Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Ira Toyota/Scion of Tewksbury

2.0

191 Lifetime Reviews

468 Main Street, Tewksbury, Massachusetts 01876 Directions
Call (866) 225-5472

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

191 Reviews of Ira Toyota/Scion of Tewksbury

Sort by Write a review
January 11, 2020

"Every Effort"

- MikeBren

To often there is a stigma attached to dealerships that otherwise are not deserve. Ira Toyota in Tewksbury is that dealership. They are under construction[ It should be very nice when done] and Im sure that it has been hard to attract buyers until it is completed. But that has not deterred them from doing everything in their power to try to bet a deal done with me I have been looking for a while for a used Mercedes E350 for about a month now. I have a very nice suv[ I have found out in the last month as well that my suv wont get me much in trade]. They had the PERFECT E350 And EVERY effort was made and they continue to try to make this deal happen. I feel they need to be commended for this effort. I told them I want to lower my current payment. Well that would be ok if I didn't owe about half on my suv. This didn't stop them from trying. Kyle Kelvin and George have been working feverishly to make this work. I wish that I didn't owe anything on my suv or that the negative equity was not existent, but the reallity is its there. I probably will not find a nicer E350 anywhere, even at a Mercedes dealer. All in all don't hesitate to go to Ira Toyota. Form your own judgements. Class all the way. Transparancy from the moment I walk through the door. Thank You Gentleman for doing your best to get me in that car. Whomever gets it is getting a gem

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
George[dont remember his last name]
December 28, 2019

"Total rip-offTook the Venza in for an oil change, that..."

- Knightquest1

Total rip-off Took the Venza in for an oil change, that was supposed to be covered by the coupon book that IRA Toyota sold me when I bought the car and they wouldn’t fully honor the value of the coupon. On top of that they found several things that they said were wrong and charged way too much to resolve them. They charged over $1,000 for 4 new tires “mounted and balanced” and then charged another $110 to perform a “four-wheel alignment. Don’t go to this dealership for service. And if I can’t go to the dealership for service why would I buy a car there? Beware

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
David Joyce
October 10, 2019

"Disgusted"

- Dave

(Let me start this review by saying that I have always had good service with this dealership and even bought a Hylander from here years ago with no issues.) I just recently had a very negative experience with the service here and doubt I will ever go back. I brought my car (2010 Lexus) in for an oil change and to have the tire sensor warning system checked as it was not displaying properly. I dropped the car off the night before with no issue (they are actually very good with this and I ended up with Jodi as my service rep). She called me the next morning after they had a chance to look at my car. Jodi told me that the tire sensor problem was going to cost at least $330 (and maybe more) as they needed to diagnose each individual tire, which would take 30 minutes each, to figure out which sensor was causing the problem. I was pretty skeptical as the problem appeared to be something electrical as none of the pressures were displaying on my dash display. She also told me I needed a new front CV axle that was going to cost $2300 as I needed original factory parts for it. I was told that it was leaking grease, making noise (which I never heard) and that the axle could break at any time. Jodi really laid it on heavy saying how I needed to weigh the value of my car against the cost of the repair and how the mechanic went through the rest of the car and there was nothing else wrong. I wanted to get a second opinion as both of these seemed pretty expensive repairs, so I just had them do the oil change. I paid for the oil change and picked up the car that night. Miraculously the tire pressure system was working fine with no mention of them doing anything. So either they found the issue, fixed it and didn't charge me or it was just simple system reset and they were trying to charge me $330 for not doing anything. Fast forward a few days later and I took the car to a different garage to get a second opinion on the CV axle issue and was told that there was nothing wrong with it and that it was just a clamp that had a little grease on it. There was no issue with the CV axle whatsoever. That garage didn't even charge me. Another $2300 saved. I thought I had taken the "sucker" sign off my forehead when I dropped the car off but I guess I forgot. (Oh, and they tried to get me to spend $58 to change out an $8 in cabin air filter as well.) - Extremely disappointed and disgusted with the whole experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jodi, Service Desk
July 16, 2019

"Not so transparent car buying"

- bsmk

I gave fair rating of 2 stars because i felt the purchase was not transparent. When i go to their website today first page it says transparent car buying. But my experience is different. I bought used Honda Civic touring in Dec 2018. There is nothing wrong with the car. The sale process was in fact very smooth. In july i got a tire pressure low indicator and i went to Costco tire center as it is closeby. The moment they looked at it they said i have winter tires and i am not supposed to drive in this summer. I said i didn't know. It is my fault also that i can't tell winter tire from all season tire. Costco tire center in fact was nice and told me that they would not recommend driving in the hot summer weather with that snow tire and also they didn't want to sell me the tires. They said first go to your dealership where you bought and ask them why i got winter tires. I was not told the used Honda Civic Touring i bought has winter tires. I feel it is not transparent from dealership side that they didn't tell me the car has winter tires and it is not recommended to drive car with that all year. The dealership should have told me. I went there today to sales section and i was asked to meet service person but he said if the sales sold the car with winter tires, they cannot replace with all season tires and that i have to talk to sales team. The response from salesperson is that it cannot be replaced and the general manager is not there in office as it is late. I did not feel like asking first of all. i kind of knew what to expect as the response. Since i didn't feel good about asking again i just came back. Now i have written this review just with that fresh thought in my mind. When i went to their website... i still see transparent buying. I do not like that or believe that. i should have been told transparently what my car has. I enjoy driving my Honda Civic but now every time i drive i feel i am wearing out the tires faster knowingly. The tires are Blizzak tires and they are not recommended to be driven in summer weather as per the Bridgestone website too!! I cannot help but feel disappointed and also i am not enjoying driving the civic. I don't want to definitely replace or trade it in as i love the car. Just wanted to share this here.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ken Oeun
2.0
March 02, 2019

"HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT AND SERVICE"

- dgriffin19

I bought a Highlander in August. I have a good friend who works there so i went there simply because of that. As soon as I started to use my new truck I noticed my radio crashing all the time. It continued to crash so I called IRA to bring it in. Since then I have brought my car in numerous times, they have replaced the radio, updated it and what ever other things they have done. All has not helped. I completely understand this is an issue that Toyota has to deal with BUT I bought the truck from IRA. I have been told "The GM is on the verge of telling me not to come back" "This is not an IRA issue its a Toyota issue and to deal with them" I have to email and call numerous times to get an answer, if I wait on them I won't hear anything. The customer service in IRA Tewksbury is horrendous. I would stay clear and away from them. They are ok to sell you a vehicle but to support it or back it is where they completely drop the ball. The amount of emails and conflicting statements and info I have from IRA and Toyota is embarrassing to say the least. I will NEVER buy from IRA again and pretty much DONE with Toyota. As I have been dealing with this issue for over 6 months (or since I bought the truck). I have been told by the GM of IRA Tewksbury to use another dealership to have my repair fixed. They are not competent enough to manage this repair over the past 6 month. I was also told by the service manager that I should "either get a Bluetooth ear piece, use your phone on speaker or use your watch" for a solutions to my issue regarding my 30k plus truck i purchased from IRA! Professionalism at its best! You have been warned STAY CLEAR OF THIS DEALERSHIP!! Steve DaSilva, Thank you for solidifying the fact that you and IRA could not facilitate the repair with Toyota, as a consumer I do not have the direct contact with the staff needed to get the repair completed directly with Toyota. When meeting with the Toyota corporate field technicians they advised me they would NOT be able to pull any logs or records from the car, then you're service manager advised me months later they want me to gather date and times of these event to pull the records from the computer of the car. The games and waste of time not only Toyota has played but the lack of customer service and response from the Service department at IRA is horrible. To confirm this is an issue with Toyota and to say it is NOT with IRA is clearly a lack of accountability to help a customer with an issue. It was I who had to hound, email and call over and over the past 6 months since buying this vehicle from IRA to have things moving along. So before you take credit for having Toyota coming in to look at this it was myself who pushed to have this problem looked at by NO means was it any concern or urgency on the behalf of IRA. I do want to thank you for putting that in writing, when I called Toyota to file an official complaint I advised them of these very comments you just made as you stated similar via email. They advised me that is NOT how Toyota would like to be represented and not how they value their customers. So thank you for clarifying this on a public forum like this. As for your comment regarding an aftermarket device, just to be clear for anyone reading this. He is referring to an iPhone which I am one of millions who uses one. I have tried 3 iPhone and a Droid on this and they all have the same outcome. Yet this is an issue with an aftermarket device? No this is technology which has been out for years, if you do a little research on the bluetooth issues within Toyota's this has been happening as far back as 2012. Clearly sad the 2011 Tahoe I traded in didn't have any of these issue when using the bluetooth but yet this does. Then advised by the service manager to buy a bluetooth headset after paying 30k plus for the truck. For anyone reading this and thinking of buying a Toyota, Stay clear of IRA or Group 1 Auto. They will sell you a vehicle but will not support it and advise you to go to another dealership. You will have to stay on top of them day after day week after week if not they will not stay on top of the issue fo you. If you do a little research you can see this yourself not only on this thread but other reviews. They have a 2 Star Review on here for a reason!!! STAY AWAY!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Scott Vella, Steve DaSilva
February 05, 2019

"All over a remote starter "

- Yogibear2980

I purchased a brand new Toyota Corolla le premium edition eco 2019 got charged for all of these extra options and the car did not come with a remote starter I called corporate and the dealer and they didn’t care about it I will never go back to this dealer ship they are snakes I even reached out to the CEO waiting on him to respond back to me because this is horrible customer service I’ve always purchased Toyota’s and because of a remote starter I will no longer purchase from them they don’t care about you after you have signed that contract I gave them several chances to make this right and nothing they are more concerned about me trading in my 2015 Camry than offering to install a remote starter in my wife’s car

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ken Oeun
1.0
January 15, 2019

"Find another Dealer"

- Dave

My daughter bought her first car (used Buick Lesabre) from Ira and in less than 4 months the transmission had to be replaced. Ira initially indicated that they would help with the cost of a rebuilt transmission ($2300). We proceeded to have Lowell Transmission, who was outstanding to work with, put in a rebuilt transmission at a cost of $2300. Apparently Ira Toyota then decided not to help with the cost and stopped returning phone calls. While this was a small amount of money for Ira Toyota, it was a very significant amount of money for a young person trying to afford her first car. Find another dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jose Silva
December 30, 2018

"Waste of time!!!!!!!!"

- DORTIZ

Don’t recommend this place!!! All they did was waste our time!!! Spent 3plus hours at this dealer negotiating and doing paper work just for them to back out the deal when we went to pick up the vehicle!!! Very un professional and poorly managed. Lack of communication on management!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Leo,Kyle,Peter
January 10, 2018

"Excelent"

- Nen

The service was done in a short time, and the service advisor was very polite and respectful The waiting room was clean and had a TV and Donuts

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David Joyce 9519
January 03, 2018

"Awesome customer service "

- Mable Tusiime

I have rated this dealership with a high score because of the excellent customer service, honest advise and transparency I received today with Cody LaFortune

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cody LaFortune
1
...
1 - 10 of 191 results