About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Langan Volkswagen of Vernon

3.9

111 Lifetime Reviews

167 Hartford Tpke, Vernon, Connecticut 06066 Directions
Sales: (860) 645-0261

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

111 Reviews of Langan Volkswagen of Vernon

Sort by Write a review
November 29, 2018

"Worst Service Ever."

- Peeko2

I purchased a 2018 Golf-R ($40,000) from Langan Volkswagon of Vernon in June and immediately began experiencing problems. Upon taking delivery of the car, I was told by the Salesman that they noticed two of the B-Pillar cover pieces were defective and was told they were ordered and I would be contacted when they came in. I didn't hear back for over a week and decided to call the Parts department for an update. I was told the parts were never ordered. I spoke with my salesman and he worked with the Parts department. Another week went by with no phone call. I went to the dealership to inquire about the status. The employee working the counter told me he didn't see any order and called the parts Supervisor, Miguel. He looked and confirmed there was still no order in the system. Another week went by, no call. I called in for an update from Miguel who told me that a new inventory software system was being put in and the inventory was in total chaos. He said he would call me back. I waited a few days and still nothing, when I called back I was put in contact with Service Manager Billy Rieder, who told me the parts were ordered and had been sitting there for weeks. I asked him how it was possible that everyone in the Service and Parts Departments, including the manager, had no clue about these parts being ordered, he had no answer. The window auto roll-down feature failed on day 2. When I made my appointment for replacement of the defective parts, I told Billy about the window issue; he said he'd seen this plenty of times and it's the base settings that would need to be reset, should be quick. I booked an appointment to drop my car off at 9AM. I called around 3PM for a status update and was told they were working on it and would be done in an hour. About 30 minutes after that call, the VW CarNet App they have sent me a message that someone just opened the doors for the first time all day (the app sends a txt 30 seconds of a door being unlocked as a reminder in case the owner forgot to lock the doors on their way out). It seems they weren't working on the car until after I called for a status. I came down 45 minutes later for pick up, was told they could still not replicate the issue, but they changed the base settings again. I drove it off the lot and no more than 5 minutes after, the window failed. I had the window fail every single day. I told Billy the issue still remained and his response was "Are you sure you're pressing the button down right?". After activating the auto roll down feature, taking my finger off the switch and having the window roll down on it's own, it reached about 1/3 of the way down and stopped. No user intervention. I told Billy about the mid-roll down malfunction and had service look at it. They could not replicate the issue but made changes in the computer again. I took the car home and still had issues. When I spoke with Billy, he once again asked if I was using the button right (3rd time he asked). I told him multiple times I had video of the issue, he never cared to look at it. I began experiencing other electrical issues; keyless entry failure, back up camera failed multiple times, sensors in center console screen (oil temp, G-force, turbo psi) would show dashes, not numbers. My customer service experience with this dealership has been abysmal. Most especially in regards to dealing with Billy Rieder. He is constantly combative, defensive and dismissive. He finds reasons to say no to the customer, to make them feel guilty for speaking up and for wanting to be treated with respect and understanding. I didn't ask for these manufacturing defects and malfunctions. 5 Months after purchasing the car they finally approved replacement parts. I am still having sensor and backup camera failures. I reached out to Billy's boss, Wayne Vaporis, who's response to my story was, "In light of your opinions regarding our service, I believe that it would be in your best interest to have your vehicle serviced where you feel the most comfortable. " And offered me no other recourse. BUYER BEWARE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Billy Rieder, Wayne Vaporis
May 18, 2018

"Avoid this Service Department!!"

- Chris2161

We went for scheduled service. I made a simple request to not move the drivers seat when they brought the car into the garage (about 50 feet). I explained that I had had recent back surgery and had the seat just as I need it. The service advisor simple yelled "NO, THEY WILL MOVE YOUR SEAT, THE TECH IS SHORT". I thought he was kidding. He was not. This rude xxxxxxx actually meant it.....they could not get my car Into the garage without moving the seat. I walked out. We are considering legal action, but in the interim, we want to spread the word to avoid these idiots at all costs! It is clear that they are understaffed, desperate, and rude beyond words. This is NOT a place to bring your car, you invested a lot of money in it, take care of it and avoid places like this. Plus the fact that human beings deserve to be treated with at least a little respect, these people have none.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager!
May 04, 2018

"Thank You :)"

- msalek

The entire team at Langan Volkswagen of Vernon could not be more helpful and accommodating. Thank you for making the entire process so quick and easy. I couldn't be happier with my new purchase as it is everything I was looking for in a vehicle. The coffee lounge is the best by far!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Roger Saldi, John Machado II, Brandon Merrick, Dave Bare
March 27, 2018

"Highly Recommended"

- Orange beetle

The service at this dealership was excellent ! More than accommodating! The staff are obviously, a great team, as they work together to address your needs. Thank you for knowing what customer service is!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service staff
November 29, 2017

" The Greatest Salesperson Ever"

- harley girl

We went to Five Car Dealers before the Langan Dealer in Vernon. I am not going to go in to telling about the other dealers, but I do want to tell you about Maria. First we walked around the yard looking at the cars ,when we were done we walked into the dealer's ship, and Maria was setting right in front of the doors, she asked us if anyone was helping us ,I said no I just got here so she politely gave us time then we talked. My husband told her that we were just looking and if we needed her we will let her know. She said ok I will be here when you do. She never pressured us at all. We told her we were looking at other cars, when we make our decision we will let her know. She said ok .We left and went to another dealership. I can tell you that no one cared about us looking at cars at other dealerships they never even came out to see if they could help. Me and Husband said that we are going back the VW Langan and talked to Maria .We did and she took GOOD CARE off us and made everything go so smooth. She worked hard for us and made a Great Deal for us .I have too tell you that the whole car dealership is really nice and the people really do care. They go out of their way to make sure you are very HAPPY! I know that we will always buy our cars here. WE need more places like Langan VW because they care for the people that buy their cars from them. Now I have too tell you a little bit About Maria. She asked me and lance what was our favorite dish was.We said Eggplant Parmesan. When we came back to pickup our new Car she had made home made Eggplant Parmesan for us and it blows my mind. So tell me where do you find that at a Dealerships. So the dinner was very GOOD, REALLY GOOD . I said you have too come too my house and show us how to make that , I am going too rate her A. I gave her an AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA Plus. She should make it for a restaurant or sell it. So end this story we brought the car and made a really Good Friend . We are so glad we went to VW Langan for our new car. Maria knows how to take care of people and she knows her Job. Thank You Maria for being there at the right time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Bussinger
October 31, 2017

"$40,000 chicken parm. ;)"

- Igeek207

$40,000 Chicken Parm ;) Okay, warning. This is a very long review. Worth the read. For those of you looking the cliff notes. Here they are. 1. You must ask for Maria Lepage, sales. She will change your life forever. 2. You must buy your next Volkswagen from Langan VW of Vernon, even if your not in Connecticut. 3. Everyone at Langan VW of Vernon is incredible. 4. Honest, Fair, Trustworthy, Knowledgable, and Personable. 5. Great selection of inventory. 6. Still reading? Why haven’t you called Maria? 7. $40,000 Chicken Parm. (Read the full review to find out more) Completely life changing experience! Still feel like we are dreaming every time we glance at our brand new Silk Blue Metallic 2018 VW Tiguan SEL Premium with 4Motion. My partner and I had been searching for the perfect SUV for almost half a year and then we finally were able to come to a mutual agreement on what we wanted. The biggest problems being that each dealership we would visit didn’t have the exact vehicle that we wanted and on top of that played all sorts of games with the numbers or offered an insulting offer for our trade. Finally we found a dealership that had our dream SUV, but we would have to compromise on the color, as the color we wanted was not available at that dealership. Now we had already decided that we were going to use our local credit union for financing and were currently in the process for pre-approval. So most of the checkboxes were checked, we just needed to find it. Frustrated, we decided to try some out-of-state dealerships. One VW dealership did us a favor by looking up national inventory on our dream SUV, but the results were disheartening. In the entire nation there were a total of 16 2018 VW Tiguan SEL Premiums with 4Motion and not necessarily in Silk Blue Metallic. The woman said that one could be ordered, but had no idea on a timeframe. That’s when I decided to take matters in my own hands. I went to VW’s website and configured our dream SUV including the Silk Blue Metallic color we wanted. Next I had to keep changing the zip code so that it would search different vicinity VW dealers. No hits. Then finally we got a hit. I immediately called the dealership and was told that the vehicle was sold already. They apologized and explained that when a vehicle is sold, it sometime takes a little while for the website to reflect the inventory. So not going to get defeated, I searched further and went to different states and then, I got another hit, Langan VW of Vernon, CT. Without hesitation I was on the telephone and asking to speak to a salesperson. While waiting for a salesperson my partner was researching Google reviews and everyone was praising this woman by the name of Maria. I was thinking to myself, we probably should have researched a sales associate, before calling, but given the extremely limited quantity of our dream SUV, I wasn’t wasting a second. The phone connects and we hear “Thank you for calling Langan VW of Vernon, this is Maria, how may I help you today?”. My partner and I both burst out with joyous cheer and excitement. We tell Maria what led us to her and the vehicle we want. She assures us that yes in fact they have it, it’s not sold. I tell her that we are awaiting a final decision from our credit union for the financing and we would probably know by end of day or Monday at latest. This being Friday, Maria suggests that we put a refundable deposit on the vehicle so that they could hold it for us until the credit union tells us their decision. We gladly agree and are beyond excited. Anytime the phone rings we anxiously pick it up as fast as possible expecting to hear great news. I decide to call back Maria and let her know that it appears we won’t receive a decision today, but instead it would be Monday. She suggests that we make the trip so at least our trade could be evaluated and we could meet. My partner and I talk it over and he isn’t available the next day, but I make the 3.5 hour journey from Maine to Connecticut myself. I let Maria know and she schedules me in for 11:30am Saturday. That night I could hardly sleep at all. I was tossing and turning and then fed up, got up at 3:30am and decided that I was going to just leave now, just to be that much closer to seeing the car. The drive to Connecticut seemed to go by so fast and before I knew it, I was driving by Langan VW of Vernon. The only snafu being it was 7:30 in the morning and my appointment was still 4 hours away. I drive to Springfield, MA and check out the area there and get something to eat. I decide on a whim to message Maria and inform her that I’m in the area. She immediately responds “come on in”. Well, that’s all I need to hear. I think I made Springfield MA, to Vernon, CT in under 15 minutes. At points I’m not even sure that all four wheels were still on the ground. I pull into the parking lot and there she is, her long black hair flowing in the wind, a giant beautiful welcoming smile on her face, waving her hand at me. I get out of the vehicle and we shake hands and she introduces herself as Maria. She immediately thanks me for choosing Langan VW of Vernon and for making the 3.5 hour journey. She is just as excited as I am to show me our dream vehicle. I walk into the showroom and there it is. The Silk Blue Metallic, shining like the Caribbean Sea. I can hardly believe my eyes. Our dream vehicle exists and I’m standing feet from it. I can touch it, I can get in and feel the supple leather seats cradle me, I take in a deep breath and fill my nostrils with the smell of fresh leather. Maria calls me into her office and has some paperwork and questions that I need to complete. Having purchased new vehicles before, this is where I start to get anxious, wondering if she is going to be like every other sales person I have dealt with? Was she going to play the shell numbers game, was she going to lowball my trade in, was she going to try to force me into financing, even though I previously told her I wasn’t interested. Well let me tell you, she did none of those things. She was completely personable and I felt as though I was sitting down with a friend and not some sales person out to get me. She offered me some refreshments and explained everything that I was filling out and what was involved in the process. It was at that time that I decided to apply for the financing on my own, since my partner couldn’t be there. I knew the chances were slim, having only 1/2 of our combined household income and on top of that having so much negative equity from a previous upside down financing. I figured it can’t hurt to try. I tell Maria that this is the price I would like to pay and this is the price I would like for my trade in. She never made me feel like it was an unreasonable offer or that I had no idea how to price things. That was not the case at other dealerships. Most made me feel ashamed that I even thought I could negotiate. Maria smiles and informs me that should be fine. Maria starts on the other paperwork with me and then informs me that she will be back, she needs to submit the offer to management. While waiting for Maria to come back, I decide to get up and go exploring the dealership. The entire dealership is spotless and everything is well organized and clearly labeled. The waiting area for service was clean with ample seating, refreshments, and even a play area for the kiddies. Parts had all the latest and greatest accessories to make your VW stand out from the crowd and they even had a generous offering of VW merchandise from hoodies to coffee cups, and probably the most extensive offering of VW baseball caps I had ever seen. I continue my self guided tour looking at the new VW models from the new GTI to the new Atlas to some VW antiquities, including a VW bus in pristine condition. While on my tour, I watch as customer after customer comes through the door, each greeted with a warm smile and immediately tended to. I realize that not only is Maria amazing, but this whole place is amazing. I haven’t seen one unhappy customer or employee, whether it be in service, parts, and especially in sales. I take a seat back in Maria’s office. She apologizes that the process is taking a while and offers me some candy and another beverage. She is so sweet. I feel like I’m hanging out with my Italian Grandmother, that is, if I had an Italian Grandmother. She has a big smile on her face and says “Don’t worry you’ll be going home in your car”, I just smile and think to myself, as nice a gesture, ya right. A man with a giant smile and the most amazing blue eyes I have ever seen, introduces himself as Ryan, the finance manager although he prefers to be referred to as the gentleman who is going to help me get my dream car. Again, I’m thinking this is too good to be true and this is all just a giant show. He informs me that everything looks good and he would like to shop around to get me the best deal for financing and due to it being a Saturday that may take more time than normal for which he apologizes. I tell him that’s fine and I appreciate him trying to get me my car. Next I strike up a conversation with Jess, who is another sales person right next to Maria’s office. She tells me about the area and we talk about the car industry in general and VW as a brand. She is genuine, a great conversationalist and has an incredible eye for style as she was very fashionable. Next, I meet Dan the sales manager, he thanks me for coming in and assures me that they are working their hardest to get the loan approved at the best possible rate. Finally, Maria runs in her office and informs me of the great news. “See I told you that you would be driving away in your car today”. I can’t believe it. No way. She informs me of the next steps, the car needs to go to detailing and then to service for a checkup and then I would need to sit down with Ryan and sign all the documents. I meet up with Dave Bare, the Sales Manager as he is getting in my new car. He also thanks me and gives me a hardy congratulations on my new car. I feel like a million bucks. I can’t believe this is all happening. One of Maria’s other customers comes in to take delivery of her new car and begins to sing opera as she makes her way into Ryan’s office. This place is incredible. I don’t want to leave. Lol Maria noticing that Ryan is busy now, offers to buy lunch. Are you kidding me. I thank her and take her up on the offer for pizza. Now it’s my turn, I head into Ryan’s office, nervous as xxxx, because this is usually where they try to pressure you into all sorts of things you don’t need or once again, they play with numbers and before you know it, you have no clue how your car payment looks more like a mortgage payment. Ryan made me feel so at ease. He explained all the numbers and when I had questions was easily able to explain what the charges were and how to follow them in the contract and other paperwork. The pizza arrived and Ryan and I were eating slices of pizza and shooting the breeze. Every document that I signed was explained in full and he made sure I had no questions or concerns before signing anything. This was the most comfortable I have ever felt while signing legal documents. Once the paperwork was signed, he sent me off to Maria once again. Maria had a smile from ear to ear. She was like a red headed step child on allowance day. She took me into the car and showed me how every feature worked. She even set up my iPhone with CarPlay and help me setup my personal preferences in the vehicle, things like seat position, mirror positions, ambient lighting, etc. Finally she presents me with a giant aluminum pan. “See I told you that you would be going home with your car, congratulations, I enjoyed our time together and I’m so happy for you. As my youtube commercial says, here is your chicken parm”. She informs me that I just need to heat it up and it’s ready to eat. I place the dish in the backseat and Maria tells me that she would now like me to drive her to the gas station so that she can fill up my gas tank before driving home. So off to the gas station we go. While at the gas station she said that she wanted to get me a coffee, to make sure that I was Okay for the 3.5 hour journey back home. Once again, I take her up on the offer. So we arrive back at Langan VW of Vernon, and now unfortunately it’s time to say farewell for now. Maria informs me that she will schedule my 60 day complimentary checkup and that I can have that service done at any authorized VW dealer, doesn’t have to be in Vernon, and she completely understands my decision to take it closer to home. I assure her that we will come back so that she can meet William, my partner and he can experience the magic that is Langan VW of Vernon is. We embrace in a warm hug and I’m left feeling a plethora of emotions. I’m elated that I’m now the proud owner of my dream car, with no compromises, but at the same time I feel a bit of sadness knowing that it’s time to depart this wonderful place and say farewell to all these wonderful people who have changed my life. Langan VW of Vernon is an experience unlike any other. Life changing. The people are honest, warm, and welcoming. They truly set the bar high for other dealerships. I can’t recommend them enough and would hope that everyone had the chance to experience their stellar customer service, vast product knowledge, and laid back sales approach. Maria is a gem. Words can hardly describe what a warm, trustworthy, charismatic, and beautiful person she is. I think of Maria more of as a friend, then just a salesperson and I would highly recommend you pick up the phone and ask for her by name, she will change your life forever. If there were more Maria’s in this world, it truly would be a much better place to live.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Maria Lepage, Ryan Bussinger
October 12, 2017

"Buying a VW from Maria Lepage"

- VW-V6-Langan

Recently I purchased a Passat V6 and Maria was my salesperson. She was very professional and very knowledgeable. She knows her job and how to make a customer feel comfortable. The purchase process was smooth, I just had to sit back and relax. It was a great experience working with Maria. Thank you Maria..!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Maria Lepage
September 27, 2017

"Great service experienced!"

- Vernon family man

I purchased 2017 Jetta last week and Maria was my salesperson. She was very passionate about her job and she knew how to make all purchasing processes with less stress. It was a great experience working with Maria.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Maria LePage
August 22, 2017

"NEW 2018 TIGUAN!!!"

- el987

This is the second VW I have bought from Maria at Langan Vernon. Maria is a treasure, making the experience non-stressful, and enjoyable. Maria is the most knowledgeable VW salesperson I have ever worked with, and I should know as this is my 5th Volkswagen. The best thing I can say about Maria is that she is so very honest and trustworthy, I do not doubt that I got the best price for a great car! If you are looking for a new car - see Maria Lepage, you will thank me:)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Maria Lepage
August 05, 2017

"New 2018 Tiguan"

- Huricain

Mark Flynn was my sales exec and he was fantastic. Very helpful, with absolutely no pressure. I went in to look at some other vehicles but Mark sat with me and asked about my driving pattern, my interest. Kids, pets, he really spent the time to get to know me and I ended up with the perfect car for me and I am ecstatic with my car. Mark followed up with me and offered to spend more time helping me get to know all the tech.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Flynn
1
...
1 - 10 of 111 results