Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Mike Smith Nissan

Beaumont, TX

1.4
8 Reviews

1515 I-10 South

Beaumont, TX

77701

Directions

8 Reviews of Mike Smith Nissan

Sort by
October 08, 2021

"Three years ago, I gave Mike Smith Nissan Service Center..."

- Mark

Three years ago, I gave Mike Smith Nissan Service Center a glowing 5-STAR Review (see below). Today, I have to change my review to 1-STAR. Its not just because of today’s service, but its the principle and lack of trust from the folks working in the service center. Today I went in and asked for my normal oil change and “free tire rotation”, that was part of the “free tire rotation for life” purchase of 4 new tires a few years back. Ms Dawn was very professional and courteous and my car was completed within 45 minutes (a record time for them). After driving away, I determined that my tires were not rotated by observing my “in dash tire pressure display” knowing that my front right tire was at 40lbs and my front left tire was at 36lbs before I went in and that these same air pressure readings were still displaying after I left their Center. I knew these air pressure readings as I had just inflated all 4 of my tires a day earlier and looked at the display and knew I would need to deflate my front right tire back down to 36 soon so it was in line with the other 3 tires. After getting home, I looked carefully at my dirty, brake dust filled rims and also noticed there were no finger print, smears, images, etc., indicating that anyone had removed, rotated and replaced any of these tires. I texted Ms. Dawn and let her know what I discovered and my disappointment level. She replied back and said she spoke with the service tech and said the tires were rotated according to him, but offered to rotate them again if I brought my car back in (which I did not do). It’s not the tires getting (or not getting) rotated that bothers me, it’s the principle of the whole situation. This same thing happened to me once before (due to my suspicions) where I actually numbered my tires with a sharpie before asking them to be rotated and after completion, I discovered they were not rotated. The Service Manager at the time offered me an apology and a free oil change/tire rotation (which I never took advantage of), if I would just give them another opportunity to service my vehicle again. I purchased my vehicle there at Mike Smith and have had virtually all of my oil changes and services performed on it for the past 6 years or so. When it comes to being able to trust a service center to do the right thing, I have lost my trust in them. I shouldn’t have to be the one wondering if what I ask for and pay for and what my ticket actually says was performed on my vehicle was actually done or not. Even though the tire rotation was “free”, it should of been done as the ticket says it was. It would be one thing if the Service Center was packed, busy, and they informed me that they could not get to it, but it was not. I arrived around 2:00 in the afternoon and there was only one other customer there, who actually arrived after I was sitting there. When my car was completed, Dawn failed to give me my complimentary “multi-point inspection” report which they normally go over with me before I check out and pay. I asked about it and Dawn said she would e-mail it to me the next day (which was really odd). Well the next day came and I texted Dawn about lunchtime asking about my report (which shows it was performed on my ticket). She never replied until I texted her again around 5:00pm, and her response was that she has already sent it to me. I replied letting her know that I never received it and also sent her my correct email address, just in case she didn’t have it correctly. I never received a response. I honestly don’t believe Mike Smith Service Center performed the multi-point inspection that shows on my ticket that it was done. What else are they hiding and failing to perform when they write it on the ticket as being “completed”? It’s all about honesty and trust and this Service Center has failed me. They have gone from my hero’s to zeros in a few short years. 3 Years ago, I wrote this: Great experience this morning at Mike Smith Nissan. I went in for an oil change, came out with a fabulous deal on 4 much needed new tires. Amber informed me on the "Buy 3, Get one For a Penny" Tire Sale, then sweetened the deal by informing me about their current $70.00 Free Rebate with the purchase of 4 tires and then she even handled the entire rebate form and faxed it in for me - she rocks!! These folks also have "the best" cappuccino/latte/coffee machine in SE Texas, free coffee and snacks for all customers!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dawn Gonzales
Oct 12, 2021 -

Mike Smith Nissan responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for the service experience you have encountered. I would like an opportunity to address your concerns and to earn your business, please contact me. I look forward to speaking with you. Angie Fundling Service Manager afundling@mikesmithdirect.com

September 24, 2021

"Made an 11:00am appointment for oil change and tire..."

- Jane

Made an 11:00am appointment for oil change and tire rotation. Bad joke. The appointment is to check me in and then “there is at least a 2 hour wait”. Excuse me. You obviously do not understand the definition of an appt. I asked “So I could have just driven in at 9:00 am and just waited with no appointment?” The answer was “unfortunately, yes”. What the heck! I have owned A Toyota, Honda, Jeep, Durango. Never have I ever waited over and hour for an oil change. It is now 1:09 and I am still waiting and my car has not been moved from where I parked it. Unacceptable! Nissan you can do better! Won’t be back

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don’t know
Oct 01, 2021 -

Mike Smith Nissan responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize that your recent service visit took longer than expected. I would like an opportunity to address your concerns and to earn your business, please contact me. I look forward to speaking with you. Matt Kelleher General Manager mkelleher@group1auto.com

July 27, 2021

"Bought a pre owned car and paid the sales tax and fees to..."

- Oddcars4

Bought a pre owned car and paid the sales tax and fees to have the car titled in another state. They decided almost a month later that they did not want to do the work and sent the paper work to me. The salesman, the finance guy who will not return a call, and the lady who mailed me back the documents are useless. In addition they lied about every aspect of the deal including the condition of the car. There are so many better dealers than Mike Smith Nissan, do yourself a favor and buy a car somewhere else. I know I will from now on!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Albert, Travis
Aug 20, 2021 -

Mike Smith Nissan responded

We truly value your business and thank you for bringing this to my attention. Please contact me directly at the email listed below. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to know more about your experience. I look forward to speaking with you. Matt Kelleher General Manager mkelleher@mikesmithdirect.com

Aug 20, 2021 -

Oddcars4 responded

Phone number is 813-391-0442 if you truly want to discuss this

Aug 28, 2021 -

Oddcars4 responded

did not think you would respond and knew your response was an attempt at putting on a good face like you care. sent you my phone and email over a week ago and you have not called. fact is you and your company did a terrible job at representing this car and your team lied about registering the car. you have your money and that's in the end all you care about. everyone do yourself a favor and buy elsewhere this dealer or general manager don't care.

May 13, 2021

"LESS THAN ONE RATING CHARGING ME $492.00 DIAGINOGOS..."

- tri56784

LESS THAN ONE RATING CHARGING ME $492.00 DIAGINOGOS AMD MAKE ME TAKE IT TO ANOTHER SHOP BECAUSE THEY THE PROPRER TOOLS TO REPAIR MY CAR. CLASSIC CHEVYORLOET WHY WOULD A NISSAN CAR HAVE TO GO CHEVY BODY SHOP TO BE REPAIR MAKES NO SENSE DOES IT

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
LAURA
December 11, 2020

"After being asked multiple times (prior to the..."

- Ren

After being asked multiple times (prior to the appointment by telephone) to wear a mask to my service appointment, I was shocked to find that this rule only applied to customers. The staff were all maskless behind their service desk. There were plexiglass barriers on each desk but I had to stand to the left of the barrier in order to receive paperwork and hand over my keys. In the waiting area, I saw a maskless mechanic talking to another masked customer loudly while leaning forward towards her. Masks only work well when everyone wears them. Dead customers can't buy cars so perhaps it best to try to protect your customers in addition to your staff. When I complained the staff "tried to make it right" but this many months into a pandemic it's too little too late.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Taylor
Dec 18, 2020 -

Mike Smith Nissan responded

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I apologize for your experience visiting us for your service and the lack of customer service. I would like an opportunity to fix this and to earn your business, please contact me at mkelleher@mikesmithdirect.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Matt Kelleher General Manager

August 20, 2018

"Unprofessional Service and Irresponsible Management Team"

- cargirl

After applying and being approved for auto financing online at Mike Smith Smith Nissan, I agreed to drive from 5 hours away to test drive and pick up my used car on 6/23/18. When I arrived in Beaumont on 6/23/18, I was quoted the car's price and told that the car needed to be sent to Houston for a week for repairs at a major dealership. I agreed to return to test drive and pick up the car on 6/30/18. When I returned on 6/30/18, the salesperson told me that repairs were made to the car's braking system and the car would cost me an extra $2,000. I agreed. When I got into the Finance office, I requested as much GAP coverage as possible. Instead of the Finance Manager maximizing the coverage requested, he bundled a lower GAP coverage with two other warranties I was not interested in and told me that the GAP coverage I wanted was not available. When I looked at my paperwork later, I discovered that he only gave me the first page of each warranty agreement. I sent certified mail to two of the warranty providers to cancel the coverage, so that I could buy my own after-market warranties. The two providers refunded my money to the dealership as of 7/30/18. As of 8/20/18, the dealership has failed to remit the warranty refunds to my auto loan lien-holder. Additionally, on 8/16/18, a title representative from Mike Smith Nissan called me and said that my vehicle plates would not be ordered unless the car was inspected. It's not legal to sell a car without having a state inspection performed on the vehicle. My temporary plates expire on 8/29/18. I went into a Group1 dealership on 8/17/18 to have the car inspected, and the dealer advised that the car was probably not inspected for mechanical issues if the state inspection was not completed. I have been advised that the repairs to the braking system on the car will be costly. Additionally, I have been advised to retain legal counsel as Mike Smith Nissan has broken several laws and regulations of warranty agreements during this transaction. This is the worst experience ever.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Abraham Peters, Alan Parsons, Brenda (Title), Kim Lee (Finance Secretary)
April 17, 2017

"horrible,horrible and horrible"

- sbroussard

Please be careful if you get your car serviced at Mike smith Nissan........ I had a drive chain recall issued on my car, I spoke with the service manager after they ran the diagnostic and he told me I needed a 11,000$ new engine ,my oil was black and sludgey either because I was not changing my oil or because I was not getting it changed by Nissan. At this time they told me there was no point to get the recall done. I advised them to do the recall, because I knew I changed my oil when I am supposed to, they kept my car over a week all the while having salesman call me everyday trying to sell me a car. I get my car back and it is running very rough, when I get down the road, my service engine light comes on. I had already planned to bring it to get a second opinion, so I brought it to twin city Nissan and they are amazing! They ran the tests and told me in fact I do not need a new engine, but the recall was done incorrectly by mike Smith Nissan. No sludge at all in my engine ,they pulled my Carfax which has all my oil changes logged in it. Mike Smith Nissan lied to me,tried to rip me off and treated me very rude. On the other side of this Twin city Nissan was kind and helpful, made sure we had a rental car{Mike Smith denied me a rental car}. They also called and gave me updates{Mike Smith did not}. I also called the Mike Smith GM and left messages with no callback. So please be careful, always get a second opinion.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kelsey Craig,Matthew Reck
March 06, 2015

"Awesome"

- HAN

Our sales advisor Willie was great, he made sure all our needs were met on time and he is a very nice person, enjoyed the experience. Thanks

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Willie
1
1 - 8 of 8 results