Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Elmhurst Toyota - Service Center

2.8

184 Lifetime Service Reviews

440 W. Lake Street, Elmhurst, Illinois 60126

184 Reviews of Elmhurst Toyota - Service Center

Sort by Write a review
November 26, 2019

"Just visited them yesterday... Had scheduled..."

- Mykhailo Parobok

Just visited them yesterday... Had scheduled appointment... 3 hours waiting... Said me they needed more time, because they got some problems, but HAVE NO IDEA, what is going on with 3 month old car! Said: can't give me loaner car on that time, because it's out of their policy... asked me about carwash... even didn't do that, at the end... I had recall paper, - even didn't do that... THEY WAS DOING NOTHING DURING 3 HOURS WITH MY CAR! Had small defect on my rear bumper plastic (could fix by myself...), but asked them to see this, - they said: let's go to your native dealership, in Romeoville...)))) I live 50 miles away...:)))) I was calling to Toyota customer service, they were really surprised about all of this "Service"... P.S.: I was reading previous review from one lady: she said they are liers... THAT'S TRUE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jan 06, 2020 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

I would like to speak with you directly in order to better understand the circumstances you’ve described and reach a satisfactory resolution together. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience. Thank you, I look forward to speaking with you. Dan Briggs, Parts and Service Director eservice@elmhursttoyota.com

November 03, 2019

"Awful, disrespectful experience done to a long time..."

- Jonjon

Awful, disrespectful experience done to a long time Toyota customer who always used to come in regularly to change oil until today when service guy by name of Steve Arnold pretty much implied I was a liar. On Tuesday I had scheduled an oil change appointment for 1:30pm today with a lady at the front desk who took down my information and confirmed everything over the phone. When I showed up at 1:25pm and met Steve, he took me to his desk, looked up in his system by my VIN and said there’s no confirmation of any appointment. I said it must have been either a system error or human error but I had evidence of making that call and asked if he could schedule me in still, but his reply was ‘ no I can’t since were booked’. I then pulled up my phone and showed him outgoing call at 1:08pm at the Toyota dealers number, a call lasting for 2 minutes and asked him why can’t he believe me, to which he sarcastically replied ‘well that could have been you waiting on hold’...how dare such employee treat a customer like that, to imply that somehow I fabricated such story as if I came off the street and showed up to xxxxxxxx people, me a married man of 2 kids. Shame on Toyota for hiring this type of staff, shame on this dealer. I told him this will not end, that I will do everything in my power to spread the word around about my story that was ridiculed, sarcastically laughed up by some person who I don’t know when instead he should have found a way to help a customer instead of calling them Liars. I will continue to bring this up to his higher ups, they need to hear this story, it’s disrespectful and inhumane for a customer who did nothing wrong but played by the rules, called and set up appointment to be turned down by being coined the term Liar.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Steve Arnold
Nov 08, 2019 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Hello Jon Cuci, Thank you for your feedback. We researched the incident and we apologize for what happened. I wish you would have contacted either Brian Corrigan or myself before posting on DealerRater (The Dealer Rater post was the only way we found out about the incident) and given us a chance to correct the issue. Brian has left you a few voicemail messages none of which were returned. We did have a coaching moment with Steve. He said the only time he snickered is when you stated you were going to call the police. We advised Steve of our expectation of customer service and as a seasoned service advisor he should have handled the incident better.

August 16, 2019

"Visit to the dealership for tire pressure light on "

- Rashid

On August 12, 2019, I dropped off my vehicle, a 2019 Toyota Sienna, with Elmhurst Toyota Dealership.  On this newly-purchased Sienna, the tire pressure light on the dashboard was always on.  After carefully checking the tire pressure on all tires, it was clear that there was a malfunction with the sensor.  Elmhurst Toyota Dealership quoted a price of $135, to cover the cost of a computer diagnosis, to which I agreed.  Over the course of three days, with collaborating correspondence, the technicians working at the dealerships were unable to identify the problem.  Over the course of the three days, I received phone calls from the dealership with updates, each concluding that they needed more time to further troubleshoot the issue.  During this period, as I rely on my vehicle for my occupation, I missed my usual revenue and earnings.  On August 14, 2019, I returned to the Elmhurst Toyota Dealership to collect my car.  To my complete surprise, the service representative who had assisted me was supplanted by Daniel Briggs, the Parts & Service Director, who angrily presented me with an invoice for $1,800.  He was absolutely dismissive of my concerns about the enormous sum, and was resentful of my profession, exclaiming, "WHATEVER HE SAID ABOUT WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE TAXIS," in a derogatory manner.  I explained that I only agreed to the diagnosis with the stated fee of $135, as is stated and recorded in the invoice.  Director Daniel Briggs lectured that Elmhurst Toyota Dealership had to be compensated for the uncalculated and unstated hours of labor, and that the diagnosis fee of $135 did not apply.  Because Elmhurst Toyota Dealership was unable to correctly run a diagnosis, their Director's decision was to charge me for the arbitrarily calculated labor that wasn't able to detect any issue.  Had it been conveyed to me at any point during the THREE?  FOUR? voice mails and phone conversations that I would be expected to pay for the hours of labor used to discover nothing, I would have removed the vehicle from their facility as soon as they informed me pricing had changed. Parts & Service Director Daniel Briggs disparagingly told me that if I want my vehicle back, I need to pay the invoice in full.  Perhaps feeling guilty for his abstract and randomly calculated hours of labor, he offered a 10% discount. The following day, August 15, 2019, I returned as I had no choice but to pay the invoice so that I could have my car back as it is essential to my career.  The bait-and-switch invoicing along with the condescending and patronizing attitude of Parts & Service Director Daniel Briggs was deeply dissatisfying. 

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aug 19, 2019 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Hello Rashid, As Tommy explained to you when you dropped off you’re your Mobility Works (handicap conversion) Taxi, if the problem is due to a manufacture defect the repair would be covered under warrant. However if we find the problem is due to either the Mobility Works conversion or the added equipment that your taxi company has added, it would not be covered under warranty and you would be liable for the diagnosis fee and repair. We finally determined the issue with the low tire pressure warning light was due to the install of the aftermarket taxi equipment. Note to all that are reading this we were not provided any wiring diagrams or help from Mobility Works or the Taxi company …we had to figure issue out within the rats nest of wiring they left under the dash. The issue you had was due to the incompetence of the person that installed your taxi equipment. Daniel Briggs Parts and Service Director

May 09, 2019

"Never Again"

- G.Z.

This is my first review of a business online. Ever. So imagine how unhappy I am with these guys. Their service department lives down to the worst stereotypes of dealership service depts: Phantom charges on the invoice. Non-adherence to a written estimate. Bad customer service. And on and on. The icing on the cake...the reason that I'll NEVER go back there: When I went to the Sales Manager to complain, he just sat looking at me with a condescending grin on his face, and said "Why are you so stressed, don't worry about this, I'll take care of it". Of course, he took care of NOTHING. I bought my car there and have spent a lot of money there for service on both my cars, but I will NEVER step foot in the place again. They clearly don't appreciate their customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
February 22, 2019

"Awesome dealership "

- Alanm

I highly recommend you buy your car from here very professional and know how to handle customer problems and needs.i highly recommend it.thumbs up

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 12, 2019 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Alan, we appreciate you for taking the time to give our dealership such an excellent star rating. It helps us to know that we are meeting the needs of our customers. If there is anything else that we can do to help you with regards to your vehicle, please feel free to let us know. Sincerely, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

October 24, 2018

"Getting parts"

- kprius

I stopped by to pick buy a wiper blade and to look into what it takes to have a spare key made for the used Prius I recently purchased. The parts person, Jose, was knowledgeable, friendly, and insightful. I really appreciated his help in getting the right part and getting the best value. I plan to return to Elmhurst Toyota for parts and service in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jose
Oct 25, 2018 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear you were treated with prompt, courteous, and informative customer service. Regards, Dan Briggs, Parts and Service Director eservice@elmhursttoyota.com

February 26, 2018

"Great service experience!"

- Julie McGovern

I've always brought my 2016 Camry Hybrid to Elmhurst Toyota for maintenance. I came for the convenience but I've stayed for the outstanding service. Staff are always knowledgeable, polite and never condescending (although I do appreciate the 20% off for Ladies Day). Plus, the service is always quick, easy, and affordable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mar 05, 2018 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thanks for the wonderful review of your recent visit at our dealership, Julie. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction and are glad this this what you received. It was truly a pleasure working with you. Best, Dan Briggs, Parts and Service Director eservice@elmhursttoyota.com

December 26, 2017

"Elmhurst Toyota Service Department Is Awsome! "

- TS2007

The service department at Elmhurst Toyota gets an A+ rating. Brian Corrigan and his crew of service advisers and technicians are a first class operation. Professional, friendly, knowledgeable and always happy to help. I know that I am in good hands when I take our cars in for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Other Employees : Steve Arnold, Faustino Huerta, Anthony Landis
Dec 27, 2017 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thank you for leaving us this great review. We are very happy to hear that our team at Elmhurst Toyota could be so helpful during your recent visit with us. We appreciate your recommendation as well. We look forward to seeing you back again in the future. Take care! Best, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

December 21, 2017

"Great advisor"

- Mayriz

Advisor is very helpful and truly gained my trust. You don’t feel rushed or they’re selling you service. He makes you feel they care about your car as if he owns it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dec 21, 2017 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thank you so much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to work with you and earn your business. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team! Please let us know if we can ever help you in the future. Best, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

November 24, 2017

"Great Dealership "

- vwmann1

I bought my Scion from Elmhurst Toyota, because I like to shop local, and I’m glad I did. The service department is great. They were very quick, and explained things I would need in the future, but didn’t try to gilt me into doing it right then. I will have all my service done by them in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nov 25, 2017 -

Elmhurst Toyota responded

Thank you so much for this excellent feedback! I am happy to hear that the team down at Elmhurst Toyota worked hard enough to make your purchase completely painless. We'll be more than happy to see you in the future! Best, Tony Gmitrovic, GSM - tonyg@elmhursttoyota.com - 630-279-2160

1
...
1 - 10 of 184 results