Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Lawrence Kia

Lawrence, KS

3.8
945 Reviews

1225 E 23rd St

Lawrence, KS

66046

Directions

Filter Reviews By Type

Showing 945 reviews

October 13, 2021

"Evil dealership! I would never ever buy a Kia again they..."

- God is my anchor

Evil dealership! I would never ever buy a Kia again they do not stand behind there product.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tim Woods
1.0
August 18, 2021

"Just having moved to Lawrence I had a tire sensor on my..."

- Gay

Just having moved to Lawrence I had a tire sensor on my new K5. Air was put in the tire and the sensor which displays on the center console showed 37 in all tires. I was told to see the local Kia dealership. It took a week to get in. I arrived at 8:30 as I was told, explained the gage said 37 on all tires as I'd seen for one week. The service person, not the one I'd been working with, two hours later told me my tire pressure was 27 in one tire. Not 37 as my gage said. I asked if my new car had a faulty sensor since I, a ER Trauma nurse , Can certainly distinguish between 27 and 37!!!!!! I was argued with making me feel petty and because I'm a woman I can't be believed between knowing 27 and 37. I was dismissed about the faulty gage idea. I WILL never go back. The gentleman from the Carolina's was very nice and I'm sorry he has to work with the other one

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Darren Denning
5.0
July 23, 2021

"Chose Lawrence KIA because of the great experience I had..."

- tim.nellessen

Chose Lawrence KIA because of the great experience I had when I purchased my wife’s Carnival from them a month ago. I needed a commuter car for work and Kelly Engler took car of me again. That’s two great customer service experiences here from two different people

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kelly Engler
5.0
Matt Jamison
5.0
Chris Pena
5.0
July 09, 2021

"Lawrence Kia looked from the outside like the best..."

- adumler

Lawrence Kia looked from the outside like the best dealership to go with. I liked the idea of the unlimited warranty. We all realize at this time vehicles are in demand and I was in the marker for the most in-demand vehicle-the Kia Carnival. I put a deposit on one and waited. When it came in and I was contacted, the first thing they did was raise the price above MSRP. I was specifically told that would not happen because I paid a deposit. They did adjust that but gave me the lowest offer for my trade out of anyone I’ve talked to. The argument was that they couldn’t give me more because I was getting the vehicle at MSRP. Excuse me? That is what the vehicle should be sold at. Giving me fair trade value was expected. They tried to argue because I showed them the KBB cash value offer that it didn’t count because I was gaining another $1,600 off of my taxes. I explained that this offer included the fact that I could trade and get this price. They also said they took off $500 off my trade with bad tires. I told them the KBB offer had been figured in that all four tires needed replacing. Basically they’re telling you that you won’t get a good deal one way or another. They’ll either sell the vehicle over MSRP or screw you on your trade.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shane Merriam
May 27, 2021

"Couldn't find a 2021 KIA Soul with manual transmission in..."

- John

Couldn't find a 2021 KIA Soul with manual transmission in my state (Washington) so I went online and found a well-priced one at Lawrence KIA. It was exactly what I wanted so I bought it online and travelled to Lawrence to pick it up. Chris W greeted me at the dealership and my Soul was sparkling clean and fueled, ready for my drive back to Seattle. Chris and his team were great to work with, low-key and professional. Great KC restaurant recommendations, too! Well worth the travel; I'd definitely recommend Lawrence KIA to my friends here in Washington State.

Read More
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris W
April 15, 2021

"Save your time and money. They are very rude and do not..."

- alfredmills81

Save your time and money. They are very rude and do not negotiate at all. Stay away !! The sales guy was pretty cool but when he went to get the “manager” for negotiations everything went downhill. He specifically told me “this car is not for you”. I said I wasn’t an enthusiast and that was his response. Just to be fair, I don’t think anyone is a Toyota Corolla enthusiast when they buy one.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kelly Engler
2.0
June 12, 2020

"I sold a used car to this dealership dealing directly..."

- Joshem

I sold a used car to this dealership dealing directly with the owner/GM and then found out afterward that despite his insistence the car would have to be discounted for having been in an accident it is being resold for even more than I thought it would be. I feel mislead and cheated.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sam Rajapakse
1.0
Chin Rajapaksha
1.0
Jun 16, 2020 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. After reviewing your transaction, here are the facts. We offered you $3000 for your Prius. You wanted more for your vehicle because vehicles similar to yours are selling for around $6000 in the retail market. As discussed during the transaction, we cannot purchase a vehicle from customers closer to retail value. You insisted you wanted more for your car. As we explained to you before the transaction, since the vehicle shows an accident on the vehicle history report, it will be challenging to sell it for top dollar. So, therefore, we cannot pay top dollar. However, you negotiated with the owner and were able to sell the vehicle to us for $3500. You were very happy with the transaction. Also, you were pleased with how we made sure your vehicle was sanitized properly during the vehicle appraisal process. You were also satisfied with us regarding how we accommodated your request and safety requirements due to COVID-19. (IE. We sanitized all touchpoints of your vehicle during the appraisal process and completed the entire transaction on the parking lot because you did not want to set foot in the dealership). You were thrilled with the entire process, to where you wanted to buy your next car from the dealership. However, a few weeks later, you saw that your vehicle was priced for $6900 on our website. We understand that you felt that we should have paid you more for your car. Unfortunately, we have to price our vehicles according to current market demands. As all dealerships, we price "FRESH" inventory at the highest margin possible; this does NOT mean we will sell it for that. Most customers just like you would want to negotiate and get a better price. When pricing our cars, we have to consider things like reconditioning cost, carrying cost, marketing cost, employee commissions, dealership overhead, titling cost, insurance cost, and various other costs. We also have to disclose to our buyers the fact that your vehicle has an accident, which will reduce the vehicle's value. Therefore it would be challenging to sell the vehicle for the asking price. We sincerely apologize that you felt you were misled. Clearly, that is not our intention.

April 07, 2020

"After you walk off the lot with a car, they don't care."

- Topherk44

Car buying experience was great. They helped out very well and were super kind. HOWEVER, I got into an accident that totaled my car. Filed my GAP insurance claim at the end of December 2019 and cancelled my Extended Warranty. It took them until the middle of February to send in my GAP insurance check to my bank. As of today, April 7th, 2020, I have still NOT to receive my Extended Warranty check. I call my bank weekly, if not more often, to ask about it. Then, I call Lawrence Kia. Each time, someone new seems to "handle" the situation. I have been told on four different accounts the check has been mailed out, most recently on March 20th. They often say "We will call you back within 30 minutes" and after 2-3 days, I call back and start at square one with someone else, even though I have been taking employee's names down and ask for them. They're out of the office, a lot. I have offered to deliver the check myself, xxxx, I'll even to write the xxxx thing if someone would sign it. Due to the amount left of the loan that they have neglected to pay off, my credit has dropped 50+ points. I am using my tax return to pay it off today because after almost four months, they still have not paid off my loan in full. I hope nothing like this happens to anyone else. I highly recommend you look somewhere else for your car buying experience. Multiple dealerships I visited in town to get a car after my accident shared stories similar to mine from other customers. I heard "They're great to you until you walk off the lot with a car. Then, they couldn't care less." I am experiencing that hardcore. Please go somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Too many
Apr 09, 2020 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Christopher, we completely understand your frustration regarding this matter and would like to apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused you. Warranty Cancellations due to a total loss naturally have a longer than normal turnaround time due to verifications that are made by the warranty company, the lender, and the dealership. We sent the cancellation check to your Lender on March 19th of 2019, and we see that the check has not been cashed yet. Typically it takes about three weeks from the mailing date for us to see the funds being processed. However, we understand entirely from a customer standpoint how it can be very frustrating not having access to your money in one way or another. We are currently working daily with Christopher to resolve this issue. Due to the current state we are in, we are waiting 30-45 minutes on hold with the lender each day and not having any results. We will continue to have daily contact with Christopher until this matter has been resolved since we do not want to conduct business poorly after a sale has been made. We want our customers to feel comfortable making us their dealership for life. At the current moment, we are waiting on Christopher to provide us with proof of pay-off for the total loss vehicle so we can expedite the process and cut a check back directly to Christopher so he would not have to wait until US bank sends the money back to him. Christopher, we hope you understand that we are working as hard as we can to get this resolved for you and that you are welcome to call us anytime if you have any questions or concerns.

March 27, 2020

"Not what I expected"

- Smart car shopper

I just went there during the COVID-19 pandemic. I was told on the phone that all cars would be sterilized before and after each test drive. Plus, I was told to make an appointment so they could limit the number of people in the showroom. First, I saw NO signs of any car cleaning/sterilization going on at all. No wipes, no antibacterial sprays.....nothing! At the dealership, the showroom was packed and there was absolutely NO social distancing at all. The woman on the phone prior to my visit told me a whole bunch a lies relating to the dealership's COVID-19 plans or actions. As a side note, I was amazed how they would not let me wander in their used car lot to see some vehicles. Instead, they insisted on bringing a car up front for me to view. They pretty much sell their used cars as is, so there is no paint touch up, no dent removal or anything like that. I would stay away from this dealership!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Herring
4.0
Mar 31, 2020 -

Lawrence Kia responded

We want to apologize that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. We have been taking measures to keep everyone safe at our dealership. We have a sheet that is signed every hour showing that someone has sanitized the dealership, which is being done, we do not leave the items out for the public to see as not to make the lobby look cluttered. We also have been limiting people in the dealership at a time, but we, unfortunately, might have just gotten a little sidetracked with both service and sales customers in one spot. As with our used cars, we try to do our best to avoid imperfections as much as possible, but keep in mind that they are pre-owned vehicles so they will not be perfect. Our number priority is our customer's safety. We value your input, and we will take these concerns into serious consideration, and we will continue to further adapt during these challenging times. Again, we apologize for your less than stellar experience and wish you the best in the future with your car buying process.

December 14, 2019

"Horrible experience that resulted in over 4 hrs of drive..."

- Qualls59

Horrible experience that resulted in over 4 hrs of drive time and a wasted day off of work to go to this dealership to buy a car that they didn't even have on the lot! I was interested in a Ford Fusion I found online do I called the dealer to confirm they had it, while talking to one of the girls on the phone she told me it didn't have an option I was after so I said no big deal I'll just keep looking. Thirty minutes later another girl called me back and said they checked the vehicle and it did indeed have the remote start option I was after so i started my 2 hr drive to go buy my new car. When I got to the dealership they pulled the car out front, I inspected it and the salesman drove it off the lot and we switched places down the road. After being in the driver's seat for a minute I looked at the odometer and realized this was not the right milage. They did not even have the car I came to look at on the lot so they tried pulling a fast one by bringing out, letting me inspect, then test drive a car that was an exact replica except for the interior options and had more milage. Needless to say the test drive was over and I got to drive 2 hrs back home with no car. The manager of course got in contact and said he would do anything to make it right but that has not been see . I would take my business, valuable time, and money elsewhere.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Valerie Abarca
1.0
Chris Herring
1.0
Kevin Morrissy
1.0
Sam Rajapakse
1.0
Chin Rajapaksha
1.0
Dec 23, 2019 -

Lawrence Kia responded

Aaron, we want to apologize to you, we dropped the ball. The vehicle you came into see was one that another customer had placed a deposit on and was on an extended test drive. Moreover, we did not give you the correct information about the remote start option. Because the vehicle is a Hybrid, the remote start is not an option on that particular vehicle. We did offer to sell the Fusion to you at the online price and install the remote start at no charge. This is a teaching moment for our staff, and we have addressed this situation with the appropriate team members. We sell over 300 cars a month because of our customer service, aggressive pricing, and free Lifetime Warranty and try to provide outstanding service before and after the sale. In your case, we failed, and that is not the way we do business. Again we apologize and hope to earn your business in the future.

1
...
1 - 10 of 945 results