About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Start your review of Leo Karl III.
Leo Karl III
Leo Karl III, President, The KARL Chevrolet Company
5.0

Leo Karl III

President

The KARL Chevrolet Company

261 Elm St
New Canaan, CT 06840

Contact Me

I enjoy generating as much good out of every day by helping those around me get the most out of life. At home, in the workplace, on the playing field or in the board room, positive energy has amazing power. I live life under the creed that the glass is half full and I am spending each day trying to fill it up. Carpe Diem!

Dealership Experience

35 yrs, 8 mos

Industry Experience

35 yrs, 8 mos

Languages Spoken

English English

Contact Me

20 Reviews of Leo Karl III

December 13, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Bought my second car with Karl.."

- LeoKarl

This was an easy and seamless experience. They couldn't be more helpful. Leo was genuinely wishing to help me buy the car that fit my needs...claude b

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

December 12, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great experience"

- Cts1

Just finished my 4th vehicle purchase experience at Karl Chevrolet. They are terrific across the board in every facet of the experience. Knowledgeable, courteous, informed, professional and caring. Leo Karl is amazing and is the reason I keep going there and choosing Chevy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Steve Karl

November 05, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Purchase of Demo Cruze"

- Chevy Cruze

Everything turned out excellent, I drove Demo Cruze off lot solded the night I decided to buy. Walter gave me information months before purchase. Kevin educated me on tips using the Cruze. Leo Karl made the deal and paper work happen.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Wally Frank, Kevin Karl

July 31, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Not your typical car dealership."

- CMV

In mid July ’17, I purchased a pre-owned Chevy Tahoe from Karl Chevrolet. Historically I acquired my vehicles from private party sellers and, due to dealerships’ poor salesmanship reputation in general, I was cautious about a dealership purchase. But at Karl this negative stereotype was ultimately unfounded. From Angelo in sales, to Jay the service director and his team, to Leo Karl himself, my overall experience was very positive both during the sale and afterward. As a cumulative result, I feel content that I received a vehicle value that is worth the price paid. So it’s my pleasure to recommend the KARL Chevrolet Company for new and pre-owned vehicle purchases and service. Thank you to the Karl team. Chris V. ’04 Tahoe Z71

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

June 01, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Best Place to get a Bolt!"

- Griiker

We found our way to Karl Chevrolet after a good solid 5 minutes of contemplating what to do after we found out VW would less than enthusiastically buy back our emissions cheating diesel Jetta. After replacing two timing belts, two water pumps, the brake pads twice, after umpteen billion gazillion oil changes, and after spending hundreds of dollars on a stupid, annoying, taunting, Klieg light glaring haughty pain-in-the-neck check engine light that refused to go out, we entertained the idea of the thought of giving something else a try. So we wanted to do electric, maybe the Volt. The Volt was sooooo appealing. Run on electric most of the time, fewer oil changes at least. Then out came the Bolt, Oh how tantalizing. No oil changes, no grinding brakes, no cyclopoid Big Brother check engine light. None of that. Plus, it is a hybrid, it burns coal, trash, nuclear power, runs on wind or solar, any thing you can plug power cord into. just had to fill it up every 238 miles. What’s not to like? So we started our search for a Bolt. We telephoned and emailed several dealers in Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, even New York, “Hi I would like to buy a Bolt!” I would proclaim to the nice person on the other end in the nicest matter of fact voice. “A what?” was the most common refrain. The second most common was “Let me connect you to parts!” In both cases I would politely excuse myself from the conversation, I had no intent of dealing with anyone who had no idea what a bolt was, and on the second count, We wanted our bolt to be whole, not in pieces requiring assembly. Someone even tried to sell us a leaf, I politely declined, plenty of leaves on the trees. Well, eventually I came across Karl Chevrolet’s website. Out of all the dealership websites, Karl Chevrolet was the only one that had an entire page dedicated to the Bolt, it was the only model mentioned directly in the “Start Here Menu”. Seeing that I knew these people were serious purveyors of Bolts. We fired off an email immediately. Leo, the President and hybrid/EV Officiando got back to me directly with a list of features to select from. We arranged for a meeting the second week in January, months before the Bolts would be allowed to bolter in Connecticut. He was taking preorders for them, and we would be the fourth one he had in. After a cold brave January passage through the Connecticut wilderness from New London to New Canaan, I was sitting in Leo’s office, pouring over the lists of Bolt features. We wanted an LT with the DC Fast charge, and the second floor thingy for the trunk. He recommended the heated seats and steering wheel, it would save on the battery. He wasn’t all that pushy about it, but mentioned it only because it would save on battery usage. He also went over the Federal and State incentives, he explained the Connecticut State rebate (CHEAPR), and he would take care of the application for that. We chatted a bit about the bolt, and his experience with the Volt, which he was the first in CT to start selling. He shared that the $10,000 machine to use to remove batteries from Volts for service has sat collecting dust, unused for the past several years. If anything he is very intent on making sure that we got what we wanted. I mentioned to Leo that Volkswagen would buy back our Jetta TDI on May 12, hopefully the Bolt would be ready by then. If not, he said, he would let me borrow a brand new Volt. That was a major godsend, once VW had an appointment scheduled, The car would be bought in brutal Teutonic expediency. No if, ands or Bolts. We didn’t think we would need to borrow it. We would hold off on the color and if we wanted anything else I had a couple of months to think of it. A $1000 credit card swipe and handshake later and I was on my way back to New London to wait for the Bolt. Well, after a couple of months of reading Bolt news, Bolt forums and watching infotaining Youtube Bolt videos, I got an email from Leo announcing that a demo had come in. I wasted little time blasting back down to Karl Chevrolet in New Canaan. A short wait and we were soon in the Bolt, squealing the tires a bit on a right turn out of the lot for a ride up Elm Street for a cruise around the neighborhood. Leo was very knowledgeable with all the features, he was familiar with the flat panel TV set in the middle of the dash that had all the energy usage data, and the cool, I mean, subzero cool electric regen system. He explained the electric regen system as we silently glided past some nice pedicured and manicured lawns. Leo knows the car well, he showed how you can switch the motor to golf cart mode so the “L” on the shifter knob turns red , (not sure why they call it “L”, golf cart starts with “G”) press on the rheostat and the car goes. FAST. faster than Leo’s knuckles can turn a paler shade of white. oh yes, we love that Saturn 5 rocket effect. Well, with a right turn back on to Elm street, and into the dealership our trial ride in the pinnacle of American automotive engineering and manufacturing sadly came to an end. It was back to driving the Jetta, and waiting, and waiting. And…waiting. For a member of the McDonalds-drive-through feed-me-now-generation, the wait was worse than being in the checkout line at Walmart where few of the items will scan, everyone wants to pay by check, none of the pens work, and it is the girls first day on the job (and she doesn’t speak English). March passed, then April. A call to Leo, he said the Bolt was on a train bound for New Jersey. Then May 12 came, and Volkswagen gekauft our car away. Leo was definitely serious about loaning us a Volt while the Bolt, he certainly did not like the thought of us not having a car to drive while waiting for the Bolt. That alone shows his commitment to his customers. We ended up driving it for a whole week until the Bolt was finally delivered. Finally an email from Leo came announcing our Bolt had arrived. I made the trip down to New Canaan in the Volt, battling rush hour traffic, I couldn't get there until almost closing time. Most of the staff had gone for the day, but Leo stayed late for me. As the sun was setting, he sat in passenger’s seat calmly reviewing and explaining the features of the TV set in the middle console, the steering wheel controls and pairing my cellphone to the car. It is nice not having the obnoxious racket of a running engine to keep the power up as we discussed the climate control system. He showed me the Chargepoint intro certificate, and the quick start guide. It was refreshing to have a dealer take the time to go over something like this. Such dedication to the customer is rare. Leo was very knowledgeable in all the features and attributes, and very enthusiastic about the Bolt, mentioning that he had been interested in electric vehicles for decades, he is definitely an EV enthusiast. It’s a bit unusual to find a salesman who actually knows the more technical aspects of a car, but Leo knew all about the finer details. Well, with all the paperwork tucked away in the glovebox, and the sun well set, I bid Leo Good bye, and silently glided out of the lot on my way back to the New London area, unknowing of a rather important issue. It was the next day when we went to the Mystic Aquarium to raid the food truck festival, and since there was a Fast Charger there we wanted to charge quick. Well, that was when we encountered the SNAFU. We pulled into the EV charging spot popped the electricity fill door open, and found no DC Fast charge port. The next Monday, I called Leo. He promised to get back to me, after checking some paper work. A couple of days later, he called, and explained that the box for DC Fast charge didn’t get checked on the order form, and as it was his oversight, he was going to make it right! So he said “hang on to the one you have, and when we get the new one, we will swap them out!” Wow! Come up with a few simple things to say like “great experience” or “He really Cares”. But with The Karl Chevrolet Dealer experience, you are left feeling like they really do want to make sure you get what you want, and of course they take their relationship with the customer seriously. I wanted a Bolt, I was sold one, not a leaf, or a box of Bolt parts, some assembly required. Leo could have tried to convince me to buy a volt, he had some in stock, but he didn’t. He only loaned us one out of concern that we would need a set of wheels while waiting for the Bolt. When the Bolt finally came, Leo stayed late, taking the time to go over the car so everything about it was clear. And what really counts, is that he is actively correcting an oversight a critical one, and that, in anyone’s book, makes Karl Chevrolet The Premier Bolt Dealership! Thanks Leo!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

February 15, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Very professional, clean, honest and looking to help"

- Scott V.

Rob Ferraro is an excellent sales representative. He is very professional, polite, honest and looking to help out the customer, which is really all you can ask for when looking to buy a vehicle. I definitely highly recommend Rob and the whole Karl Chevrolet dealership next time you are looking to buy a vehicle. Rob is also a certified finance guy so he is a one stop shop when purchasing a vehicle from Karl, which I found very refreshing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rob Ferraro

January 06, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"I love my Chevy VOLT!"

- EVdriver

Leo knew exactly what I needed. This is my second VOLT- I went from the original 2012 VOLT to the new 2017 and it's fantastic!! I'd wanted a TESLA, but after test-driving the new VOLT, I couldn't resist. I hardly ever go to gas stations anymore and from April through October, I'm on the same tank of gasoline. The electric mileage works perfectly for me and my job. There's a public plug-in station next to my office, as luck would have it. I can't wait to get the new Tesla Solar Roof tiles and charge my car off the sun! Electric drively is 100% more peaceful and enjoyable- I know I could never go back to a gasoline motor vehicle. I love the electric ride, so smooth, comfortable and easy!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Toby Weisbrot , Toby at the front desk was awesome! Above and Beyond...

November 18, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Awesome experience"

- Kristina boyd

Mr Karl and his team were fantastic to work with. I knew I needed to go somewhere I would trust the employees and the product, and Karl Chevrolet was the place to go for my first car! I would recommend this dealership to anyone I know!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

November 04, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"wife loved dealing with Wally"

- Jamie

my wife wanted a new car, i did'nt want to pick one out for her so i sent her to see Wally and he found her the exact car she wanted , it ended up being in south jersey but wally had it at the dealer the next day, happy wife, happy life, pleasure dealing with everyone at dealership from sales to service to office staff. thanks again jamie

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Wally Frank

November 01, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Honesty and Professionalism!"

- Steve D

I have bought two cars from the Karl Chevy before and both times I have been happy This time I went in and leased a new Equinox. My first lease. Wally Frank and Steve Karl took their time to explain all the nuances of a lease and found me the perfect car. A few days after I drove the car home, Wally called me and said he found even more rebates. How many other dealers would do that after the sale was done? None. Steve D

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Wally Frank, Steve Karl

1
1 - 10 of 20 results

Dealership Inventory (184 Vehicles)

2018 Chevrolet Camaro

N/A

2018 Chevrolet Camaro

N/A

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

N/A

2017 Chevrolet Colorado

$43,335

2018 Chevrolet Colorado

N/A

2018 Chevrolet Colorado

N/A

2018 Chevrolet Colorado

N/A

2018 Chevrolet Colorado

N/A