Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Toyota

3.3

93 Lifetime Reviews

395 Route 37 E, Toms River, New Jersey 08753 Directions
Sales: (732) 240-2001

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

93 Reviews of Gateway Toyota

Sort by Write a review
February 12, 2019

"The true meaning of snakes"

- Cindy1487

Went to Gateway because I saw a Honda Accord listed on CarMax and wanted to test drive the vehicle. the Joanne McCarthy, the Internet Sales Manager, got in contact with me. We set up an appointment for me to go in and I was to ask for her. That's when the show began. A salesman walked up to me and ask if I was the customer interested in the Honda Accord. I said yes and then he said, well, someone just took it out for a test drive........which was a lie.........I was put with a different salesman who went on the test drive with me. I said I like the car, will put a $1000.00 down and want to finance the rest. They were asking $5400.00. By the way, my credit score is 730. That's when they told me that because of the year of the car, 2004 I could finance it for 18 months at 18 percent!!!!!!!!!! That was enough to tell me to walk out and don't look back... What a bunch of scammers!!!! Cindy, Toms River NJ

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joanne McCarthy
Feb 13, 2019 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Cindy, I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with your sales experience with us. Given the opportunity, I would like the chance to speak with you about your experience. Please email me at rcardwell@penskeautomotive.com. Thank you, Rick Cardwell Gateway Toyota General Manager

January 10, 2019

"Accommodating, Efficient, & Pleasant Experience"

- Toyota Camry Purchase

I came across a vehicle I liked online and decided to give Gateway a call. I was greeted over the phone by Art Edwards. Art was very pleasant to speak with and confirmed that the vehicle was in stock. I told him I wouldn't be able to make it until later on in the night therefore, another salesman helped with the remainder of the process (Hiram). When I arrived at the dealer, Hiram greeted me and was very knowledgeable of the vehicle I was interested in purchasing. After my test drive, we sat down to talk numbers. After a little bit of negotiations, we ended up landing at a more than fair deal. After coming to terms, the finance manager Michael Sweeney came over to introduce himself and start the paperwork. Usually, that's where the teeth pulling begins. On the contrary, Mike was easy going, friendly, and not pushy like most finance managers. He explained in detail, the different coverage's and ultimately let me decide what I wanted with no pressure. Overall, my experience was great at Gateway Toyota and I will continue to service my vehicle there for the remainder of ownership. I highly recommend giving them a try & if you pick Art, Hiram, & Mike you won't be disappointed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Art Edwards, Hiram Vazquez, Michael Sweeney
Jan 11, 2019 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Thank you for the incredibly kind words and five-star rating! We were ecstatic to hear of your experience and will pass along the feedback internally. We hope to see you again in the future!

November 23, 2018

"horrible rude incompitent uncertified personell"

- DONTBUYANYTHINGHERE

this dealership put a frame recall inmy 06 tacoma truck ,... sine that horrible day this truck has always been horrible to drive in whether you are in the passenger seat or the driver seat the steering wheel is off center has been since the recall ,. my mother is 75 years old she does not know that the emblem on the wheel is supposed to be straight while travelling straight down the road they put a new frame and used all the old bushings and a 12 year old steering shaft that they now say is bad well if it is bad now it was bad then and if it was bad then then WHY IS EVEry check point list checked all green ON EVERY BOX ON EVERY VISIT FOR THE OIL CHANGES EVERY SINGLE TIME THIS TRUCK WENT TO THIS DEALER THEY CHEXKED ALL GREEN CHECK MARKS AND CHANGED THE OIL AND SHOVED IT OUT THE DOOR NEVER EVEN DROVE THE TRUCK AROUND THE BLOCK OR THEY WOULD HAVE SEEN THAT THE WHEEL WAS OFF CENTER AND THE RIDE WAS HORRIBLE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR DO NOT LET ANY OF THESE PEOPLE TOUCH YOUR VEHICLE BECAUSE NONE OF THEM ARE WORTH 2 CENTS AS A TECHNICIAN I HAVE BEEN A TECH FOR GM FOR 25 YEARS I AM CERTIFIED IN ALL AREAS I WAS TRAINED IN TARRYTOWN NY AT THE GM TRAINING CENTER I HAVE ALL MY CERTIFICATIONS THIS SERVICE MANAGER MADE WISECRACKS AS TO THE EXTENT OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND CAREER HIS NAME WAS PEDRO ESCOBAR ,....... DO YOURSELF A FAVOR STAY AWAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS PLACE AND CORPORATE WAS A JOKE ALSO NOT ONE COMPETETENT PERSON COULD GET ON THE PHONE WITH ME TO RESOLVE THIS ALL FOR A 50 DOLLAR PART THEY GAVE ME THE HARDEST TIME I HAVEVER EXPERIENCED I WOULD RATHER HAVE HAD A ROOT CANAL THEN TALK TO ANNOTHER PERSON IN EITHER CORPORATE OR THIS DEALERSHIP ,..... IF YOU WANT TO CALL IT THAT ,... I CALL IT THE FREE OIL CHANGE FOR LIFE IDIOT CLUB HAHHHA THANKS PABLO ESCOBAR FOR YOUR COMMENTS YOU SHOULD HAVE STUCK TO YOUR IMPORT BUISINESS YOU HAD BACK IN THE 80'S LOL

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
PEDRO ESCOBAR
November 19, 2018

"Appointment Cancellation"

- olgazer

I made an appointment online for a safety recall, and on November 17 (8:10 a.m.), I received an email from Gateway Toyota reminding me of my November 19 appointment. On November 19, I drove 38 miles to Gateway Toyota (Toms River NJ). I arrived 7:20 a.m., early for the 8:00 a.m. appointment for a safety recall. The Service Advisor told me they didn't have parts to perform the service. The Service Manager was no help. As I left the facility, I received an email at 7:28 a.m. advising me my appointment had been cancelled. Is it common to advise customers of appointment cancellation only 32 minutes prior? Coincidentally 8 minutes after I arrived and had spoken to the Service Advisor? Or is it likely that the Service Advisor tried to cover Gateway's failure to provide timely notice? I want my name removed from Gateway Toyota's list, I won't be returning

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
Other Employees : Service Advisor unknown, manager unknown.
Nov 20, 2018 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I regret to hear of any possible miscommunication regarding your recent service visit. Please reach out to me at rcardwell@penskeautomotive.com at your earliest convenience so we may discuss any of your concerns further. It would be my pleasure to assist you in any way I can and restore your full confidence in our team. Best, Rick Cardwell Gateway Toyota General Manager

October 27, 2018

"Deceptive Practices"

- JAD

I have been a 15 year returning customer but today changed that. So much for your four "Upgrade Notifications" you emailed and sent me, bothering me with phones etc urging me to turn in the lease early. The actual deal wasn't even close $47 higher per month than printed offer. So Greg Repose and Chris Etzel your deceptive practices are out. Don't buy or lease from these guys. Total waste of time and I can prove it!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Etzel
Oct 28, 2018 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Hello, I'd appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to learn more about what happened to lead to your dissatisfaction. Please know you are highly valued as a loyal customer, so I would appreciate the chance to address any concerns. Can you please send your preferred contact information to me at rcardwell@penskeautomotive.com? I look forward to discussing your feedback. Best Regards, Rick Cardwell Gateway Toyota General Manager

October 04, 2018

"Leased a new car"

- scottoje

Went into the Dealership when we received a letter that they were interested in leasing us a new car (even though we still had over 16 payments to make on our Sienna mini-van). We actually thought the letter was a hoax just to get us to come into the dealer. This was not the case. Saw Christopher Etzel and he worked with with us until we were satisfied and ended up signing a new lease agreement. There was no pressure Chris just provided us with the facts with all of the different models. They even went to a different dealership to get us the color that we wanted. Definitely would work with Chris and Gateway Toyota again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
Other Employees : Christopher Etzel
Oct 05, 2018 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Hello, Congratulations on your new lease. We are so glad to see that everything went so well for you. Your business is much appreciated and please reach out if we can help you with anything else. We wish you the best.

October 04, 2018

"Recently purchased a new Rav4 "

- scottoje

Spoke to Brian Vasquez (Team Service Manager) As usual he was very helpful. Asked him questions about the new car and and how to work some of the features. He was extremely knowledgeable and took the time to go over everything with us. This is the 2nd time he assisted us at this Dealership and both times he was awesome.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean Weaver
Other Employees : Christopher Etzel
Oct 05, 2018 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Hello, Thanks for being such a great customer. We are so glad to see that Brian gave you such a great experience and we'll be sure to let him know about your feedback. We appreciate your 5-star rating and please do not hesitate in letting us know if we can be of further assistance to you.

September 15, 2018

"Service without an appointment "

- BC

9/15/18 After purchasing a vehicle for nearly 40k. This was my second service. The 5k service went smooth, on the 10k service I arrived before 7am. I was the first customer to arrive. At 7am I was told "we are not accepting anymore walk-in's for the day" When I purchase the vehicle I was told service walk-in's would be no problem. You just may have to wait a little longer. Maybe I should pay more attention to the reviews. BC

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service adviser
Sep 17, 2018 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Hello, I am sorry to hear that your recent experience with our Service department did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the chance to speak with you and get more information. Please email me at rcardwell@penskeautomotive.com. I appreciate your time and I look forward to speaking with you. Thank you, Rick Cardwell Gateway Toyota General Manager

August 23, 2018

"Recall made easy"

- stacyb

Damon Conforti is the best! Thank you for taking care of my pick up truck recall and making the experience so easy. I really appreciate it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
maryann Lordi, Damon Conforti
Aug 24, 2018 -

Gateway Toyota responded

Hi Stacyb, Thank you so much for sharing your positive review! We are pleased to learn you had a great experience with Damon! It was a pleasure working with you. We hope to see you again soon!

August 08, 2018

"Customer Service was the best"

- stacyb

I would say this dealership is nothing special. However, I accompanied a friend recently who came in for service and and the woman who helped her was definitely special! Her name was MaryAnn and she took the time to listen to my friend's issues and made sure that while repairs were being made, my friend always knew what was going on and how long it would take. It was refreshing to meet an honest person at a car dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
maryAnn
1
...
1 - 10 of 93 results