Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Car City Inc

4.9

238 Lifetime Reviews

4550 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, Iowa 50310
Contact Dealership

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 238 reviews

October 21, 2019

"Terrible experience"

- Damrowmom

I purchased a car from Car City in mid-August. It is now October 21 and still no plates. I called the dealership on September 14 as I only had a tag for September 15th. The title person told me that the title was not signed and they were working on it. The manager brought out a new tag with a November 15th deadline for license plates which I'm told is illegal. I called DOT this morning and they asked me to get a date when the title was sent to them. I called and talked to a new title person as the other title person was fired soon after I called in about the title work. I was told the title work has not been sent in. The entire transaction is soon to be under investigation and there will be further investigation on if the title was pre-dated and who signed it. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS DEALER! The car came with worn tires - I did not check that aspect and should have but asked and was told they have another year of life on them. They don't. No gas in the car and the oil change was not up to date. What do I want? MY MONEY BACK plus interest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Manager
October 17, 2019

"Excellent!"

- Krysta

This was my first time buying a car. Dave was so patient and explained everything very well for me! I didn’t feel rushed or pressured to make any decisions I wasn’t comfortable with. I would highly recommend this dealership to anyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 27, 2019

"AMAZING "

- jansell

Mohammed Ali is AMAZING! I needed a car and he made it happen! love this place! Would definitely recommend this place, for sure!! Love it!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 20, 2019

"Great experience!"

- gimbly

Their service was awesome, the price was just right, and Ali was really helpful throughout the entire process! I would definitely recommend buying your next vehicle here!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 16, 2019

"Pleasant, friendly, worked with me, prompt, courteous"

- Licht

Dave was patient while I decided if this was the right vehicle for me. He took the time to explain warranty options. A positive experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
August 10, 2019

"Walk in as a customer- leave as a friend!"

- Jgcic

We found an ad for the perfect truck at Car City. Based on past experience at other dealerships- we dreaded the purchase process. You know the usual fast talking, pushy, high pressure "gotta buy it NOW" kinda guys..... Well to our surprise and amazement- we met Dave McClannahan and he was so easy going! No rush, no push - just kind conversation and easy answers. WOW! We loved it! My husband and I met with Dave at different times. I usually dread the process of talking to a salesman about a vehicle because I don't appreciate them talking down to me or treating me like a woman who doesn't know anything about vehicles. NOT DAVE! Dave showed me the same high level of respect he had for my husband! Ladies - shop here for your cars - and ask for Dave! You will be glad you did!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 22, 2019

"Great experience "

- NachoBu

Ali was helpful and courteous. He was able to get me the price range I wanted and got me a good deal. I will send my friends here

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 19, 2019

"Great!"

- Jay

This place is great for getting a first car! Dave was great! Gave me a good price and was able to get me out in my new car within an hour!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 06, 2019

"Great prices and courteous staff"

- barcher1212

By far the best experience I've had with a car dealership. No one was pushy and the vehicles are priced very well. Mohammad was wonderful to work work! He was very polite, professional, and courteous. Highly recommend Mohammad!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
July 06, 2019

"Mohammad Ali is THE best! "

- AlysonFlowers

We just purchased our first vehicle from Car City on Merle Hay, and now I wish we would have found them much sooner! We had the absolute, hands down, best car buying experience there. Muhammad Ali is THE guy to see. He was kind, genuine, extremely easy to work with, and made a typically stressful situation for us very seamless and actually fun! Not only was he a great salesman, he made us feel like we had known each other for years, a very kind man. Thank you Ali for everything! We love our new vehicle!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
1
...
1 - 10 of 238 results