About Us
Copyright 2019 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Stohlman Automotive

4.7

1,318 Lifetime Reviews

8433 Leesburg Pike, Vienna, Virginia 22182 Directions
Sales: (571) 599-2233

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

1,318 Reviews of Stohlman Automotive

Sort by Write a review
August 06, 2008

"From my point of view, this dealership is a bunch of..."

- vaman878

From my point of view, this dealership is a bunch of rip-off artists. I have dealt with them since 1982, and have purchased two new cars, several used, and have taken family members to purchase used and new cars. I took my sister there and she bought a new 2005 Eclipse. At 12,000 miles she had trouble with her lighter socket, and she took it in. They told her it was not covered, and since she had plugged a GPS into it, she was to blame for the damage. They told her it would take a whole new unit to repair at a cost of over $400. I told her to call the Mitusbishi Manufacturer, and they told her it "should be covered"...so, she called Stohlman back and they told her to bring it in. This time they told her it was only a "bent prong" and they could fix it very quickly. They did not, however, refund the $100 plus she had already spent towards repair of the socket. How did it go from needin a whole "unit" to just a "bent prong"? One more incident: My daughter's 2001 Eclipse (purchased there) was brought in for normal maintenance. They called and said it need many repairs, and the total was well over $1000.00! She refused and we took it to Dranesville Auto. They did the maintenance, and the total charge was a little over $200. They did not find evidence of the oil leak (told by Stohlman) or the "bad hoses" all needing replaced. Interesting. OH..did I mention they add a lot of "little" things, and when I finally had it and pitched a fit, the service manager came out and "waived" the other costs. I am convinced that this dealership has bilked millions of dollars through the years from customers (me, included before I quit trusting everything they said), and continue to do so. I would never, ever use them for sales or service, in spite of the many years and probably $100,000 dollars spent on new cars and used cars. To me, the are a bunch of dishonest people out to make a buck however they can.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
various mechanics and service manager
April 30, 2008

"Stay away from this dealership...save your money...you..."

- BigMac

Stay away from this dealership...save your money...you will be treated like dirt...I would never recommend this dealership to any one...don't even drive past this dealership...they are horrible...I went there to buy the Lancer GTS...The sales person was really nice..and got the car that I wanted..but they would not even drop a penny in price...I told them to give me an accesory if no reduction in price...they told that if I don't feel comfortable with the price..then I should not buy it...like they were doing me a favor by selling the car... I ended up buying the car because I feel sorry for the sales person..because he located the car for me from other dealers and brought it here...brand new with 7 miles 2009 GTS..fully loaded...so I did not want to leave...without buying... But remember one thing...once their deal is done...you are no one...so go somewhere they treat you like a customer...I would recommend Ourisman Mitsubishi in Maryland..because I bought my Eclipse from them..but now I was too busy and they did not have the color that I wanted...so I had no choice...AGAIN...STAY AWAY FROM THIS DEALERSHIP IF YOU CAN!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales Manager
May 29, 2007

"5/29/07 I purchased my 2006 Passat via Inernet sales..."

- ydonnay

5/29/07 I purchased my 2006 Passat via Inernet sales group. I have taken the car in for numerous small "fixes" and regular service, I am very satified with the service. Now the product and VW of America's customer service, well that is a different story. The workmanship is not stellar (evidenced by the need to perform "recall" repairs and/or updates) ; the corporate office's follow-up customer service training etc is lacking... but I like the looks of he car, the ride and the implied safety features. In summary. VW Stohlman has very good customer servie, VW of America could learn customer servie from Stohlman

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Pascal and other on (color) Team
November 06, 2005

"We really enjoyed dealing with Stohlman to purchase two..."

- Mhioka

We really enjoyed dealing with Stohlman to purchase two cars ,one VW Passat last year and the other car just recently. In both purchases, they worked very hard to end up to give us very reasonable deals within our budget. Dieter is very attentive and patient to listen to our requests. He strives to make us happy as much as possible. He is a great experienced salesman. Mike was our first salesman at Stohlman to deal with our first purchase and is now sales manager. He treated us as still being his direct customers. He gave us an assurance of Stohlman's commitment to address customer satisfaction thus we decided to stay with Stohlman.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dieter and Mike
November 03, 2004

"I would never recommend anyone buy any of VW's piece of..."

- terphere

I would never recommend anyone buy any of VW's piece of crap cars. They are the worst made cars on the road. My 2001 Jetta was in for service a week after I bought it because of a faulty master cylinder. From then on for the 2 years that I had the car, it was in about 20 other times. What a piece of junk. My advise to all in this country who has just elected for 4 more years of hell, is never to buy a VW. I would rather have a Ford.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All of the service employees
August 16, 2004

"All those people with good experiences, well you got..."

- hunt1976

All those people with good experiences, well you got lucky! My wife bought her '02 Passat from this dealership. They ripped her off on the price (I was off-shore on duty), when I came back I was disappointed but didn't express the feeling too much. Afterwards when we have had gone there for servicing, the crew has always been rude, they are not helpful and they treat you like an un-valued customer. Once we dropped off the car for repairs and it came back with a dent in the rear bumper. Took them more than 2 days to fix that and NO LOANER CAR ever. That was there big selling point to my wife, we will have a loaner car anytime you need repairs. Now my wife has to drop the car off for 3 days for them to fix a clucking noise and STILL THEY ARE NOT GIVING HER A LOANER CAR. THEY ARE A BAD BAD BAD dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service
June 11, 2004

"I got the car without a markup. I was lucky. They treated..."

- g6civcx

I got the car without a markup. I was lucky. They treated me well because I had a good credit app.

I took delivery of my car, drove off, and never looked back! They have a very bad reputation for service. I will never bring my car there for service.

There were complications with the paperwork because they made mistakes that I had to later correct.

Overall, I felt very belittled. They treated me like a little kid in an aeroplane shop. Though I don't look it, I've been in the game for a long time. The only reason I put up with them was because they had the car and they didn't mark it up.

Shop elsewhere if you can, and definitely don't come there for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
March 05, 2004

"Stohlman is certainly the worst Volkswagen dealer in the..."

- gbox

Stohlman is certainly the worst Volkswagen dealer in the Washington, DC/Metro area. I've had multiple encounters over several visits, including both service appointments and potential sales, and every single time I've been seriously disappointed by the dealer's representatives.

I really enjoy my current VW and I do have an appreciation for the entire model line-up, but I can't recommend Stohlman to anyone for anything. Don't waste your time or energy at this dealership, you'll most certainly be disappointed in the end.

Please take note that I have raised issues directly with Stohlman's management and with Volkswagen of America, offering each ample opportunity to address my dissatisfaction, but neither made any attempt to turn my experience(s) into something more positive. I offer my review here on dealerrater.com not as an anonymous rant, but as a customer who has not received any acknowledgment from VW or Stohlman in my previous attempts.

If you have a VW and need service or if you're interested in a new car, try any dealer in the DC area except Stohlman.

VW of Alexandria, while in a shadier part of town, has much better service even though their facilities lack the shine of Stohlman's.

VW of Fairfax is pretty decent, from what I understand, but I have no first-hand experience with their staff.

Springfield VW is an average, but positive dealer, from what I've heard.

Finally, Martens (in the District) is supposed to be great, but again, I have no first-hand experience.

Good luck. Avoid Stohlman and tell your friends the same.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jeff Villa, Service Manager
...
132
1,311 - 1,318 of 1,318 results