz from Ideal Chevrolet. My salesman Dave S. is the best in the business. He took the time to know us and understand OUR needs. I am actually a return customer of Dave's. Between Dave S. and the new managment, my experience was very uplifting and satifactory. Every person there is friendly and curtious. We were very impressed, including meeting with the service department. On the financial side, Mike G. and his staff have a lot to be proud of. He is the icing on the cake that sealed the deal for us. I will return for my next vehicle. Sincerely, Calvin and Sharon Clark Hornell, NY

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike G. and Dave S
May 11, 2013

"My experience with the dealership all the way around was..."

- jackjosh

My experience with the dealership all the way around was positive. In the past, this dealership has had a reputation of not meeting customer expectations. I decided since they were under new management and some new staff members I would give it a try. I was suprised and very pleased with the service and understanding of my sales person Chip. He clearly put me in a great car that met my needs price wise and fuel wise. I felt comfortable and not at all pressured. He listened to what I wanted and needed. Not only do I recommend Ideal but I would recommend dealing with Chip Cheney. I hope the surrounding communities or anyone looking for a car would give them a try. You will not be disappointed. Kudos Chip and staff at Ideal Chevrolet.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
chip cheney
April 10, 2013

"Do not fall for free oil changes or inspections. They get..."

- karylsue

Do not fall for free oil changes or inspections. They get you in & rip you off by telling you you need other work done. I first went in for an oil change and was talked into a transmission flush & since my car is a 2003, I thought it would be good for the car since my owner's manuel said so. Since I had agreed to that, Gary continuously tried to get me to have other work done that I know was not needed. For this, I waited over 2 hours to have completed and I had a scheduled appointment. Since that visit, I was told I was a "preferred customer" and would be eligible for 3 free oil changes. They also have coupons out offering free inspections. So I went back for an inspection, which again I had scheduled an appt. After an hour wait, I was told that I needed both front control arm bushings to the tune of $1,234.14 and that could be done right then. I said I didn't have the time or money but was told I needed to have the work done soon so I asked for a written estimate and was told I'd be given it when it was finished. I said it's not finished yet and was told no, they we waiting for my reply. From there, I waited over another hour and was livid that an inspection was taking that long. When it was done, I asked for the estimate and Gary says, oh yeh, and scribbles those words (both front control arm bushings $1,234.14) on the back of my invoice. I went to my local (& honest) mechanic to see about these bushings and was told neither was needed at all. I shouldn't be shocked at this but was very angry that someone (who possible works for commission?) would try to rip someone off like this (is it because I'm a female?) or is just his or their basic policy??? I've heard many other people state complaints about this place too. WARNING: STAY AWAY FROM IDEAL CHEVROLET!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary
October 05, 2008

"The worst place to buy a car! I bought a new cobalt and I..."

- jamescfleck

The worst place to buy a car! I bought a new cobalt and I was lied to from the begining to the end of the deal. First I made the deal for $2500 off the new car. When I went to sign the contract ,I noticed it was only for $2000 off. When I confronted the sales person, she said she made a mistake and forgot to tell me. After an hour of playing games I got the $2500 off.Then I was lied to about the method I wanted to use for financing. I wanted to get a loan until the credit card I have matured to 0%.I was going to pay the loan off with that credit card. I was told by the financial guy (chris) and sales person that that that was no proplem. When I called the loan company 1 month later they said they would not accept credit cards for a pay off. I tryed calling the sales person but she had been fired by then. I called the manager(larry)and he said he would get back to me. He never called me back. I went to the dealership. Larry would not see me so he sent steve out to talk to me. I told steve about the problem. He said "well didn't you sign a contract"? I said I'm sick of f---ing around. the little rat stood up, pointed in my face,and started screaming "don't you swear in the show room". Now I admit I should not have swore in the show room but by this time I was totally fustrated. Nobody even knew what was going on until steve started screaming at me. Then finally Larry talked to me. He said if I swore again he would throw me out of the dealership. I told him my story while chris was sitting there and they both said they would both take care of the problem. I called chris several times and he said he was working on the problem. Neither larry or chris ever returned my phone calls. This all started at the begining of june and now it is 10-5-08.I guess they swept this issue under the carpet. I won't even think of buying from them again. I will be taking my car to O'Connor Chevrolet for service. In 1997 I bought a Cavalier From Ideal. They gave me some crazy low amount for my trade-in, far below book value. They said my vehicle had to many miles on it(104,000)and it would have to go to auction. Two days later it was on their lot for sale. I went back this time thinking by now they probably changed...WRONG.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Maggie,Chris,Larry,Steve
1
1 - 8 of 8 results