Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC

Terry , MS

1.0
5 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

12580 I 55

Terry , MS

39170

Directions

5 Reviews of Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC

Sort by Write a review
September 16, 2019

"Buyer Beware. Yo-Yo Financing."

- Derek Craft

Beware, this dealership engages in Yo-Yo financing. On 09/02/2019 I traded in my truck at payoff value and purchased a new one at this dealership. We were approved financing at an acceptable rate, signed papers and left with the truck. 11 days later, we were contacted by "Tony", the Finance Manager, telling us the financing had fallen through, and that we either needed to bring the truck back to the dealership or sign a new contract (+5% higher APR than the original contract and +$60/mo higher payment). I asked about terminating the deal and just taking my trade-in back, along with my down payment. Tony replied, "No. We've already paid for the truck." So they have taken my truck and placed me in a position where I have two choices. Return the truck and walk home, or pay close to double the retail value of the truck due to outrageous finance charges. I was appalled. Before returning to the dealership to sign this contract I knew I would regret (what choice did I have, really?) I reached out to both GM and the manager of the dealership. I recounted the facts as they happened to both parties. GM stated they would open a case and relay the complaint to the dealership. I spoke with Brent Skinner over the phone and explained the negative experience we've taken from his dealership and asked if there was anything he could do for us as a customer. Perhaps something to retain a customer and act in good faith that the deal had gone from fair to taking advantage of a consumer? "No", Brent Skinner's words were "As a customer, you don't see our side and what we have already done for you to make this happen" - meaning the new contract with a ridiculously high APR that they had to "pull strings" to make happen. Even an offer of a tank of gas to drive out 30 miles to buy into their deceptive practices would have been a nice band-aid on the wound they've inflicted on our wallets already. Let it be known that I did my part to reach out to all relevant parties to find a solution before resorting to sharing my experience with the public. However, it was made apparent to me that management at this dealership doesn't deal in pragmatic, good faith solutions. "Sorry." is best this business has to offer, from my experience. This dealership will allow you to leave their lot with their vehicle, with a seemingly great deal, under the impression that the financing was approved and finalized, only to reel you back in, pointing fingers at financial institutions and not their own feigned ignorance of what an approval really entails. Twice, the finance manager gloated about having "been in the business for over 20 years", but for us it's become apparent how those years were spent. In conclusion, I would not recommend this business in any capacity to anyone. I can guarantee that my family and friends will stay far away from this place. Y'all had a choice and several opportunities to turn this into a positive experience and make a return customer of us and you failed tremendously. In the end, it may have been completely legal. But legality does not equate morality and in our opinion this is a very immoral business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brent Skinner
1.0
Other Employees : Tony/Robert Smith
Sep 16, 2019 -

Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

Derek, we appreciate your business and the feedback on your buying experience with our dealership. We always strive for everyone to have a great experience. If possible, please reach out so that we can have permission to present all the facts with the public to ensure all parties involved understand what happened so that It doesn't happen to anyone else.

August 21, 2019

"Unconcerned "

- Camaro17

Took my car in for check engine light next day it was on again took it back July 30 it’s now August 21 and I still do not have my car back and my service advisor Maggie could car less. She told me she would keep me updated and that was a bold face lie. After contacting GMC the part was finally located but days later my car is still just sitting at Skinners in Terry Ms.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Maggie
Aug 22, 2019 -

Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

That is not the kind of experience we seek to provide. Please contact us when you can so we can address this together. Sincerely, The Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC Team

December 28, 2018

"Be Careful of the "Upfront" Pricing"

- MSCARBUYER

I have been in the market for a Tahoe. I noticed Skinners had several 2018s left in December 2018. So, I looked at the end of November when the manufacturer was offering 0%. Skinners had a couple of "loaners" with around 4,000 miles. They listed their manufacturer and dealer discounts. I did not buy at the end of November. For December, the manufacturer came out with employee pricing. Skinners reflected this on their site and removed any dealer discount. I asked them if they would honor the dealer discounts they were willing to offer in November, which would have resulted in the car being sold at about invoice. They said they could not, which to me seems a little dishonest. If I understand correctly, they will make thousands more on this vehicle than they would have by relying on the manufacturer incentive when they were willing to provide dealer discounts a month earlier - on a car with 4,000 miles (still treated as new because it was a loaner).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Roy Cessna
Dec 31, 2018 -

Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. Your concerns are very important to us and we would like to learn more. Please contact us so we can address and remedy your concerns. Sincerely, The Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC Team

May 14, 2018

"3 and counting"

- Dearskin44

I've bought 3 from Skinners and they are first class all thr way. Highly recommend them if you are looking for a new car

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brad
May 29, 2018 -

Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC responded

Thank you for your loyalty to our dealership and for taking the time to write this review. We aim to turn every person that visits us into a repeat customer. Take care and happy trails. Sincerely, The Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC Team

September 21, 2017

"Great car but BAD service "

- katgam73

I recently bought a used vehicle from Skinners Chevrolet Buick GMC in Terry, MS. I did my homework on the vehicle and it had a clean carfax etc. It is exactly what I wanted and I am happy with the vehicle. However, I'm emberrasesd to admit that I'm not familiar with car sales etiquette. So, I didn't realize this till I got home. They didn't fill the car up with a tank of gas for me, the oil only had 60% life left and I did not receive a 30 day warranty in case anything went wrong. Two nights later a friend of mine noticed that one of the tail lights was dimmer than the other. The tail light is made of regular bulbs and some led light strips that can't be replaced. You have to replace the whole tail light if the LED strips go out. Part of it had gone out due to water being trapped inside the tail light. We contacted the dealership to ask them to replace the tail light and they refused saying they couldn't put any more money into it. I believe it's against the law for them to sell me the vehicle when a safety feature isn't working correctly. I'm looking into that. They should have replaced this tail light without any hesitation. They also knew the tire pressure system wasn't communicating with the computer, but they claimed they couldn't fix it and I'd have to take it to the Jeep dealership. Both of these things should not be up to me to fix. This is bad business in my opinion and very disrespectful. I will not ever recommend that anyone do business with these people. I love my car, but I won't ever go back there. And sadly for them, I have to buy another vehicle soon for my daughter. I won't buy anything from them. On the bright side, I've learned a lot of lessons from this experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brad Dearman
1
1 - 5 of 5 results