Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Dodd RV of Portsmouth

Portsmouth, VA

4.1
125 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

4705 Portsmouth Blvd

Portsmouth, VA

23701

Directions

125 Reviews of Dodd RV of Portsmouth

Sort by Write a review
January 30, 2021

"Waited to be helped outside. Someone finally comes out..."

- M P

Waited to be helped outside. Someone finally comes out not friendly at all. Not helpful was directed to walk the lot they had units opened. Noticed other clients having conversations about their needs and being provided detail. Found two units I wanted more info on and also curious why directed only to the used RVs would have liked to see new. When I walked back up no questions, no acknowledgement of anything. Guess they judged by my looks and assumed I couldn't or wouldn't buy. Certainly different how they treated everyone else who pulled up and was greeted right of way and even walked around the lot showing them units. No thank you, no do you need help - nothing. I will take the info of what I liked elsewhere to purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Drew Doss
1.0
Mar 09, 2021 -

Dodd RV of Portsmouth responded

I am sorry that this happened to you. I will be working with our sales team to discuss this situation. If I can assist you with anything, you are welcome to call my cell at 757-256-7010 or email me at jdodd@doddrv.com James Dodd

December 16, 2020

"Just acquired our first camper today! Guys at Dodd’s RV..."

- Joe

Just acquired our first camper today! Guys at Dodd’s RV in Portsmouth were excellent. Starting with Drew who was always available, answered our every question and kept us informed until our choice, a Grand Design Transcend Xplr finally arrived. Hollywood gave us a very detailed tour/explanation of all features and appliances. Jennifer Anderson shared more information afterwards and finally Jennifer Dodd made our closing uncomplicated and pleasant. Looking forward to many years of similar experiences in dealing with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Drew Doss
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
September 14, 2020

"We purchased A 2018 Rockwood Mini Light form Dodd RV in..."

- ANDREW.DOMME

We purchased A 2018 Rockwood Mini Light form Dodd RV in 2019. We nothing but problems. When they worked on it they created more problems

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Drew Doss
2.0
Jennifer Dodd
1.0
Wilson Box
5.0
Other Employees : Bob Hinckley
March 03, 2020

"Good experience Buying"

- DaleK

I am happy to say the buying experience with DODD RV in Portsmouth was very pleasant. I worked with Drew from the beginning and it was a no BS sales experience. He told me straight up what I could get for my trailer and didn't try to screw me on pricing. They also honored the pricing, while my trailer was being built. I had a grand design built to order and Drew kept me in the loop the entire process. Once it arrived, Dave in service set it up for me and worked with me on getting the Reese Goosebox set up correctly. Dealing with Jenn2 in warranty was also great and closing had no sales pressure from the owner Jennifer Dodd on 3rd party products. I would recommend anyone that needs a Grand Design product to reach out to the group over here. I have yet to experience a real service request, but if Dave is any indication of the type of service I will get, I'll be in good hands. Also, thanks to Jerry for the walkthrough and tips. Best Regards, Kling Family

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Drew Doss
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
Other Employees : Jenn2, Jerry, David Till
October 16, 2019

"stress free"

- sheshed

Drew (our salesman) was very knowledgeable. He returned all phone calls promptly. Everyone at the dealership was friendly and helpful. I will recommend this dealership to my friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Drew Doss
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
Other Employees : Sara Bucher
Dec 13, 2019 -

Dodd RV of Portsmouth responded

Dear Sheshed, Thank you for taking the time to share your story. Glad we could assist you with your RV. James Dodd President Dodd RV

September 24, 2019

"Grand Design Reflection 320MKS purchase"

- Pmcgillvray

Sales, financing and walkthrough was excellent. Service personnel even installed my Anderson Hitch equipment on the new trailer. Cleaning crew and whomever QA’d them were below average at best. Trailer had been on lot for a year, roof should have been cleaned. Lots of black marks from roof drainage. Interior wood trim had lots of smeared nail filler putty that was easily cleaned off which tells you how much effort went into the cleaning. Sawdust behind the couch, Glass light globes over kitchen island were filthy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robert Christian
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
Other Employees : Cleaning crew and whomever QA’d them, David Till
September 03, 2019

"Awesome experience"

- davids04rt

This is the place to go. Well respected dealership. We wanted to just look at first and get some numbers. The are very knowledgeable about everything. They were not pushy on trying to sell but making sure we get the one we were looking for. Will be back and refer people here. It is a family owned business and is down to earth.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Drew Doss
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
August 17, 2019

"Answered all of our questions "

- TC

Dodd RV of Portsmouth helped us pick out our first RV. They answered all of our questions. We did not feel pressured. They were very helpful and we gained a great deal of knowledge about our travel trailer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robert Christian
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
Wilson Box
5.0
Other Employees : Sara Bucher, Cris Doss
April 30, 2019

"Great experience buying new travel trailer."

- mtfurby

We’ve been looking for a specific type of travel trailer for the past year. We noticed that 2019 was going to be the last year for the floor plan. We found our Grand Design 285BHTS at Dodd RV with an unbeatable price and great service. Thanks Dodd RV!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robert Christian
5.0
Other Employees : Sara Bucher, David Till, Bob Hinckley
March 01, 2019

"RV Pricing and Staff Best in Hampton Roads"

- Over55RVer

I've been researching used RVs for quite a while. I narrowed down my search to Dodd RV based on a Richmond friend's explanation of their great warranty program on new RVs. Robert Christian at the Portsmouth dealership helped me purchase a quality fifth wheel that met my budget. The staff was exceptional. Steve Taylor answered my ad-hoc questions about technical aspects of the model I bought. During the walk-through, Jerry Glass and Dave Till were great....they gave me advice and tips on maintaining my RV. I felt comfortable about my purchase when I pulled out towing my new vacation home on wheels.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Robert Christian
5.0
Jennifer Dodd
5.0
Wilson Box
5.0
Other Employees : Jerry Glass, Sara Bucher, Steve Taylor, David Till
Mar 16, 2019 -

Dodd RV of Portsmouth responded

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your recent experience at Dodd RV. We look forward to serving all of your RV needs in the future.

1
...
1 - 10 of 125 results