Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Bob Stall Chevrolet

La Mesa, CA

1.9
54 Reviews

7601 Alvarado Road

La Mesa, CA

91941

Directions

54 Reviews of Bob Stall Chevrolet

Sort by
September 09, 2021

"My last ever visit to Bob Stall Chevrolet La Mesa, my..."

- mgatchosu

My last ever visit to Bob Stall Chevrolet La Mesa, my last Chevy ever! My 2017 Chevy Sonic Premier (turd) as we call it needed yet again another repair as Chevy builds junk! They purposely engineer Chevy to disassemble after 36K unlike Asian car manufacturer's. Do not buy American! It hurts to say but these are the facts! 9 repairs to date, only 72k on vehicle, and the paint is literally coming off the car! First Bob Stall Chevrolet La Mesa service department kept my car overnight and didn't even call me to let me know that my car never made it into the service department they day it was scheduled! Completely incompetent inconsiderate service staff. Bob Stall Chevy then analyzed it for $108.00 they then said the total repair would be $703.00 including ($108.00 scan). A quick search on the net revealed the labor for the 2 parts would take about 30 minutes total labor to install and a $20.00 special socket. A call to Autozone the parts were $104.00. I called back to Bob Stall Chevrolet La Mesa Service department and ask for better pricing they said no, I requested to talk to the service manager he said they pay their techs $150.00 per hour. I stated the overage they are charging me as the repair is less than 1 hour for both parts! His response was "if you don't like the pricing go some where else!" I'm a 55 year old disabled dude, my spine is fused from my butt to my neck along with 2 steel rods running same distance. I'm not a Chevy Certified mechanic! I bought the parts and the socket totaling $124.00 fixed the car myself. In total it took less than an hour to install the Oxygen purge sensor (7 mins) with a screwdriver and pliers, and the rear oxygen purge sensor (30mins) with an oil change in between for a total of less than 1 hour. If the parts are $104.00 and the scan is $108.00 that equals $212.00. The estimate was $703.00. So $703.00-212.00=$491.00 for less than 1 hour labor. The overage Bob Stall attempted to extort from me for labor is $341.00 (491-150=341). I have also filed complaints with GM regarding the lack of quality of the vehicle and the attempted extortion experienced at Bob Stall Chevrolet La Mesa! I have promised myself to warn others and vowed to post on social media one complaint for every dollar Bob Stall Chevy tried to extort from me thru overcharging for another repair. I'm old, pissed, and retired, all I got is time! This is complaint #1 of 341 not including word of mouth! BOB Stall Chevrolet La Mesa worst dealership experience ever! I rate BOB Stall Chevrolet La Mesa 0 out of 5 stars

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager (Name Unknown) 0 stars
August 03, 2021

"I filled out my credit application for a truck and my..."

- Upset Customer

I filled out my credit application for a truck and my wife was waiting at the dealership to make sure the manager did not need any further information. During that time I was test driving the truck with one of the salesmen, which took approximately 40 minutes. When I arrived back to the dealership, I waited for 20 minutes without hearing anything from the manager. While I was waiting, the manager along with 3 salemen were talking in the corner, looking our way and shaking their heads. I felt like I had done something wrong and immediately approached the sales manager to ask if he needed anything from me to complete the sale. At this time he informed me that the truck had been sold 45 minutes previously. He offered me nothing more than a curt apology. This lack of communication between the sales manager and salesmen is unacceptable. I would advise anyone I know to purchase from a different Chevy dealer so they do not have to go through this.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Gamino
April 01, 2021

"I have purchased a new 2020 Mailbu and I was able to..."

- RCL

I have purchased a new 2020 Mailbu and I was able to lower my payment. Ozzy was such an attentive and helpful Salesperson. There was even a small mark on the bumper and he made sure it was taken care of. I really appreciate all the help and that he made everything so easy.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ozzy
February 24, 2021

"DO NOT BUY FROM HERE!! I bought a used 2013 Chevy..."

- Yoli41bbns

DO NOT BUY FROM HERE!! I bought a used 2013 Chevy Equinox, and an extended warranty, car began having issues with the engine 1 year in, and extended warranty didn't cover it, $3400.00 parts and labor. I bought a used car as this was all I could afford, long story short, I'm paying my bank monthly payments for a car that has been out of service since November of last year! This is so depressing, I have no job, no car, no unemployment payments, and somehow I need to find a way to fix my car. If I had money I'd get an attorney asap!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Larson
1.0
Other Employees : Steve
February 23, 2021

"I summitted an application online I was trying to buy..."

- hotsalsa74012

I summitted an application online I was trying to buy car but worst experience ever with bob stall Chevrolet don't buy car from there, sales person who has my application approval process and he is ignoring me never give me a call wow really bad customer service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Larson
1.0
Bob Stall Chevy Reputation Mgmt
1.0
January 28, 2021

"I had a problem with my 2011 Chevy equinox. The gas pedal..."

- seansetzer4

I had a problem with my 2011 Chevy equinox. The gas pedal wasn’t working when I would press down on the gas. I was getting stuck on the freeway, at stoplights etc. Took it in to Chevy to make sure it was done right the first time. I told them my specific problems in great detail. After I pay $600.. I get my car back and all they have done is read the codes on the check engine light and fix what the code said. They did not test drive the car and make sure it was fixed correctly. I know this, because as soon as I got it back the same problems were happening. I then take it back the very same day and Paul Correia basically told me I was wrong and he guarantees that it’s fixed. Gave me his personal number and said drive it for the weekend, the problem will be fixed. Well, the very next day, same problems. It’s not fixed. It’s also not safe to drive when you get stuck on the freeway and have to pull over on the side of the freeway. So I take it back Monday and get the Service Manager involved. Tell him my issues, tell him this whole story I just told you guys. They take it again for the whole day and apparently it’s fixed. I get the car back, within a day, the same exact problems are still happening. So I’ve taken it in twice now and the problem isn’t fixed. Mind you, I’m having to pay out of my own pocket fir rental cars each time because I need my car for work. So now here we are...I bring it in a 3rd time for the exact same problems. Get the same service manager to work with me. Now ALL THE SUDDEN they find something else wrong with it and claim this is going to fix it. But now this issue is $900. But where was this issue the first time I took it in? Or the second time? Why does it take 3 times and over $600 to find the actual $900 problem? So instead of just paying $900 the first time, now I’m paying $1500. Basically wasting $600 on absolutely nothing. They did not offer me a free rental, they didn’t offer me a thing. Basically I’m stuck paying $1500 instead of $900 because of their incompetency. I took it to Chevy because it’s a Chevy and I wanted it done right... I thought Chevy would stand by their work. But apparently they’re no better than any other auto shop out there. They just read codes on the check engine light and don’t listen to anything you tell them. This has been the worst experience I have ever had with any auto shop...and this is a certified Chevy Dealership. It’s unbelievable. I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone. If you can’t get the job done right at the actual dealership where your car is from...where can you?

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Larson
1.0
Bob Stall Chevy Reputation Mgmt
1.0
Other Employees : Paul Correira
January 05, 2021

"Buyer Beware- they do not honor lowest price..."

- Cgiangregorio

Buyer Beware- they do not honor lowest price guarantee.... the sales manager makes up reasons to deny honoring it. For example, price is not meant as the price the buyer paid it is meant as the elusive price before discounts. Don’t trust their word even the GM blows off negative customer experiences. This is why some companies excel in customer satisfaction and others like Bob Stall Chevrolet in La Mesa will lose prospective customer due to their poor track record.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Larson
1.0
Bob Stall Chevy Reputation Mgmt
1.0
Other Employees : Bob
September 13, 2020

"I went in yesterday 9/7 during the Labor Day sales event..."

- cat.moreno

I went in yesterday 9/7 during the Labor Day sales event in search of a 2020 Silverado took about 10 mins for a sales man to even acknowledge us not only that the sales man that did come to us was extremely rude and on his phone the entire time he didn’t seem interested in making a sale or even bother to tell us anything about the trucks! Not once did he offer to grab the keys to show us inside the trucks basically had to stand on my tip toes to see the inside!Then Moe another sales man came over and attempted to help us out as well didn’t really help all too much either his customer service was just as bad as the other salesman. I really wanted to get a new Silverado but their customer service was extremely horrible that i just wanted to leave. From there i headed over to KERNEY MESA CHEVROLET WHERE I PURCHASED MY NEW 2020 CHEVY SILVERADO WHERE THIER CUSTOMER SERVICE IS AMAZING NOT ONE PERSON THERE LOOKED DOWN ON US OR ASSUMED I WAS UNABLE TO GET THE TRUCK I WANTED!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Richard Larson
1.0
Bob Stall Chevy Reputation Mgmt
1.0
Other Employees : Moe
November 27, 2018

"They will rob you blind!"

- erisholly

They will take advantage of you! I never post reviews and am a very easy customer to please but my experience here was awful. I am a 23 yr old female from Arizona who came in after my car overheated on my way from AZ to Carlsbad. I had no idea what was wrong with it and expressed that to Chris (my service rep). All I wanted was to fix it enough so I could get it back to Scottsdale safely. After they replaced EVERY SINGLE HOSE in my engine, I learned from talking to friends and family in the car business that only ONE of those NEEDED to be replaced. What should have cost me ~$100, cost me over $700. Oh, and Chris (my service rep) promised me that my car would be ready on Monday, but never heard from them Monday. Tuesday, I called them and he says it will be no later than noon that the key would be in my hand, which is good because I needed to drive back to Arizona Tuesday and I legally cannot drive after dark because of my vision. So I got to the dealership at noon. He says the tech is finishing it up. An hour later, he comes back to say that the tech is having an issue with one of the hoses. OK. An hour later he says that the tech is just finishing it up, again. I finally got in my car at 4pm, 4 hours after I was promised it. I get in my car and THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON!! Another 30 minutes in the dealership (trying to find the service manager to talk to about my situation), Chris comes back to say that one of the hoses had come lose, which would have been extremely dangerous to drive to Arizona with. I called the service manager on my trip back to AZ to explain that I had been taken advantage of and explain my terrible experience only to get an "oh, I'm sorry to hear that." Spend your money somewhere else, and make sure you know what you need before you go in or they will rob you blind.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, Service Manager
July 08, 2018

"Car Buying"

- Jennifer

I submitted an application online, got a response from Alan Sheehy right away, the next day received a phone call. Alan said he will submit my application and call me the next day, well the next day I never received a phone call then a say later I get a call from the receptionists there asking me when can I come in i told her Alan was suppose to call me the previous day and never did she said I will have him call you ASAP.never received the call. Whether approved or not you should still call as a courtesy. Just poor customer service in my opinion.

Read More
Customer Service
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alan Sheehy
Jul 09, 2018 -

Bob Stall Chevrolet responded

Thank you for alerting us to this issue, Jennifer. Our top priority is delivering 100% customer satisfaction and we are very sorry to hear about your experience. I would really appreciate the chance to speak with you regarding this matter. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I look forward to speaking with you and regaining your trust in our business. Sincerely, Mike Gamino, Sales Manager, mikeg@bobstall.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 54 results