About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Start your review of Thomas Mitchell.
Thomas Mitchell
Thomas Mitchell, Sales, Honda of Ames
4.8

Thomas Mitchell

Sales

Honda of Ames

220 Kitty Hawk Dr
Ames, IA 50010

Contact Me

I am a father of two small boys. I am here to better myself and them as well. The most important thing to me is making people happy throughout the process with me. I look forward to meeting new people as well!

Dealership Experience

1 yr, 1 mo

Industry Experience

1 yr, 1 mo

Specialties & Trainings

Certified Honda Dealer

Certified Nissan Dealer

Languages Spoken

English English

Text
Call
Email
Cancel

By clicking Send Message, you agree to receive a one-time confirmation text from us connecting you to this dealership employee and you agree to our Terms of Use. Standard message and data rates may apply.

18 Reviews of Thomas Mitchell

September 02, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Friendly"

- Goedken

Great dealership! They have a great selection of vehicles on the lot but also work with you if you want something they don’t have.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Aaron Warren

August 04, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Dishonest and misleading"

- PLD

The used car folks at Honda of Ames are not transparent, honest or accommodating in any way. I just drove 135 miles from Minneapolis to Mason City Iowa, enroute to Aimes and now I am turning around. It turns out that the car I intended to buy was not the deal that was stated on line. After multiple calls to assure that the car was in excellent condition, after all it was Honda Certified, I found out that it was not in the condition that was described. This was revealed to me after three days of conversation with the salesman. I called while just north of Mason city to ask to have the car put under cover so that I could view the body without obstruction from rain. This is when the sales person revealed that there were scratches that were touched up, and visible to a camera. The scratches could not be simply buffed out. I asked if he could make it right. He said that’s why the car was such a great value. In earlier phone conversations, he stated that it was a good value because they priced cars at great value as part of their business model, not because it had highly visible scratches that were touched up poorly. I noted that he did not reveal the body issues until I was well in to Iowa. And I was the one to imitate the call. I talked to he manager who was no help as well. He said that’s how they do business. He thought they were transparent because they told me about the scratches and sent photos to me after I had driven almost two hours. And, remember, I called them. I asked to have the price reduced to reflect the cost of repairs. The answer was no. He could not understand how they were not transparent by telling me that there were significant scratches after I had already driven 135 miles and previously confirmed with the sales person that the body was in excellent shape. I am shocked by how matter of fact they were about this situation. If that’s how they do business, I recommend steering clear of Honda of Ames.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Doug Krogman

July 23, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great Used Car Purchase Experience"

- CRVHONDA

We came looking for a low mileage used Honda CRV and found exactly what we were hoping to find. The no hassle purchase price method was refreshing. We had already done our research and verified Honda of Ames had the best pricing. Thomas Mitchell was friendly, knowledgeable and professional in every way. Aaron Warren in Finance was equally as helpful and professional. Both provided all the information we needed to make a wise vehicle selection and financial considerations. A winning team! My grandfather, uncles and father were in the car business. It is nice to find in our day and time there is still a dealership that has the customer first.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Aaron Warren

Jul 24, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

Thank you for the wonderful review. We really appreciate you taking the time to send it and of course we are glad to hear that you are happy with your experience . Sincerely, Mike Gougherty General Manager

July 10, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great Experience and Customer Care"

- KeilFam

Based on my experience before and after purchasing the vehicle I'm satisfied and confident that Honda of Ames will be my first stop and recommendation to others when looking for another vehicle. Be sure to ask for Tom Mitchell, he will treat you well! My family had been on the hunt to replace our existing minivan with something newer, more reliable and modern safety technology. We stopped by the Ames dealership and worked with Tom to find the right vehicle for our family. Unfortunately at the time the dealership did not have what we were looking for so we continued looking around the Des Moines area. We spent time at multiple dealerships talking with over 10 different sales representatives and found ourselves disappointed and defensive as the salesman seemed more interested in quickly getting us into a vehicle and off the sales lot. We ended up coming back to Ames Honda and working with Tom to purchase a new Honda Odyssey. Tom made the negotiation and process seamless and fun. The main reason we came back to Honda of Ames was because of our initial encounter with Tom and his patience working with us to find the right car for our family. Post purchase we noticed a scratch on the bumper and some stains on the leather of the brand new vehicle. We reached out to Tom and Melvin Gawley (service department) and they were extremely helpful in resolving the issues we found. Based on my experience before and after purchasing the vehicle I'm satisfied and confident that Honda of Ames will be my first stop and recommendation to others when looking for another vehicle. Takeaways: - Be knowledgable concerning financing and options prior to working with the finance group. Many services and options offered during the time of financing can be found cheaper through your own insurance company or via 3rd party. - Walk your vehicle (especially if new) multiple times before leaving the sales lot. Make sure you have noted all defects before signing the purchase agreement.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Melvin Gawley

June 28, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Easy trade!"

- KW

I recently traded my 2014 CRV for a 2018 CRV (both from Honda of Ames) and I'll never go anywhere else! Everyone is friendly and helpful. I worked with Tom Mitchell this time and he was very knowledgeable about the new car and was able to listen to all of my must-haves for the trade. When I arrived, he was ready for me with a car test drive and pointed out the upgrades and differences between my old and new cars. I did not feel pressured into getting things that I didn't want, which was appreciated. Aaron worked on my finances to make sure that I had a monthly payment that fit into my budget that I was comfortable with. I appreciated all of their help and I highly recommend Tom to anyone looking for a new car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Aaron Warren

Jul 11, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to respond. Sincerely Mike Gougherty General Manager

June 26, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great Experience"

- Jj9662837!

I worked with Tom Mitchell who made sure I ended up with a monthly payment I was comfortable with. I had to come back in the day after purchase to finish some financing paperwork and he even came in on his day off to make sure everything got handled ok for me. I would definitely recommend working with Tom!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tom Wishman

Jun 27, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are glad to here that Tom went out of his way to help and that you had a great experience here . We do appreciate your business. Sincerely, Mike Gougherty General Manager

June 17, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great Experience "

- Mike

We drove to Ames to look at a used Accord that we had found on the website. Thomas had the vehicle waiting for us with the air conditioning running. During our test drive he listened to our grandsons tell him all about Transformers and discussed them knowledgeably. Gave my wife and I a chance to discuss the vehicle. We are very happy with the whole experience (and the car). We are very happy with the service work on our privately bought Odyssey. It is the reason that Honda of Ames is the first place we looked for a car. .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 19, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

We truly appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to respond. Sincerely, Mike Gougherty General Manager

June 11, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great Experience "

- abby2704

My husband and I came in to look at a specific car we saw on the dealership's website. Tom Mitchell helped us the entire time. He had the car waiting when we got there, answered all of our questions, and was a friendly, easy-going person to work with. We were very happy with our experience, and love our new car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 19, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

We are so glad to hear that your had a positive experience here at our dealership. Thanks for taking the time to respond, we do appreciate your business! Sincerely, Mike Gougherty General Manager

June 11, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Honda Pilot 2018 EXL AWD"

- Prashanth

Tom Mitchell was very helpful in the whole process. Very knowledgeable, firendly and understands exaclty the customer needs Would definitely consider him if i am buying a honda in the future and would recommend anyone planning to buy one. Great car buying experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tom Wishman

Jun 18, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

Thank You for taking the time to respond! We truly appreciate your business. Sincerely , Mike Gougherty General Manager

June 05, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Wayde is great person to work with."

- Tcrafttom

Wayde was very friendly and helpful. He listened to what we wanted and recommended the perfect car for us. He saw that I have trouble walking and drove us to the building to fill out the paper work for the purchase. He allowed my wife to test drive the car to make sure that she was comfortable with it. We are very happy with our car buying experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Wayde Klingbeil , Steve from Belgium

Jun 05, 2018

Honda of Ames responded

Thanks for responding and we are so happy to hear that Wayde took care of you so well in your car buying experience. We do appreciate your business. Sincerely, Mike Gougherty General Manager

1
1 - 10 of 18 results

Dealership Inventory (291 Vehicles)

2018 Honda Fit

$19,175

2018 Honda Fit

$19,835

2018 Honda Fit

$19,835

2018 Honda Odyssey

$45,450

2018 Honda Accord

$26,655

2018 Honda Odyssey

$45,450

2018 Honda Fit

$19,835

2018 Honda Accord

$26,670