Back

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen

Colorado Springs, CO

4.7
2,688 Reviews
The Penkhus Motor Company that you see today had its humble beginning back in 1951 when Robert N. Penkhus moved his young family from Ames, Iowa, and opened a small used car operation in Colorado Springs. New cars were added to the operation on Pikes Peak Avenue in 1957 when the Company became one of the ten dealers in the United States to obtain a Volvo Franchise. In 1972 the Volvo Franchise was moved to a fledgling area of Colorado Springs called Motor City. The combination of a quality product and a reputation for excellent customer service assured continued growth, including the addition of a Mazda franchise, in October 1972, at the Pikes Peak Avenue location. In 1975, Mazda joined Volvo in Motor City to increase productivity and to better serve our customers. Mr. Penkhus' son, Robert A. Penkhus ("Bob"), was a "permanent fixture" around the dealership from an early age, so it was natural that he would join his father in the business upon his graduation from the University of Denver. Bob Penkhus gradually assumed responsibility for all aspects of dealership operations and in 1977, became President of Penkhus Motor Company. Mr. Penkhus' concerns for his customers and employees, coupled with his enthusiasm for our products, have resulted in continued success and growth. Development of a new car display area along Interstate 25 in 1987 was followed one year later by a major service and parts expansion project in which we added fourteen mechanical and detail service stalls, doubled the parts area, and built an enclosed customer service area. In the spring of 1999 our growth continued with the opening of our second Select Certified location and a Domestic and Import Service Center on Austin Bluffs Parkway. With the growth of Colorado Springs, Penkhus Motor Company wanted to ensure that it was meeting customer needs. In 2004 Penkhus Motor Company remodeled its Motor City location including constructing a new showroom and making other improvements at the Motor City location. In 2006 Penkhus Motor Company constructed a new facility at Woodman and Powers, which is the Bob Penkhus Mazda at Powers store. In 2009 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Volkswagen franchise and opened the Volkswagen franchise at the Motor City Drive location. In 2012 Penkhus Motor Company acquired a Mitsubishi franchise which is located at the Austin Bluffs Parkway Select Certified location. That facility is now known as Bob Penkhus Mitsubishi. As a result of our commitment to excellence, Bob Penkhus Mazda is the Number 1 volume dealer in the Gulf region. Based on customer satisfaction levels, Bob Penkhus Motor Company has been recognized as a Volvo Dealer of Excellence and has been inducted into the Mazda Presidents Club. Our continued success and growth requires each of our employees to possess a commitment to excellence toward each of our customers. Each member of the Penkhus Motor Company team should strive daily to meet all Penkhus Motor Company standards and goals in order to ensure future growth and success.
Contact Dealership

1101 Motor City Dr

Colorado Springs, CO

80905

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 2,689 reviews

September 26, 2022

It is stress free to go there for anything! They have a great staff and waiting environment. More

by RKSMITH2005
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Amanda Mead
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Kasseday Dunnuck
Sep 30, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you very much for the kind words. See you at the next appointment.

September 26, 2022

Jalyn was a pleasure to work with. He was on top of every aspect of the process and everything went super smooth. We will definitely be buying cars from him in the future! More

by hannahs5
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jalyn Walker
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 30, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Hannah thank you very much for coming to see us for your car shopping needs. We are extremely pleased to hear Jalyn could make this a simple process. Thank you for trusting us and we look forward to your next visit.

September 26, 2022

This dealership records the mechanics initial review of your car and sends you the video. I have been screwed over by a BUNCH of mechanics, but this way makes me trust this dealership to work on only what More

by DENISA_WHITNEY
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 30, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Denisa we appreciate you taking the time to share about your interaction with our staff. Thank you for coming to see us and we look forward to your next appointment.

September 25, 2022

Brian is the greatest. He always makes me feel at home while I wait for my service. More

by BMAURO_7
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the 5 star review.

September 25, 2022

Took a little bit of time just because the part needed was uncommon. But happy with the work. More

by JMS_KAUTZ
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Sherban
4.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the kind review.

September 24, 2022

This was a regular checkup appointment that turned into three different ones. During the first appointment the techs discovered that my tires needed replacements, but the store didn't have any in stock. I More

by LYNNEFACE
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Study
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Lynn we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about your experience. We strive to provide the best service in town and are pleased to hear Chris could demonstrate that during this unfortunate time. Thank you for trusting us with the care of your vehicle.

September 23, 2022

For one year now, I have told them about the small oil leak in the turbo oil line. They repaired some other problems I had with it, but never get around to doing that. We were dealing with Chris in the More

by chilipepper1957@yahoo.com
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Sherban
3.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Other Employees : Danielle
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you trusting us with your service needs and apologize about the oil leak. Thank you for giving Danielle a shout out we will be sure to let her know she is doing a great job. Please feel free to contact me at 719-785-9615 if you would like to discuss this matter further and so that I can help make things right. Respectfully, Bud Hall Service Manager 719-785-9615

September 23, 2022

Quick and friendly service. We have come to trust our service advisor Brian to take care of our Jetta and to always give us solid advice. The team has done a great job for us fo More

by SCOTT_SWARTZELL
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Dorcey
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Scott thank you for trusting us with your Jetta's service needs.

September 23, 2022

I've been working with Chris Sherban for many years and had good experiences with him. He has now moved to a different department and this visit I was scheduled with Christopher. He was equally as knowledg More

by Mark T.
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Study
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Mark we appreciate the trust you put in us to care for your Volvo. Chris is great at what he does and we are pleased to hear you had a positive experience with him. We will be sure to share your kind words with him. See you at the next appointment.

September 22, 2022

Justin is awesome, and trustworthy! ! I appreciate him going above and beyond for us. Top notch service, and they wash your car. More

by SKYORTIVEZ
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Justin Brant
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Andrew Cossman
5.0
This rating includes all reviews, with more weight given to recent reviews.
Sep 26, 2022 -

Bob Penkhus Volvo Mazda Volkswagen responded

Sky we appreciate your review. Justin is great and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the visit.

21 - 30 of 2,689 results