Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Acura of Sherman Oaks

Los Angeles, CA

1.3
45 Reviews

5230 Van Nuys Blvd

Los Angeles, CA

91401

Directions

45 Reviews of Acura of Sherman Oaks

Sort by
September 19, 2021

"I rarely post reviews but this situation at Acura of..."

- davidgarfinkel

I rarely post reviews but this situation at Acura of Sherman Oaks pissed me off so much that I had to vent! It all started when I looked in Autotrader for a used Acura RLX. I came across one at Sherman Oaks that was pretty much what I was looking for. I began talking with a gentleman named Kevin. At first he was very responsive and willing to take video of the car (as I live in AZ and the car is in Cali). Then we started the negotiation part. I told him what I was willing to pay and his response was this: "I have already given you our BEST PRICE $38,500 (his actual text message)". Then later that day he tells me this: "Hi David, I've just been informed by my Used Car Manager we are no longer selling used cars "out of state". Only in California". What??? I've never heard of a dealership not willing to sell a car out of state. Why would they care where the car goes?? Next morning I got this text: "Good morning David, I have spoken with my GM, he is willing to sell the car "out of state" with a straight cash deal (wire transfer) and you paying for transportation. Let me know if you have any questions". I immediately told him ok! I was planning on paying cash anyways! What I didn't realize is that they added to the price $400 for door edge guards, $800 for Permaplate Appearance Package, and bumped my price back up to the full selling price of $38,977. What the heck?? First, they never disclosed the additional add on fees (which my understanding is California Law to disclose up front) and then they jacked the price up from the $38,500 they originally offered. I called Kevin (salesman) and he said that those items are plus $'s and the increased price. I asked him what the heck? He said that's the price which was agreed to by his GM (Brian C) and it's a business decision. He went on to say: "David, I gave you an amended quote this morning in writing. I would expect you to read it before telling me "yeah that works for me!" He was rude, short, and then hung up on me!! I couldn't believe my ears! I continued our conversation via text. "I just can't believe that you guys are so willing to upset a customer about $500 bucks which could affect a companies reputation (I was willing to pay for the door edge guards and the Permaplate). Just seems wrong and you would feel the same if you were in my shoes". At the end of the day, I called Brian (General Manager) several time and left messages with no response to talk about this unfortunate situation. I also called the Used Car Manager Gavin several times and left a message to please call back but no response! The unfortunate part is I wanted the car and was willing to pay the $38,500 price they stated was their best price. Then they added about $1200 in add on's and bummed the price from the $38,500 to $38,977 because they said I was out of state! This whole thing was dishonest, unprofessional, and a bait and switch. This whole thing is contrary to what they say is their mission statement: "The Acura of Sherman Oaks Sales Department is dedicated to providing a hassle-free car-buying experience, where establishing respect and building a relationship with the customer is the number-one priority. The staff at our Sherman Oaks Acura dealership believes that the sale of the car is not the end of the transaction; rather, it's just the beginning". I would have hoped this was true and I really tried to make this deal work out but nobody from the Salesman to the Used Car Manager, to the GM cared to make a customer happy and live up to their mission statement. So, please do yourself a favor, if you want to purchase a Acura go to a different dealership. If you really need to go to this dealership make sure you don't give your business to Kevin Please use a different salesperson. This story is 100% true and accurate I swear!! Sad:-(

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kevin Norris (salesman)
Sep 22, 2021 -

Acura of Sherman Oaks responded

Hello David, Thank you for the opportunity to earn your business. Our goal is to provide the same exceptional and professional service to all our clients. That includes providing excellent communication in any circumstance. It is regrettable to learn of your recent experience, and I would like the opportunity to address your concerns. At your earliest convenience, please contact me at 818-722-7575 and I will do everything I can to help you find a great deal on a vehicle of your interest. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Gavin Sankey General Sales Manager

Sep 22, 2021 -

davidgarfinkel responded

Gavin, it’s very interesting that you never wanted to respond when I called you and left you several voicemail messages. Interesting that your General Manager Brian Combe didn’t want to respond to the several voicemail messages I also left him. There only seems to be a response when this is brought into the public. Why is that?? Why is your salesman Kevin Norris so rude? Is it standard practice that you tell customer from out of California that you can’t sell them a car? Is it standard practice that you give customers one price only to increase the price later? Is it standard practice to charge for Add On’s without disclosure (which is against California law)? All these questions make me wonder about your companies sales practices. If anyone else is wondering about it also after reading this please do yourself a favor and do visits another Acura Dealer!!!

August 06, 2021

"Dealership claimed it spent over four hours to replace..."

- aaderonm

Dealership claimed it spent over four hours to replace front wheel bearing for my TL and slapped me with eight hundred dollar bill. Daylight robbery! Be warned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Hector Cano
Aug 11, 2021 -

Acura of Sherman Oaks responded

Hello, Our service team strives to provide complete pricing transparency to our clients. Estimates are given to customers, so they know what the charges are going to be ahead of service. Thank you, Darin Sanders Fixed Operations Manager

Aug 11, 2021 -

aaderonm responded

Your response doesn’t answer the important question of how your technician spent over 4hrs replacing one wheel bearing for which I was billed at over $125/hr. You cannot justify that. I was GOUGED, period!

August 06, 2021

"I hope the General Manager of this store sees this..."

- Dluna870

I hope the General Manager of this store sees this review and takes proper action of his employee John. I came to see a car with my sister and brother got to try to work out a deal for her being a previous buyer with Acura. I asked John not once but twice if his “dealer add ons” were mandatory he then proceeded to raise his voice and say “yes I will not remove them they are mandatory” Obviously this is how every dealership makes money. Off of accessories that ARE NOT mandatory. He then asks who is the car for you or your sister, obviously being a bit familiar with sales and dealerships I didn’t want her to come out of that store with full accessories. Very unprofessional

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John
Aug 11, 2021 -

Acura of Sherman Oaks responded

Hello, Our priority is providing excellent service and transparency to our clients, and it is regrettable to learn of your recent experience. At your earliest convenience, please contact me at 818-722-7575 and I will work to regain your confidence in our dealership. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Thank you, Gavin Sankey General Sales Manager

November 11, 2020

"I will not even give one star! I have an ongoing issue..."

- jojiwow

I will not even give one star! I have an ongoing issue with this dealer. The finance manager asked for my credit card payment to pay my lease pmt, and long story short, my payment was not given to Acura Financial, I had to pay Acura Financial again and Center Acura has not refunded my money!!!!If I could return the car I would, and my next step will be to report them to the BBB!

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark
May 25, 2020

"Horrible experiencia"

- David

muy mala actitud de trabajo !!! no es de extrañar BBB grado F !! tenga cuidado ... parece que nunca limpia sus automóviles después de la prueba de manejo, el virus 19 puede afectar a los clientes.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
William
May 30, 2019

"Seven months to get license plates"

- Rick13

I bought a car from them and it took seven months and a complaint to DVM Investigations to get my license plates. I contacted them many times.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Meladie
May 09, 2019

"Duplicitous and desk in bad faith"

- Fedup

I had an MDX that i loved and the lease was up. The dealership we got it at has closed. We went to this one, Center Acura. I had to fight to even try to get the deal that was advertised on tv. I should have walked out. The car i ended up with was subpar to the one i turned in and it was sold to me as being superior. You know the very actions you dread having to deal with? The double talk, they keep you waiting for hours to wear you down, all the "my manager says ...", expect all that and more here. We should have left but it was on the last day of my lease. I have learned that i can extend it since then but on that day they totally took advantage. When i did write a review, the manager contacted me to take it down. Pleaded and said he will waive requisition fee. I took it down and he didn't. He lied about that. Caveat emptor.....if you have to there, do your homework

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Manager and Shawn
December 18, 2018

"Dishonest people "

- Destiny 123

We had a very bad experience dealing with the agent and Manager in this location. They made us believe that we were approved for a car loan. They made us sign documents and released the car to us. But to our surprise they called after 2 days and told us to find a co-signer because our credit scores of d735 was not approved after giving them 4 thousand dollars down payment. Its a scam. They told us to come back and sign another document making it different from previously agreed. We found them dishonest and decided to return the car to them after we used it for a week. Now they’re trying to sell the car as brand new with a higher tag although it has 175 miles on it.They want people to believe that’it’s brand new. It was not. They screwed us up. Giving us a lot of emotional stress and anxiety. This is not a good place to buy a car, you might end up getting the same agony we went through. They are very dishonest and not trustworthy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eduardo Soriano, Arman Bighozias, Melanie Gentile
October 28, 2017

"Amazing experience "

- MannyP

The service and accommodations were top notch. And the cars are great too. The waiting area was much appreciated. There were plenty of complimentary snacks n drinks. Since I had my 6 year old neice, the kids activity room was a true unexpected blessing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alfredo Sierra . He was easy going and personable. He did not pressure me, whatsoever.
September 25, 2017

"Good Salesperson and Exprience"

- Ulangalibalela

Our salesperson as Center Acura, Alfredo S, was a pleasure to deal with. He knew about the car and was responsive to calls and questions. He is definitely a good person to seek out if you go there to look at cars.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alfredo Sierra
1
...
1 - 10 of 45 results