Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Fairfax Hyundai

Fairfax, VA

3.7
855 Reviews

10925 Fairfax Boulevard

Fairfax, VA

22030

Directions

855 Reviews of Fairfax Hyundai

Sort by
August 29, 2021

"I own a 2013 Hyundai Sonata which I purchased new from..."

- T.Brown

I own a 2013 Hyundai Sonata which I purchased new from Fairfax Hyundai. With the purchase of the new car came “Complimentary Oil Changes and State Inspections for Life” which is what drew me to Fairfax Hyundai’s Service Center. Also, it was convenient to my work and I was provided a shuttle ride if needed to take me to my office. However, I have since learned the ulterior motives of the dealer in providing these complimentary services. Unfortunately, as a female, I was a little too trusting and as a result was exploited repeatedly. Fairfax Hyundai can not be trusted; they have proven undoubtedly that they do not have integrity and in fact are they type of service center that has unethical practices and what most people think of when they picture an auto repair service shop that preys on people, specifically females. In the past 2.5 five years, I have caught the service technician and mechanic not, once, but on two occasions outright lie and try to convince me that my car needed service that in fact they had just performed at the recent prior visits. Here are the details: October 2018 (54,429 miles) They recommend replacement of front brakes, rotors and brake fluid exchange ($130.00 just for fluid). I agreed and had the service performed. I had to have the brakes and rotors replaced again (privately) less than 20,000 miles later because Fairfax Hyundai had the pads rubbing the rotors (didn’t grind them down to fit properly) the friction was so intense that it lowered my gas mileage by 6 mpg. When a family member replaced the pads and rotors for me, the gas mileage increased by 6mpg. So they are not only unethical but they employ mechanics who are inept at their jobs. Just 16,000 miles and 1.5 years later (the maintenance schedule doesn’t ever call for a brake fluid exchange, only topping off the reservoir) while in the shop for a complimentary oil change, the service tech, Josh Durdaller, said that during the “routine courtesy inspection”, the mechanic checked the brake fluid and said it was really dirty and needed changed. They also recommended new spark plugs and a transmission flush. I reminded Josh that they just changed the brake fluid changed 16,000 miles ago. Josh was apologetic and said he is unsure why the mechanics would say that it was dirty. In an attempt to cover the error, they said maybe there is an issue with the fluid and offered to exchange it for free (which they probably didn’t even do while they had the car back in the service area). February 2020 -(70,896 miles- during same appointment as above) -Transmission fluid exchange performed based on their recommendation even though the manual says 60,000 or more ONLY if continually driving in extreme conditions. However, I deferred to their judgement as the service advisor reported that the mechanic said it was in need of changing based on how it looked. Cost for the spark plugs and transmission fluid exchange $537.94 August 21, 2021 ( Just 8,000 miles later) Took it in for an issue covered by Hyundai due to a defect (steering) and once again they conducted a “routine courtesy inspection.” Josh reported that during the courtesy inspection the mechanic tested the transmission fluid and it was “really dirty and should be changed or flushed” To check the transmission fluid, the car would have to be put on a rack, a protective piece popped off, a bolt rand a plug removed (not as easy as just pulling a dipstick to check). However, during this “courtesy inspection” they didn’t bother to pop the hood to check fluids or they would have reported that the coolant reservoir was needing refilled. I declined the transmission fluid exchange service and later that evening went through my records to see when they had exchanged the transmission fluid and found that they had just exchanged it 8,000 miles earlier. They didn’t have have the decency to check my service record before offering me a service they had just performed 8,000 miles earlier and isn’t recommended for at least 60,000 miles. Called and left messages for the service technician (no return call), service manager (no return call), and finally the director of Fairfax Hyundai Service. Brian Gor Who apologized for the oversight and agreed that should not have happened but was unwilling to refund any money spent in the service department as a result of their recommendations over the years. He acknowledged that it is understood why they have lost my trust. BUT he also made these statements which acknowledge that he is aware of this unethical and dishonest behavior- 1. Hyundai treats women fairly, this happens to our male customers just as often as it does to female customers. 2. The mechanics work off commission (the more items they can charge for, the more they make) and the service advisor is supposed to check the record when a mechanic makes a recommendation so that there are checks and balances. After leaving a voicemail message for the Fairfax Hyundai owner on 8/24/21, Sam Mansouri, Mr. Gor called and offered a free 82,500 service to “extend an olive branch.” I declined. To top it off, I received a factory touch up paint pen from Hyundai to touch up small nicks on the hood, bumpers, and roof only for the paint not to match and now I have big grey blotches on the white paint of the car. Hyundai (local dealership or the corporate Hyundai) won’t stand behind this either! My paint is ruined because they didn’t match the touch up paint to the original color (WJ versus WJR). Luckily I kept all receipts, service records, and recommendations that were provided to me at each appointment. It is clear on the receipts the date and mileage that service was performed, and the duplicate recommendations based on the “visual inspection of the dirty fluids.” When looking through the receipts and recommendations from the past 8 years, it became clear to me that I was taken advantage of on many occasions. Multiple times during complimentary service, once they had my car in the bay, the advisor would call and say there was a nail in my tire and they could repair it (25.00-35.00 dollars). And most recently, I brought the car in for the complimentary state service inspection and was called by the advisor, once the car was in the bay, and informed that my tag light needed replaced and it would be approximately $30.00 (you can buy a pack of two for less than $5.00). I said I would just do it myself but was told that a rejection sticker would be placed on the car and I’d have to bring it back to be inspected again (they know time is valuable and most people won’t won’t to being it back). These are just two minor examples of how they slowly get their money back by having you bring your car in for complimentary inspections and oil chances. A scam to say the least.

Read More
Quality of Work
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ricky Bush
1.0
Josh Durdaller
1.0
August 07, 2021

"DON'T GO TO FAIRFAX HYUNDAI!!! We bought a Hyundai Sonata..."

- Mo

DON'T GO TO FAIRFAX HYUNDAI!!! We bought a Hyundai Sonata in 2015 from this dealership. We had the car serviced at this location, Fairfax VA, on a regular basis. After the 40,000 mile service the car had issues with the turbo and it was found to have a broken piece of spark plug from servicing in the engine – engine was replaced, after 60,000 the car again had engine issues with the turbo and Hyundai replaced another engine. One of the service people told us to sell the car in the next 45,000 miles or it will happen again. Guess what it happened again – another blown engine. We had the car towed to Fairfax service and they choice not to stand behind their POOR service. We tried Hyundai customer service and the attempted to alert the franchise owner but they wanted to stay out of it!!! Franchise owner you should take a good look at your service department, blowing through engines at the expense and I mean expense of the owner of the car. HYDUNDAI DOES NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT OR SERVICE. Shameful. This group should take some lessons from Subaru and Honda. WHATEVER YOU DO DON’T BUY A HYDUNDAI or at lease from this location!!! The only person at this location that had a heart was Josh Durdaller -

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Josh Durdaller
4.0
June 05, 2021

"I bought a new 2021 Santa Fe Calligraphy from Fairfax..."

- Larry

I bought a new 2021 Santa Fe Calligraphy from Fairfax Hyundai two weeks ago. Everything about the purchase was solid. Got an excellent deal on the vehicle, and an unexpectedly high $$ amount on the trade-in. No pressure, haggling, deception, or other BS. My sales guy Joe McNulty was straightforward, answered my questions, laid out the options, and got me into the car I wanted. I also got a good deal on an extended warranty, basically bumper to bumper coverage and roadside assistance for 10 years and 100,000 miles, exactly what I wanted. My one brief interaction with the service department was promising and I have a feeling this dealership will work out well for me going forward. We may add a 2nd Hyundai and I'd have no reservations going back to Fairfax Hyundai for it.

Read More
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Joseph Mcnulty
5.0
Jae Ha
5.0
May 08, 2021

"If you're serious about buying a car, do not go here...."

- DDK

If you're serious about buying a car, do not go here. They're such a small dealership with such a limited inventory that you won't get what you want. Thomas Kim may seem like he wants to sell you a car in person, but he'll quickly blow you off and not follow through. Go to Manassas Hyundai instead. You'll save yourself the time and headache.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Thomas Kim
1.0
April 28, 2021

"I no longer wish to explain my situation multiple times...."

- Carpeoplesuck

I no longer wish to explain my situation multiple times. Just know that the service people don’t care whether you come back or not. They actually prefer you to not come back to get rid of you.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ricky Bush
1.0
Other Employees : Miguel
March 09, 2021

"Don, Anthony, and Leo went above and beyond on our most..."

- jb87

Don, Anthony, and Leo went above and beyond on our most recent car buying experience. Was shopping for a new Sonata for my wife. After test driving the first, she settled on wanting a sunroof option. Unfortunately the vehicle we were eyeing was sold, but Leo was able to find one comparable that worked for our budget. They couldn’t have been more pleasant people to deal with! Would highly recommend to anyone. I’ll be bringing in family members later this month! Thank you guys!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don Barker
5.0
Other Employees : Anthony Watkins, Leo Blakeney
February 15, 2021

"Ask for Marvin Jones. The Staff were nice and..."

- AJ

Ask for Marvin Jones. The Staff were nice and responsive. They gave me the price as shown on the website, unlike other dealers. . They were also responsive to the after sale questions.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marvin in Sales
February 01, 2021

"I came in for a non-functional power lock on one door,..."

- Ben D.

I came in for a non-functional power lock on one door, and an oil change on my newly-purchased 2016 Hyundai Tucson. Eight hundred dollars later, I had a functional power lock and clean oil/filter. MANY upsell options were added to my service and repair without consultation or even notifying me, service advisor also did not discuss them when given the invoice. Looking for another Hyundai dealer in the greater NoVA area that is more customer-centric.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alix Webb
1.0
September 11, 2019

"Mr. Jason Ricardson - An Exceptional Service Advisor!"

- golfcap

Mr. Jason Richardson is unequivocally the BEST and most REPUTABLE service advisor I have ever encountered! First of all this gentleman is extremely HONEST! He always understands the client’s needs and is very personable and interested in helping in any aspect that he is able. Mr. Richardson is always 1st class from the moment I arrive in the service bay, during the process of completing the service ticket, always checking on the customer’s needs and updating throughout the service process, and through the finalization of the invoice. Mr. Richardson is always open to answering questions and concerns. Mr. Richardson is the BEST of the BEST and deserved the highest accommodation and accolades for his exceptional service, visit after visit, year after year. He is the face of the Fairfax Hyundai service department that absolutely keeps me coming back as a customer and my referrals to others. Thank you Mr. Jason Richardson!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason Richardson
5.0
May 16, 2019

"Employee insulted disabled coworker"

- Lanenfid12

Today I overheard an employee say “you can’t get anything right because you’re so f****** stupid” to the person working behind the payment window in the service department. It upset me, but I figured the person could handle it how they wanted. However, when I went to pay my bill a few minutes later, I realized it was someone with a disability. The guy was nowhere to be found so I contacted management and am waiting to hear something back. I’m not sure that this will do anything because it may be the culture there. Hopefully I can at least get the word out through the internet. THIS IS NOT OK!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure what the guys name was.
1
...
1 - 10 of 855 results