About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Carbone Honda Toyota of Bennington

4.5

110 Lifetime Reviews

751 N Bennington Rd, Bennington, Vermont 05201 Directions
Sales: (802) 447-3321

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

110 Reviews of Carbone Honda Toyota of Bennington

Sort by Write a review
December 13, 2018

"Very hard to buy a car from them"

- john802

After our family bought 3 cars from them, the salesperson ignored my email inquiring about a fourth car. Went back, wandered around the showroom for about 5 minutes before anyone even asked if I needed any help (no, they weren't with other customers). Spent 5 hours with this salesperson, then I followed up (not him) with an email to which I never received a response. Not a welcoming feeling at the dealership -- there is virtually no customer parking (it's all filled with new/used cars). Went to a competitor where I was greeted in the parking lot. They actually wanted to sell me a car, and I happily obliged. Also, when I bought a car from them, the salesperson told me to give them all 5 stars in the Toyota review I would get.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Oakley
Other Employees : Henry
December 06, 2018

"Stay away!!!"

- Megz1122

Sales and service team is terrible, they like to jerk people around and the sales manager is a joke! Save yourself a ton of stress and buy from someplace else that actually values their customers!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Oakley
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Matthew Mincher
November 18, 2018

"Disorganized but good people (under construction)"

- BRo

I went in to check out a Sierra 1500. It was nice, but the price did indicate it had some problems. The transmission was slipping so I decided to look at a couple others. There's 3 dealerships that basically share the same space and they don't keep a great inventory list or location index, so the next truck I wanted to see was MIA and the one after that the brakes weren't safe enough to test drive. Then I found my new truck with the help of Robert, my sales rep. I haven't taken possession yet as she needed a little work and the service price wasn't bad at all. Overall, a good experience. The disorganized nature could be due to the construction going on so they were working from an extended job trailer. Aiden the finance guy had his stuff down; had the paperwork ready and we were done in about 15 min. Robert was friendly and patient as they had a lot off inventory for pickups but I was being picky. Would definitely use them again, even at an hour away from home; but probably not until their construction work is done 😊

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Aidan Charbonneau
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Robert Fournier
October 30, 2018

"Everything good until I drive away with my truck"

- regular guy

My experience with Carbone Honda was very good while I was going through the Purchase process. everything changed once I took delivery of the truck. I was told, by my salesman, that they had a spare set of keys but he couldn't find them so he would send them to me. After 3 weeks I called my salesman and left a message, he never returned the call. I called a total of 5 times and never once got a return call. Then one day I received an email from the dealership stating that they found my keys and I could come pick them up any time. I replied to the email and asked if they could send them since I live over an hour away. Well 3 weeks later still no response, so I emailed the person again. I got an immediate reply that she had give the key to a manager and he was going to have the salesman send them out. After two more weeks, I got a phone call yesterday from the Carbone Toyota manager. He wanted to let me know that "he was handed a bunch of keys for vehicles that had been delivered already and my Tundra was one of them". He was going to send them out to me this week. I explained to issues I have had and he apologized but he had only been there for a couple of months. I guess all of the talk about caring about customer and service after the sale was just talk. Once I drove out of the dealership communication stopped. I have a Rav4 that I lease and it is up soon. My girlfriend and I were talking about how great the dealership was that we were plaing on going back to them to turn in the lease and purchase something from them to replace it, but not now. Very unhappy!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ty Atherholt, John E. Chidsey
October 13, 2018

"Absolutely horrible "

- Mad dad0311

I found a vehicle I wanted when I arrived to inspect the vehicle I immediately noticed it had a broken fog light assembly and a missing market light assembly / the salesman drove the vehicle off of a cement curb in the parking area, the vehicle is a sedan not a truck the vehicle scraped against the cement . I asked the salesman about the front tire which would not pass inspection , her said it's something we can replace at the customers expense. Then he goes to speak with the manager about a price not remembering that he already quoted us a price and comes back with the same exact price that was already quoted and says this is the best my manager can do. When confronted about his managers price bring the same price that was already quoted to me he responded oh the price was raised.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I don't remember the name but this young salesman said he worked for Honda and he definetly was a weight lifter
September 08, 2018

"Waste of Time "

- Imsograceful

The reviews on google were similar to mine. I live in New York. Set up an appointment to test drive (2) cars. The salesman said he would call back to verify they are there as we were coming from another state. Got a call back to come in as both specific vehicles were on the lot. Got to the dealership. Test drove the one car, fell in love with it and decided this was 'the car.' Our salesman went to the finance team to start crunching numbers and come back with a price $9000 over what was advertised. Our salesman then says 'would you believe it. Same car, same color, same year - only difference is the mileage. The car you THOUGHT you were looking at is actually sold." We asked to see the manager who was a TOTAL derp. He said hey you came from NY why don't we give you some free gas. At this point it was 8p at night and they weren't really quick about filling our gas tank so we just left. These guys suck major.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Ferrara
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Other Employees : Brownie
August 25, 2018

"Bait and switch"

- Bhk3

We had a 12:15 appointment today to look at and very likely buy a used Insight. My husband had emailed multiple times with sales reps during the week to pound out the details. We drove two hours to she shop and showed up 15 minutes early, only to be told, "It was sold this morning." No apology or explanation for why it was sold out from under us and, even worse, no one called to let us know to save us a four hour round trip. What a waste of time and money. Could not be more disappointed in the level of service provided. I hope they don't treat existing customers the way they treat potential customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Allan, John, Peggy, Valerie
August 09, 2018

"Stay away ... felt like a scam"

- Upstate car buyer

Found a used 2015 Toyota RAV4 on their website. Requested information, which they responded quickly, and everything seemed great. Made an appointment to go see the car with intention to buy, letting them know that it was over 1 hour 15 minute drive to their location. They confirmed the appointment via e-mail, and then confirmed it again by phone. So, my wife and I went off to see the car ... 15 minute before we were to arrive, we get a call ... the person ask to reschedule the appointment because they couldn't find the car or the key. He said, perhaps someone took it as a "chase car", but not to worry because no one else was looking at the car. However, why don't you still come in and we can fill out all the paperwork and we can just deliver it to you when it comes back in. Excuse me!!! We still have not seen the car, so how can we do paperwork to buy something we have not seen yet ... so, we went home. Despite numerous e-mails (which got progressively pissy) and one phone call to see what was up ... crickets!!! Stay away ... I feel that this was just a scam to get us to come in and maybe buy something else. The reason for looking at this car was that it was $1000 less then any other dealer with similar cars, and this only had 16,000 miles. I thought it was strange to be that much cheaper, which now makes sense why it felt like a scam to get us there. So, why not call me back when the car returned? When I got home the car was already pulled from the website. There are so many better dealers out there ... Went to New Country in Clifton Park, NY and purchased a new RAV4 instead. Again, stay away ... felt like a scam!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Valerie Sawin, Internet Sales Manager
July 17, 2018

"Be warned: stay away from these sharks and liars!"

- 2012yaris

On the morning of Friday, 13 July, 2018, I phoned Carbone Honda/Toyota in regards to a 2012 Toyota Yaris listed for sale on Autotrader.com. A Mr. Everton Brownie answered my call, and assured me that the vehicle was still available, despite the interest of a woman looking to purchase her son his first car. I decided to leave work early on Friday afternoon at approximately 2:00 in the afternoon, to make the nearly 60 mile drive to the dealership. When I arrived at approximately 3:20, Mr. Brownie was busy with another client, so I waited in the Toyota lobby to meet him and test drive the car. Roughly 30 minutes later, I was provided the keys to the Yaris, and took it for a test drive. Knowing that I wanted the car, I was escorted into the Honda showroom by Mr. Brownie, at which point negotiations commenced. I'm not entirely certain what happened for the next two and a half hours, however I did not make the roughly 65 mile trip back home in my "new" 2012 Yaris; its worth mentioning that home and work are also 60 miles apart, therefore Bennington is very much out of my way. I really wanted to close the deal on this Yaris, and attempted to negotiate rather quickly, hoping that I could secure financing and go home. This was for naught, however, as by the time Mr. Brownie finally returned with a signed vehicle purchase agreement, at around 4:45, the banks had already closed for the day, and financing could not be secured. I understand that the sales department were busy on a Friday afternoon; I also understand that lending institutions typically shutter early on Fridays. I planned to travel out of state that evening, and wouldn't be able to return to Bennington the following day, Saturday the 14th, to take delivery of the car, so I left a $100.00 deposit to hold the car until Monday. So, $100.00 lighter, and signed purchase agreement in hand, I devised my own financing, with a local credit union, on the morning of Monday the 16th. Via phone conversation and email, this credit union was able to secure financing within 25 minutes, and I would have a check waiting at the local branch. I called to confirm the vehicle's availability, and, having left Mr. Brownie a voicemail, I decided to call back and speak with a sales manager. I believe I spoke with a Jim or a John, the name escapes me, who had informed me that the vehicle had sold. Deflated hardly explains my sentiments upon hearing this news. This Jim or John stated that the 2012 Yaris was sold on Saturday, and that Mr. Brownie was instructed to call me that day to inform me of this news. I received no call from Mr. Brownie until Monday morning, but I'll get back to that point later. My irritation wouldn't be so insufferable if I hadn't already secured financing on this vehicle; had I known it was sold, I'd have never called the credit union. Mr. Brownie's phantom phone call from Saturday was finally made on Monday morning, and it was received as a voicemail. Mr. Brownie proceeded to apologize for not being at work on Saturday to inform me that the car was sold before I had even looked at it, and the ever passing buck was placed in the lap of the F&I dept. for not making this fact known to the sales staff. Mr. Brownie's second phone call/voicemail, which is still recorded on my phone, was nothing short of a passive and grossly unprofessional diatribe wherein he scolded me multiple times for not checking my voicemail, and that he had, in fact, contacted me to make me aware of the sale of the Yaris. The issue I take with his ridiculous and unfounded message is that the sales manager asked if I had been called on Saturday, not Monday, to inform me that the Yaris was sold. I was not called on Saturday, I have no records whatsoever of a phone call on Saturday, and I only received a phone call from Mr. Brownie at 10:34 am on Monday the 16th of July, after I had secured financing for a car that was no longer available. At 2:37 pm on Monday the 16th of July, I left the General Manager of Carbone Honda/Toyota a voicemail, and have not yet received a response. I called again at 5:17 pm to find that this person had left for the day, presumably without checking their voicemail. I've left another voicemail on July 17th, again without response.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Everton Brownie
June 13, 2018

"Pleasant first rate customer experience"

- Brad Nash

Had the truck I wanted but needed more towing capacity and looked into the 2016 GMC 2500 HD at Carbones Auto Group in Bennington, VT. and Chris Hessler took the time to help us with our new adventure. Great experienced salesman with the knowledge of the vehicles he is selling. Thank you Cabones and staff for making purchasing our vehicle a great pleasure.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Hessler
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Sarah Battis
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 110 results