Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Gallagher Buick Pontiac GMC

New Britain, CT

1.3
23 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

325 Columbus Blvd

New Britain, CT

06051

Directions

Is this your dealership?

23 Reviews of Gallagher Buick Pontiac GMC

Sort by Write a review
December 04, 2019

"Broken Promises"

- drewmccrayon

Broken promises. I bought my truck from this dealer about a year ago and it has been the worst decision I have ever made. The truck is fine, now, but the service I received has cost me lots of time. When I originally bought the truck i was told that the vin etching was not optional because they "vin etch all of their vehicles". This may be true, however, I later learned that it is an optional warranty that they are charging for and not the actual etching of the vin. Not fully disclosing it as being optional is illegal. Moving on, i bought the truck and after getting it home i found out there was a laundry list of things wrong with it that should have been caught in the CPO inspection. Although they were all covered under warranty after fighting over it my truck still had to spend a week in the shop only a month after i bought it. I had so many problems I had to go to GM corporate because of how dissatisfied I was that a truck I spent more than $30 k on had to already go into the shop. Soon after my complaint was filed I received a call from Jamie the Used car sales manager who offered me two free oil changes to make up for the hassle. Although almost too little too late I accepted and even told the GM rep that they attempted to make it up to me. Now I tried to use these free oil changes and Jamie himself told me that he doesn't remember our conversation and would not honor both free oil changes. Instead he offered me one free oil change out of the goodness of his heart. This is just another way that Gallagher BUick GMC has over promised and under delivered. The team at Gallagher clearly doesn't know the meaning of being a company of their word. I don't feel like I bought a vehicle from a reputable GM dealer, instead it feels like i bought a truck from a buy here pay here business. I hope my bad experience encourages others to take more time and consider whether they really want to do business with a dealership who only cares that you take the vehicle off of the lot.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jamie, Andy
March 19, 2019

"The games! Oh, The games! "

- TruthSeeker1911

When Parsons Buick in Plainville closed I needed a new dealership to handle all my purchasing and service needs This is the entire nightmare that has taken place. My relationship with Gallagher Buick GMC started when I looked into purchacing a Certified Pre-Owned Chevrolet Silverado they had on the lot. I decided to go look at the truck and agreed to purchase the Silverado with the Simoniz protection, under the condition that the paint be brought back and buffed as it had some carwash damage that needed to be removed. I had some issues with the delivery as the vehicle was not delivered as promised by my salesman twice…That’s right Twice! I asked that the dealerships manager “Spiro” to step in. Spiro got everything rectified as promised. Spiro assured me that I would be taken care of and I was. When I received my vehicle it was absolutely stellar. BTW, Spiro is the biggest asset at Gallagher that I had the pleasure of working with. I give the sales side a B on the sale because they Spiro saved it from an F, but overall Strike 1 for me as it left me leery about what could follow. For Strike 2 we fast forward a few months…. My wife’s vehicle needed some service. Of course I was going to bring it to Gallagher! As the recording states while on hold “We welcome ALL past Parsons Buick Customers!!!” I called stated what the issue was and set up an appointment. At the time of setting up the appointment I made a point of stating that this would be warranty work as I had purchased a GM authorized aftermarket warranty through my original dealership Parsons Buick of Plainville. I was told over the phone “no problem” I was even offered a loaner! REMEMBER THIS PARAGRAPH-> So, I go in at the time of my appointment and talk to the service tech Gary M. I go over all my details with Gary stating what my transmission issue is. Gary assures me they will get it taken care of. Gary even goes over my warranty coverage stating that I have $100 deductable and that I’m good to go as they are an authorized GM dealership and they can perform the work. He never states My Chevy cannot have GM authorized warranty work performed at their dealership because they are a GMC/Buick dealership. (That would be crazy!!!) ? REMEMBER THIS PARAGRAPH! Later that day Gary calls and states, “can we keep the vehicle, my transmission guy is really busy” I said “sure” I just want it fixed. About hours later at about 4:45pm Gary calls and says, “my tech checked it out and stated the symptoms my transmission is showing is normal and my vehicle is ready to be picked up. My buddy Gary here, is starting to try to give me the old brush off... Gary also explains to me that they have a similar “USED” vehicle that also does the same thing so this is obviously “Normal Operation” …Now I ask myself, why would I care about some used vehicle that has the same issues as my used vehicle? …. I tell Gary, I will come in on my lunch to check out my vehicle. …See folks, warranty work does not pay Gary or the dealerships apparently. People off the street that they can hose do ….It’s really starting to sound as if this specific model and power train has an issue….doesn’t it? But worst of all, and why this the actions of the dealership has caused me to write this: Had I told Gary that I was paying out of pocket for my work he would have found an issue really quick, and had no problem performing the work all while charging my credit card with a smile! Just wait, this gets better. (Side Note)…. (Little does Gary know, but I’m aware of what is actually wrong with the vehicle and I also know what it’s going to take to get it rectified) But old Gary here has no idea who I am, or what I do. He just thinks I’m some Joe Schmoe off the street that he can try to talk down to me and that I will believe his every poorly calculated word…kind of like the dopey salesman I had to deal with earlier in the story. As you can see, a pattern is immerging here…. I show up on my lunch break as promised. Gary is on the phone not talking to anyone, so I can assume he must be on some sort of hold. I stand around for about 12 minutes without Gary even saying a word to me before a tech magically immerges as asks me to for a ride in my car. We go for a ride I show him the problem he tries to feed me the same B.S. line “This is normal operation” But I can tell he is being quiet and does not want to say too much for some reason and we return to the dealership. The tech and I walk in and I state to Gary, “I’m not satisfied, and that the vehicle needs to be repaired” I also explain to Gary the 2 options we have. Option 1: we work on the vehicle as originally promised or Option 2: I can call GM Customer Care and have a case opened to get it rectified. Gary looks at me basically white as a ghost because I just pulled out the trump card. He says “wow, OK, We will call T.A.C. (Technical Assistance Center) and get it looked at. Naturally, being one step ahead of Gary… I had opened a case with GM Customer Care on the way back from the dealership to my office with the ON-Star that in the 2018 Buick encore they provided me! Gary calls me back a few hours later with a snicker in his voice stating that “my vehicle is a Chevy and since they are a Buick GMC dealer they cannot perform any warranty work on it. (Remember that paragraph above? This is where it comes in) Funny since they had no issue selling me a Chevrolet or trying to sell me the same aftermarket warranty for it that they supposedly service. But now they don’t???? (Boy GM is not going to like this B.S.!) Gary also tells me to come and pick up my vehicle and to return the rental. I agree over the phone but what Gary does not know is that because I saw this coming, and by this point the case was already escalated to a senior advisors level as GM was furious that a certified gm franchise would treat a long time GM customer and stockholder this way. At this point, I let Gary bask in his assumed victory as I lay waiting in the weeds to take him out. I waited about an hour to give him the bad news that I opened a case, and GM told me to keep the 2018 Encore until they get the case closed. I call Gary back. I let him know I opened a GM Customer Care case and he immediately barks on the phone “YOU HAVE TO BRING MY CAR BACK!” I then told Gary, “take it up with GM” as they originally told me I get to keep the vehicle till the case is closed. Gary barks at me again and states “You need to hold, I’m going to get my manager!” But see now… I can clearly tell Gary is really, really mad. He is even going to try to be vindictive and attempt to outsmart me……but, I thought the customer was always right Gary??? lol! After about 7 minutes on hold Gary gets back on the phone and says in the nicest complete B.S. voice possible that he could possibly muster “You’re all set, we will call you tomorrow morning” I hang up and burst out laughing! At this point I want to be the biggest pain in the xxx for this weasel of a service tech. I started wondering about how many people as he manipulated? How many people has he ripped off? All in the name of performance bonuses or whatever B.S. they pay him on. At this point I decided to write an email to Gary, CC his boss on it and tell him I want everything going forward discussed about my vehicle in writing. They next morning at 7:36am I get an email that only states: Good Morning Sir, I will get back to you shortly. Thank you!!! –Gary 12:30 pm still nothing from the dealership, so I call Gm Customer Care. I give them my case number and they pass me along to my senior advisor that states the dealership has not even attempted to be in touch with them. She escalated the case further and tells me she is going to get to the bottom of it and call me back. For those of you who don’t know, GM Senior service advisors don’t take manipulation of long time GM customers lightly. They are good people who get it. That’s why I stay with GM. Some of the dealerships may suck but on a corporate level they understand people like and you me drive the business. At 1:22 I receive an email from Gary stating that T.A.C. has reported no issue with my vehicle that shows a diagram of a completely different issue that my vehicle is NOT having. I then am instructed by Gary to give them back the rental car. Gary also emailed me a trojian virus that rendered my work PC useless during this exchange.....I find this very odd, but convenient on Gary's part. Its also the reason I chose to write this review! Thanks Gary! I finally gave in at this point. I called GM They found another dealership for me to work with and they got me a sweet 2018 high Country to drive around for a few days. Issue ended up being a control module. Let this be a lesson. Always trust but verify, but in the case of Gallagher, Buick GMC, don’t even give them the time of day. They suck.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary Mastronunsio
April 17, 2018

" Satisfied Buyer"

- jr in the car

In March 2018…I visited Gallagher Buick-GMC in New Britain, Connecticut in search of a pre-owned SUV. I was greeted by Fred S. and looked at available vehicles on the lot. Found an SUV that I liked…took a test drive and Fred graciously offered to let me take it home overnight. The rest is History…purchased it without hassle in less than a week. The folks at Gallagher’s are xxxxxxfriendly, knowledgeable and good to their word. I will consider them again and recommend that you do the same...you will not be disappointed. Thank you Team Gallagher! J.R. - Danbury, CT

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fred S.
March 09, 2018

"Service/Warranty"

- Gwen

Your service department is professional and courteous. You answered all my questions and fixed my problem efficiently! I am happy to recommend you to all my friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Catherine
January 15, 2018

"car diagnostics and servicing was well handled"

- Sainathdk

The service center always pays attention and tries to understand what the customer is reporting. I have used this dealership many times to service my pontiac (which I did not buy from them). In this instance I had some front side suspension issues and a bad injector. They diagnosed the problem, took care of calling my warranty company to check for coverage and explained to me some repairs that were not covered. I also got courtesy rides to and from my company. Overall a great experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John, Dave
November 22, 2017

"Service/Warranty "

- Jpm87

Stand up dealership that has gone above and beyond since before, during and after the sale... Definitely a dealer that stands above others !! Would definitely recommend to others as an honest trustworthy dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike/Owner
November 21, 2017

"They don't service what they sell"

- ScereenName

We bought a new acadia just a few weeks back and experienced loss of air in our front tire right after we brought the car home. Despite four trips back to the dealer, they insist (even Mr Gallagher himself called to say the same) that the is no leak, and there is nothing wrong with our car. Well, we will have to work this out for ourselves without their expert help.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Do not know
November 09, 2017

"A positive experience every time."

- Maryellen Holden

I have been a customer at Gallagher's for many years. I have always been treated well, whether buying a vehicle or having one serviced. The Service Department is respectful of my time, and they work to schedule service when it is convenient for me. Kyle Bradt, the Service Manager, makes certain that I know exactly what is going on with my car. The service technicians diagnose a problem and work to get it right. In terms of purchasing cars, my husband always bought his cars at Gallagher's and my son and I both bought our cars at Gallagher's, too. In the Sales department, we all worked with Ron, who took care of us as if we were his family members. I recommend Gallagher's for sales and for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kyle Bradt, John K.
October 31, 2017

"Purchased our 6th vehicle from this dealer"

- Cautious Buyer

Over the years we have purchased 6 vehicles from Gallagher, some new, some used. We have always been treated super by the sales staff and return because of the low pressure, straight forward experience. The service department has treated us equally well for both routine maintenance and service needs. They have extended hours and work to accommodate our schedule.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Fred Strasser, Chris Minerly, Jaime Noriega
October 14, 2017

"Great service "

- Yesman

I always have a great experience Guys always kept me informed always try to work with me to meet my need they are a+++ to me

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Body manager
1
1 - 10 of 23 results