Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back
Start your review of Ray Lewis.
Ray Lewis
Ray Lewis at Richmond Subaru
Refer Me
4.4

Ray Lewis

General Manager

Richmond Subaru

3511 Number 3 Rd
Richmond, BC V6X 2B8

Contact Me

Dealership Experience

1 yr, 4 mos

Industry Experience

22 yrs

Languages Spoken

English English

Text
Call
Email
Cancel

63 Reviews of Ray Lewis

November 13, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"My daughter bought her first car here. These people are..."

- Nothappypappy

My daughter bought her first car here. These people are not at all honest. We bought her car on the premise that the air conditioning would be repaired with the sale price. She took in to have it repaired but they couldn’t do the work because of incorrect parts. So she scheduled another appointment to have the right parts installed and would call her when they arrived. They never called. Two weeks ago we went to the dealership. Apparently Nick (our salesman )and Josh (his supervisor) have moved on so now we have Winston the sales manager (whose been there two weeks)and the general manager Ray Lewis. We saw Mr Lewis that day and he promised that he would personally look into this and guaranteed an answer before the end of the day. He never called.. These ‘people disgust me. We had to visit him again and the first thing he says is what can I help you with. No interest in this problem. He offers to pay half of the cost to repair the ac which is $4100. What ever happened to the original agreement of you fixing it. The vehicle was advertised with ac but I guess the tech that checked it missed it now instead of a $75 service it’s now a lot more. That was their miss not ours .Not honest , not trustworthy, not honourable. Spend your money at a dealership that deserves it .Not here

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Winston Lien

November 09, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I have a great car leasing experience with Subaru..."

- Judith

I have a great car leasing experience with Subaru Richmond in October 2020. My sale profession, Marco Dominguez is excellent, provided great customer service, very professional, answered all our questions & concerns. He worked closely with Ray Lewis, general manager, who got us a great deal on our leased car 2021 XV cross trek. Ray is also terrific, he managed the dealership so well and ensure customers are satisfied before they leave the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Marco Dominguez

October 27, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Went in today to ask about a 2020 WRX Sti Sport, his..."

- Andy

Went in today to ask about a 2020 WRX Sti Sport, his first offer was 46k while MSRP is at $42,795. I asked why it is at 46k his staff responded because there were accessories installed but they don't even have a car in stock! And, they can't even answer what accessories were installed. Finally he admitted MSRP is $42,795 and we can start negotiating from here, by this time I just wanted to walk out. Not pleased with this kind of sale tactics, definitely felt being scammed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Oct 27, 2020

Richmond Subaru responded

Hello Andy, Thanks for your feedback. We are extremely sorry you misunderstood the pricing. We need to be clear with our comparisons. The website MSRP - $42, 795 excludes freight & PDI and the other options we reviewed with you. We'll reach out to you right away and review it all again. Talk soon. We want to earn your business today. Regards, Ry Lewis General Manager

September 26, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Richmond Subaru's general manager had refused to agree to..."

- Nigel

Richmond Subaru's general manager had refused to agree to return my $5,000 deposit for a vehicle I did not take possession of. Only after filing a complaint to the Vehicle Sales Authority of BC, who is responsible for issuing licenses to anyone selling cars in BC, did Richmond Subaru return my deposit. I was from out of town and had not seen the vehicle yet at the time I paid the deposit. Also, the dealership had not yet inspected my tradein vehicle. For these reasons, I had not entered into any purchase agreement with Richmond Subaru, and based on my correspondence with the dealership, I had believed my deposit would be refundable. After making the trip and viewing the vehicle on a Saturday, and not proceeding with a purchase, Richmond Subaru's GM claimed the dealership had the right to retain my deposit, and had refused to agree to a refund. The general manager then assured me that "we will deal with this on Monday". Following my request for correspondence after this exchange, I never heard back on Monday or anytime after. I'm glad that my complaint to Vehicle Sales Authority led to the dealership returning my deposit (after a month), and had this not worked, I could have had this resolved through Mastercard's dispute resolution process. If you do run into trouble with this or any other dealership, I highly recommend filing dispute complaints with the Vehicle Sales Authority of BC and also with your credit card company. Just be sure to keep copies of all written correspondence with the dealership. My father in law has worked in car sales his entire career, and said he's never heard of dealers keeping deposits, even in instances where the dealership may be entitled to - for example when buyers enter into a purchase contracts that indicate that deposits are non-refundable. In my own personal opinion, these other dealerships obviously prioritize business ethics, integrity, and customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Jordan Lyons, Daniel Brereton

Oct 16, 2020

Nigel responded

Hello Janice, As I said in my initial review, my deposit was only refunded by Ray after I submitted a complaint to the Vehicle Sales Authority of BC and they opened up a case. If this hadn't worked, then I'm sure Mastercard would have helped me by refunding my money and applying a chargeback to Richmond Subaru. It would have been far better had Ray simply returned my deposit without having the dealer licensing agency stepping in, as more ethically principled dealerships would have done. I have already have one friend in Vancouver who is purchasing a Subaru this year, and will be avoiding your dealership after hearing of my experience. -Nigel

Oct 15, 2020

Richmond Subaru responded

Hi Nigel, I am terribly sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. To my understanding, Ray has since refunded your deposit and that the issue has been resolved. Please feel free to contact us should you have any questions or any other concerns. Thank you for your patience. Janice Lin Customer Experience Manager

September 01, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great customer service. Thanks Ray and Benson for all..."

- Remy

Great customer service. Thanks Ray and Benson for all your help. We love our new Crosstrek and good price as well. So excited to drive my new car. Thanks again

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Benson

August 31, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"My husband and I have serviced at this dealership since..."

- MJ

My husband and I have serviced at this dealership since 2016. This has to be the absolute worst service by management staff I have ever encountered. Ray Lewis is horrendous. Extremely absent, I call the dealership and he is never there. He does not return calls. How many fake meetings does the management have? Both my husband and I have visited the dealership and he is there 30% of the time. (That's being generous!) I managed to speak to him once and he is ill-mannered, dull-witted and insensitive. He just pushes you to the side as if you are garbage. Well now, I will happily push the dealership you are running to the side as if it was garbage. Gone are the days where the atmosphere was vibrant. There are less and less recognizable faces working at this dealership, and I can clearly see why. The problems always start at the top.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Sep 11, 2020

Richmond Subaru responded

Hi MJ, I was very sorry to hear that you had a back experience, please email me directly latif@richmondsubaru.com I would love to investigate this further and see what I can do to help. Thank you, Latif Bains Customer Service Manager

August 27, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"I would give Ray Lewis negative stars if I could! In the..."

- TC

I would give Ray Lewis negative stars if I could! In the 10+ years I've dealt with Richmond Subaru, Ray Lewis is by far the worst GM they've ever hired. Ray is incompetent and a liar. Long story short, Richmond Subaru owed me a cheque for a cancelled warranty. Despite of numerous emails and messages left at the front desk over the span of 5+ months, Ray would never respond or return my calls. When he does pick my calls on occasion, he would brush me off and tell me he's still working on it with accounting. I also had to keep recreating complaint cases to Subaru Canada and Subaru Financial because Ray would lie to the Case Managers that he's already resolved the dispute, when he couldn't bother to pick up the phone or respond to my emails in the last 5 months, let alone actually spend time to resolve an escalation. Finally, one of Ray's superiors in Calgary referred me to Latif Bains at Richmond Subaru, who wrote and sent me the cheque I was owed within a matter of days, when Ray himself couldn't figure it out in 5+ months. I don't know where Richmond Subaru found Ray Lewis, but he's the absolute worst!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Aug 27, 2020

TC responded

Hi Latif, I appreciate your prompt reply, and understand that for the sake of public relations, you must cover for one another. The truth is, in the 5+ months I’ve been dealing with Ray Lewis, he never mentioned your name once. He‘s only ever mentioned “the girl in Accounting” and “Danielle, Director of Finance.” I was only introduced to you after reaching out to the VP in Calgary. It doesn’t take much to appease a frustrated customer - communication is key. Ray’s lack of respect and accountability for his customers is evident in the fact that of all the emails I’ve sent him in the last 5+ months, he never bothered to respond to a single one. The least he could’ve done was to advise me he hasn’t forgotten about my escalation. Of all the times I call and leave a message in the last 5+ months, he never bothered to return a single call. I even showed up at his office in person once, and he couldn’t look me in the eyes. He kept typing away at his computer screen like I was invisible in his office. Evidently he knows how to use a keyboard, so I asked him if he could respond to one of my emails to keep me in the loop, and you know what he told me? He said he doesn’t have time to find my email so I should just call him every week to follow up. A leader who is actually passionate about customer experience will delegate someone on his team to handle my case and proactively call me to update me on the resolution status. The onus should never be on the customer to keep staff members engaged on finding a resolution. Ray should have trusted and empowered you, as the Customer Service Manager, to do right by your customers. It shouldn’t have taken me 5+ months to be indirectly introduced to you by someone from another dealership in another province. There’s absolutely no excuse for Ray’s incompetence. On a final note, you have been phenomenal to deal with, Latif. If only I could have been connected to you sooner and spoken to you under different circumstances!

Aug 27, 2020

Richmond Subaru responded

Hello TC, i am very happy we were able to fix this situation for you, Ray Lewis and I worked tirelessly to investigate and rectify this long standing issue. We understand your frustration and truly hope that we were able to help you in these difficult times. We will reaching out you again to show our appreciation and loyalty as we value your business. Thank you, Latif Bains Customer Service Manager latif@richmondsubaru.com 604-273-0317

August 27, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great service. Fair pricing! Great Staff!Ray and Andrew..."

- Elainie

Great service. Fair pricing! Great Staff! Ray and Andrew helped me get settled with a brand new 2021 Crosstrek Outdoor! I'm super satisfied with the service I received and so excited to drive my brand new car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Andrew

August 26, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"The first salesperson (Nick) tried to swindle me with..."

- azarila647604

The first salesperson (Nick) tried to swindle me with "cash only" excuse to sell me a car at $3000 higher than the listed price. He no longer works there. The second person (Josh) was actually very pleasant to deal with. However, he failed to disclose a vehicle recall to me. He no longer works there either. Trying to pick up my car now and neither the Sales, General, nor Finance Managers can be bothered to return e-mails nor phone called. High employee turnover, lack of communication, and general unprofessionalism. Avoid at all costs.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Danielle Schelini, Josh Curran, Daniel Brereton

Sep 01, 2020

azarila647604 responded

Sorry Latif, I called last week and you didn't respond to my inquiry then so I have no reason to believe you would do so were I to call again. Also, upon delivery, the came with a 1/4 tank of gas and weird residue from a sticker in the interior. Thankfully, their service side of things is much better and cleaned it immediately. I will be escalating this further.

Aug 27, 2020

Richmond Subaru responded

Dear Azarila647604 I am very sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience, I will be personally looking in to this situation and would like to speak to you directly. If you would contact me at latif@richmondsubaru.com or by telephone 604-273-0333 so I can hear more about what happened and we can find a reasonable solution. I will be in touch shortly! Thank you, Latif Bains Customer Service Manager Latif@richmondsubaru.com 604-273-0317

August 15, 2020

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Service @ Richmond Subaru "

- calvin

Came in looking for 2020 Forester Touring. Worked mostly with Ronnie....super professional and knowledgeable. We were able to agree to terms and although it was busy that day, we were still able to get the car out the door same day. Ronnie is a star! Special shout-out to Ray and Danielle for their help. Well done!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Danielle Schelini, Ronny Levkovich

Aug 27, 2020

Richmond Subaru responded

Hey Calvin, Glad it was such an easy process for you, it was a pleasure to have you in the showroom. Let me know if there is anything more you need or we can improve on. Thanks, Latif Bains Customer Service Manager Latif@richmondsubaru.com 604-273-0317

1
...
1 - 10 of 63 results

Dealership Inventory (376 Vehicles)

new 2020 Subaru Outback car, priced at $40,040

2020 Subaru Outback

$40,040

new 2020 Subaru BRZ car, priced at $33,270

2020 Subaru BRZ

$33,270

used 2017 Subaru Legacy car, priced at $34,688

2017 Subaru Legacy

$34,688

new 2020 Subaru Impreza car, priced at $29,215

2020 Subaru Impreza

$29,215

new 2020 Subaru WRX car, priced at $40,770

2020 Subaru WRX

$40,770

new 2020 Subaru BRZ car, priced at $33,270

2020 Subaru BRZ

$33,270