Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

2.0

130 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

130 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
October 25, 2009

"Last month I visited CarMax to check out cars for my..."

- TimezHaveChanged

Last month I visited CarMax to check out cars for my brother. My family will not choose any other place to purchase a car. There was no pressure, great service and the employees work together like one, big happy family. My daughter especially enjoyed the huge play area. I really hope that when future car buyers are researching dealerships that they save time and find the closest CarMax. What a great experience! The salesperson (Susan) was knowledgeable and very fun to work with. She's been there a number of years and seems to know alot about the company and product she represents.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ms. Nachbar
May 10, 2009

"ARE YOU SERIOUSLY COMPLAINING ABOUT GETTING SOMETHING FOR..."

- RoyalsFan

ARE YOU SERIOUSLY COMPLAINING ABOUT GETTING SOMETHING FOR FREE??? I am shocked at the few negative comments that I have read. I went to CarMax because they stand by every word. When Susan told me that there is "nothing like new parts on a used vehicle", she was right. CarMax just replaced my front two tires (were making a grinding noise), and put a new blower motor in my AC because the first setting was inoperable. I called Susan to ask a question about the small humming noise coming from the tires or brakes. She referred me to the Service dept who took it from there. What a smooth transition. Tim (service consultant) never told me to "take a hike" like other dealers would have said. He checked out my car and decided that I needed new tires. During his inspection, he noticed that the first setting in the AC was not working, so, CarMax replaced my blower motor. HOW CAN YOU POSSIBLY SAY THAT CARMAX IS NOT THERE TO HELP THE CUSTOMER..? EVEN 30 DAYS AFTER PURCHASE. STOP COMPLAINING, PEOPLE!!! ENJOY YOUR CAR AND THE GREAT NAME THAT CARMAX HAS BUILT FOR THEMSELVES. Have a good day!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Susan Nachbar
April 30, 2009

"I bought a Suzuki Verona from Wichita Carmax in 2006. ..."

- papajim

I bought a Suzuki Verona from Wichita Carmax in 2006. The car has broken repeatedly since. Dangerous engine revs, stalls at intersections, etc. Repairs take days or weeks. Last repair took 2 months. I am upside down in the car, they refuse to take car back. I failed to check Internet on this car, and found later huge complaints, which Carmax chould have known. Carmax is perfect example of pleasant people selling bad products, and then pleasantly throwing you under the train.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager- General Manager
January 28, 2009

"I can echo the sentiments of other posters. The..."

- carterjme

I can echo the sentiments of other posters. The experience was quick, and virtually stress free. Our sales person was Susan Nachbar, and she was delightful in every way. Carmax is excellent, especially for those of us who have grown weary of the dealership game!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Susan Nachbar
December 10, 2008

"I am from Michigan, where there are no CarMax stores. I..."

- kudoctordru

I am from Michigan, where there are no CarMax stores. I live in Overland Park, Ks and came to CarMax after being referred by a colleague in Chicago. My salesperson "is" Susan Nachbar(I say "is" because I will not go to anyone else). Susan is a short, little blonde CarMax cheerleader who, not only believes in the quality of vehicles that CarMax sells, but, takes time out to help other employees and managers. She may not know all about every car, but, she does know customer service. When I walked into Susan's office and saw all of the customer service and sales awards, I could tell that she was serious about her work. And how! She helped me find the right BMW for my family at just the right price. She even handed me her card saying, "Now, I have 24 hour cell phone service, so call me anytime night or day!" I am a doctor at KU and work night shifts. I recommend CarMax and its integrity. Although every business grows steadily with its customers, CarMax cares about every standard. I recommend Susan Nachbar as the number one salesperson in Kansas City.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Susan Nachbar
October 08, 2008

"I was looking to buy a car and wanted to get the best buy..."

- paulybo

I was looking to buy a car and wanted to get the best buy in town. I had my car search down to 3 models, and I went to Car Max so I could look at all my car choices at one store. I believe the cars are detailed well (compared to some other used car dealerships). In addition, they keep a good stock of cars and it is cheap to have cars shipped from other locations. I visited Car Max about 3 times and twice I met with a guy named Stacey and one time I met with a younger sales representative (nice laid back guy that I would do business with). Stacey had an attitude that he was your best friend although he would only say scripted lines and wasn't down to earth. When I met with him, he was aggressive enough to keep me around for more than 3 hours (when all I was looking to do was look at a car or two). If I offered an excuse for why I needed to leave or why I didn't want their car, he always had an EXCUSE for why I should settle for their car. It because very frustrating. I ended up buying a new car from a Mazda dealership and I got a good deal on it. It was only $2000 more than their used cars with 20-30k miles on them and common wear. Stacey had called me quite a few times while I was looking for a car (over 2-3 week period). After I bought the car, Stacey called and I told him that I had bought another car. He then became very rude to me and after asking questions about my purchase he expressed that I had "made a bad decision". Even though I knew that I had made the right decision, I didn't like hearing that. The worst thing you can say to a person after they have made a commitment like that is that they made a bad decision. I had other dealerships contact me after I bought my car and they expressed that they were sorry that they didn't get my business or sorry that their car didn't work out, but that they were happy for me. Stacey knew how hard I worked to find a good car and his bitterness toward me was very evident when I explained my recent purchase. When buying your next car, finding the right sales representative is very important. I highly recommend you ask for someone other than Stacey if you go to Car Max in Merriam, KS. Quick note: Refuse to get a credit history check (and financing options through them) until you are ready to buy a car. These credit checks hurt your credit score and can end up raising your interest rate when you find the car you want.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Stacey Butts
April 25, 2007

"Would you let your cat watch the milk for you? so why..."

- textsale

Would you let your cat watch the milk for you? so why trust the car dealer to inspect the care they are selling you and trust the 30 days worrenty that they provide? I bought a car three weeks ago out of which it stayed in the shop for about a week and all the issues are yet to be fully resolved. Thank god I took it to an idependent mechince for an inspection. 1. Transmission leak 2. Broken hyd system 3. Broken DVD/TV system 4. Dents and paint issues. if you decide to buy from them or have your car serviced there do yourself a favor and take it elsewhere to be inspected.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
April 19, 2007

"My Husband and I went to carmax to purchase a used camry..."

- mamakat

My Husband and I went to carmax to purchase a used camry because of its "reputation." We bought a camry, which ended up having major electrical problems and the fuel gauge did not work! Returned it and had to spend A MONTH trying to get our money back, many hours on the phone with carmax. This is NOT the place to buy a used car. We paid over the blue book value to get quality and we got NOTHING. DO NOT BUY AT CARMAX!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
November 03, 2005

"CarMax at this location was fine. It was the one at the..."

- phoenxsfire

CarMax at this location was fine. It was the one at the new Independence location that was horrible. They claim to perform 105 pt inspection. So why when I test drove a Ford, the brakes were so bad you could hear them grinding? I stupidly purchased a Pontiac Sunfire from there and it has been in the shop 3X in the three weeks I've owned it and it still doesn't run right. I advise staying away from this particular CarMax and be leery of the others!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
June 28, 2004

"My wife and I recently purchased a used car from Carmax..."

- tallone196681

My wife and I recently purchased a used car from Carmax in Merriam, Kansas and dealt with the most wonderful sales PROFESSIONAL by the name of Susan Nachbar. Prior to coming to Carmax, I was apprehensive about purchasing a "used" car. Susan quickly put my apprehensions to rest with her knowledge of the reconditioning process Carmax does on each car they sell. Susan made the car buying experience a joy, and bent over backwards to make sure we found the car we wanted. We left Carmax feeling great about the car, the price we paid and our new friend Susan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Susan Nachbar
...
13
121 - 130 of 130 results