Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

Silver Spring, MD

5.0
65 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

3111 Automobile Boulevard

Silver Spring, MD

20904

Directions

65 Reviews of Koons Mazda of Silver Spring

Sort by Write a review
February 19, 2012

"This was the best car buying experience of my life! We..."

- logicaldog

This was the best car buying experience of my life! We negotiated the price through emails including a trade in and financing, and came in and it was exactly as they said, no bait and switch, no hard sell. Very professional, very friendly, very good experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jason, Gustavo, Debbie, Debbie Colt
February 14, 2012

"They'll "wow ya" with bad service. Very..."

- GG4179

They'll "wow ya" with bad service. Very condescending and unprofessional. Sales associates spent more time playing on their phones than helping customers. Very pushy sales people. They also lied to my face about the number of accidents my car had, and what the value of it was. After I called them out on it, they admitted they had made everything up. Go elsewhere, this place is shady to the max.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris
January 15, 2012

"Buyer beware! This dealership's service department is..."

- jmoor390

Buyer beware! This dealership's service department is horrible. Overpriced parts, overbilled labor charges, unnecessary work, and incompetent diagnostic skills. you'll get better service from a local mechanic. I was billed over $2700 for a 04 Mazda3 to have struts and shocks placed on my car (about $1500 job according to other Mazda dealership service dept) The thing is, I took my car to them to have a grinding sound fixed in the front end of my car. Yeah, they put rear shocks on my car to fix a front end issue! I had to take my car somewhere else to get it fixed properly, but Koons still wants me to pay them for their useless repairs. When I crossed referenced my invoice agaist other Mazda servcie departments cost estimates for the work Koons performed, Koons has higher part prices, higher labor prices, and they billed too many hours for labor. And speaking of invoices, Koons' will omit itemizing any hours on their invoices which makes it harder for you to capture where the money gets padded into your bill. Bottom line...Beware of this dealership. They'll lie to you about what your car needs and find a way to pad your bill with as many overcharges as possible. p.s. This is the second time I am posting this negative review about this dealerhip. The first one disappeared :|

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
D. Ehrhart, T. Ruprecht
September 18, 2011

"Our Sales person was Chris Vera. Very personable. Had..."

- katepell

Our Sales person was Chris Vera. Very personable. Had car ready and waiting in front when we arrived. Took care of everything. Did not feel pressured in any way. Duke was great too. Finance man was John, very straight forward and did not feel like I was getting sold down the river. Great experience at a car dealership and I'm not one to say that. Love that the details were handled and that everyone listened to our needs. I would definitely recommend the same team! Excellent work!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Vera, Debbie Colt, Duke, John in finance, Debbie Colt
September 12, 2011

"To me, buying a car is a very intimidating process. The..."

- cap10hair

To me, buying a car is a very intimidating process. The very nature of the relationship between the car salesman and the consumer mandates that both players have differing agendas. With that said, I found Greg to be the most upfront and honest salesperson I have dealt with in a very long time, whether it is with a car purchase or otherwise. Truthfully, I personally am in a mid-life professional employment crises, having recently been laid off. Greg's demeanor was such that I am even considering exploring a career in new car sales...just because of him! I cannot give a greater accolade than that!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Greg Ellison
September 08, 2011

"I had had my eye on a Mazda 3 at Koons in Silver Spring..."

- kb2011

I had had my eye on a Mazda 3 at Koons in Silver Spring for a while and finally decided to take a look, despite the distance from both my work and home. The car was right in my price range and all my research showed that it was priced about right for the year, mileage etc. When I contacted the dealership by email to arrange a test drive they replied promptly and gave me the name of the person I would meet with. Chris was there when I arrived and was very upfront about the car, the features, and wasn't defensive at all when a couple of little things were pointed out, instead addressing them quickly (e.g., antenna missing so she went and got the correct one to attach). I loved the car but felt no pressure to make a decision and finalize the deal - it was all at my own pace. Which was especially nice since this was my first car buying experience and I'd been worried about pushy salespeople and getting ripped off! There were problems at my end (unable to get insurance due to the hurricane coming that weekend and needing the car quickly) and Chris as well as Jacob were very patient and stayed late to make sure as much as possible was signed and organized for me. When the dealership lost power in the hurricane I felt like they did everything they could to ensure I could get the car when I needed it - and even though it was a hassle to go there another two times I didn't mind all that much because both Chris and Jacob were very friendly and easy to deal with. I'm very happy with the car and the buying experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Vera, Jacob Patterson
August 14, 2011

"What I needed was a car which would be comfortable to..."

- jaycasey57

What I needed was a car which would be comfortable to ride, safe, sleek, and give me great mileage on the highway. The Mazda 3 fit all of those categories. Thanks to the entire staff; Steve Ellison (Sales) who took the time to show me all of my controls and features on my new car. Thanks to Steve Novak (Finance Director) who took me step by step through all of my financial options, which in turn helped me save lots of money. Thanks to Alex Perdikis (General Manager) who impressed me the most with his knowledge of his dealership, and employees. Checking in on me several times making sure I was completely satisfied with every step of my deal, talking me through many car options, while not feeling pressured at any time. And then there was Jacob (Finance Manager), who made all that paper work seem like a breeze to sit through. Note: This was my first transaction with this dealership, and I hope that there will be many more in the furture. Thanks again!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Perdikis
Other Employees : Greg Ellison, Alex Perdikis, Steve Novak, Jacob
August 11, 2011

"These guys are a perfectly good dealership, and Debbie..."

- grimesman84

These guys are a perfectly good dealership, and Debbie and Greg are both knowledgeable and nice and friendly...until you want to go with a better deal. I rated their customer service as "OK" because they stayed late and let me test drive a Mazda 6 I wasn't sure about buying from them after visiting other dealerships, even though they had to jump it...but then again the reason I had to stay so late was because it took them 45 minutes to look over my price quote from another dealership just to tell me they could beat it by $100. As far as friendliness goes, they are nice, they shake your hand, look you in the eye, and offer you a Coke, ask you about your family, but then again what dealer doesn't? Once you start talking about price differences, they're not "hostile," but they do start trying to make you feel guilty for trying to get the best price, talking about how they're already at the point where they're not making any money, and how they don't want to get caught in a bidding war where the price is going down little by little...as if it's your job to make sure they're getting as much profit on the deal as possible, and as if it's not your job to get the best price you can for you and your family. My overall experience was horrible. I went into the dealership the night before I bought and gave them my quote, and it took them 45 minutes to decide they could beat it by a dollar. Fine. The next day I called my first dealership choice and told them Koons had the best offer, and they said they could match. Since Koons had made a big deal about how great a deal I was already getting, and how they were seeing next to nothing on that deal, they wouldn't go any lower, so I called to say I was sorry, but I was taking my business elsewhere...and they went lower, but Greg already started in with the guilt...saying that "at some point this craziness has to stop." Then one other dealer I hadn't heard back from came out of nowhere with an offer hundreds lower I called both of the dealers back to tell them I had to go with that offer. The first dealer said he understood, and if it turned out not to be legit to let him know, but Koons said they'd beat it by $100 (suddenly they were $700 below a price they quoted as making zero profit on...how they've stayed in business at that rate, I don't know). He kept trying to get me to commit to coming in, so I said, since the other dealer said they couldn't match and he said he would, I'd go with them...and then a little bit later the other dealer called and said they could come up with a better offer. I called Greg and tried to say I'm sorry, but I have to go with the best offer...and all I got was an earful of "You gave your word." I tried to explain I had said I'd go with them in good faith, thinking the other dealer couldn't beat them, and that ultimately I had to go with the best offer, but I had to get read the riot act. Then Debbie comes on the phone, talking about how I "gave my word," how she had to get the car washed and that cost them money (as if they couldn't do that when I was actually in the dealership signing papers for two hours), and asking if it was "just about the money." Then in a huff she said she didn't want to do business with me and hung up. THEN she sent me an email berating me in the same manner. I certainly understand the frustration of having a deal and then having it fall through at the last minute, but I think trying to make someone feel guilty for going with the best price available to them is highly unprofessional, and it's a shame they marred the experience like that, as otherwise I would have rated them highly. On price, they were fine...they seem willing to match any offer, but like any dealership they won't go as low as they can right away...just taking off $100 here and there, which is what I expect..perfectly fine. But they weren't the best out of the gate, and you won't get the best if you just go with them, but they're fine. Ultimately, my verdict is this: They won't rip you off...I definitely would trust them...I would have had no problem taking my car in there with confidence. They're good salespeople. But before you go in, be sure you have the absolute best price you can get from elsewhere...and they'll probably match it. And if you want to keep shopping around, don't let them bully you into "stopping the madness." Get the best price you can...and don't call them until you are driving off another dealership's lot in your new car, or else an "I'm sorry, but I'm going elsewhere" call turns into a "We'll give you another $100 off" which will turn into them, when they ultimately get rejected, accusing you of "creating" a bidding war (instead of just saying "Thanks, have a nice day" like every other dealership I rejected said).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg Ellison, Debbie Colt, Debbie Colt
August 10, 2011

"*** Just wanted to update that I spoke with a Manager for..."

- lllopez03

*** Just wanted to update that I spoke with a Manager for Koons Mazda Service Department (will not name names) and wanted to state that he was friendly and understanding of my frustration. I respect and appreciate that he came to talk to me and in a way calmed me down (mentally) as I was still upset with the fact that I spent longer time here than originally told. I have been Mazda Owner (various models) since 1998 and I came into the Koons Mazda Service Department to have my 2010 Mazda 3 (officially 1 year old) inspected for the State of Maryland (after just moving back). My appointment started at 7:45 and about 2 hours later I was informed by one of the service reps that my tie-rod was damaged, the car would not pass inspection for Maryland and that I would need to have it replaced. I was told by the rep that they would have to order the part locally and that it would take another hour or hour and a half for the part to get there, and then for the part to be installed and the rest of my service to be finished. Around 1 pm after much waiting I sought the service rep who then told me that the part was not ordered and that it would go under the "afternoon run" for parts. That my job would be done by 3:30. This is unacceptable when you cannot really guarantee service to be done on time (I do understand that they are at the mercy of the third party source). When I decided that I would take my car and go elsewhere, the service rep. conveniently found out that the part was there and the mechanic was working on it as we spoke. There just seemed to be miscommunication with the mechanics and the service reps. After speaking with the Manager (see above) I am still on the fence about returning for future service, but again his reaction and patience was very encouraging. I am still disappointed, (but not as angry) because in the city where I previously lived, I had all work done at my Mazda Dealership and they were prompt, courteous, and very clear with all information about services to be performed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rather Not State Name
July 18, 2011

"Sales person Greg, I just wanted to thank you for your..."

- umkadc

Sales person Greg, I just wanted to thank you for your great work. In my last review, I gave overall dealership review with a few mentioning you. I decided to add a few comments about salesperson especially. I believe, you will keep your way of doing business. We are more than satisfied with your customer service. Again, thank you for your professional work. Customer's appreciation is the best award. Your honesty and open mind view of doing business are impressive. Also, we believe, you will be one of the best diamonds in Koons ring. We will certainly go back to you and Koons for the next car purchase. I am happy for other customers who were satisfied with your service and with Koons. We are customers and we respect honesty. Greg and Debbie, you guys are the best. Please just keep your way of customer service. Warm regards, Customer umkadc

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Greg Ellison, Debbie Colt
51 - 60 of 65 results