About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Brinson Ford Lincoln of Athens

4.2

625 Lifetime Reviews

2970 E HWY 31, Athens, Texas 75752 Directions
Sales: (903) 676-5200

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

625 Reviews of Brinson Ford Lincoln of Athens

Sort by Write a review
October 25, 2018

"John Boyd is a liar"

- Neverwillbeback

Went to the dealership 2 Saturday’s ago. Told them what I wanted and told me no problem. Said we found your truck and it will be here Monday. Signed paperwork got into a loaner and drove off. Monday comes around no truck. Tuesday comes around no truck, all the way to Friday. Demanded my truck back and after refusing to leave the dealership they finally said it’s coming around. I hope the owner of this dealership gets to read this and somehow makes it right. John Boyd is nothing but a liar.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Boyd
July 17, 2018

"Go anywhere else!!!"

- Snoopy

Deceitful and deceptive! Save yourself the time and effort and go ANYWHERE but to a Brinson dealership! They are not truthful on advertised pricing, lie about inventory, and are blatantly rude to customers. Extremely disappointed that a dealership like this even exists. Shameful!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Whitley
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Jason Smith-Corsicana branch
April 22, 2018

"Do not recommend"

- Jenna75754

I would give them 0 stars - I should have done this months ago but I got busy and am just now getting to it. As I go to file a complaint about Brinson Ford - Athens, I see that their ratings are already pitiful. Now it makes sense, they just don't care. My complaint is that they are very unethical and be sure to check your mileage of your new & old car before signing off on it. I don't see where they did anything illegal (or at least can't prove it because I was not there at the time of purchase). My 80 year old grandma with the help of a daughter purchased a used car from them in May. Several people pointed out that the car had a damaged frame (as if it had been wrecked and repaired). The dashboard lights would randomly come on, low tires/gas cap open/engine warning light/inaccurate cruise control setting. After repeated visits to Brinson Ford, the only suggestions the service department gave here was to trade it in for a price much lower than her purchase price. (Shortly after she purchased it, she went into the hospital for two weeks and then couldn't drive for another two weeks.) She went back 6/10, alone. She was talked into trading the used car that she owned less than two months for a new car. The paperwork says she drove over 600 miles in that short time. There is no way she even went 200 miles. She went in to speak with her salesman, Scot, and he convinced her that the Focus was not enough for her, she needed a Fusion. The owners manual was not in the car and after repeated requests, she said Jarvis Coper was very helpful and got that together with her plates and spare key. I went over all of the paperwork and went in to talk to the finance manager. The sale was done, we were not asking to give the car back and get our money. I wanted to know their side of the story before I posted her side on the internet. I asked if they told her how much she would be losing if she traded it in. Mike or Mark (whoever the finance guy is) said that they go over the numbers in detail. A typical "little old lady" isn't going to understand your "details" but she would understand if you said "you are about to lose $8000". These guys lack then ability to put themselves in the place of anyone else. All they are seeing is $$$$. My question was "how would you feel if your mother/grandmother/wife/sister/daughter felt like someone took advantage of them all because they didn't want to 'bother' you?" The guy was either flustered or didn't understand the policies that he is selling. He wanted to argue about her needing GAP insurance. I read the contract, we can call and cancel so that does not concern him. I had to correct him on how GAP insurance works. Hopefully he knows and was just caught off guard. As for the extended warranty, I wanted a refund for that. He did show me where they pro-rated it and applied it to her down payment on the new car, which is fair but was very rude and hostile about the entire situation. He then continued to argue the extended warranty sale on the new car and refused to refund that. He said it was not possible for the way they created the loan. When you choose 0% interest, you are losing out on other rebates. The dealers will push it but it is not always worth it. That was the case here. She bought a brand new car, got a $1500 rebate... so paid 1500 less than sticker price. When it comes down to it, they made a lot of money off this little old lady. Talking to him was like talking to a programmed minion, almost like he was reading a phrase it out of a book, repeating it over and over. He doesn't know anything but what he was told.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Andrews
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Jarvis Cofer
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Scott Whitley
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Apr 23, 2018 -

Jenna75754 responded

The manager contacted me and I have changed my other reviews to 4 stars. I still do not like the finance guy but the manager was very helpful and gave me their side of situation because I was not there when my grandmother visited several times prior to me going with her. Edit from 1 star a day later - As soon as I posted this, the sales manager contacted me to get my side of the story. She gave me her side, because I was not there with my grandmother the first few visits, only went with her after she purchased a car. I feel like the blame is on both sides, my grandmother should not have gone alone. My only complaint at this point is how the finance guy treated us when we went in to speak with him. He was very aggressive during the entire conversation. I thought we would go into an office but he had a sit at a desk by the door and spoke loud enough for the "audience" at the front desk to hear. -- My original complaint was that I felt they were very unethical. My 80 year old grandma with the help of a daughter purchased a used car from them in May. Several people pointed out that the car had a damaged frame (as if it had been wrecked and repaired). *The service department's records show that they looked over the vehicle with another family member and the Carfax did not show anything.* The dashboard lights would randomly come on, low tires/gas cap open/engine warning light/inaccurate cruise control setting. *The service dept. did not see this problem, it was working when the car came in.* The only suggestions the service department gave her was to trade it in for a price much lower than her purchase price. Shortly after she purchased it, she went into the hospital for two weeks and then couldn't drive for another two weeks. She went back 6/10, alone. She traded the used car for a new car. She went in to speak with her salesman and he convinced her that the Focus was not enough for her, she needed a Fusion. *She felt like he took advantage of her which breaks my heart that she feels like that, I am not arguing the bigger car though.* The owners manual was not in the car and after repeated requests she felt it took a long time to get it. I went over all of the paperwork and went in to talk to the finance manager. The sale was done, we were not asking to give the car back and get her money. I wanted to know their side of the story before I posted her side on the internet. I asked if they told her how much she would be losing if she traded it in. The finance guy said that they go over the numbers in detail. A typical "little old lady" isn't going to understand all of the "details" but she would understand if you said "you are about to lose $8000". These guys lack then ability to put themselves in the place of anyone else. All they are seeing is $$$$. My question was "how would you feel if your mother/grandmother/wife/sister/daughter felt like someone took advantage of them all because they didn't want to 'bother' you?" We felt like he was very rude (and loud) about the entire situation. He then continued to argue the extended warranty sale on the new car and refused to refund that. He said it was not possible for the way they created the loan. When you choose 0% interest, you are losing out on other rebates. You need to go in knowing the difference between how much the 0% is saving you vs how much the rebates would save you. When it comes down to it, they made a lot of money off this little old lady. It is scary how many people go in to purchase a vehicle and don't understand what they bought and how much they paid. **After speaking with the sales manager, she apologized that we felt this way about it and she offered to help in any way. She was not there when I went in so it could have potentially been handled differently if we spoke with her instead of the finance guy. After speaking to her and I wasn't there the first few visits, I am going to assume that they handle this all like most other dealerships would, minus the finance guy.

March 08, 2018

"Great experience!"

- Haley Darby

Don Kilgore was very accommodating and informative! The process was speedy and the staff was very friendly. We will be coming back for our next vehicle! I would recommend to anyone looking for a vehicle to check out Brinson and request Don Kilgore!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don, Kilgore
December 05, 2017

"Bad vehicles and service department"

- Bryan Young

Bought a Ford Explorer and Ford F150 and havent had either of them more than a year. The Ford Explorer we are just getting out of the shop for exhaust fumes. Also has a bad noise coming from the dash in which I was told they could not fix because thats under the 12 month 12000 mile warranty. Explore just went over 12000 mile warranty. They said 36000 bumper to bumper warranty doesnt cover that. We tried getting the car in months ago before 12000 miles and they kept saying not to bring it in until it makes the noise. The noise would come and go so they said dont bring. Now they say they cant fix it. The Ford F150 is going in to shop tomorrow for safety recall and when starting a huge cloud of white smoke pours out of the tailpipe which is very embarrassing to drive. Im not satisfied with my vehicles at all. When you buy new cars you dont expect everything to go wrong with them in the first year of driving them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jason Canady
Shane Moreno
July 26, 2017

"Excellent Dealership--Purchased a 2005 Chrysler 300 Touring"

- Arkansan

Brinson Ford in Athens, Texas is an excellent dealership. I purchased a 2005 Chrysler 300 Touring from Brinson Ford. The Sales Manager (John) and the Sales Consultant (Norman) were excellent. It was just a great buying process. They even transported the vehicle to me in Arkansas. I highly recommend to anyone who is looking to purchase a vehicle in the Eastern/Northeastern area of Texas to shop at Brinson Ford in Athens. I also recommend anyone in the Western Arkansas/Eastern Oklahoma area to shop at Brinson Ford. in Athens, Texas.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Norman Hammonds
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : John
July 04, 2017

"Exceptional service"

- Asl9615

Came into the dealership as a first time buyer with a budget, the cut my down payment and still got me within budget. The work with credit and are very friendly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Andrews
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Destinee Sellers
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 20, 2017

"Great Experience!"

- Mindy86

Ben is awesome! Other dealerships denied me because of how much I still owed on my car, but Ben went above and beyond to get me into a brand new car! Pretty much did everything over the phone on my lunch break! They even delivered the car to ME! I definitely recommend these guys!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Benjamin Lee
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 20, 2017

"Bentley Review"

- donrbentley

Very helpful and was able to answer all questions I had about the vehicle and financing options. Financing employee was also very knowledgeable and informative when ask questions concerning our purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jarvis Cofer
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
April 19, 2017

"I was pleased with my experience"

- elizab123

It was a pleasure to deal with the personnel there was no pressure, they had a vehicle that I was interested in and they answered all my questions & then some. I am pleased and would recommend them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Andrews
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Norman Hammonds
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : John Boyd
1
...
1 - 10 of 625 results