Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc.

Colorado Springs, CO

4.7
1,830 Reviews
The Penkhus Motor Company that you see today had its humble beginning back in 1951 when Robert N. Penkhus moved his young family from Ames, Iowa, and opened a small used car operation in Colorado Springs. New cars were added to the operation on Pikes Peak Avenue in 1957 when the Company became one of the ten dealers in the United States to obtain a Volvo Franchise. In 1972 the Volvo Franchise was moved to a fledgling area of Colorado Springs called Motor City. The combination of a quality product and a reputation for excellent customer service assured continued growth, including the addition of a Mazda franchise, in October 1972, at the Pikes Peak Avenue location. In 1975, Mazda joined Volvo in Motor City to increase productivity and to better serve our customers. Mr. Penkhus' son, Robert A. Penkhus ("Bob"), was a "permanent fixture" around the dealership from an early age, so it was natural that he would join his father in the business upon his graduation from the University of Denver. Bob Penkhus gradually assumed responsibility for all aspects of dealership operations and in 1977, became President of Penkhus Motor Company. Mr. Penkhus' concerns for his customers and employees, coupled with his enthusiasm for our products, have resulted in continued success and growth. Development of a new car display area along Interstate 25 in 1987 was followed one year later by a major service and parts expansion project in which we added fourteen mechanical and detail service stalls, doubled the parts area, and built an enclosed customer service area. In the spring of 1999 our growth continued with the opening of our second Select Certified location and a Domestic and Import Service Center on Austin Bluffs Parkway. With the growth of Colorado Springs, Penkhus Motor Company wanted to ensure that it was meeting customer needs. In 2004 Penkhus Motor Company remodeled its Motor City location including constructing a new showroom and making other improvements at the Motor City location. In 2006 Penkhus Motor Company constructed a new facility at Woodman and Powers, which is the Bob Penkhus Mazda at Powers store. In 2009 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Volkswagen franchise and opened the Volkswagen franchise at the Motor City Drive location. In 2012 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Mitsubishi franchise which is located at the Austin Bluffs Parkway Select Certified location. That facility is now known as Bob Penkhus Mitsubishi. As a result of our commitment to excellence, Bob Penkhus Mazda is the Number 1 volume dealer in the Gulf region. Based on customer satisfaction levels, Bob Penkhus Motor Company has been recognized as a Volvo Dealer of Excellence and has been inducted into the Mazda Presidents Club. Our continued success and growth requires each of our employees to possess a commitment to excellence toward each of our customers. Each member of the Penkhus Motor Company team should strive daily to meet all Penkhus Motor Company standards and goals in order to ensure future growth and success.

1101 Motor City Dr

Colorado Springs, CO

80905

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 1,830 reviews

August 04, 2021

"Chris Sherban always goes above and beyond to make sure..."

- CARLA.FLEURY

Chris Sherban always goes above and beyond to make sure we are being taken care of. Service is usually quick and I am kept informed during the service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 04, 2021

"The customer service is excellent at this dealership...."

- K.EI_KEIMA12

The customer service is excellent at this dealership. Very informative and helpful! Thank you Chris for the great customer service. Please have a good day!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 04, 2021

"Mike went out of his way and worked endlessly to fulfill..."

- REGINANGERRY

Mike went out of his way and worked endlessly to fulfill my needs and requests. He was patient and understanding and very kind! It was a very positive experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 04, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

Regina thank you for coming to see us for your vehicle needs. We pleased to hear Mike was able to help you and make it a great experience. Come see us again.

August 03, 2021

"The staff was very professional. Chris, the service..."

- VAWAHI

The staff was very professional. Chris, the service advisor, did an excellent job keeping me updated about issues with my car. Service was prompt and expert.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 04, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

We appreciate you coming to see us for you service needs. Chris is great and we pleased to hear he made you experience a good one. See you at the next visit.

August 02, 2021

"I had never driven a Volvo until I visited Bob Penkhus..."

- JAMESHEIDE

I had never driven a Volvo until I visited Bob Penkhus Volvo. What a great experience. I definitely prefer my Volvo over my last BMW. Thanks to all of the great staff for making my first experience with Volvo memorable.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 04, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

James congratulations on your new Volvo. We are happy we could help you convert and we are positive you will love it for many years to come. Come see us again for any other car needs.

August 02, 2021

"Everyone in the service department was friendly,..."

- Ks

Everyone in the service department was friendly, courteous and professional. I always have a great experience when I am at the dealership whether with sales or service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 04, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

Thank you for coming to see us for your car needs. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience. Come see us again soon.

August 02, 2021

"Fabian and Chris were amazing and did a great job taking..."

- CORCOUCHMAN

Fabian and Chris were amazing and did a great job taking care of my vehicle. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a respectable and worthwhile shop.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Aug 04, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

Thank you for the 5 star review and giving Fabian and Chris a shoutout. We will be sure to let them know of your kind words. See you at the next appointment.

August 02, 2021

"Dan has been very helpful! He has answered all my..."

- BIKINICOLE2019

Dan has been very helpful! He has answered all my questions and concerns!! I would recommend Dan to all guests that use Bob Penkus Service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 04, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

Nicole thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with Dan. We are happy to hear he made your visit an excellent. Come see us again.

July 30, 2021

"Nice service. But they have you text a a number on your..."

- GERMANO.KRISTI

Nice service. But they have you text a a number on your day of service for communication. Which they never respond and don’t even seem to get messages through it. That’s frustrating. It’s also hard to get through to anyone. And they once put an incorrect tire (not the one I requested) And didn’t notify me. i notice when I got my receipt to pay for it. A little late when they are closing and you need your car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 02, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

Kristi thank you for the honest feedback. We apologize for the issue with the tires. Come see us again so we can earn back your trust.

July 29, 2021

"Even though there was a problem with my appointment,..."

- SDLIVIN2

Even though there was a problem with my appointment, Brian accepted my car, did excellent work. Now I have to babel on in order to reach 25 words.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aug 02, 2021 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo, Mazda Inc. responded

Thank you for the 5 star review and giving Brian a shoutout.

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,830 results