About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Cal West Motors

4.7

45 Lifetime Reviews

1977 E 14th St., San Leandro, California 94577 Directions
Sales: (510) 614-9400

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

45 Reviews of Cal West Motors

Sort by Write a review
September 06, 2017

"Engine Blew up right after purchase"

- HannahKathryn

I purchased a 2006 Cadillac Escalade from BRIAN at Cal West Motors on the 7th of June 2017 I had looked for this particular vehicle for months, and have wanted one for many years. This vehicle was being purchased for my work, as I needed a larger vehicle to haul materials around in as an Interior Designer. Cal west was fully aware of my intentions with the vehicle, and on several occasions told me how great of a car it was and what great shape it was in. My initial experience with Brian was good. Although as a car salesman he seemed oddly unknowledgeable about the vehicle. I had looked at the vehicle twice, and the second time on the lot purchased it outright. Brian was willing to negotiate price, and I felt I left with the vehicle I wanted at a great price. The tires were in bad shape, and I planned to take care of that on my own. Brian assured me everything else on the vehicle was top notch. I promised Brian at Cal West I would write him a review after the purchase. I felt I needed to drive the vehicle and own it for some time prior to being able to give an accurate review of the car and the service from Cal West. I bought this vehicle with 116,000 miles on it. I put brand new tires on it. The battery went out week 3 of owning it, (not surprising) and I replaced it. I took care of this vehicle immediately after purchase. I put about 1,800 miles on it within 60 days. My boyfriend and myself set out to take a road trip to Oregon on August 18th. Roughly two months after owning the car. We both remembered we had to write Brian a review, and had even spoke of it prior to our leaving that we would do so when we returned from our first outing in the car. However when we returned from our trip, it was in a rented Uhaul after spending 4 days stranded in Oregon, because the “In great shape” car we purchased from Brian TWO months ago… ENGINE BLEW. The vehicle has been since looked at by several sources, and has been diagnosed as a failed oil pump. Which is something a dealership should have been aware of. Having an engine blow on a vehicle you purchased two months ago is NOT what I would consider normal if the vehicle had in fact been through all the standard inspections from a dealership. L The car now needs either a rebuilt engine or a used engine. The cost of repair ranges from $4,000 -$8,0000. Which is half the cost or more than the vehicle itself that I JUST purchased. After getting home I contacted the dealership. Cal West is a family owned business that at the time of purchase they prided themselves on their ongoing relationships with their customers. Upon calling the dealership and explaining to them what happened in a very factual and calm manner, and asking for their help in the matter, the father of Brian, the owner MIKE of Cal West told my boyfriend and quote “You are out of your xxxxing mind”. He refused to have anything to do with us, refused to make right on a 12,000 purchase that blew up… and began swearing and yelling at us. Casey asked him some very simple questions about the car, and he could not give an answer. However Mike himself stated that infact a car that went through all the regular checks couldn’t have had that happen…. But that we were “Out of our xxxxing minds”. This is not the helpful family business response I was hoping for when I just handed you $12,000 cash 60 days prior. Upon further research into the dealership, as I have now hired an attorney for this matter, I have discovered a few things I think other people should be aware of: 1. This dealership has had SEVERAL instances where someone has purchased a vehicle and within months of owning it a major problem has arose. I have found all of these on reviews from other sources. 2. BRIAN – told me when I asked how long the vehicle had been on the lot said 90 DAYS. When I looked into further details into the car, infact Cal West motors has owned this car for ONE YEAR AND 7 MONTHS. They themselves put over 2,000 miles on it. Then put it up for sale. It sat on the lot for 6 more months, and had NOT ONE MILE PUT ON IT. Which in my opinion as well as my attorneys suggests an odometer rollback. Regardless I was blatantly lied to by Brian when he stated the car was on the lot for only a few months. Not almost TWO YEARS…. 3. This dealership attempted to sell a registered Lemon Car to another buyer. This is documented. 4. They have used false Carfax reports to sell vehicles to other buyers. I myself as a young women, feel as though this business took advantage of me. I was lied to by the people who work there for a sale. I was then sworn at and lied to AGAIN from the owner of this establishment upon calling in to simply ask for help with the car that THEY assured was in great shape. I would NEVER RECOMMEND PURCHASING A VEHICLE from this FRUDGULENT dealership. I will also be following up this review with the outcome of legal action that I have begun to take. Please beware of these people. They will scam you, lie to you, and take advantage of you. DO NOT BUY A CAR HERE.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Casey
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Mike Casey
1.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Nov 04, 2017 -

Cal West Motors responded

What happened to your Escalade are an "Act of God" and not an "Act of Fraud". Your oil pump failed causing the engine to stop running. A 2006 Cadillac Escalade has an Oil Pressure Gauge, warning light that will light up and sound an alert if the oil pressure is low. If you or the driver of your Escalade paid close attention to the gauge (s) you would have been warned to turn off the engine. Someone should have noticed Low Oil Pressure, a warning light or an alert sound in your travels. What was the oil pressure reading as you were driving? We had nothing to do with this failure and could NOT have predicted it. Our vehicles go through an extensive process before they are offered for sale. Your Escalade passed CA Emissions Testing. It was Safety Checked. The Oil was changed. All fluids were checked and full. No fluids were leaking. It had 60% brake lining remaining. We bought 2 NEW Goodyear Wrangler tires to match 2 GOOD Goodyear Wrangler tires. You did not need to buy new tires as you say. This information is itemized on a Repair Order from a trusted and experienced local Automotive Tire, Brake and Repair Specialist and contained in our vehicle files. The operator of a vehicle must be aware of the operation of their vehicle and the guage readings at all times. You were given a copy of the complete Car Fax Vehicle History Report, which you signed, so you knew the history of the Escalade before you bought it. We tried to hide nothing from you. Most of our vehicles are bought and sold here within 90 days. We kept the Escalade longer because we used it personally. We were in no hurry to sell it. Our usage had no affect on the failure you experienced nor did the usage of the previous owners. We offer and you were given an opportunity to purchase an Extended Service Contract through GWC Warranty Corp for insurance against a mechanical failure such as you experienced. You refused it. We have NOT taken advantage of or mistreated you ******. We check our vehicles prior to sale very well. Mechanical failures can happen with any machine or vehicle. You will find no wrong doing on our part. We have sold thousands of vehicles in our 37 years in business here and have thousands of satisfied customers. Problems like you have experienced rarely occur. Your actions, since your mechanical failure, have been to have a 3rd party contact us by telephone to accuse us of fraud, lying to you and threaten us with legal action. You have attacked our character publicly through social media. It is easy to get angry by such an offensive strategy on your part. We have not been fraudulent in our dealings with you or anyone else and take offense to such an assault of our procedures, standards and principles. We will help you to solve your breakdown issue. We know much about obtaining quality replacement parts, local repair shops, technicins and reputations. Contrary to your belief, we do value your business. by Business on 9/16/2017

May 05, 2017

"Brought a car"

- Vic510

Good customer service and help me with the car purchase. Also help me understand the paper you have to sign. Would come back to buy a car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Moran
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
February 18, 2017

"Good response"

- Mike1M

Good attention and response. Had wife and 3 kids running around which is distracting, and Matt was tentative and willing to work with us to ensure all paperwork, insurance and documentation was in order.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Moran
4.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
January 12, 2017

"Such an amazing experience!"

- Jdean1230

This was the easiest car buying experience I have ever had, thanks to Brian and the rest of the team! Before we even started the process, Brian had already looked through their inventory to find options to fit my lifestyle and budget needs. I will recommend this place to everyone and anyone who is interested in buying a car! Thanks Cal West!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Casey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 31, 2016

"Easy way to buy a used car"

- MDunn

We went to CalWestmotors.com, found a car that fit our needs and budget. Called CalWest and next day were able to come and test drive the car. Pictures online we accurate, description was accurate. No hidden fees or crazy commissions. Salesman was very professional and efficient. We got exactly what we needed. Thank you Matt.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Moran
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 23, 2016

"Easy fast "

- G35_Ariel

Matt made it simple and fast for us to get a sick gto didnt feel uncomfortable at all with everything real easy to negotiate with also

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Moran
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 18, 2016

"Would definitely buy from Brian again"

- KurtLR3

Brian picked me up from the airport, let me drive the vehicle 🚗 back to his office, answered all of my questions and agreed on a price that made everyone happy! Right before I wrapped up I also met Brians dad. This family owned business left me with a great feeling They're really good at what they do and how they do it. 👍🏻

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Casey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Mike Casey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
December 03, 2016

"Great service from Brian"

- Douglas

I found what I was looking for here . Purchase price was more than fair. I would definitely recommend this dealership to my friends. Thanks -Doug

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brian Casey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Craig Medeiros
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
November 05, 2016

"Great customer service"

- Ilovepink

Great customer service. Matt was wonderful. I would recommend Cal West Motors to everyone. Very friendly guy. Would come back again. Great...Great....Great....Great

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Moran
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
October 26, 2016

"Great Customer Service "

- Dina08

Matt and Mike are awesome. Their goal is to find you the best car that meets your needs. They helped my daughter get her first car and she loves it. I didn't feel the high pressure I've felt at other dealerships. I highly recommend Cal West Motors they are like a family. Ask for Matt!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Moran
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Mike Casey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
Terri Casey
5.0
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees.
1
...
1 - 10 of 45 results