About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Auto Alternatives

2.3

17 Lifetime Reviews

1730 Capital Boulevard, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604 Directions
Sales: (919) 833-2122

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

17 Reviews of Auto Alternatives

Sort by Write a review
December 16, 2017

"Not a honest dealership!!!!"

- Shannon

This is NOT a honest business. They just don't care. I bought my car from them on November 1, 2017. They do not get their cars properly checked out in the beginning. Not only did I have to call them to remind them to file my paperwork in order to receive my license plate: here is a list of repairs that I have had to deal with in the 2 months since buying this car: A new transmission Engine Oil Cooler Oil cooler gasket Oxygen sensors Exhaust Manifold Gasket set CV axle shaft Added 2 qts of oil, along with brake fluid, and transmission fluid. Replaced lights inside that were burnt out. They refuse to contact me when I call, and they never fixed my passenger side door handle that they AGREED to fix and cover the cost on when I signed the paperwork. Yes, I bought a warranty, but they didn't cover everything and I had to put hundreds of dollars in order to get everything repaired. I filed a complaint with the BBB, and they refused to settle that way. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone, and I hope they understand that karma will come back to bite them in the end.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
All of them
November 22, 2016

"Best dealership ever"

- Hazel500

This was he greatest experience I ever had buying a car. The staff were friendly nice and they put me in a wonderful car at a great price and I'm so very happy. To anyone reading this review go see theses gentlemen . THEY WILL GET YOU RIDDING!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Grant
October 07, 2016

"After giving an initial good review, I was sadly mistaken!!"

- Donna

I gave a 5 star review in July, but after driving the vehicle 100 miles back home and less than ONE WEEK later, the check engine light came on!! As of this date 10/07/16 and putting less than 150 total miles on the car, it is back in the shop for the second time and giving FIVE codes!! This latest estimate fix is $1800.00 (needs an intake manifold) plus has an oil leak which is not going to be addressed at this time as I am now just trying to get the check engine light to go off so I can have the piece of junk inspected.. I traded in my Nissan 350Z with 57,000 miles and it was sold in less than one week, so to say I feel ripped off is an understatement!! I really thought these were good, honest people, but clearly that's not the case. If they did in fact "have their mechanic" check the car out, they definitely need a different mechanic. Also, it's three months later and I still have not received the title and registration. They received my Nissan title the day the deal was made... PLEASE DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE unless you take the car to a mechanic of your choice first! I plan to contact the BBB so hopefully nobody else will get ripped off by them!!!! BUYER BEWARE OF THIS DEALERSHIP

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tim
July 23, 2016

"GREAT EXPERIENCE!"

- Donna

Such a pleasure doing business with these folks! No surprises after the 100 mile drive there, as Tim did exactly what he had told me over the phone. He, as well as both of his sons, are down to earth, good people. Would highly recommend this business!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim, Grant, and sorry but I can't remember the son that did all the paperwork, but all three were great!
October 26, 2015

"Took the money and ran.........fast."

- Ed Fullwood

Okay, so here's the real deal unHolyfield. My future wife (God willing) got hit by another vehicle and totaled her Lincoln. She got a small settlement from the insurance and proceeded to look for another vehicle. She went to Alternatives with about 1800 bucks down. They told her, this Volvo station wagon is the only car on the lot that we can put you in. Under pressure for a vehicle she agreed after I her future husband(God willing) said it seems to be a good car. I would have preferred to have it looked over by a trusted mechanic,but my baby was under pressure with no vehicle and paying for a rental so she trusted these guys. 2 days in engine light is on and the car is turning off at stop lights. She took it back to Alternatives at least 5 times to have the problem fixed. It never got fixed. They wore her out and me too I guess. The car had the same problem throughout the payment process. Now it's end the shop " Murrays tire and auto service" and the mechanic has taken off some of the dressing to see what was hidden. He showed me how "Alternatives" had cement glued atleast 3 connectors and replaced sensors with junkyard parts. Connectors glued so you can't even service them with out tearing out a lot of expensive parts? Really? Really. It was a mess. They deliberately taped the car together, covered it up and sold this vehicle to a woman with a child, took her money at at least an 18 % interest rate . They are the epitome of a dirty unscrupulous lemon dealer. The mechanic at Murrays told us the best thing to do was get it running and trade it in. Thank the lord that they were stranded or injured due to "Alternatives" and their willingness to deceive. If you go there (don't go there) and they tell you this is what you can get, tell them to kick rocks because it's basically what they'll tell you when they sell you some garbage that they Know is garbage and lie to you when they say "we'll fix the problem." You got a down payment and okay mediocre credit, do not trust them. "ALTERNATIVES...we'll screw you up."

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mr. Fib and Mr. Pantsonfire
October 13, 2015

"Service Like No Other"

- O-Shela!

Grant is an excellent salesman/businessman, to him its not all about the $$$$ the bottom line was to insure me, the customer was satisfied. I so wanted a totally different vehicle, but he advised me on a different one and it was such a great choice, the vehicle and financing... so it was way better on my pockets. I advise ANYONE who needs a car.... Go see Grant!!! you will not be disappointed!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Grant and his brother
April 27, 2015

"Reliable, personable, family owned business in Raleigh NC"

- cb

I felt at ease from the start, that the dealership understood my needs personally. I like that they deal in personal traded-in vehicles, and not auction cars, and that they have been in business for 42 years. They did not attempt to oversell me a car, or pressure me in any way. I feel completely confident in recommending anyone who needs a used vehicle to check out Auto Alternatives on Capital Blvd. In Raleigh. They have a variety of used cars to suit various budgets.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tim
March 11, 2015

"Great cars and great service"

- Matt

Was shopping for a small inexpensive but reliable car for my niece who is soon to be a mother. Looked at several lots in Raleigh but wasn't happy with the 'salvage' quality cars most of them carry. Saw some good reviews for Auto Alternatives and their 'new car trade-ins' only advertisement (absolutely true). The car we wanted was almost so far over our budget that I didn't think we had a chance. I was absolutely amazed at the honesty and fairness. It felt like they were more interested in satisfying our needs than just making a buck. They worked with us to get a price we could afford and of course the car was great (did I mention the comprehensive 3 month/4500 mile warranty on every car - practically bumper to bumper coverage really puts a buyer at ease). Its a humble little lot, but packed with quality cars and fantastic service. Alternatives will be the first stop for my next car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Grant
March 04, 2015

"Dodge Avenger "

- Justink

Car is awesome smooth ride a few problems but they handling it great overall.. Grant and Tim helped a lot and made sure they got me in a car with the specifications I ask for.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Grant
February 23, 2015

"Awesome dealership "

- Casonya renee

Excellent service Tim and Grant are awesome dealers they take care of you from start to finish this was my second time purchasing a vehicle from them and I will continue to come back

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Grant donleycott
1
1 - 10 of 17 results