Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

CarMax

2.0

130 Lifetime Reviews

6801 East Frontage Road, Merriam, Kansas 66204 Directions
Sales: (913) 384-6697

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

130 Reviews of CarMax

Sort by Write a review
April 16, 2019

"Salesman Named Shaq unprofessional manner"

- AUKANA

I gives a return call to one of CarMax Virginia Beach dealership named Shaq because I went to their website and found some vehicle I’m interested and it says they can transfer the vehicle here in Virginia Beach free with no obligation. He told me that those I’m requested are sold already , he want to go to their store so that I look their available vehicle they have. I told him I don’t see a vehicle I want in their so while Mwr are talking in the phone I was checking their website and found 2 vehicles I’m interested to test drive I ask and it says both are free to transfer but he told me that he can’t transfer two vehicle. I asked him why it doesn’t says in their website that you can’t transfer 2 vehicles and he started having attitude and hang up the phone. What a rude salesman.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shaq of CarMax Virginia Beach
April 01, 2019

"Customer service is horrible SCAM"

- Run77Run!

I took in my BMW for a trade in. It was valued at $7000 and I owed $14k on it. Even though I bought the BMW from them and paid it on time the last year and a half the charges me 15% interest. Run away fast!!!! Could not get the car out of lot to test drive it because magnetic stickers did not work. Had to return to service 2 additional times to get a sticker that worked. Did salesman explain feastures and do a checkpoint???? Heck no. Was the car dirty with damage. YES. Was it sluggish and did I get excuses? YES!!! Was the car overpriced ? YES. The salesman was so embarrassed he said he had to go home and they gave me another salesman. Lol. I guess they can’t handle valid questions!!!! Beaver ruin location in Gwinnett Georgia.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Patrick
March 22, 2019

"Very unprofessiona"

- Deicy

Very unprofessional company, would not clean the vehicle before giving it to the customer, and after you done the deal their printers won’t work and you walk out of there without any paperwork and with the promised of them sending it to you via fedex, and a week later still not paper work and when you call they give you the running around. Very poor company

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gibs
March 09, 2019

"Tx 1 autos and finance"

- Darlareview😊

Wow. They got their act together. Clean, low mileage cars, in house financing, and superb customer service. Great experience, and I got an believable deal!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Family run. Didnt think to get names. All 3 of them were great!
March 04, 2019

"Great dealer ship good prices "

- Arina Frink

They were very patient and took a lot of time to make sure that the car you were looking for is the car that is just right for you! I would highly recommend them great customer service and a very pleasant place to look for a car

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steve brauner
February 20, 2019

"Turn around, run fast, scam of a lifetime."

- Teighdateigh

I will never again trust another dealership in my life. I bought a diamond and in two months it blew a tierod and theyy"put a new engine" in it for over a month and it came back a difrent car.....literally dents, scratches diffrent tires,running like a old car i really dont even want it anymore and i really loved my car its very sad how they scam people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lanna, sales samantha in repair dept,
February 17, 2019

"Aweful Service Center"

- gsegirlddg81

I wanted to tell you about my experience at my local CarMax and the issues that I ran into. I bought a 2015 Ford F-150 on the 26th of December. The car buying process at CarMax was outstanding. It was stress-free and very easy. My wife and I were allowed to look at cars without being stalked or asked a million questions. When we were ready to test drive, it was easy to go get a rep to ride with us. When we bought the truck, it was less than an hour to get approval and complete all of the paperwork. The shopping and buying process was great. I highly enjoyed it. The problems we have are all with the service department. CarMax says in the store and on their website that they do a 125-point inspection on every car. CarMax guaranties that it will repair any problems that you discover on your vehicle that they may have missed within 30 days of purchasing. We were told that our car had a state inspection done. After we purchased our truck, we discovered that the drive shaft had a dent, the windshield was chipped, and other small problems like worn out windshield wipers. These problems should have been found while still at the dealership. They should have been found during the state inspection. But they were not. Getting the repairs was supposed to be easy. It was not. We had to fight for our repairs that were covered. It was stressful and it was a pain. The service writer was rude repetitively and continually ignored us. First problem we had was on the second day we had the truck we discovered a chip in the windshield. We originally thought it had occurred after we purchased the truck while we were driving it. So, we called out insurance company who sent out a safelight tech to repair the chip. The tech discovered that the chip had already been repaired once and it had been repaired improperly so now the entire windshield required replacement. We thought that it would be no problem. CarMax said that it would be covered when we purchased the truck. So, we went back to CarMax and tried to discuss the matter with the service writer. At first, she would not look at it at all and just accused us of breaking the windshield and trying to get one for free. I get that some people may try to scam the shop like this, but we had the report from the Safelight tech and our car insurance company to prove that the windshield was broken and had been broken before we purchased the truck. I do not like being treated like a criminal. After a big argument with the service writer we asked to see the manager. Then she finally said I guess if you won’t leave, I will have a service tech look at it. My wife and I sat there and watched our truck out the window for 15 minutes while the service tech was supposed to be looking at it. No one came over to look at our truck. The service writer came out again and accused us of lying. She said that her techs looked at the chip and it was brand new. Once again, I tried to give her the report from Safelight and my car insurance. Still nothing other than getting treated like I was trying to rob them. I asked for the manager again. The service writer stomped off to go get the manager. The manager said that if Safelight and Geico say it’s broken and a prior problem it should be looked at. Someone then finally actually looked at the windshield. The service tech that looked at the windshield discovered that it was chipped and had been repaired improperly. We finally got approval for the repair and got a new windshield. We were happy it was finally repaired, and really unhappy at how the service writer treated us. Second problem. When we drove on the highway there was a sound. We were worried that is was a wheel bearing or a drive train problem. We heard the noise during the test drive and had a service date set up for the truck before we even left CarMax the day we purchased it. The service center said that the truck was safe to drive so we kept driving it. By the time of the service the tires had been eaten up because of the issues. CarMax service tech said that it was a drive train issue and the truck had to go to Cavalier Ford to be repaired. We took the truck all the way out to Cavalier Ford to be repaired. It was an hour and a half drive with the traffic. The service techs at Cavalier Ford determined that the drive shaft had a dent in it, and that the truck needed an alignment as well as new tires. Cavalier Ford had all of the parts and was ready to repair the truck the same day. When they called for approval it was denied by CarMax. We then had to have the truck towed back to CarMax at our own expense because Cavalier said that the truck was unsafe to drive but CarMax said it was. Then once the truck was back at CarMax, we were told that it would be in the shop first thing on Monday morning. It did not go in until late Monday and was not looked at until Tuesday. The service techs at CarMax then reinspected the truck to determine that the drive shaft had a dent in it. It took until Thursday to be repaired because they did not have the parts in stock. During the repairs, CarMax took the truck to Cavalier Ford in a different city without telling us. The truck never should have left the lot without us being informed. They chose to drive our truck to another city without telling us. Kept calling multiple times trying updates on our truck, so they had many occasions to tell us. Even though they were supposed to be the ones calling us. We would have to call the service department three or four times to be able to get someone to give us an update. We would be we told that we would be called by our service writer and then she would not call. One day we were supposed to be called first thing in the morning. We did not receive a call. When we called the service writer was out to lunch and that she would call us in an hour. When she did not call, we called back. This time she was gone for the rest of the day in the middle of the afternoon. No one else could give us any information on our truck. When we asked for the information to contact the manager it took twenty minutes for them to figure out his contact information. When we got the truck back from the repair to the drive shaft. The truck had two new rear tires, however, the front tires were not replaced, and the alignment was not done. Had talk to the manager and show him the receipts from Ford that they needed to be replaced and aligned. He was very helpful and made sure that the rest of the repairs were made to the truck. His service writer had not been giving him the correct information on our truck and what needed to be repaired. The horribly rude and unhelpful service writer’s name was Maya. We kept asking to be given to a different service writer throughout this process because she was extremely unprofessional and rude to us over and over. She treated us like criminals when we were trying to get her to look at our windshield. Then she was just horrible for all the rest of the repairs we needed. She kept rolling her eyes and acting like we were bothering her. At the end of the month process to get our truck repaired, we did have a new windshield, four new tires, a repaired drive shaft, and an alignment. The manager told me that all of these issues should have been caught during their inspection and apologized. The process should not have been so painful or such a fight. If we did not continue to press to have our issues fixed, they never would have been repaired. We would have been stuck with a massive repair bill for the truck that we had just purchased.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
maya
January 26, 2019

"Wonderful Experience!"

- Tiff1976

I saw an awesome vehicle on the website & went to test drive. Went in & got the BEST salesman ever! Theadore!!!! He was so great, accommodating & sweet! He’s experienced, super helpful & put a bow on my new car, just for me! If you are looking at CarMax South Austin, ask for Theodore! And I had the most amazing woman work with me through signing the paperwork. Her name, I forgot....it started with an M. (So sorry). She was THE BEST, & so nice! She has been there since 2013! These two made my car buying experience seemless & fun! If you happened to work with these two....you have the DREAM TEAM of used car sales. Appreciate! Love! And am Super Happy!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Theodore
January 20, 2019

"Rip Off Artists"

- Tired of Mammon

I will NEVER do business with CarMax again and I suggest you think twice before you do. The return period policy is much too short. In my case I co-signed for a loan with CarMax to help my son get a car. The return period policy did not allow enough time for his insurance company to get back with him with the new premium amount. Once it did and we discovered that it would be prohibitively expensive, we were forced to return the car. He had the car for 30 days (we had first brought it back after a much shorter time) and we are being charged over $2,000 for his having had the car for one month. I feel like I have been robbed, no really violated in a most inappropriate way. So my caveat is that one go into such a transaction with eyes wide open because you are going to get royally SCREWED like I did if you have to return the car after 5 days. I used to have some confidence in this company, but no more. I am on my way to the dealership now to receive the proverbial rubber glove treatment. I will be advising all of my friends and family from now on to avoid CarMax.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
management and finance personnel
December 11, 2018

"Bad Business "

- Carguy

DO NOT BUY MAXCARE!! Purchased a vehicle in 2016 with 14k miles on it. Was pushed to purchase the policy for my vehicle even tho my car was under manufacture warranty. Car sales guy told me it would not take effect until AFTER the manufacture warranty expired giving me an additional 60 months and 15k miles of coverage. THIS IS A LIE! He also told me I would be able to get a refund for the policy if I didn’t use it. I sold the vehicle in 2018 and have been working with HORRIBLE customer service giving me the run around for 3 weeks. Still NO REFUND!! Yet, The car sales men make A BONUS is you get the policy. When you call customer services the person you speak to will only be there for one week. I’ve spoken to 4-5 different people all telling me something different. DO NOT PURCHASE MAXCARE POLICY!! Waste of money and HORRIBLE customer service. BAD BUSINESS POLICY. DONT FALL FOR IT!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lexi, Brittany, Jason, vikki
11 - 20 of 130 results