Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Hendrick Nissan of Kansas City

1.7

21 Lifetime Reviews

7951 Shawnee Mission Pkwy, Merriam, Kansas 66202 Directions
Call (913) 722-5195

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

21 Reviews of Hendrick Nissan of Kansas City

Sort by Write a review
July 17, 2019

"Unnecessary, expensive repairs that don't fix anything"

- eromlignod

I brought my 370Z in because the convertible top wouldn't open all the way. They told me it was a bad sensor and that it would cost $942.39 to fix and kept my car all week. When I got the car back, the roof failed on the first try...just like before. I took it back in and left it for another day. They found that it was a piece of fabric that had come unstitched and was catching. To "fix" this they stapled the fabric in a few places with a desk stapler, that's it. I was never refunded any of the $942.39 that I paid for a sensor that was replaced for no reason.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nina Lobner
April 25, 2019

"Disappointing End of Lease Experience Yahoo / Inbox"

- TimothyStovall

My one star rating for Hendricks Nissan is based on my experience returning my 2016 leased Maxima. During the 3 years I leased the vehicle, I took excellent care of it. I made sure to get regular oil changes & scheduled mechanical maintenance was done timely. I took great care to keep the interior & exterior of the car meticulous. At the end of the lease I was due a refund from Hendricks for the cancelled oil change package that I did not use (I paid for oil changes myself). When I requested the refund, I was initially given the runaround and told I was not owed a refund. After speaking to a manager, I was told that I would have to come into the dealership to sign paperwork AND that there would be a $50 cancellation fee deducted from what I was owed. I was NEVER told any of this in the beginning… only that I would receive a refund for the package if I did not use it. Now 4 weeks from signing the cancellation paperwork, I am STILL waiting for the refund. Finally, on top of the mishandling of oil change contract refund, I just received notice that I OWE them a $431.04 disposition fee!!!! I was never told there would be additional money due at the end of my lease. I was true to my commitment to the lease by making my payments in full & on-time. I also returned the car 6K miles under the 36K mile limit AND turned it in early. So I do not deserve the very poor customer service I am now receiving. I would NOT recommend Hendricks Nissan to anyone. Obviously after getting what they wanted, they feel no obligation to be customer service friendly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales Manager
January 22, 2019

"The service center will never call you back. Ever. "

- william

I brought my car in a MONTH ago and they needed to order a part. They told me it would take 2-3 days to get the part in. Well... let me back up to the day I dropped my car off. I dropped it off first thing in the morning and figured I'd get a call sometime by the early afternoon. Nothing. So finally around 4 I called them to see what was going on. I was put on hold for 45 minutes. Yes, 45 minutes. This was after calling a few times and having no one answer the phone. When they finally got on the phone there was no apology, no nothing. So, I waited a week to call them back for my part that was supposed to take 2-3 days figuring it would be enough time. Again, I couldn't get anyone on the phone so I gave up. I waited 2-3 weeks before even calling again. When I did (after being on hold for a long time again) I was told that the person that was working with me no longer worked there. They told me that someone would call me back that day and give me an update on whether or not my part that had been ordered had come in. This is 7 days later. I finally called them again. For once I was not put on hold and I was told that yes indeed my part had come in. Yikes. On top of it all they seem to have a nice combination of a rude attitude and incompetence. I've been lucky enough to not have to get warranty work done so my experience with getting my car repaired is at private businesses like Mission Auto. I'm used to getting communication the same day and very quickly and always being kept in the look with what is going on. They treat you well because they want your business. Dealerships are not in the same position so I guess that's why their customer service is beyond terrible. I finally have an appointment but I'm reading in the other reviews that this is meaningless and they will take walk ins ahead of me anyway so I'm thinking about scrapping it all and going to the Nissan dealership in Olathe because their ratings are so much higher.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Amanda
July 28, 2017

"I cannot in good conscience recommend Hendricks Nissan"

- CCNA34

I have purchased many vehicles in my life but never have I been treated in such a deceptive manner. The initial agent who assisted me (Jimmy) did a good job -- he worked to sell me the car. We amicably reached numbers both of us were comfortable with. The unfortunate part of my experiences revolved around the Finance Manager, Nick. He told me that the deal I’d made with Jimmy (and signed) was a mistake, and that they couldn't take that type of loss on the car. He tried to have me sign a finance paper that would have charged me 12% interest! I told him that I was not OK with this and he replied, "Hold on, we are still looking, the other guy did something stupid.” (Okay, I’m feeling pretty uncomfortable now.) He called in Grant, another Finance Manager, and “poof,” I suddenly had an acceptable interest rate. At this point I was leery, but I was fine with the numbers so I proceeded with the deal. The next thing that happened can only be termed as a “bait and switch.” Nick offered me a Service Contract. The service contract was to cost $2,700 and cover the car for 6 years or 60,000 miles. That sounded like a decent deal. Always read the fine print folks – when I got home and read through everything I discovered it was only for 6 months and 6000 miles! The good part is that the contract allows for cancellation of the Service Contract so I called Nick (the same day) and requested cancellation, as per the terms of the contract. Nick actually tells me that the only way I can cancel the Service Contract is if I give up the car I just bought. Excuse me? I was looking at the cancellation clause in front of me as he was telling me this tall tale. I didn’t accept that and insisted that the Service Contract be cancelled. While I understand haggling and negotiation during a sale, outright lies are not acceptable to me. Doing away with my original signed contract and replacing it with one that contains a service agreement that’s been misquoted is not acceptable to me. But, perhaps the thing that bothers me the most is the fabrication Nick told me on the phone – claiming I could not cancel the Service Contract. Long story short – I’m having the Service Contract cancelled but there’s no reason for people to lie and scam like that. For that reason, I cannot in good conscience recommend Hendricks Nissan in Merriam KS.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jimmy Allen, Nick Palermo, Grant Stephenson
July 04, 2017

"Awful awful awful service department"

- Lee N.

I give a one-star only because a zero or minus number isn't an option. AWFUL service. I left my vehicle in at 0700 for a scheduled appointment and finally I picked it up at 4:00 pm with the work not started. The real reason I brought it in - dangerous airbag recall problem - wasn't done because of a problem at "Big Nissan". Still, they didn't touch my tires, transmission fluid, etc, all the stuff I had scheduled for a 40,000 checkup. Why didn't they do it? Because people who dropped their vehicles off and waited were slid in ahead of my SCHEDULED appointment, which IS THEIR POLICY. "Why bother even making an appointment?", you ask. I agree. Learned lesson. Don't go there. But if you have the misfortune to do so, don't schedule it, just show up. Oh, and no call back from Amanda, service "consultant", or the service "manager", just his empty-headed office staff person who couldn't tell me anything except about the policy of bumping the scheduled appointments to the bottom of the list.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Amanda and a "service manager"
January 12, 2017

"Service Center can't seem to get it right..."

- TimothyStovall

I purchased my 2016 Nissan Maxima last year and have had to take to the service center multiple times for an issue with my tire sensor light coming on regularly. Each time I'm told it just needs resetting, which is what they do, but it still comes back on. I'm wasting time and gas, plus having to take off work in an attempt to take care of this issue on a NEW car! I'm told each time that the issue is resolved, but in my mind, I know I'll be back because the light continues to come back on. And this most recent time, I can't even get a return call from either the service manager or the appointment person.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian
June 30, 2016

"A Great Purchase.....Murano 2016"

- Conn Yankee

My wife and I had spent nearly 3 weeks trying out various makes and models of a smaller SUV (Rogue, CRV, CX 5, RAV4, Outback, Forister) before we decided to try out a Murano. Hendrick Nissan was the 2nd Nissan dealership that we went to and we met Juan Alva from Hendrick Nissan. We found that Juan was well versed in all of the questions we had for him and presented several considerations for us. There was a professional, low key approach which was very much appreciated as we were still trying to decide what vehicle we were going to purchase when we went into the dealership. When we left that day, Juan made sure we had all the information we needed in our decision. The next day we went back to Juan and he helped us through the purchase process with his sales manager and finance manager. We felt that we had a financial deal that satisfied us. All a very good experience. Getting the right sales person is the key.. Juan was our key to a successful experience (Professional, Knowledgeable and Accurate with the information) ,. Good Job by all at Hendrick Nissan of Kansas City!! Good Inventory. I would recommend anyone looking stop in and ask for Juan.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Juan Alva - Sales, Steve Lindsey - Sales Mgr. Kyle Shaughnessy - Finance
June 16, 2016

"Not very knowledgable sales personnel"

- sonies4ever

Went in looking for a brand new Altima, 2016 model. Took quite a bit of time to get the car and finally decided to purchase the 2016 SR model. Loved the car. Looks sleek, drives well, and everything works great in it. The only major complaint that I have is that the car does not have boomerang DRL (daytime running light). This was promise to me by the sales person. I know it might not be a big deal to some people but to me, I think it's one of the attractiveness of the car. I believed that person and drove off the lot without testing, big mistake on my part and am very much regretting it now. Anyway, went back afterwards to ask that same person and he doesn't have an answer. Said he would contact Nissan about it and never heard back from him for weeks. The only way I found out more information about the DRL is by taking it to the shop to have my remote started installed and asked the service employee about it. He was very helpful in finding out more information. So the bottom line is that the earlier SR model does not have DRL installed but Nissan is now pushing it out with the newer model. If I had known this, I would have waited a few more months to buy the car. If I really wanted DRL, it would cost about $600 to get the LED Appearance package (not including labor), when it does comes out. Just a warning, if you're getting an earlier model, check everything that was promise first before driving it off the lot. Do not make the same mistake I did.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shawn Merchant
May 10, 2016

"Exceptional customer service"

- Javagirl

I purchase a new Nissan Murano with all the bells and whistles. Being new to all the features it was a challenge for me to understand it all. Everyone at the dealership was so willing to help me and explain everything thoroughly. I was even able to get help simply by calling and they walked me through the process. I can't say enough about how professional, courteous and helpful everyone from sales, service, financing and training have been. The best dealership I have ever worked with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian, Nick, Darrell, Chris
January 19, 2016

"easy buying experience"

- rockbreaker

I found this dealer through the USAA auto buying service, which I highly recommend for USAA customers. This dealer offered me a price lower than the suggested price stated by the buyer service. I almost made a bad deal with another dealer and the sales team at Hendrick Nissan in Merriam KS, helped me get out of that deal, and got me the vehicle I wanted at the price I could easily liver with. Of the different dealers I visited this one had the best inventory, and they were up front about all their fees. Harold in Kansas

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin Bonsingore sales rep, Steve Lindsey Sales manager
1
1 - 10 of 21 results