About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Dave Smith Motors

3.8

49 Lifetime Reviews

210 Division Street North, Kellogg, Idaho 83837 Directions
Sales: (800) 635-8000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

49 Reviews of Dave Smith Motors

Sort by Write a review
May 26, 2016

"We had a great experience with our sales rep"

- Sergey Lutskov

We had a great experience with our sales rep, friendly staff and free food. Cant beat that. Will definetly come back and recomend this place and our sales rep to family and friends . We like the prices here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mason Cleveland
May 19, 2016

"Great place to deal with"

- Robert Wright

Great place to deal with this is my fourth purchase here at dave smith our salesman Art has never let us down and he make sure we have great communication before and after our purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Art Jenkins
January 19, 2016

"Beware of scam"

- Nalu Blue

I was excited to find that Dave Smith Motors had the exact Jeep that I wanted. Color, options and price were perfect. I worked with my sales person Drew Olsen and he said that they would pay for the shipping, so that there was no need to make a trip up to Idaho. Drew said that all I needed to do was put a $500 deposit down on it. I asked if he could send me pictures of it first. He sent pictures of the outside of the jeep covered with snow but never any pictures of the interior. When I asked for pictures of the interior, Drew replied that their policy was that they needed the $500 deposit before they could send any pictures of the interior. My husband and I thought that was a very strange policy but Drew told us that our $500 deposit was refundable if there was any problem or if we decided not to buy from them. We reluctantly gave our credit card deposit of $500. After Drew received the $500 deposit, I literally never heard from Drew again. I texted Drew, and called the dealership several times requesting pictures , window stickers, and price verification but never got a reply. This went on for 3 days. We knew something was not right and decided to cancel our deposit. We called the dealership and asked for the GM. We spoke with Donny Golden and explained our situation and he said that there would be no problem and that they would refund our money. Donny told us that Drew would give us a call and arrange the refund. Drew called later that evening and apologized up and down and said , " I am so sorry and I realize how unprofessionally I have acted with this purchase. I have just been so busy with the new year sales. Your money will be refunded, it will just take 3 to 6 days to see that refund on your credit card." It is now going on 3 weeks with no refund. We have called and texted Drew, which of course there is now reply. I will dispute the charge with my credit card company. My next step will be to file a complaint with the Attorney Generals office up in Idaho, just like another customer has done. It is a shame that this dealership has gone so far downhill and pulls this swimming scam on people. I had always heard what awesome deals you can get at Dave Smith motors. I had also heard about the wonderful customer service that they provide. Looks like since they sold out to some Texas group last year their ratings have dramatically taken a plunge. My recommendation is Do Not Deal with Dave Smith Motors! They have scammers and thieves working for them. If you have been scammed by them file a complaint with the Attorney General's office. Let's not let this happen to anyone else!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales person: Drew Olsen GM: Donny Golden
Feb 15, 2016 -

Dave Smith Motors responded

We have tried to contact this customer to resolve the issues they have brought up, but we haven't heard a response back. We hope to hear back and be able to resolve this soon.

January 15, 2016

"MY BAD 2014 GMC Duramax "

- franco

I purchased a new 2014 GMC Sierra SLT, for $65,000. The transaction and delivery of vehicle went well. The dissatisfaction started when the vehicle started to give me trouble and my ( Watson Chevrolet & Royal Buick GMC) local dealers could not fix it. It seam that the dealers and GM will not admit to this Design Manufacturing Defect and will not buyback my truck. I'm stuck with a 65K lemon. Full story: My 2014 GMC, I have been driving for 30 years and have owned many vehicles of all makes and models. Along the way I have owned over 10 GM products and have been satisfied. In the last 10 years I have purchased four GM trucks totaling in all of $175,000. That brings me to my 2014 GMC that I will be paying over 70k with interest. I made this purchase as a long term investment. As a general contractor I rely on my truck to hall materials and tools as well as pulling trailers and equipment. Additionally, my wife and I enjoy traveling and camping with our travel trailer, again, making my truck important to my lifestyle. So why did I spend as much money as I did? As much money as half of my first home? Because I, as everyone else that purchases a new vehicle I wanted security, comfort, reliability, and a peace of mind. I have not received any of that with this vehicle. It has many mechanical problems, discomforts, and is difficult to drive. List of problems: Driver side door moves in truck body going over a wash-board like road. Passenger door does not do that. I mentioned to dealer and no repair has been made. Fluttering like wind sound from passenger window at any speed above 40 mph. Again does not exist on passenger side. An attempt has been made here to make repair but it was not successful. Dashboard panel rattling problem. At first attempt to make this repair the steering wheel was taken apart and some pieces were left off when I picked up vehicle. Dashboard pad rattle unchanged. At second attempt the rattle is 80% gone with the exception of a wash- board road like road. Unfortunately when making this repair they pried the pad and is still lifted and dented. Oil pan was leaking. This was corrected and seems to be holding. Front differential actuator is leaking. Mentioned to dealer and no repair was made Antifreeze is leaking from front of engine block, radiator area, and low coolest light comes on. No repair has been made Sunroof is leaking. No repair has been made Rear right leaf spring has moved out or place. No repair has been made. Right side windshield molding (on the outside) whistles above 70 MPH. A repair has been made. After repair the condition has improved but still exists. High idle regeneration mode, it seems to have defective components and/or incorrect programming of PCM-DFP. It intermittently goes into regeneration mode making the vehicle unsafe, decrease of usability, drastically reducing gas mileage, and increasing costs of ownership. Multiple dealers have made an attempt to make repairs but have not succeeded. This is the biggest problem that the vehicle has, making it unsafe, stressful, and discomforting to drive. Randomly the vehicle decides to raise the idle to 900+ rpm (in gear) and basically drives it's self. During this condition it is very difficult to operate vehicle. Because of its random pattern it caused me to have an accident that resulted in $3500 in body damage to the truck. At this juncture I contacted general motor and they started an investigation. After 4 months they took no responsibility and concluded that vehicle is operating normally and that they would not make any repairs. When I go to dealer for assistance everyone runs from me. One of the mechanics (Watson Chevrolet) told me that he was instructed by General Motors to not speak to me and if he did he would be fired. (I have this recording). Additionally when the vehicle is in this mode the gas mileage is drastically reduced to 9.4 MPG verse 16.5 MPG when functioning normally. Therefore misleading me and other consumers on real gas millage verse the vehicle data sheet. Wear and tear is drastically increased as the vehicle is trying to drive on its own as I'm trying to stop at traffic light, stop signs, or simply parking. Drive-train is banging, brakes are working harder, and fuel is being wasted. Now, add a payload or trailer as I often do and problems are magnified. Essentially the vehicle is aging and wearing its self out before its time. Is this a good investment? I have been told that all is normal and to keep driving. I have over 15 years of automotive experience as an owner/operator of a repair shop; I was ASE certified and a New York State Vehicle Safety/Emissions inspector. With my experience I would never approve a vehicle with these conditions to be on road. I have been ordered by Pima County Court to have the vehicle fixed or replace. The officer that gave me the citation witnessed the high engine idle and agreed that it would be difficult to stop especially with a loaded trailer as I had that day. Officer Ryan Roher also testified this in court on 11/4/2015. There is a current law suit in California for this defect. Please see attachments on this subject including other defects with this vehicle. I refuse to own, pay for and drive a substandard vehicle with defects. I seek full reimbursement of this bad investment including added accessories to truck. Franco Chimienti

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
General Motors
Jan 28, 2016 -

Dave Smith Motors responded

Mr. Chimienti purchased his 2014 GMC Sierra 2500 from our dealership on February 7, 2014. We are the selling dealership but we have never had the opportunity to service his vehicle. He has been using two different dealerships in Tucson, Arizona. Our dealership is located in Kellogg, Idaho.

June 06, 2015

"Tell you What You want hear"

- Dwfrozen

I was looking to purchase new truck from Dave Smith Motors. The salesman was friendly enough but did not seem to want to help in the sales process. It seemed he was interested in picking the vehicle and telling me what a great vehicle it was without actually finding out what I wanted and what I was using the vehicle for. On several occasions I told what I was looking for and my time line. His response was always we will make it work. Began the sales process and found poor communication between finance and sales. The paperwork sent had the wrong city and when I inquired about the delay and I was in a time crunch, I was told by finance they would look in to it and contact me the next day. No contact. Inquired with the salesperson and was told no big deal. They would resend paperwork and it would work out. After a couple days of this I rescinded the deal. Now I have heard nothing back after a week of repeated inquires on the deposit I gave them in good faith. Maybe Dave Smith Motors is to big to be helpful? Make sure you know exactly what you want and what rebates and options are available on the vehicle you want, they are more interested in the sale then helping you in the process.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cameron, sles, Craig, finance
March 11, 2015

"Too hard to get a price"

- kjadams

No price available on web. No price available by chatting online. No price available via email. Phone: 25 minutes and a ton of song and dance and got a price for something I did not ask for. My question: I want base car with this feature and that feature. What is price? OMG these guys are terrible. Rather than focusing they give a song and dance about how great they are, how large they are, how much they are hassle free. Hassle free would be answering the question.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
NA
July 29, 2014

"Used Truck Purchase"

- Steve Brennan

I so appreciate the quality and service provided by all the members at your dealership. Jake was very helpful and Steve the Sales Manger made the buying experience painless and actually pleasant.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jake Crawford - Sales Representative, Steve - Sales Manager, Brian - Warranty F&I
March 17, 2013

"In the past 8 years, we have purchased 3 vehicles from..."

- deeponce75

In the past 8 years, we have purchased 3 vehicles from Dave Smith. We live 12 hours away in NV, and it is well worth our time to drive up there. With all 3 of our vehicle purchases, we have done the entire deal over the phone, with no hassle what so ever. When we pick up our new vehicle, all we do is go on a test drive, sign the paper work and leave. Everyone we have dealt with at Dave Smith has been friendly and honest. We have recommended Dave Smith to dozens of friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sky
October 25, 2010

"I had an issue with a new car I purchased from DSM. It..."

- amwmhowe

I had an issue with a new car I purchased from DSM. It involved the wrong paint color being ordered (just for the record there are 2 blacks for GM vehicles....Onyx and Carbon). Anyway the salesperson ordered a carbon black and I had wanted a onyx black. The salesperson originally thought there was only one black option. I picked up my vehicle on a Saturday and the following Tuesday I found out that there was a onyx black available for 2011 GM vehicles. I was bummed out, because the carbon black was not as nice as the onyx. I asked for DSM to consider letting me return this vehicle for the proper color, because I had documented in emails my original request for an onyx black vehicle. I had already put about 600 miles on the new vehicle. I received a call from the GM as well as Ken Smith (DSM owner). They apologized for the issue and said they would order me the proper color vehicle from the factory to exchange for the vehicle I currently had. The part that really blew me away was that Ken told me to just keep the new car I was driving until my new car arrived from the factory, so I would not be inconvenienced at all. Their apology and generosity have made me a life long DSM customers. I have always known you could not beat their pricing, but now I know you cant beat their customer service either. They have created a raving fan!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Anthony
...
5
41 - 49 of 49 results