Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Penske Buick GMC of Cerritos

Cerritos, CA

not yet
rated
118 Reviews

18400 Studebaker Rd

Cerritos, CA

90703

Directions

118 Reviews of Penske Buick GMC of Cerritos

Sort by
April 15, 2021

"Leased a 2021 GMC Acadia dusty and Javier were easy to do..."

- Pedromontoya323

Leased a 2021 GMC Acadia dusty and Javier were easy to do business with very patient as I had lots of questions. Both Dusty and Javier very attentive to the point that I will return to this dealership just because of their customer service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Javier Garcia and Dusty Anderson
December 07, 2020

"Working with a car broker I’ve been using for years on..."

- getbarreled

Working with a car broker I’ve been using for years on all my personal and company vehicles, we came up on Penske as one of the few lots that had the truck I was looking for. A 2021 2500HD Denali Duramax in preferred color and trim. My broker did the leg work and secured the truck through Penske’s fleet manager Phillip. He seemed to be a nice guy. It became evident however that we were dealing with the standard in swindler type dealerships when we asked about swapping the emblems from red to black, the dealer quoted $1100... for something that costs $400 retail, they wanted $700 in installation on top of their markup! We decided against that nonsense. Then the finance department insisted they would only sell the vehicle at GMC’s current employee pricing promotion if GAP Insurance was included for $1500. I was making a down payment of $45,000. Anyone who understands how GAP works, understands this is literally forcing me to pay $1500 for absolutely NOTHING. After haggling, they said the only way they would drop the GAP is if I did the emblems at their quote, and they sell me door edge protectors for SEVEN HUNDRED DOLLARS! Thin strips of clear 3M material on the edge of the truck doors for 7 bills. Rude! At this point I should mention, this is to replace my full time work truck. My current GM truck is getting bought back under lemon law. I’ve been a GM guy my whole life and I am giving them another chance by buying this Denali. So all this deal was getting worked out on Friday, we settled on a price, I caved to their demands for add ons. Penske were to drop off the truck on Monday at 2pm. A couple hours after I would be required to surrender my current work vehicle in order to satisfy the lemon law settlement. Sunday at 4:30pm and they inform my broker that the management decided to sell the vehicle to someone else. Less than 24 hours from delivery time, the didn’t even give notice or say a word about another buyer. They just sold it and then tried get us to go for a different truck. One that wasn’t what I was looking for. This type of behavior is what makes people write articles about why the world HATES car dealerships. I was born in Southbay and have a lot of family in the area. Largely all GM drivers. I will definitely be informing them all about my experience at Penske. The first and last experience I’ll have.

Read More
Customer Service
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
1.0
Other Employees : Phillip
April 17, 2020

"We purchased a used lease return buick from this..."

- DH

We purchased a used lease return buick from this dealership and found safety issues shortly afterwards. We took the car to this dealers service department for repairs. They had the car for two week. They told me the brakes needed replaced and would cost $450. I told them no that you will replace for free seeing we just bought this car from you. I then was told that the brakes were fine with 3 to 4 mm left on them and the squeal I was concerned about was a loose axle nut which they said they tightened. At check out they refused to write down tightening the axle nut. They also were asked to look at an oil leak. The bottom side of the engine was covered in oil. I was told the oil leak was from a loose oil filter. They said they tightened the filter and all is good. When I got it home the car was still leaking oil and the filter was loose. They also were asked to repair a loose drivers seat. This is the only thing they did fix but at the same time they damaged the door frame while pulling the seat out. The fourth thing they were supposed to repair was a nail in the front tire How hard is it to patch a tire within two weeks. Apparently I didn't give them enough time for the tire and oil leak but enough time to damage our new car. We were advised by cal arbitration to take the car to another dealer to look at. Within three hours they diagnosed the problems. I called cerritos buick and was told the service manager will call me that day. Still waiting for that call back. I waited till the next day and decided to get the other dealership to repair all. The second dealer had the car for less than two days and repaired the issues. The brake pads were Heat crack damaged from excessive braking and over heating. They also replaced the oil and filter. The car had a non buick oil filter and the oil was dirty. We put less than 300 miles on it and cerritos buick stated on car fax they replaced it before putting it up for sale. A week later I notice oil on driveway again and took it back into the other dealership. The engine mount was bad and replaced under factory warranty. Cerritos sales and service managers asked for us to come into resolve this. For over an hour they whitewashed the whole situation and tried to make us feel we were in the wrong. They also complained that we keep asking for more and more. This is true. We did because we kept finding more things wrong. We left the meeting resolving nothing. Later I received a call from Matt Stein the general sales manager telling me they will only cover the brake job and that I would have to sign a release form to recieve payment. This is after they already agreed to cover all cost for repairs including the damage to the door frame. The only thing they did not agree to was the extended power train warranty we had asked for. My advise is to stay far away unless you enjoy being treated like dirt. Penske Buick/ GMC of Cerritos deserve negative stars for how they treated us after just purchasing a car from them. Thanks Matt, Luis and Steve for regretting purchasing from you and selling us in an unsafe car. Update: Penske Buick of Cerritos has made it clear they will only repair the damage caused by their service employee and reimburse for the oil change and brake job only when we SIGN A RELEASE OF LIABILITY for all future issues that may arise. They also insist on repairing the damage. After writing this review the vehicle has had the brake booster replaced and discovered the cabin air filter and engine air filter needed to be replaced. I have also noticed two new issues that will need to be looked at. Al with less than a thousand miles so far.. I thought Buick was supposed to have outstanding customer service. This is why I was willing to give GM another chance after a two year old 98 s-10 lemon we owned previously and the fact my wife really liked the buick enclave. I should have listen to my gut. Lesson learned and will be taking Penske Buick of Cerritos to court seeing their fair deal as they call it is laughable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Entire management team
February 08, 2020

"Did not complete project on time; extremely poor communicati"

- mjw

I had an awful experience with this company's service department. I made an appointment for Friday morning at 9 to drop off my brand-new car to have some options installed and to fix a minor issue. It took over an hour to get through the intake process and get my loaner car, but the service coordinator told me it would be ready "this afternoon." He then sent me a text message with a number I could "text/call for a status update." Hearing nothing, I called and texted around 4 pm. No one was available and nobody replied to my text or my message. On Saturday morning I called several times and texted again. Again, nobody was "available" to take the call, so I left messages each time. Again, no response. I asked for the service manager. He was "with a customer," although the operator later told me she's located offsite so she has no way of knowing that. I asked for the general manager but was told "We don't have a GM right now." That explains a lot, but as I write this, I'm well over 24 hours into what was supposed to be an 8-hour process. There has been absolutely no response, no follow up, and nobody will take calls or return messages. Absolutely unsatisfactory.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Albert Valencia, Steve Riley
February 23, 2019

"Horrible deceptive customer service "

- JtrucksRC

Abed is a liar and has 0 concept of honesty or customer serivce. We confirmed we’d be driving 3.5 hours to purchase a truck today, following up through the day and promised it would be there. Even at 7:30 pm he called to confirm and we confirmed were almost there. Upon arrival the truck was sold to someone else instead of held as had been promised up to 40 mins prior and since the morning when we confirmed we were going to pick up. Abed could have easily indicated it was not set aside or guaranteed and we’d have made other arrangements immediately but since this was not communicate we ended up spending 8 hours today due to false confirmations with no truck. We’ve purchased many vehicles out of town and the dealership always sets the car aside as long as we confirm consistently we are on our way. Honesty is the best policy and if you aren’t going to hold something for a few hours don’t lie.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Abed Tabbaa
1.0
June 21, 2018

"Fast easy and Friendly "

- danielortiz02

I’ve bought many cars before and I usually don’t like salespeople because they cannot be trusted. But I had a very different experience at Cerritos GMC Penske. I was helped by a very young guy named Diego Alvarez who’s the Internet Supervisor and he was quick and easy to work with. I had already shopped at Hardin GMC in Tustin the day before and I knew some what the rebates and the type of deal I can get for my Canyon. When I asked Diego to provide me with his best offer he took me to his office and printed the Invoice of the Canyon I wanted. He gave me a price $1,100 cheaper than the other dealer and broke Down the rebates for me. He was honest about what APR I can get and he also told me that he’ll honor the quote he gave me until the end of the month. I was unable to return for the Memorial Day weekend but I will for sure go back for the 4th of July weekend to buy a truck from him. I can appreciate friendly and honest customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Diego Alvare
June 12, 2018

"Great buying experience"

- Lorenzo L

I am not much of a writer but all was good. It did take a bit long (the financing part) but from experience, it was somewhat normal.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Abed Tabbaa
5.0
October 15, 2017

"Great buying experience "

- Happy Gal

My Sister and I went there to look at cars. Michael our salesman was great. Very nice and answer our questions about each vehicle we drove. We left that night wondering if we should buy a car or keep test driving. The next day I got a call from Michael asking me to stop by and check out a Buick Envision. I drove it and loved it. I wanted to keep my payments lower than what they offered at first. Diego came In and kept working the numbers till we came to a payment I was happy with. Everyone I worked with was friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this dealership. Ask for Michael Ortega when you go by. He's great to work with.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Michael Ortega
July 22, 2017

"Unethical Business Practices"

- alexsaby123

Well what can I say, this review would have been 5 stars and I would have been very satisfied but, I have left multiple messages for Fernando in finance and have yet to hear back. I have received 4 hits on my credit from our purchase of our new GMC Yukon. Fernando said when we were there that it was being financed through Bank Of America and never said anything about MULTIPLE CREDIT INQUIRIES. I called Fernando on Monday after receiving a seconds credit inquiry and was able to speak to him. He stated we are using Bank Of America and you shouldn't see any other inquiries hit you credit report. He then stated it shouldn't make a difference of how many inquiries you get in the next 14 days since they'll combine them. I told him Fernando that whether they combine them or not, he never received our approval to send our info over to multiple banks. He again stated you were approved by Bank Of America so you shouldn't see anymore credit inquiries. Tuesday morning We received two more credit inquiries, I again called Fernando but this time there was no response so I left a message. I never received a call, text or email from him. Wednesday I tried Fernando again and same outcome, voicemail left. Thursday morning and I'm pretty upset that I hadn't received a call so I called and spoke to floor manager. I gave him the whole story. He apologized and said sorry Fernando is with a customer but I'll look at your file. I spent about five minutes on hold while he looked everything up. When he came back on the phone he stated "yes I see here that you loan is being financed through Bank Of America and that all inquires should stop. I then let the floor manager know that at no point did Fernando let us know about multiple credit inquiries and that from the moment we sat down in front of him it was Bank of America. He again apologized for the misunderstanding and we completed our call. Now Friday afternoon I receive another credit inquiry, I again pick up the phone and call Fernando. I am again greeted by this persons voicemail. I left him a third message to which I again got no response. I then Called Edith Ramirez which is there customer relations manager and was also greeted with her voicemail. I left Edith a vm and gave it a couple hours. Again no call back from anyone. This dealer is just in it for the money and doesn't care about the customer once you're gone. I would think after spending 65K they would get back to me in a timely manner. Update Friday 6/30/2017 I called Cerritos GMC and asked for Martin my sales person. I went over my situation with him. He was sincere and apologetic about the situation. He even stated I don't know why they do multiple credit inquiries and that it happened to his family member also without their knowledge. Martin then walked over to Fernando and asked him about our loan and was told that now our loan is through Ally Financial. I thanked Martin for his time and concluded my call with him. I then called Ally Financial to confirm my account with them and they have no record of account for me. This situation is getting more and more disturbing to me. We have had the vehicle for a week and can't get a straight answer on who we are financing through. I will never shop at Penske GMC in Cerritos again and I will not recommend any friends or family to this location or any Penske location. Later in the day I received a call from Martin Ruelas asking me to please give them a very satisfied on the GMC survey. Martin stated I'll make it worth your while and give you a free oil change and a feee tank of gas. I let Martin know that I was not interested in his free services and that potential customer need to know what is going on at Penske GMC. I then emailed the owner Phillip Hartz directly since we had his information from when we were there. I let him know everything that has transpired and was hoping for a call back from him or even an email back apologizing for his companies lack of customer service. I didn't receive a call from anyone, if the owner can't respond how do we expect the sales people or finance people to respond. Update Friday 7/7/2017 Finally found out who we are financed through. It only took two weeks and a response from no one. Keep up the great work Penske GMC. I hope customers read this and go else where. Please do not shop at Penske GMC. Read all the negative reviews, they are all accurate and a lot of it happened to us. Drive a few extra miles and shop at Hardin GMC. They are great there. Wish I would have purchased my vehicle there. My credit score went down 70 points because of this company. This is unacceptable, someone from this company needs to contact me and take care of this before I get a lawyer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Martin and Fernando
November 24, 2016

"Poor Customer Service"

- Randall Herbst

Decided to Finance our new Certified Pre Owned vehicle through our Credit Union. A month later discovered the dealership had financed the vehicle through Bank of America as well. Now we had two loans. Took several telephone calls and I had to initiate every fall up except two to find out through Bank of America that the second loan had been cancelled. Never once got a call back from the dealer to say it had been handled. Tried talking to G.M. three times never answered his phone and could not leave a message. Everybody is considered a Manager of something, very poor Customer Service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandi McArthur
1
...
1 - 10 of 118 results