Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Doug McCarthy
Doug McCarthy at Ide Honda
Refer Me

Doug McCarthy

Sales & Leasing Consultant

Ide Honda

875 Panorama Trail S.
Rochester, NY 14625

Contact Me
not yet
rated
14 Reviews

Doug started off in the car business in 1993, and has been with Ide Honda since 2010. He has experience working with both walk in customers as well as Internet sales. He has three great children - Aaron, Morgan, and Chelsey - who are all grown but still an important part of Doug's life. Doug grew up in the Rochester area and attended Jefferson High School. He likes Baseball, football, and golf. He follows the Denver Broncos and the Rochester Raiders. Come see Doug for a great deal.

not yet
rated

14 Reviews

Write a Review

14 Reviews of Doug McCarthy

May 11, 2021

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"This dealership is a HUGE waste of time! After being..."

- CoolVibes86

This dealership is a HUGE waste of time! After being referred by a co-worker I stopped here looking to lease a vehicle. I went in with all my research, vehicle prices, fair market numbers etc... I first met with Doug who was nice at the time. He gave us his card and told us to email him when we were ready to make a decision. We emailed him just to get back a very odd email asking for personal information and confusing me with another customer. We corrected him and asked about going ahead with a lease. We never heard back. I then inquired again through their text line hoping to be set up with a different salesperson. After telling her what vehicle I was interested in, I was given an insane number (More than one would pay for an Audi). I simply asked what the terms were and how it came to these numbers? I was given a rude reply and never heard back AGAIN. Finally, I was referred to Julian from a friend. I went in to test drive a vehicle and he gave us his card since they were closing soon. When we didn't hear back, we started looking elsewhere, but still decided to email Julian inquiring about the vehicle in question. I had received another offer from a dealer in Buffalo. I shared that information as I would really like to stay local. Julian said numerous times he will share the numbers, but again, no reply. I sent one last email with what car I wanted, fair market price, and what I wanted my payments to be. He replied saying my "offer was very reasonable" and he will talk to a sales manager and let me know by the end of the day. 8 o'clock comes and goes and at 8:30 I received an email saying I should "Go to the other dealership and get the vehicle because its a killer deal" and "Due to inventory, we can't do anything." Keep in mind the vehicle in question has been on their lot for 6+ months!! How do they not want to make a deal? Never in my life have I witnessed a car dealer not wanting to work for customer ready to make a deal. Never in my life have I seen a car dealership not respond back to a SALE INQUIRY when their literal job is sales. I have never heard of a car dealer telling a potential customer to go elsewhere. This dealership has wasted 2 weeks of my time and I will make sure to tell all my friends and family to look elsewhere when shopping for a new Honda.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Julian Barona

February 10, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Salesman "

- Steger

Doug is knowledgeable friendly and makes your whole car buying experience from start to finish easy and professional! I referred several peo0 to Doug and all of our experiences were the same he knows his Honda’s!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

February 07, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"My first pre-owned car"

- Miss

Doug McCarthy walked me through the process of purchasing my first preowned Honda. He explained everything, showed me what was available in CR-Vs and answered all my questions. I was treated with respect and felt I was an important customer. I am thrilled with my purchase and would seek out Doug again for my next car. I highly recommend him to anyone interested in purchasing a Honda. He’s the best!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

January 13, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Fast and easy process!!!"

- Marissap

Doug was very quick, honest and straight to the point! Trading in my old car was such an easy process!! The dealership was very accommodating with making me feel completely comfortable with the new purchase! I couldn’t be happier with my experience there! Thanks again Doug!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

December 15, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Quick, easy, helpful and no nonsense. "

- Joe77

Great place to buy. Very helpful staff. Will work with you and help you out but at the same time won't pester. Highly recommended.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Weil, Roberto Galante

September 07, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Very positive experience"

- blue eyes

I purchased a Honda CRV from Ide Honda and just wanted to say how helpful and accommodating the staff is. A special mention to Adam Well who went above and beyond! My license plates were accidentally not transferred to my new vehicle. Adam came to our house with the plates, and then spent a good deal of time answering questions that my husband (who was not able to be at the dealership earlier) had about the new car. This took place at at very busy end -of - year promotion time frame. Adam couldn't have been nice when coming to fix the situation. Also want to thank Doug McCarthy who sold me the car as stress - free as it could possibly be.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Weil

August 12, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Very professional and personable"

- Civicguy

Doug McCarthy just sold us a second car. He's honest and knowledgeable and a good guy. Just gave us the facts and let u make the decisions. No pressure.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Linda Freeman, Adam Weil

August 01, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Great place to get a car"

- HondaAccord2015

I bought a new Honda Accord, everything went very smooth and easy. They explained everything to me and were very nice. The salesman that I dealt with was Doug McCarthy he showed me all of the car models I picked the one I wanted. The paperwork went very well, when i picked the car up they did everything they said they would do (wax, wash etc.) Overall a wonderful experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

March 29, 2015

Dealership Rating

"Amazing "

- MKJ719

I couldn't be more impressed with how smooth this car buying process was , Doug's Energy Was contagious and made me feel comftorable I made the right choice by buying from Ide !

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Weil

July 25, 2013

Dealership Rating

"Had a great experience with Doug in my first ever car..."

- lmkny2008

Had a great experience with Doug in my first ever car leasing experience. I was in and out within two hours the day I came in. Doug did an amazing job at helping me choose whether to buy or lease. I test drove a 2013 Honda Civic and fell in love with it. The car was ready to be picked up two days after I walked in the first time. Being the first experience of ever leasing a car, I don't think the experience can be topped. I will definately continue my business at Dick IDE Honda and I will recommend my family and friends to Dick IDE Honda and to ask for Joel. Thank you Joel!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jul 26, 2013

Ide Honda responded

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with this fantastic review, we hope you are enjoying your new Honda Civic! It was our pleasure to help you during your recent visit, and don’t hesitate to give us a call as we are always here, ready to help. Thank you for choosing Dick Ide Honda! Be sure to find us on Facebook and Twitter to get the latest on inventory, contests, and specials! Thanks again, - Rich Ide

1
1 - 10 of 14 results

Dealership Inventory (271 Vehicles)

new 2021 Honda Civic car, priced at $23,805
2021 Honda Civic
new
White exterior
Automatic
FWD
new 2021 Honda Pilot car, priced at $38,050
2021 Honda Pilot
new
Silver exterior
Automatic
AWD
new 2021 Honda Civic car, priced at $24,200
2021 Honda Civic
new
White exterior
Automatic
FWD
new 2021 Honda Civic car, priced at $25,250
2021 Honda Civic
new
Gray exterior
Automatic
FWD
new 2021 Honda Civic car, priced at $22,005
2021 Honda Civic
new
Black exterior
Automatic
FWD
new 2021 Honda Civic car, priced at $22,400
2021 Honda Civic
new
Red exterior
Automatic
FWD